Dublin

Been here too long, thinks he's somebody radge.
Off tae Dublin in the green next week, never been before. Tips on boozers, places tae see, boozers, places not tae go?
cheers!

Off tae Dublin in the green next week, never been before. Tips on boozers, places tae see, boozers, places not tae go? cheers!
Taken out a bank loan? :rascal: Guinness Factory tour and a "free drink" on the pour your own pint floor and another in the Sky Bar they have with fantastic views over the city. Temple Bar is the place tourists get lured to but it is expensive. Aviva Stadium tour is good and there's the option to take the Skyline option - walking across the roof of one of the stands. Unless, of course, you've got vertigo (like U2)

The Guiness tour is good. I've still got the paperweight souvenir with the drop of goodness inside.
As said, Temple Bar is grand. But costs about that much for a night there.

Off tae Dublin in the green next week, never been before. Tips on boozers, places tae see, boozers, places not tae go?
cheers!

St Pats for go to the ground fitba. Frasers on OConnell Street for fitba on the telly. The Dublin Hibs lads for a night on the lash. Guinness for breakfast, lunch and tea, carverys for pre sesh peeve, Eddie Rockets or Supermacs for post match peeve. Cheese and Onion Taytos for some of the best crisps in el mundo. Bacon sausage and soda bread for brekky.

Taken out a bank loan? :rascal: Guinness Factory tour and a "free drink" on the pour your own pint floor and another in the Sky Bar they have with fantastic views over the city. Temple Bar is the place tourists get lured to but it is expensive. Aviva Stadium tour is good and there's the option to take the Skyline option - walking across the roof of one of the stands. Unless, of course, you've got vertigo (like U2)

I hear its a tad dear? We are going tae the greyhound derby, my mates a dug man. Thursday tae Monday is a few pints of guinness hehe.
Looking forward tae my Irish debut though. Not got vertigo but I'm more of a Commitments man:yeah: Thanks SKII :thumbgrin

St Pats for go to the ground fitba. Frasers on OConnell Street for fitba on the telly. The Dublin Hibs lads for a night on the lash. Guinness for breakfast, lunch and tea, carverys for pre sesh peeve, Eddie Rockets or Supermacs for post match peeve. Cheese and Onion Taytos for some of the best crisps in el mundo. Bacon sausage and soda bread for brekky.

Think I should wear a hibs top? I'll have ta check the fixtures.:thumbgrin

The Guiness tour is good. I've still got the paperweight souvenir with the drop of goodness inside.
As said, Temple Bar is grand. But costs about that much for a night there.

I managed 600 euro in 4 days in Benidorm, cannae see me getting a pint for a euro in Dublin..... grand it is then:doh

7 Euros a pint more like it

4 or 5 if ye shop local, much more if you get mugged in Temple Bar. I recommend the Porterhouse at the bottom of Grafton Street.

Ach, I'm gonni enjoy masel. I drink vodka normally, so it'll likely be just as dear in any boozer. ÂŁ35 a round it is then.:doh

Great city to visit, although quite expensive.
Been over there a few times over the years to see the Boss in concert and always had a great time.
Temple Bar is great at night, some cracking boozers.

7 Euros a pint more like it

There is no way anyone should be paying that much for a pint in Dublin. Temple Bar is a rip off tourist trap, if you drink there it will be expensive but won't be that much with the current exchange rate . A regular pint in the city centre, should cost no more than €5 which is £3.67.

That was the point. If you drink in the tourist places you'll get ripped off.

I've been a few times recently and would say it's a myth that Dublin is still a rip off, just be sensible and avoid the tourist traps. Depending where you are staying there are good boozers everywhere .... I liked the cobblestone in Smithfield and kehoes off grafton streetw to name but 2. Kilmainham jail is defo worth a visit and I liked croke park too. There's a great wee Indonesian resteraunt close to the ha'penny bridge

I've been a few times recently and would say it's a myth that Dublin is still a rip off, just be sensible and avoid the tourist traps. Depending where you are staying there are good boozers everywhere .... I liked the cobblestone in Smithfield and kehoes off grafton streetw to name but 2. Kilhainmah jail is defo worth a visit and I liked croke park too. There's a great wee Indonesian resteraunt close to the ha'penny bridge

I didn't know that, north or South of the bridge?

