Doncaster at it?

Fuzzywuzzy

Orc media getting upset about a rumour that Doncaster is looking for an 18 league set up. Apparently they think it's being done to save Scottish football to have them up. Nothing about a second Admin event if they don't get up.

If there is any substance to this then Doncaster needs to gtf. I'm all for a bigger league but not for saving sevco or a TV deal.

You can be rest assured that when they get beaten by QOTS it will be a world record league reconstruction.

I suspect it will happen anyway...the leagues have gone pretty stale and they cant really afford for too many premier clubs to be dropping down. Might be easier to market less divisions as well

IMO this will happen in time for the start of the 2016/17 season, especially if Rangers don't get promoted this time. It will make the Championship season next season a bit of a farce but just get the impression that the penny has dropped with the powers that be at Hampden that Scotland needs a bigger top league. The big problem for them would be less Old Firm games meaning less TV money and sponsorship

There's talk on MongMedia about the TV deal being 3 years and that time is up. The 'promise' was made to the TV executives that it would be no problem as the Huns were expected (guaranteed) to be back in the big time again by then. Seems the wheels have come off the bogey and Doncaster et al have been told the plug is getting pulled unless the Huns are back and normal service is resumed. These fuckers would sell their own grannies remember so, as I've expected all along, it will be thus;
Plan A = Huns gain promotion? the status quo remains. After all, who gives a fuck about the also rans?

Plan B = Huns fail? Reconstruct the leagues with immediate effect saying that it was always going to be the case after this season anyway but they didn't announce it in order to keep the leagues competitive.

There's talk on MongMedia about the TV deal being 3 years and that time is up. The 'promise' was made to the TV executives that it would be no problem as the Huns were expected (guaranteed) to be back in the big time again by then. Seems the wheels have come off the bogey and Doncaster et al have been told the plug is getting pulled unless the Huns are back and normal service is resumed. These fuckers would sell their own grannies remember so, as I've expected all along, it will be thus;
Plan A = Huns gain promotion? the status quo remains. After all, who gives a fuck about the also rans?

Plan B = Huns fail? Reconstruct the leagues with immediate effect saying that it was always going to be the case after this season anyway but they didn't announce it in order to keep the leagues competitive.

I ken the answer, but I'll ask anyway.
Do they think they will get away with that?

I ken the answer, but I'll ask anyway.
Do they think they will get away with that?

After the bungled attempt at shoehorning the Huns into firstly the SPL and then the second tier, they'll be much more careful this time for it not to look as obvious.

Bit of a conspiracy theory but it isn't beyond the realms of fantasy

There has to be one years notice for league reconstruction to come into effect or so I understand...FWIW I think it will happen even if Rangers get up this season.

I hope it does happen eventually.

I like the idea of 17 home and 17 away games.

Games are more important if you only play that team home and away.

I hope it does happen eventually.

I like the idea of 17 home and 17 away games.

Games are more important if you only play that team home and away.

I agree. It's needed changed for thirty years though and the powers that be have never given a toss because the OF were always safe and it guaranteed at least four OF games a season.

Why change now?

Has anyone got a link to that arsehole Doncaster talking about this?

There has to be one years notice for league reconstruction to come into effect or so I understand...FWIW I think it will happen even if Rangers get up this season.

There probably is a period of notice except that everyone got that notice already......3 years ago when the Huns got horsed oot.
I would welcome league reconstruction to 18 teams in the top flight but NOT to accommodate any one or two clubs (even Hibs), and especially not thae Hun bastards

Sky allegedly will walk away from the deal if Der Hun aren't in the top flight next year. Supposedly some clause in the contract that lets them do so. There is no way the Huns will not be in the top flight next year, and it won't be on 'merit' either.

I really hope Sky do walk away. Television has fucked football in this country. It's only ever been a way for the OF to make money. They get to keep all their gate money at home and get, I think, 40% of any TV money for any away game which is televised.

How many of both OF teams away games are on TV? 80% of them would be a decent guess without going into stats etc.

I fuckin hate the OF, SFA and SPFL. They've ruined just about everything good about being a fan of any club in Scotland other than the OF.

Surely after all the shite about the supporters having to pay to get into the play offs, clubs possibly extending contracts that have expired because of the play offs and the TV companies paying extra to show them they won't reconstruct the leagues and shaft everyone involved in the playoffs.

Sounds a load of shite to me.

I really hope Sky do walk away. Television has fucked football in this country. It's only ever been a way for the OF to make money. They get to keep all their gate money at home and get, I think, 40% of any TV money for any away game which is televised.

How many of both OF teams away games are on TV? 80% of them would be a decent guess without going into stats etc.

I fuckin hate the OF, SFA and SPFL. They've ruined just about everything good about being a fan of any club in Scotland other than the OF.

TV money isn't divvied up on an individual match basis. It goes into the pot and divvied out on league placing.

Cup games are different.

TV money isn't divvied up on an individual match basis. It goes into the pot and divvied out on league placing.

