Edinburgh City Struggling

Been here too long, thinks he's somebody radge.
Players no been paid and payments no guaranteed before Christmas.

shame really, reckon alot of the low division amateur clubs don't actually want to be promoted as its just not sustainable for them.

There’s very little movement in Scottish football and I’d say there’s a massive split between the 20 odd full time clubs and the rest. You could reel off 24 clubs that will never be in the top league out of 30. Aspiring to be rag dolled in the championship? What’s the point?

Their results have been really poor this season, and they are really struggling on the park.
Sad to hear things are so bad behind the scenes as well.
I went to see them play few times last season at Meadowbank as they had a few Hibs players on loan at that time and I think this helped them hugely at that time.
Presumably that partnership arrangement we had with them a while back is now well and truly over ?

Their results have been really poor this season, and they are really struggling on the park.
Sad to hear things are so bad behind the scenes as well.
I went to see them play few times last season at Meadowbank as they had a few Hibs players on loan at that time and I think this helped them hugely at that time.
Presumably that partnership arrangement we had with them a while back is now well and truly over ?

Was it Megwa we had there this time last year?
Got injured, then dropped so we brought him back early?
Or something similar. Maybe peeved us off?

No sure how true this is.
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Should call them Edinburgh Spartans then.
I'm all for teams joining up, there's too many teams who will never, ever do anything other than exist just to exist.

I understand some teams with a long history not wanting to, but how many generations of fans do these teams have left? We need these teams to have a future. Even if it halves the system. We don't need 4 leagues ffs.

Edinburgh doesn’t need 4 league clubs, nor is there the will to support them.

I’ve not kept up with the meadowbank thing, but it seems there was a ground with a decent sized stand which has been replaced with a ground that isn’t fit for the East of Scotland League with a 1000 capacity

Doncaster is not fit for purpose in any part of the administration of our game. Utterly clueless and ignorant of what our game needs, his whole idea of our game is solely driven towards 2 teams.
He needs emptied, Christ he can’t even sanction a deal to show the oldest and biggest original derby in Scottish football.
A shambolic ignorant and embarrassment of a man running our game.

We have far too many teams in this country with nae fans. I reckon there should be a rule written in you've got to be able to self sustain your club and have a core fan base of over 3 thousand to play in the professional leagues. We should have 2 professional leagues and the rest of the leagues should be non league.

Celtic
Rangers
Hibs
Aberdeen
Hearts
Dundee United
Dundee
Falkirk
Dunfermline
St Mirren
St Johnstone
Raith
Partick
Motherwell
Greenock Morton
Ayr
Kilmarnock

I would say that's a list of our biggest teams. I'd make a 16 team top division made up of those teams then have a 10 team second division and make the rest of the leagues non league with applications only to advance from the non leagues to our professional leagues. They'd need to prove they can sustain themselves. Our country is 2 wee to have 42 professional teams imo (I know a lot of them are part time)

We have far too many teams in this country with nae fans. I reckon there should be a rule written in you've got to be able to self sustain your club and have a core fan base of over 3 thousand to play in the professional leagues. We should have 2 professional leagues and the rest of the leagues should be non league.

Celtic
Rangers
Hibs
Aberdeen
Hearts
Dundee United
Dundee
Falkirk
Dunfermline
St Mirren
St Johnstone
Raith
Partick
Motherwell
Greenock Morton
Ayr
Kilmarnock

I would say that's a list of our biggest teams. I'd make a 16 team top division made up of those teams then have a 10 team second division and make the rest of the leagues non league with applications only to advance from the non leagues to our professional leagues. They'd need to prove they can sustain themselves. Our country is 2 wee to have 42 professional teams imo (I know a lot of them are part time)
See when you shut down all these ‘lesser’ clubs because they don’t meet your criteria, do you think those fans will populate the stands of some of those clubs you have deemed big clubs? The harsh reality is that they are more likely to gravitate towards Celtc and the Huns or just give up altogether. What then if Ayr United or Morton fans get fed up if not winning anything and their attendances drop below your cut off?
Your attitude smacks of the same superiority complex I’d expect from the Gunts or the bigot brothers.
I’m not against two top divisions but the pyramid system needs to remain so that those teams you’d consign to history at least continue and have a chance, albeit remote, of progression.

