European Super League

Big announcement today.

It's been coming for years.

A turning point for the game, and not in a good way IMO.

Can I be a bit thick here though ?
Are these clubs resigning from their respective leagues to join this league, or are they still expecting to play in their domestic competitions as well ?

Seems they would be abandoning their domestic leagues.

The reports are saying 3 other clubs are expected to join up. My initial reaction was Bayern, PSG & Ajax but they all appear totally against. What are the bets then that its Rangers, Celtic & say Porto. The whole thing is about money & fanbase, not sporting level/integrity so very possible IMO.

The reports are saying 3 other clubs are expected to join up. My initial reaction was Bayern, PSG & Ajax but they all appear totally against. What are the bets then that its Huns, Celtic & say Porto. The whole thing is about money & fanbase, not sporting level/integrity so very possible IMO.
It reads to me that they will play this tournament instead of the CL?
They will still be part of the EPL.

Having read a press release from FIFA, it appears the clubs will be banned from playing in domestic and European competitions, and the players may not be eligible for International duties.
Maybe a bit of sabre rattling by FIFA.
They'll realise that their Champions league will be devalued by the loss of these high profile clubs.
And Spurs....

The clubs want to remain in their leagues and have a new virtually closed shop alternative to current euro competition. They’ll share 3.5bn initially - funded by backers JP Morgan - and trouser even more cash each year whilst wishing to use that dosh to help their domestic league campaigns also.

There’s massive opposition to this from fans but don’t forget there’s millions of modern day fans - absolute Fukn roasters - who think this is delightful and allows them to watch Barca v Man U with their remote rather than Man U v Bruges for example.

UEFA and the premier league will do all they can to protect their cashflow so let’s not get carried away they are on the side of the PAYING PUNTER. Same goes for sky who will be terrified at the potential of their main focus (EPL) getting royally fukd over. Same c@nts that take a massive part of their subscriptions from Scotland and give our clubs Fuk all in comparison.

Another nail in the coffin of football.

Hibs/Eintracht - fuk all the rest

Stickys no invited? I’ll bet yi theres *&*^ on that Follow Follow goin radge because they never got an invite. Mibbes if it goes ahead they’ll get an invite intae the Engerlund league. Let’s hope so.

Have to admit that was my hope - lets be clear, I dont see the English teams being chucked out of their league, but if they were - I thought - maybe we could get rid of the weejies to the English Premier / Championship to take their places / maintain a bit of interest with the big five, and tottenham, leaving. That would be fantastic. Bring it on!

The reports are saying 3 other clubs are expected to join up. My initial reaction was Bayern, PSG & Ajax but they all appear totally against. What are the bets then that its Huns, Celtic & say Porto. The whole thing is about money & fanbase, not sporting level/integrity so very possible IMO.
Doubt the Glasgow 2 would be invited along. Might be big shots in Scotland but they're nowt in European terms. Don't believe the hype the weedgie media try to pedal about them.

It will never happen!

This is round 1 of these clubs negotiating even more money from the Champions League and possibly a permanent place in the competition.

Doubt the Glasgow 2 would be invited along. Might be big shots in Scotland but they're nowt in European terms. Don't believe the hype the weedgie media try to pedal about them.
They've got massive fan bases and get bigger crowds than some of the teams quoted who rely on broadcasting money rather than ticket sales.If the old firm were given the same funds they would compete.
I hope they do and f@ck off out of the SPL !

Hopefully if it happens, every single other club not in that league should boycott ever playing any of them ever again. But somehow I suspect greed will play a part and they will make a 2nd and third league

Is it 12 teams?
Guy at work, says 6 from England, 3 from Spain, 3 from Italy.

Did they just think they'd play each other on euro nights through a season and think nobody would be bothered?

I thought there would be more teams...

Is it 12 teams?
Guy at work, says 6 from England, 3 from Spain, 3 from Italy.

Did they just think they'd play each other on euro nights through a season and think nobody would be bothered?

I thought there would be more teams...
I think the plan is to invite a further three clubs.

Wishful thinking I know but I hope this sparks the end of the modern version of international club football which has basically become a series of exhibition games primarily aimed at tv audiences and corporate tourists.

Fuck the ESL, Fuck the Champions League, Fuck the Europa League, Fuck all those summer World Tours by ‘the big teams’, and most importantly, Fuck the Guntz.

