Egg Chasing...Japanese style.

Fritz

Crikey, i`m no a big fan of Rugby but that was fuckin astonishing. Japan beating South Africa with a last minute try. I actually jumped aff ma couch and punched the air when the guy fell over the line. What a great sporting moment. Brilliant stuff.

Edit...here it is :thumbgrin

[video=youtube_share;LQhccB3ios8]https://youtu.be/LQhccB3ios8[/video]

Must rank of one of the biggest sporting shocks in all time, absolutely fantastic. Tennis was great today as well. Not sure why I have followed fitba for 40+ years, there are far more entertaining sports out there.

Then again, I would miss the Hibs thing......

Ridiculously good. Pure theatre.

The opinion of my egg chasing friends is that Scotland, having been expected to qualify from the group, could be serious trouble!

No change there then :-(

Ridiculously good. Pure theatre.

Wasn`t it just. Thing is, they could`ve easily kicked for 3 points and won a genuinely respectable draw...but they didn`t. They went for a try to win the game and were rewarded for sheer bravery. Absolutely fantastic and sporting history was made.

Many other managers of certain other team sports should take note. :hmmm

Wasn`t it just. Thing is, they could`ve easily kicked for 3 points and won a genuinely respectable draw...but they didn`t. They went for a try to win the game and were rewarded for sheer bravery. Absolutely fantastic and sporting history was made.

Many other managers of certain other team sports should take note. :hmmm

I really only watched the last 30 seconds [which of course went on for about 5 minutes] and my mate was talking me through the refs decisions because I was baffled by it all but I have to admit it was pretty exciting. Still no fitba though :coffee:

Oh, i agree Dub. I`m not a 'fan' of rugby but in pure sporting terms it was seriously brilliant. You just dont get those sort of shocks in sport nowadays. They`re extremely rare because of the distribution of sponsorship and TV rights monies. The 'big' teams generally win. It`s been designed that way. When you get a shock on this scale, regardless of the sport and particularly in world rugby where results like this are very rare, it is genuinely thrilling.

This is my favourite example of one of these magic moments - well one that isn't known to all already.

This some college bowl final that for some reason was on in the pub one night. I was early and my mates were late, so I started watching it and then kept a passing eye on it throughout the night, nearly falling from my perch when this happened.

The teams are Alabama in the white, Auburn in the blue. Alabama were the favourites - they'd won the same fixture 49-0 the year before. Being a Hibby I sided with the underdog, and was backing Auburn who hung in tenaciously, tying the game at 28-28 with 32 seconds remaining. In Hibs style it looked like being a tragic 'nearly' job. With zero seconds on the clock, meaning the game ends when the ball goes out of play, Alabama have a field goal to win. And then this happens (the second clip provides a better view but watch the first one first for the commentary!)

This is my favourite example of one of these magic moments - well one that isn't known to all already.

This some college bowl final that for some reason was on in the pub one night. I was early and my mates were late, so I started watching it and then kept a passing eye on it throughout the night, nearly falling from my perch when this happened.

The teams are Alabama in the white, Auburn in the blue. Alabama were the favourites - they'd won the same fixture 49-0 the year before. Being a Hibby I sided with the underdog, and was backing Auburn who hung in tenaciously, tying the game at 28-28 with 32 seconds remaining. In Hibs style it looked like being a tragic 'nearly' job. With zero seconds on the clock, meaning the game ends when the ball goes out of play, Alabama have a field goal to win. And then this happens (the second clip provides a better view but watch the first one first for the commentary!)

I like American football so i can appreciate that. That is brilliant though. I do love moments in sport like that. They happen so rarely and when they do, they should be shown and praised...and rightly so :)...and that is a wonderful commentary :)

[MENTION=13016]Fritz[/MENTION] - im not a big fan of american football, but learned to appreciate it at least, when I read something advising to treat it like chess with people as the figures - i.e. its very much about the coaches second guessing each other and cancelling out each others men. Early computer games brought this home to me where it could be played like that before graphics were up to doing things like real football properly.

The second clip illustrates that beautifully with the Auburn players going from resigned to suddenly 'activating' and neutralising their opposite numbers - the wee shoulder the blocker gets on the last would be tackler being a perfect example. That and the athleticism of the runner to squeak just inside the line against his momentum - magic moment.

