It says "significant shares" in both clubs, so it depends on their bar for significant.Seems they’ve been chucked out of the Europa League due to their multi-club ownership. Don’t know the details yet but would that ever apply to us?
Aye, the rules are pretty established in all this. The higher ranked club stays in the lower ranked (in this case Palace) dont.
No one from these clubs complains too much when these money men put their cash in and buy a stake.
Shan for the Palace fans, but we cant have 2 teams with the same owners playing in the same cup. Need to keep some sort of sporting integrity imo
nope, we need to win the flag and get intae the chumpians league!!So do we need to hope Bournemouth don't keep threatening to qualify for Europe?
I wonder what wid they have done if the two teams qualified for the Conference? Palace turfed oot?Aye, the rules are pretty established in all this. The higher ranked club stays in the lower ranked (in this case Palace) dont.
No one from these clubs complains too much when these money men put their cash in and buy a stake.
Shan for the Palace fans, but we cant have 2 teams with the same owners playing in the same cup. Need to keep some sort of sporting integrity imo
So do we need to hope Bournemouth don't keep threatening to qualify for Europe?
Is this ever likely to be a problem?
The reason Lyon are getting the spot over Palace is that they finished 7th in their league and Palace finished 13th in theirs.
For us to get Europa through a league position we would need to finish 3rd or 4th. If Bournemouth did that in their league they'd be in the Champions League. Ditto if we got Conference finishing 4th or 5th, Bournemouth would have finish lower than us to get in the same competition. It would be them that got papped out, not us.
I suppose we could feasibly finish bottom six and win the Scottish Cup the same season Bournemouth finish 5th or 6th in the EPL but that's a lot of things that need to happen.
Good and valid point Bofa.Seems they’ve been chucked out of the Europa League due to their multi-club ownership. Don’t know the details yet but would that ever apply to us?
Yes and a thousand times yes.O Lord please do The Ranjurs next![]()
I think so mate.... not entirely sure, but would expect the same principle to applyI wonder what wid they have done if the two teams qualified for the Conference? Palace turfed oot?
From what I have read Textor bought 43% of the shares. They were bought as non voting shares. He was given 25% voting rights with the chairman Steve Parish having the final say in all votes. The EUFA state that multi owners should have no major influence on voting rights. His reason for selling up was his lack of influence in his investment. The goalposts have been moved several times and always in the direction of Lyon. They were relegated for financial discrepancies then re-instated after a cash injection. So one club can retrospectively reverse a decision while the other club, who also did this, by Textor selling up, don't get the same consideration.It says "significant shares" in both clubs, so it depends on their bar for significant.
Ta fir shedding some light in the dark there WFrom what I have read Textor bought 43% of the shares. They were bought as non voting shares. He was given 25% voting rights with the chairman Steve Parish having the final say in all votes. The EUFA state that multi owners should have no major influence on voting rights. His reason for selling up was his lack of influence in his investment. The goalposts have been moved several times and always in the direction of Lyon. They were relegated for financial discrepancies then re-instated after a cash injection. So one club can retrospectively reverse a decision while the other club, who also did this, by Textor selling up, don't get the same consideration.
Palace have have stated that an appeal is likely but that, I assume, will depend on the outcome of legal advice.
Apparantly Palace will now drop into the Conference League so at least a few excursions for the supporters.
Palace gained entry into Europe before by finishing 3rd in the top league but all English clubs were barred that season due to the Heysel disaster.
Lucky White Heather!
Anyway it's a warning not to jump into partnerships purely for investment. The current rules are as clear as my head was the morning after the FACup final.
Don’t disagree, but didn’t two Red Bull teams play each other in Europe recently?Aye, the rules are pretty established in all this. The higher ranked club stays in the lower ranked (in this case Palace) dont.
For once in fitba the rules are very clear. I can understand Palace being upset but they must have known this could happen. Also conference league offers them a better chance of going far in the competition. Europa league much tougher and can't see them making a dent in it.Aye, the rules are pretty established in all this. The higher ranked club stays in the lower ranked (in this case Palace) dont.
The rules appear to be interpreted differently for each club. Textor never had any influence on board decisions which was why he had been trying to sell his shares for the last couple of years.For once in fitba the rules are very clear. I can understand Palace being upset but they must have known this could happen. Also conference league offers them a better chance of going far in the competition. Europa league much tougher and can't see them making a dent in it.
).you could well be right....and if you are, then i would think there is recourse for CPFC ?Don’t disagree, but didn’t two Red Bull teams play each other in Europe recently?

Its all getting very murky just now. UEFA now intimating that the multi ownership rules will be scrapped for next season.Ta fir shedding some light in the dark there W![]()
So what’s the reasoning for not doing it now ?.Its all getting very murky just now. UEFA now intimating that the multi ownership rules will be scrapped for next season.
Well if it's so they don't look stupid I think they've left it a tad late. It appears that it was so difficult to make a decision that they need to scrap it and use a different approach altogether. They have only punished clubs for small(ish) misdemeanours and let all the big boys off with fines. They are looking more and more like Sepp Blatter's FIFA as time goes by.So what’s the reasoning for not doing it now ?.
Indeed Infantino, son of Blatter !Well if it's so they don't look stupid I think they've left it a tad late. It appears that it was so difficult to make a decision that they need to scrap it and use a different approach altogether. They have only punished clubs for small(ish) misdemeanours and let all the big boys off with fines. They are looking more and more like Sepp Blatter's FIFA as time goes by.
It seems, to me, that it's either the brown envelope strategy or incompetence (via outside influence) and I'm inclined, in this case, to go with the latter (even though it rhymes with Blatter). Palace will have plenty of backing in the appeal but whatever happens they can't take away the FA Cup.Indeed Infantino, son of Blatter !

I'd really like to know the answer to this too. Anybody?I wonder what would happen if two clubs with common ownership qualified for different Euro competitions, then the first club dropped down into the second club’s competition?