See when you shut down all these ‘lesser’ clubs because they don’t meet your criteria, do you think those fans will populate the stands of some of those clubs you have deemed big clubs? The harsh reality is that they are more likely to gravitate towards Celtc and the Huns or just give up altogether. What then if Ayr United or Morton fans get fed up if not winning anything and their attendances drop below your cut off?
Your attitude smacks of the same superiority complex I’d expect from the Gunts or the bigot brothers.
I’m not against two top divisions but the pyramid system needs to remain so that those teams you’d consign to history at least continue and have a chance, albeit remote, of progression.
It's no a case of shutting them down it's just realising the reality of the situation. Giving teams professional status when they can't sustain themselves is madness. We have teams in our league who can't even afford a grass pitch 😂 I would imagine they would remain fans of their team mate you don't change allegiances. When the fuck have Ayr and Greenock ever won anything anyway 😂 if we want to improve our game we need to stop making it look so tinpot! We have a team in our top division who sell 90% of their stadium to the away team. I support hibs mate how can I possibly have a superiority complex 😂? We have 42 professional clubs in a country with a population of 5.5 million it's fucking stupidity.

The pyramid system is only place to keep these pub teams afloat when the reality is they should be non league/junior teams. There's junior teams with bigger fanbases than Hamilton and livi 🤣

Doncaster is not fit for purpose in any part of the administration of our game. Utterly clueless and ignorant of what our game needs, his whole idea of our game is solely driven towards 2 teams.
He needs emptied, Christ he can’t even sanction a deal to show the oldest and biggest original derby in Scottish football.
A shambolic ignorant and embarrassment of a man running our game.
Neil Doncaster is kept in his job by SPFL clubs. If they weren’t happy with him he would have been voted out a long time ago.

Is Doncaster the best advocate for Scottish football ? No. Does he implement the rules agrees by all member clubs ? Absolutely.

I don’t understand the two team comment either because he was getting lambasted by rangers a couple of years ago. Have we all forgotten about ‘the dossier’. What an embarrassment that was.

Neil Doncaster is kept in his job by SPFL clubs. If they weren’t happy with him he would have been voted out a long time ago.

Is Doncaster the best advocate for Scottish football ? No. Does he implement the rules agrees by all member clubs ? Absolutely.

I don’t understand the two team comment either because he was getting lambasted by rangers a couple of years ago. Have we all forgotten about ‘the dossier’. What an embarrassment that was.
Everyone gets lambasted by the rangers. It's their right to denigrate anything that doesnt please them, or anythig that challenges them.
They're 50% of Doncasters problem.
And 50% of Scottish footballs problem.

It's no a case of shutting them down it's just realising the reality of the situation. Giving teams professional status when they can't sustain themselves is madness. We have teams in our league who can't even afford a grass pitch 😂 I would imagine they would remain fans of their team mate you don't change allegiances. When the fuck have Ayr and Greenock ever won anything anyway 😂 if we want to improve our game we need to stop making it look so tinpot! We have a team in our top division who sell 90% of their stadium to the away team. I support hibs mate how can I possibly have a superiority complex 😂? We have 42 professional clubs in a country with a population of 5.5 million it's fucking stupidity.

The pyramid system is only place to keep these pub teams afloat when the reality is they should be non league/junior teams. There's junior teams with bigger fanbases than Hamilton and livi 🤣
If those clubs continue to want to be registered as professional clubs then that’s up to them surely?

There’s a bigger risk of folk giving up going to watch their teams on a regular basis due to the costs involved, the lack of hope of achieving anything due to the 2 Glasgow clubs hoovering up the largest slice of the finances and trophies, the fuckin abysmal weather, the list goes on. Now those fans of lower league clubs are being wooed to sit in front of the telly and watch a super league. In public, the directors of the aforementioned Glasgow duo are declining the overtures of the new European league but you can bet they’ll be looking to get in on the act and still retain B teams in Scotland that will continue their dominance. Just to be clear, the first part of this paragraph is folk like me.