That was brilliant. I'm a fan of American Football so like [MENTION=13016]Fritz[/MENTION] I can appreciate the clips. Sadly, I follow the Dolphins who are as erratic as Hibs [and Scotland]. I must have done something really bad in a former life :boxing:

That was brilliant. I'm a fan of American Football so like @Fritz I can appreciate the clips. Sadly, I follow the Dolphins who are as erratic as Hibs [and Scotland]. I must have done something really bad in a former life :boxing:

I`ve been a Steelers fan since the 80`s and first watching them on Channel 4. They`ve been my one success in sporting allegiances :lookaround:

:Sparkle_Cool:

I`ve been a Steelers fan since the 80`s and first watching them on Channel 4. They`ve been my one success in sporting allegiances :lookaround:

:Sparkle_Cool:

Same here. My mate Chris was a New England Patriots fan having seen them over there and he introduced me to the game when it started on channel 4. NAturally I picked a team in the same league as his was in so that we could bet on games and finishing spots etc so I chose the Dolphins :thumbgrin

You`ve at least had the joy of watching the mercurial Dan Marino though. So it hasn`t been all bad. :smug:

that was magic and IMO what sport is all about. The passion of the commentator adds to the drama, I am not sure Chris Sutton could get as excited though....

That's a decent clip egb.

The ultimate comeback in sorting theatre simply has to be the miracle of medinah. I've never seen anything remotely close.

That's a decent clip egb.

The ultimate comeback in sorting theatre simply has to be the miracle of medinah. I've never seen anything remotely close.

Yeah good clip EGB...
And agree with you Mark, they were written off by everybody, the yanks taking "glorious" pot shots from every angle....
Then it started.... Was utterly brilliant to watch it all unfold

Fantastic stuff.

As an incidental point, check the size of the crowd. American college football is just incredible in that sense - of the ten biggest sports stadiums in the world, EIGHT are college football grounds. Fully fourteen of the top twenty. It's more popular than the NFL out there.

I've been to see the Texas Aggies a few times - Kyle Field holds 102,000.

Fantastic stuff.

As an incidental point, check the size of the crowd. American college football is just incredible in that sense - of the ten biggest sports stadiums in the world, EIGHT are college football grounds. Fully fourteen of the top twenty. It's more popular than the NFL out there.

I've been to see the Texas Aggies a few times - Kyle Field holds 102,000.

Is that why you're called Aggie :detective:

It's not, strangely enough! I got Aggie years ago for being a right humpty basturt when I'd had a peeve. I'm totally mellow these days, but the name stuck.

Brilliantly, though, I've been able to buy my bird branded knickers that simply say "Aggies" across her ladygarden. She wasn't sure whether to laugh or be angry.

Egg chasin Dublin style, well no really, it's football but not as we know it. Dublin just won the all Ireland Gaelic football final. Currently in a boozer in Dame Street. The boozer is fukin rockin "Up The Dubs"

It's not, strangely enough! I got Aggie years ago for being a right humpty basturt when I'd had a peeve. I'm totally mellow these days, but the name stuck.

Brilliantly, though, I've been able to buy my bird branded knickers that simply say "Aggies" across her ladygarden. She wasn't sure whether to laugh or be angry.

And what state is her ladygarden in, Aggie?

Why Texas of course!

:rascal:

I do apologise...

To paraphrase Sir Alex Ferguson; sport, bloody hell!

Watching videos like that always give me goosebumps and the best for that 'goosebumps' feeling, for me, is Martin Tyler's commentary when Man City won the league in the dying seconds of the last game in the season in 2012. I know it's not the perennial 'underdog' story but it truly was one of THOSE sporting moments that you will always remember and can almost quote the commentary verbatim.

"AGUERROOOOOOOO!!!!"

To paraphrase Sir Alex Ferguson; sport, bloody hell!

Watching videos like that always give me goosebumps and the best for that 'goosebumps' feeling, for me, is Martin Tyler's commentary when Man City won the league in the dying seconds of the last game in the season in 2012. I know it's not the perennial 'underdog' story but it truly was one of THOSE sporting moments that you will always remember and can almost quote the commentary verbatim.

"AGUERROOOOOOOO!!!!"

Just for balance, I absolutely hate that, it does my box in when it's replayed on the tellybox . I can't help but think that Tyler sounds like a right twat screaming the boys name like that. Good goal though.

Egg chasin Dublin style, well no really, it's football but not as we know it. Dublin just won the all Ireland Gaelic football final. Currently in a boozer in Dame Street. The boozer is fukin rockin "Up The Dubs"

I don't think Mr Finlayson is that way inclined

Just for balance, I absolutely hate that, it does my box in when it's replayed on the tellybox . I can't help but think that Tyler sounds like a right $#@! screaming the boys name like that. Good goal though.

Martin Tyler did the commentary for our Skol Cup victory over Dunfermline, much of which I used to be able to recite. It was a thing of beauty. He can say what he likes. How he wants to say it:coffee:

Naw, he canny :giggle: