Foley speaks

Maolida and Marcondes were apparently identified by Montgomery (according to him) but the BK's possibly pulled a few strings to help get them here.
Maolida had nothing to do with the BK's or they would have made sure they told us.
They tossed us Marcondes because he was just back from a long injury, wasn't much of a player other than with a dead ball and as such they were binning him in the summer.

I’ve a recollection that Ben or Ian were at pains to stress that despite the BKs, they were very much “in charge” or “in control”

I read that article as a response to that

Foley is at least as keen on the smell of his own farts as Ian Gordon and far less personally invested in Hibs' success. Given how catastrophic events at Lorient have been since he arrived, on and off the pitch, I'm far more interested in his money than his advice.

Apparently he's trying to make his own version of welcome to wrexham at Bournemouth. The heartwarming tale of an octegenarian fascist sympathiser buying a club supported chiefly by retired bankers, who fly in foreign millionaire mercenaries to help maintain their top flight status at the expense of well-run working class clubs with huge fanbases. I'm sure it'll be a smash hit Bill lad.

He was a part of it. Just cause we disagreed doesn't mean he wasn't. If he wasn't he wouldn't have put whoever forward.
Just because the word ignored was used, doesn't mean we deafied him, just didn't go with his recommendation.

His whole deal is to give us money and get us players? What you on about?

Think he's been a bit of a cock saying anything publicly, and the other article from his insider is a cock too.
There's no need for it. He doesn't get to rule with an iron fist and because he's no got his way he's throwing a strop?
Imagine speaking out after 1 result.
Imagine one of your shareholders and board members people coming out and saying they don't want your manager and sporting director in those positions.
Less than 1 league game into their tenure.

There's a relationship to be had, but it's not to be dictated on his terms. It's not his club. He wouldn't let a 25% shareholder in Bournemouth do that to him.
Was he/they though?

That’s all it seems some want, some extra money that came and went into a black hole and for him to provide some extra players while having next to no input on the playing side of things. He sees the playing side for what it is, a shambles. It’s not a surprise he’s annoyed that they have just ignored him and went with jobs for the boys instead of absolutely anything changing. It was probably all recommended in that report we never got to find out about because for the Gordon’s or Ben the supporters dinnae really matter.

As for Foley being a dick saying something publicly he’s answered a question on us getting embarrassed to the bbc correspondent for Bournemouth. I’m happy he’s telling the truth. I don’t think it was any more of that, we declined him and his teams input so sod them is basically what he’s saying. Again, can’t say I blame him. He owes them nothing, he owes the club anything so what’s he got to lose? He will get his investment back and more when the Gordon’s sell for a massive profit because of the transformation on the commercial side, the share money has obviously went into covering the black hole left in doing so.

Foley is at least as keen on the smell of his own farts as Ian Gordon and far less personally invested in Hibs' success. Given how catastrophic events at Lorient have been since he arrived, on and off the pitch, I'm far more interested in his money than his advice.

Apparently he's trying to make his own version of welcome to wrexham at Bournemouth. The heartwarming tale of an octegenarian fascist sympathiser buying a club supported chiefly by retired bankers, who fly in foreign millionaire mercenaries to help maintain their top flight status at the expense of well-run working class clubs with huge fanbases. I'm sure it'll be a smash hit Bill lad.
What about Bournemouth and his hockey team or do they not count? How does being relegated from the French top flight compare with finishing 8th in our league and getting humiliated in the cup off part time shite?
If not his input, the guy who runs a successful premier league football club then who’s?

What about Bournemouth and his hockey team or do they not count? How does being relegated from the French top flight compare with finishing 8th in our league and getting humiliated in the cup off part time shite?
If not his input, the guy who runs a successful premier league football club then who’s?

So that just means he has free reign to force us to hire whoever he sees fit?

Putting all his men all over our club.
Taking over from within.

Nah, he's a partner. Not the boss.

So that just means he has free reign to force us to hire whoever he sees fit?

Putting all his men all over our club.
Taking over from within.

Nah, he's a partner. Not the boss.
No, as I’ve said they should have all worked together to find the best solutions. If you think Malky and SDG out of a whole resource network is the best people they could come up with then fair enough. Dunno how anyone could draw that conclusion though and I can see why Foley would think likewise.
The boss is Ian Gordon. That is a major problem for our football club and it will continue to be based on what has happened with this group they have managed to fuck off already leaving no assistance and a squad that’s bottom six shite bordering on relegation battle and a couch that has never managed before to lead them.

Maolida had nothing to do with the BK's or they would have made sure they told us.
They tossed us Marcondes because he was just back from a long injury, wasn't much of a player other than with a dead ball and as such they were binning him in the summer.
Donald Trump GIF by reactionseditor

The manager and DoF / sporting director left when relegated and believe replaced by Black Knight people .

