Deep Fried Mars Bars

Kurt

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/s...ttish-favourites-go-head-to-head-8783647.html

Anyone else think this clich about the Scottish diet is wearing a bit thin?

Like it says at the bottom it was a media invention in the mid-90s that seems to be latched into. The only people I've ever heard of eating these things are English tourists. Scotland has its health problems but they aren't related to deep fried Mars bars - its tantamount to a racist stereotype - like black people being associated with fried chicken or watermelon.

It is drivel. I have never seen one for sale in Glasgow, I know of no one who has ever had one in Glasgow. I do know that there are Chinese takeaways all over Britain that sell deep fried fruit as a dessert but that appears to be totally acceptable.

I had a few of them years ago, while still at school, got them out of Picante at the top of Broughton st.

They're actually quite decent, but I can't see why I'd eat one ever again.

I saw them for sale recently up town, but can't remember exactly where, 2.50 obviously a festival stunt for gullible, hungry tourists.

I remember after they were discussed on here or dotnet a while ago I did a Google. It seemed to me that half the UK were claiming ownership of the first dfmb.

I had a few of them years ago, while still at scoop, got them out of Picante at the top of Broughton st.

There were certainly still advertised as on sale there in May when I went in after the cup final.

Aye they're selling them in their other shop on London Road too.

I get a fair bit of stick for liking bits or scraps that they do down here. It is unreal to think I do when they sell battered mars bars in Scotland.

Bits are better :-)

I get a fair bit of stick for liking bits or scraps that they do down here. It is unreal to think I do when they sell battered mars bars in Scotland.

Bits are better :-)

used tae love a bag o shite as we called it when I was wee HJ .