Cup games are different.

Yeah and the majority of that goes to first and second in the league.

I wonder who they usually are/ :hmmm

F*ck SKY, F*ck TV-Companies and F*ck Doncaster - all of them determined that F*ck-all changes in our game so the OF's shameful,moronic and embarrassing 'Sectarian ' continues to end-up in their pockets !!. Meanwhile those of us in the Scottish Footballing Public can go take a flying f*ck at ourselves !!

All involved in the governing of our game are only in it for their own personal gain, there's no 'Long-term' planning or thinking ahead. I'd go without TV/Sponsors etc if it meant getting shot of the likes of Doncaster and a dialogue of REAL CHANGE in our game came out of it !

Yeah and the majority of that goes to first and second in the league.I wonder who they usually are/ :hmmm
Aye, first and second took the lion's share then there was a fair drop in cash for the third place. The rest of Scotland's clubs must now grow a spine and ensure that any future TV deal is fairer for us all. I'm sick of Scottish football being treated as a vehicle to promote two clubs above all others.

They can't though, if they vote for a fairer share it won't be approved if 2 teams oppose of this. They tried to change this a few years back when the huns went bus but Celtic Rangers and Aberdeen voted no and it was thrown out.

I really hope Sky do walk away. Television has $#@!ed football in this country. It's only ever been a way for the OF to make money. They get to keep all their gate money at home and get, I think, 40% of any TV money for any away game which is televised.

I $#@!in hate the OF, SFA and SPFL. They've ruined just about everything good about being a fan of any club in Scotland other than the OF.

What he said.

And how often are their home league games against anyone but each other live on Zitelli? Hardly fcukin ever.

A 16 or even 18 team league would be great. In an 18 team league, playing each other twice, a hibs/hearts/aberdeen/dundee utd/whomever having a good year, would have 11% of points available dependent on fixtures with celtic and rangers, as opposed to 21% as it is today. That makes a non-OF league challenge much more likely - raise yourself to beat rantic once each at home and a couple of draws away, and you're winning the league if you can beat all the teams your size or smaller.

The failure of other clubs to grasp this point is frustrating beyond belief. Yes they'd lose revenue from OF gates, but they would do so equally with other clubs - a new baseline would be created. After all they'd bring in more revenue if they played the OF 38 times per season - it doesn't really matter as long as everyone readjusts together.

However, it needs to be done for the right reason and saving sevco is not it. :red:

A 16 or even 18 team league would be great. In an 18 team league, playing each other twice, a hibs/hearts/aberdeen/dundee utd/whomever having a good year, would have 11% of points available dependent on fixtures with celtic and rangers, as opposed to 21% as it is today. That makes a non-OF league challenge much more likely - raise yourself to beat rantic once each at home and a couple of draws away, and you're winning the league if you can beat all the teams your size or smaller.

The failure of other clubs to grasp this point is frustrating beyond belief. Yes they'd lose revenue from OF gates, but they would do so equally with other clubs - a new baseline would be created. After all they'd bring in more revenue if they played the OF 38 times per season - it doesn't really matter as long as everyone readjusts together.

However, it needs to be done for the right reason and saving sevco is not it. :red:

Which is why it won't happen, RanTic don't want any challenge to their duopoly (well monopoly these days) and they fought so hard to try and keep the voting for anything in their favour.

18 team top league is only solution for me. Once home and away, brings more of an occasion to a fixture. Even Derbys are becoming stale due to 4 times a year, less of them wouldd make them more intense (and less games for us to blow it). The Championship this year has shown that some teams could more than hold their own in a top league. QoS & Falkirk would fit in no bother.

BBC don't have the English lower leagues anymore. They could finally use the cash to give us a fairer tv deal, we could kick Sky/Bt into touch. Sat 3pm ko's and a highlights programme, all over UK, on a sat night.

But nothing will change. Too many clubs are happy to leech of the OF to actually try and be ambitious, try get their fans back into their grounds and actually try and kick on on the pitch. And the OF are more than happy to rodger us.

Another change should be that TV money is shared equally between all members of the League with a bonus for the winner.

Sent by telepathy.

Another change should be that TV money is shared equally between all members of the League with a bonus for the winner.

Sent by telepathy.

It should also be built into that that the home club, who invariably lose gate money, receive a set amount per match.

Far too many sensible suggestions on here just now!