They incumbents who were sacked when BKs invested. The boy is now the Sunderland manager

The manager and DoF / sporting director left when relegated and believe replaced by Black Knight people .

They incumbents who were sacked when BKs invested. The boy is now the Sunderland manager
Sounds like they know what they are doing after all then. You never know we could have appointed them instead of who we did.

No, as I’ve said they should have all worked together to find the best solutions. If you think Malky and SDG out of a whole resource network is the best people they could come up with then fair enough. Dunno how anyone could draw that conclusion though and I can see why Foley would think likewise.
The boss is Ian Gordon. That is a major problem for our football club and it will continue to be based on what has happened with this group they have managed to fuck off already leaving no assistance and a squad that’s bottom six shite bordering on relegation battle and a couch that has never managed before to lead them.

And the whole argument here is we never took HIS recommendation.
That's it.

Not that we didn't let him discuss merits of David Gray or Malky or whatever.

Sounds like a spoilt billionaire throwing his toys out the pram because he sits in the back seat.

Like he knew he would when he signed his money over.
Like we knew he would when Hibs told us that's exactly whats going to happen.

You've grabbed onto this and ran with it as far as you can
He hasn't been locked out and voiceless
He just didn't get his unnamed miracle workers.

And the whole argument here is we never took HIS recommendation.
That's it.

Not that we didn't let him discuss merits of David Gray or Malky or whatever.

Sounds like a spoilt billionaire throwing his toys out the pram because he sits in the back seat.

Like he knew he would when he signed his money over.
Like we knew he would when Hibs told us that's exactly whats going to happen.

You've grabbed onto this and ran with it as far as you can
He hasn't been locked out and voiceless
He just didn't get his unnamed miracle workers.
There's a difference between taking the BKs recommendation and throwing out/having no interested in suggest people to take us forward without discussing to the merits of it. Foley said himself today that the owners haven't listened to his input, not bow down to his demands.

Sounds more to me that he's an investor that's wanted his group to get involved, told they aren't needed so has taken a back step. If he wants to be honest about Saturday fair fucks, maybe its about time we heard from Ian Gordon about the direction of the club and what this means instead of hiding behind a couple of yes men. Maybe Kensell wants to explain why he was away watching the huns as we were losing to part time shite partially down to their incompetence at running the most important part of a football club?

I don't like or trust the people running the football club to make a good job of it. Pushing aside the one crumb of hope makes me angry to be honest. He is pretty locked out and voiceless, his recommendations to make the football side of things better is being ignored by the looney tunes who consistently make a fuck up of it. So much so we had to get investment to cover up the losses.

Sounds more to me that he's an investor that's wanted his group to get involved, told they aren't needed so has taken a back step

Or maybe he should get involved in other areas that we need his help and keep his nose out of who we hire as manager, sporting director or whatever.
That's not the only area of the club yano? There's literally hundreds of things he can be helping with.

Pushing aside the one crumb of hope makes me angry to be honest.

Hes no been pushed aside.
Fuck sake your dramatic

Hes a part of the board, he's a part owner of the club
He didn't get his recommendation accepting
So fuckin what
Get on with the rest of the obligations

Sakes

I'm away to get ripped
I've had enough of this for one day

Peace n love fella 💚🤍

Id be interested in who the BKs wanted as manager and DoF

Presumably there was an interview process.

It gets quite murky here, because the board have made largely rank appointments for five years. I could see BK and the old guard having wildly different views on how to move forward.

I think I trust Bill Foley’s views more than Ben K and Ian Gordon. I think you have to question how this was all first pitched to Bill Foley in terms of investing in the club. One interview I listened to he stated he liked the desire of the fans and wanted to help the owners of the club. I don’t think the Gordons are in this for the long haul and were probably very grateful for the support. If this is not the case and they want full control over everything then why sell a 25% stake.

I agreed with the review of the club needing to be done, that seemed to be wise. No news on the outcome though, maybe it’s commercially sensitive. It’s great being proud about commercial income growing, however the product on the pitch has suffered. Some of the mistakes that have been made in terms of recruitment are very obvious and hopefully are starting to be remedied albeit the rate of pace of change is not fast. Profile of the new signings so far looks decent, but lots more to be done. We seem to currently be waiting for a big sale to then buy.

Did the BK relationship start well with the signing of Moriah-Welsh and the offer of Marcondes and Bevan on loan. This seemed to be positive, have BK subsequently been ignored after the review and during the recruitment process - seems most likely. Foley does seem to be salty about this, I am not a fan of this view being made public but then I think maybe it’s fair enough if your investing your money and supposed to be working collaboratively and your views on how to move things forward are being ignored. I hope MacKay and Marshall work out well but it does seem like jobs for the boys. MacKay’s comment about not going to Bournemouth seemed a bit weird. Surely you would want to meet and see how they operate and how player recruitment is done on a wider scale.

My experience of Foley is that he delivers what he promises. He has significantly moved the dial at Bournemouth. Has taken risks -
sacking O’Neil to recruit Iraola. I haven’t seen any evidence of Bournemouth being like Wrexham, although they did just play a pre season friendly in the States.

The Gordons have a great track record in increasing revenue but shite at the football stuff.

The BKG appeared to have the football side all sown up with contacts, systems and millions to burn.

It looked like a marriage made in heaven to me.

It normally doesn't take Americans, each of them with the ego of a small planet, for Hibs to fuck up but there you go.

Oh fuck, I’ve not managed to read all the threads on this post , because they basically just depress me, but I will get round to reading them .
But more than ever, we need to give SDG our backing. Remember who he is and what he “ delivered” . We need to try and help him through this pish, because , it will, one way or another sort itself out . Until that time , we need show him the love and support we all have for him.
If someone had said to you 10 years ago, what would you give for a captain of Hibernian fc to score a winning goal in injury time, in a SC final , we would have soaked his plooms forever.
It’s time to pay the piper 😂😂😂😂

Leaving aside who is right or wrong, who is better (or less bad) for the club, to me this is quite an unusual ‘intervention’ and smacks of an untenable situation.

Feels like this must end in BK takeover or exit.

Can only be exit
He can't take us over.

Ben's swindled him outta £6m

I think SDG's squad selection on saturday was to prove a point to the board that we need better squad depth. Foleys reaction was correct, and shaking up the board like this could be the wake up call they have been needing for a long, long time. They clearly need to be taking advice from someone, probably not a bad idea that it comes from BK.

Pretty sure the Board were perfectly aware of the lack of depth in the squad.
Gray got it wrong.
Foley should have “shaken up the Board” privately if he felt he had to. It’s easy enough to do. He’s behaved like a wee brat who didn’t get the sweets he pointed at from his pram.
Pretty sure his suggestions (his choice of coach & director of football) were listened to, but just not accepted. Such is Boardroom life.
Whether his men would be better options or not we will never know, but his behaviour is clearly unacceptable in any professional world.

My take on this is when Foley was asked the question about the result on Saturday he was probably just saying what was going around his head after the board appointed MM and SDG, but also using it to get his excuse in first that if it all goes tits up (which it could) he can lay the blame at IG & Ben and the rest of the board.

Hopefully Malky McKay will go down to Bournmouth build some bridges and get the board and the black knights moving in the same direction..

As for it being aired in public I have no issues with it the fans need to know what’s going on, most of us were thinking we were going to have a bigger investment in the squad than we have at the moment and wondering what the black knights were doing .. now we know they are being ignored

Foley unhappy Hibs are not doing as he asks/ suggests?
Maybe if Bournmouth and Lorient had shown that his input is worth listening to, then maybe Hibs would sit up and take notice?
Bournmouth. 15th in the EPL. About equivalent to Hibs 8th in the SPL?
Lorient. Relegated.
Hardly world shattering 'look at what we've achieved ' stuff.

Reactions: Dub
Foley unhappy Hibs are not doing as he asks/ suggests?
Maybe if Bournmouth and Lorient had shown that his input is worth listening to, then maybe Hibs would sit up and take notice?
Bournmouth. 15th in the EPL. About equivalent to Hibs 8th in the SPL?
Lorient. Relegated.
Hardly world shattering 'look at what we've achieved ' stuff.
Lorient have only started listening to his recommendations post-relegation I believe. He is a minority shareholder there, same as Hibs. Bournemouth have just achieved their best points tally in the premier league era. If it's a straight choice between Foley and the 2 donuts calling the shots at Hibs, I'd rather we listened to him. Can't be any worse.

Around £6m to buy the club, clear debt, other money put into the club.
Guarantee you they've put more I to the club than BK group.

Guaranteed
cmon hammy, maist of the cash or their share dilution is to plug holes made by the gordon themselves!

His input on 2 decisions was ignored.
Time will tell if they're right or not. Let's see.

Bills more than welcome to have more input, the fact Malky said he's had not alot to do with them yet would seem they've not actively tried to work with him?
He has to go down there to see them etc. It was all in a release last week or so.

Hes no told us who he wanted to hire in those positions, who's to say they're any good?
Coulda been some American chaps.
yet they are on the board hammy

Support The Bounce

Ends in......
0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds
  28.8%