Southside it's called chameleon https://www.chameleonrestaurant.com no idea if it's authentic but have been twice and it was excellent both times

Some good recommendations above, Cobblestones in Smithfield is a cracking pub. You are spoilt for choice for decent pubs, in just about every part of the city. I would say probably the most popular area among the locals for a night out are in the square mile or so south of the temple bar area where most of the late bars and clubs are, and also around Camden Street (20 minute walk south from Temple Bar). Plenty choice around there. Temple Bar gets a bad rep for the prices and general cartoon paddywhackery for the tourists but it can still be fun at the weekends - try the Hapenny Inn or the Palace Bar to avoid both.

For things to do, I would say the Croke Park tour is not to be missed, although not sure of the availability next weekend as it is the final of the GAA Football Championship (Dublin v Kerry on sunday afternoon) - maybe on the Friday. Should be a good buzz around the city for that though. The Little Museum of Dublin on St Stephens Green is for me the best of the historical attractions but Kilmainham Jail also worth a visit.

It's been about 10 years since I've been there.

As a tourist you have to hit the tourist spots, like the Temple Bar, just because, well just because you're tourists!

I enjoyed the hop on hop off bus tours, the Guinness tour, the Viking thingmy and a meal known as boxty (sp).

Some good recommendations above, Cobblestones in Smithfield is a cracking pub. You are spoilt for choice for decent pubs, in just about every part of the city. I would say probably the most popular area among the locals for a night out are in the square mile or so south of the temple bar area where most of the late bars and clubs are, and also around Camden Street (20 minute walk south from Temple Bar). Plenty choice around there. Temple Bar gets a bad rep for the prices and general cartoon paddywhackery for the tourists but it can still be fun at the weekends - try the Hapenny Inn or the Palace Bar to avoid both.

For things to do, I would say the Croke Park tour is not to be missed, although not sure of the availability next weekend as it is the final of the GAA Football Championship (Dublin v Kerry on sunday afternoon) - maybe on the Friday. Should be a good buzz around the city for that though. The Little Museum of Dublin on St Stephens Green is for me the best of the historical attractions but Kilmainham Jail also worth a visit.

Thanks for that, we're at Shelbourne park dugs on Saturday, Irish greyhound Derby . Not sure if that's same stadium as football team. I'll have a google once I find out where we are staying .

It's been about 10 years since I've been there.

As a tourist you have to hit the tourist spots, like the Temple Bar, just because, well just because you're tourists!

I enjoyed the hop on hop off bus tours, the Guinness tour, the Viking thingmy and a meal known as boxty (sp).

Hop on/off buses are great.
I do remember having an intense dislike for the English after doing the tourist stuff, seeing the damage caused by gunships etc.
I tried the Boxty too - because you have to really eh!
Went to a restaurant Gallachers? Boxty house I think which is tourist heaven with hundreds of Boxty versions.

I've been a few times. The Guinness is to die for; and yes the proper way is to pour it in two goes. The Guinness tour is worth going on once; don't expect an appearance by U2 on the top floor viewing bar place. Temple Bar is worth a look; but try to find a pub away from the tourist traps that maybe sells home made food. The Irish love to sing; if you're lucky you could get treated to some informal Irish dancing.

I got told for pubs stick to the south of the river; I once ended up in a club/pub where a bloke tried to chat up my girlfriend while I went to the loo. I wasn't aggressive to him at all when I returned but he didn't seem to get it! He had no front teeth; perhaps they had been removed by someone a lot less tolerant previously!

Try to see the famous Post Office where the Easter 1916 rising took place. You can still see the bullet holes.

Oh I forgot try to see the monument to the Pope's visit in Croke Park. I'm not religious at all but still worth a look.