Favourite Christmas Dinner Item

Rat bairn usually cooks a ham as well. Nice thick slices devoured like a savage from west Edinburgh

The correct answer. I’m surprised anyone is responding differently. That said the sprouts posts indicate the board contains a higher level of deviancy than I expected.
Ah but, sprouts are perfect for the after dinner game of ‘Stick it’.
You release a sprout infused fart in bed and pull the duvet over the wife’s heid to see how long she can ‘stick it’ 🤢😆

They were known as kilted sausages when I was a bairn.

Pigs in blankets. What if they are beef or veggie sausages eh?

😤
If for some unknown reason yi get beef or veggie sausages, they're then called Coos in Blankets or Quornorsomeothercraps in blankets. :sm071:

Ah but, sprouts are perfect for the after dinner game of ‘Stick it’.
You release a sprout infused fart in bed and pull the duvet over the wife’s heid to see how long she can ‘stick it’ 🤢😆
Dutch oven.

Sprouts are evil. What you need to do is find a sprout loving cat.
Throw the sprouts into a Merrick neighbours garden then let it shite in THEIR garden.

Like a Viz top tips.

Pigs in blankets
Only because i have roast tatties with a Sunday roast, which is not often enough 🤬

I went to a reasonably decent restaurant in the city centre last Friday after the Cinderella pantomime (Stotty yet again superb throughout "Mon the Hibs!!!). I'd specifically booked their Christmas Menu and we had to pre-order our choices. Honestly what they served was absolutely horrendous. Looked worse than a 1970s school Christmas dinner. The turkey was over cooked but the 'Roast potatoes' in no way had been roasted. They were hard. Uncooked with no crispiness whatsoever. The plate was presented swimming in horrendous too sweet gravy. I was gutted. I sent it back asked for the bill and left. 20241220_173749.jpg

They must have had a whole load of carrots to get rid off by the looks of it

Does anyone actually like turkey? I mean I don’t dislike it either, which is kinda the point, it’s like the blandest meat going. Apart from the practicality when cooking for a large number of folk, would anyone ever pick turkey vs chicken, say?

The other half's roast tatties, blows mine clean out the oven.

We had a practice run on this year's gammon, added oranges this time and it's on a new level 😋

She likes Maple pigs in blankets too, there's more sugar on our plates than salt!

We had a practice run on this year's gammon, added oranges this time and it's on a new level 😋

She likes Maple pigs in blankets too, there's more sugar on our plates than salt!
I'm going to pass that tip about oranges to rat bairn for crimbo day. Cheers for the heads up.

Yep, my tatties are terrible, the Mrs are perfect 🤣

Were you no a chef once upon a time or am I losing the plot again?

Does anyone actually like turkey? I mean I don’t dislike it either, which is kinda the point, it’s like the blandest meat going. Apart from the practicality when cooking for a large number of folk, would anyone ever pick turkey vs chicken, say?
I quite like it. One of the leanest meats, so often have it through the year for sandwhich porpoises.

I know what you mean but I love it. However, the accompaniments need to be spot on....

I like it.
Higher protein, lower fat content.

I think it tastes better than chicken too?

My year to cook so I do a ham (spot on about the oranges @Hammi), lamb (although I dinnae like it) and my auld mum brings the turkey. Of everything its a tie between the ham and trifle.