You say you don’t have a superiority complex and then go on to use the ‘pub teams’ insult. 🤔
Right ye are.

If those clubs continue to want to be registered as professional clubs then that’s up to them surely?

There’s a bigger risk of folk giving up going to watch their teams on a regular basis due to the costs involved, the lack of hope of achieving anything due to the 2 Glasgow clubs hoovering up the largest slice of the finances and trophies, the fuckin abysmal weather, the list goes on. Now those fans of lower league clubs are being wooed to sit in front of the telly and watch a super league. In public, the directors of the aforementioned Glasgow duo are declining the overtures of the new European league but you can bet they’ll be looking to get in on the act and still retain B teams in Scotland that will continue their dominance. Just to be clear, the first part of this paragraph is folk like me.

You say you don’t have a superiority complex and then go on to use the ‘pub teams’ insult. 🤔
Right ye are.
I wouldn't call a team that can't afford a grass pitch professional.

Costs is a big one even for fans of our club and that's something that also must be addressed. Let's be honest whether we like it or no most top leagues in Europe are dominated by the same teams in their respected leagues so regardless of what happens that won't change anyway unless someone buys a club outside Glasgow with more money than sense. I'd love us to have a summer league personally. This cramming 8 games into one month in December is dreadful. Do you think the super league is that appealing? I think it sounds boring as fuck. The champions league is basically a super league the now and I barely watch that corporate pish anymore.

Why are you acting offended on behalf of other teams 😂 they are pub teams in fact pub teams probably have bigger fan bases than some of the shite in the lower leagues. My only concern is hibs and what benefits us the most and a more attractive professional set up would bring better TV deals and give our club more money that's all I care about. Who gives a fuck if pish teams like livi and Hamilton can't afford to keep the lights on they'll no be missed.

Right ye are.
I agree. There are obviously too many clubs in the league, with many struggling to remain viable, but it's not for anyone else to completely pull the rug from under them.

Some sort of regional thing in the lower leagues would definitely make sense - especially for the part time teams, but that'd be really complicated to put in place.

In any case, how many lower league clubs there are has never affected me or my support for Hibs (apart from maybe voting rights on big decisions).

I wouldn't call a team that can't afford a grass pitch professional.

Costs is a big one even for fans of our club and that's something that also must be addressed. Let's be honest whether we like it or no most top leagues in Europe are dominated by the same teams in their respected leagues so regardless of what happens that won't change anyway unless someone buys a club outside Glasgow with more money than sense. I'd love us to have a summer league personally. This cramming 8 games into one month in December is dreadful. Do you think the super league is that appealing? I think it sounds boring as fuck. The champions league is basically a super league the now and I barely watch that corporate pish anymore.

Why are you acting offended on behalf of other teams 😂 they are pub teams in fact pub teams probably have bigger fan bases than some of the shite in the lower leagues. My only concern is hibs and what benefits us the most and a more attractive professional set up would bring better TV deals and give our club more money that's all I care about. Who gives a fuck if pish teams like livi and Hamilton can't afford to keep the lights on they'll no be missed.
Those pub teams as you call them have produced some great players over their existence. Where do you think Hibs sourced some of the talent that went on to be the heroes of their day and brought big transfers and kudos to Hibs that kept us in a decent financial situation to maintain a top club status? It’s called grass roots football. Our first team weren’t just born into our academy setup you know. I’ll give you Ivan Sproule as a fairly recent example. £5000 from an Irish club that most people probably had never heard of. A club you’d consider a pub team. Going back further, Des Bremner, signed from Deveronvale in Banff, if memory serves me correctly, went on to be a superstar at Aston Villa. So, your pub teams are very much an essential component of the global football food chain.
A Hibs fan is in no position to come over as elitist and look down their nose at ’pub teams’. Remember Dalry putting the sheep out of the cup? That same sheep team regularly finishes above us in the league.
Remember the ‘pub team’ from Andorra that beat us in a European fixture just a few months ago?