The champions League is already an establishment for the rich to get richer. The whole set up is nauseating. Some champions have to play 3 ( maybe more) qualifying round, other countries whose team finished 4 th walk straight in , it’s a joke. Then there is two further options to parachute into the Europa league!! The whole point of a cup competition is when you get beat, yer oot!
It is all mostly clever marketing , because the European cup, the uefa cup, and cup winners cup all worked well.
The fans are , as ever the losers. But if folk keep subscribing to watch it, then it will happen. Not that I think this super league will take off, it’s just the rich being greedy . I hope they get their bluff called and get banned from the Champions league . Then I hope the champions league collapses , as it has created an obscene monster.

The champions League is already an establishment for the rich to get richer. The whole set up is nauseating. Some champions have to play 3 ( maybe more) qualifying round, other countries whose team finished 4 th walk straight in , it’s a joke. Then there is two further options to parachute into the Europa league!! The whole point of a cup competition is when you get beat, yer oot!
It is all mostly clever marketing , because the European cup, the uefa cup, and cup winners cup all worked well.
The fans are , as ever the losers. But if folk keep subscribing to watch it, then it will happen. Not that I think this super league will take off, it’s just the rich being greedy . I hope they get their bluff called and get banned from the Champions league . Then I hope the champions league collapses , as it has created an obscene monster.
Followed mostly as far as i can see by "supporters " who never see a football stadium in real life

Leeds boss Marcelo Bielsa to Sky Sports: "This doesn't surprise me. The most superior teams have managed their superiority through competition. When they no longer need them to win money they discard what they no longer need. This is a very common thing, not only in football. It shouldn't surprise us.

"The fundamental problem is the rich always aspire to be more rich without considering the consequences for the rest. As they gain more power they start demanding more privilege over the rest.

"The most powerful are powerful because of what they bring but the rest are dispensable. What makes competition great is the possibility for one of those weak teams to develop, not the big teams playing each other. But the logic of the world at the moment and in football is not outside this - that the powerful become more rich as a consequence of the weak becoming more poor. If this was is what guides the world at the moment why is there such astonishment. This shouldn't surprise us. It was something that was coming."

They've got massive fan bases and get bigger crowds than some of the teams quoted who rely on broadcasting money rather than ticket sales.If the old firm were given the same funds they would compete.
I hope they do and f@ck off out of the SPL !
And SKY Sport are big fans. It'll come down to the broadcasters, the financial backers and whoever can be bought off in FIFA and UEFA. I'm afraid that whether it's this scheme, or another involving the present governing bodies (who seem pretty much as corrupt as they can possibly be) this will be the end of football as we've known it. Not that I'll be around much longer to see it ...

It's our own fault - we helped to start it all with the inaugural European Cup back in the '50's. Blame Harry Swan.

Leeds boss Marcelo Bielsa to Sky Sports: "This doesn't surprise me. The most superior teams have managed their superiority through competition. When they no longer need them to win money they discard what they no longer need. This is a very common thing, not only in football. It shouldn't surprise us.

"The fundamental problem is the rich always aspire to be more rich without considering the consequences for the rest. As they gain more power they start demanding more privilege over the rest.

"The most powerful are powerful because of what they bring but the rest are dispensable. What makes competition great is the possibility for one of those weak teams to develop, not the big teams playing each other. But the logic of the world at the moment and in football is not outside this - that the powerful become more rich as a consequence of the weak becoming more poor. If this was is what guides the world at the moment why is there such astonishment. This shouldn't surprise us. It was something that was coming."
Exactly. I was just going to say that.

Watched Gary Nevilles reaction from yesterday on YouTube.
Then Rio shortly after.

They're giving it everything, really sticking in to them.
It needs to be heard, and he's right, they should be punished, hard, soon.

I'm all for it. Bin all these big rich fuckers and let's get more competitive leagues. The EPL without those "big 6" would be a very competitive and enjoyable league. The hardcore fans would make the league thrive. Same with the SPL. Bin the uglies and watch the crowds grow and the league become competitive.

Its hipocrital of UEFA to shed tears. I remember sitting in the pub after a Hibs game and the chat was ' they cannae fuckin do that ' when they were toying with the idea that top European teams would qualify for the European Cup and again some years later regarding the Champions League, automatically no matter their League position.
As for Her Majesty's Government tut tutting about accountability and participation, in Parliament yesterday, after £Billions were handed out without either nor tendering in the last period is laughable.