18 team top league its a no brainer, plus another 18/20 team league below that which is fed by the current regional set-up

the pointless turgidity of 4 league games a season against the same team was an idea tae milk the fans by creatin (in theory) mair gate receipts every season (then further encouraged by the advent of tv money), games up the pole gie us some real competitive edge matches again, one home one away its what fitba is aboot

tv deals should be behind in the queue for priorities if they really want tae save/pump some life back intae the game

we need fans back in the grounds no in the pub or in the hoose, and dinnae get aw revenue management greedy and put the entrance prices up because of the 'lack of tv money' which am sure is a pish poor amount anyway relative tae whatever amount each club receives

consumer, customer or supporter - there can only be one really

oh shit i forgot tae say - i dinnae care if this is done tae 'save' the huns, the greater good is surely for the game itself

18 team top league its a no brainer, plus another 18/20 team league below that which is fed by the current regional set-up

the pointless turgidity of 4 league games a season against the same team was an idea tae milk the fans by creatin (in theory) mair gate receipts every season (then further encouraged by the advent of tv money), games up the pole gie us some real competitive edge matches again, one home one away its what fitba is aboot

tv deals should be behind in the queue for priorities if they really want tae save/pump some life back intae the game

we need fans back in the grounds no in the pub or in the hoose, and dinnae get aw revenue management greedy and put the entrance prices up because of the 'lack of tv money' which am sure is a pish poor amount anyway relative tae whatever amount each club receives

oh $#@! i forgot tae say - i dinnae care if this is done tae 'save' the huns, the greater good is surely for the game itself

Nail on the head there SB, it's a must need change regardless.
Fans are just plain dick and tired of this stale game. Playing each other 4 times a season has completely killed creativity , hence the reason Harry Potter stated his preference to keep it the same, suits negative fitba

oh $#@! i forgot tae say - i dinnae care if this is done tae 'save' the huns, the greater good is surely for the game itself

Agree on every count, 100%.

I've long said it - I really dinnae gie two fcuks if the games are on TV or not. I go along to watch my team every other week, IMO a decent highlights programme on the Sunday should be more than enough.

I am sick to the back teeth of the games that really excite being on at cocking mid-day. I'm not an animal, I'm not looking for an opportunity to get bladdered and fight. I want a couple of hours to meet up with my pals in my local, have a couple of beers and discuss the upcoming match, then toddle down to the ground; not rush down to Behind The Goals straight after breakfast, to try and down a couple of pints before it's time to bolt round the corner to get in in time for kickoff.

12.00 on a Sunday sucks donkey dick, there's no two ways about it. There's not a fan alive who actually goes to the game thinks it's a braw idea (or if there is, I've yet to meet one).

Agree on every count, 100%.

I've long said it - I really dinnae gie two fcuks if the games are on TV or not. I go along to watch my team every other week, IMO a decent highlights programme on the Sunday should be more than enough.

I am sick to the back teeth of the games that really excite being on at cocking mid-day. I'm not an animal, I'm not looking for an opportunity to get bladdered and fight. I want a couple of hours to meet up with my pals in my local, have a couple of beers and discuss the upcoming match, then toddle down to the ground; not rush down to Behind The Goals straight after breakfast, to try and down a couple of pints before it's time to bolt round the corner to get in in time for kickoff.

12.00 on a Sunday sucks donkey dick, there's no two ways about it. There's not a fan alive who actually goes to the game thinks it's a braw idea (or if there is, I've yet to meet one).

Yep, unfortunately though, until the TV companies start treating our game and it`s fans with some respect instead of using our league to fill a gap in a schedule and the SPFL stop kissing SKY/BT Sport arse, it`ll continue.

:banger:

Yep, unfortunately though, until the TV companies start treating our game and it`s fans with some respect instead of using our league to fill a gap in a schedule and the SPFL stop kissing SKY/BT Sport arse, it`ll continue.

:banger:

i cannae see tv companies giein one iota of respect tae what youve rightly coined a schedule fillin event

the SPFL are fluffers for the the tv companies in the world of fitba, its time they stopped hoorin it and politely tell the SKY/BT dirty mac mob tae bolt

If there's ever been a season to back up a 18 team league.

We all know how we got on v Falkirk n raith this season to back that up.

And that is what they should/will be saying.

I'm all for it [emoji106]

Can someone remind me ( & I'm not being sarcastic!), why we changed from a 16 team 1st division, 18 team2nddivision ,to what we have now?

"This change of structure split the league into three divisions, Premier, First, and Second Divisions. This permitted more frequent fixtures between the top clubs; the expectation was that meant greater revenue for them, and it was hoped it would stimulate greater interest, at a time when attendance at league matches had dropped alarmingly."

So basically,were going back to something we left because it wasn't working?

Or,

We're going back because the Tims need the huns?

So basically,were going back to something we left because it wasn't working?

Or,

We're going back because the Tims need the huns?

i wouldnae say it was exactly because it wasnae workin as it was mair a case of the top clubs wantin tae double the amount of visits by ugly sister fans as they swelled the attendances in comparison wi other fans and therefore make mair money rather than play arbroath, thistle , montrose, dumbarton, hamilton, etc

no doubt it was probably punted tae everyone as tae how much of an excitin league it would be wi jus top teams playin each other aw the time, the reality turned oot somewhat different though as the RanTic investment vehicles outstripping everybody proved

40 years on the game has completely changed in aw aspects, both on and off the field, so its really back tae what is the standard model for maist leagues around the world

though as for yer second reason that may well be the case this time but its always been aboot these 2 has it no for over a 100 year now