Corona virus on its own thread.

View media item 414
The USA Professor from Edinburgh University is on fire today and as she sits at the heart of Scottish ??????? decision making through the scientific advisory committee she gives a good summary of where she thinks we are.

She Identifies the inherent weakness in any Scottish??????? strategy though in that Scotland can't protect it own borders.?.

Once the USA flights begin arriving again and English ??????? and European camper vans and caravans flow north then it becomes a lottery as how can you test and trace system cope with that.?

• 20200618_201901.jpg
    20200618_201901.jpg
    232.3 KB · Views: 7
For anyone who missed it, today’s update on phase 2 of lockdown easing measures in Scotland.
FB_IMG_1592510987641.jpg

Sorry, I meant to post this one
FB_IMG_1592510977789.jpg
Ma bums on fire ?

View media item 414
The USA Professor from Edinburgh University is on fire today and as she sits at the heart of Scottish ??????? decision making through the scientific advisory committee she gives a good summary of where she thinks we are.

She identityfies the inherent weakness in any Scottish??????? strategy though in that Scotland can't protect it own borders.?.

Once the USA flights begin arriving again and English ??????? and European camper vans and caravans flow north then it becomes a lottery as how can you test and trace system cope with that.?

See chart above. We really need to make the "Consistent with Phase 2 accommodation can be provided for those required to stay away from home for work purposes." stick. That looks like keeping tourists out.

However, as you say, with the tourism industry told to get set for 15th July any attempt at the virus we've kept to ourselves looks doomed to fail.

Hancock's Half Hour of humiliation and lies. (Thursday)

The bufoon Dominic Raab, Taking a knee and Game of Thrones.

Watching CNN where they are reporting that yesterday there were increases in Coronavirus cases in 23 US States. Not so good.

Oh shit

R number will inevitably go up here as well as lockdown restrictions are eased...it's how countries deal with it that will matter.
Still can't believe they are easing restrictions in England and likely reducing the social distancing to a metre without a proper Test and Trace system in place. Hopefully the cautious and more organised approach to easing the lockdown in Scotland will help us to keep the virus under control in the weeks and months ahead.

I think Scotland is right being cautious. The R number in exemplar Germany went through the roof after an outbreak in an abattoir. It makes England's route looking particularly ominous.

Watching CNN where they are reporting that yesterday there were increases in Coronavirus cases in 23 US States. Not so good.

And today in the the land of the free......6 of Trumpets campaign team test positive ahead of the 10000 strong rally in Tulsa.
They've been isolated and there is no threat to anyone attending.......says one of Trumps advisors.
But everyone there is being asked to waive their right to sue Trump if they catch Coronavirus.
I'm certain that has reassured many, if not all the brain dead fuckwits who will be there.
Some will take their AR 15, or Glock 17 with them to ensure the virus gets the message.

Hallelujah brothers & sisters.

This is pretty detailed if you want recent local stats.

View media item 417
View media item 418

The USA professor is certainly getting streetwise as to how politics in England ??????? and the USA ?? really work.?

This is a highly contagious virus which thrives in cold and damp temperatures and the summer should be the time governments put in place the track, trace and isolate measures to counteract this.

Winter and the doubling with the annual flu outbreak will show how successful this has been though I think the calculation now is that as the NHS is beefed up then lets just see what happens.

Mass testing is the only way to control this virus successfully IMO. It needs to be massively ramped up everywhere before the winter.
We should have testing stations all over every major city in the UK..in GP surgeries, health centres, clinics etc
My understanding in Edinburgh at the moment is that when you book a test if you show symptoms you have to go out to the airport to get the test done ? Not exactly convenient especially for over 70's.

Mass testing is the only way to control this virus successfully IMO. It needs to be massively ramped up everywhere before the winter.
We should have testing stations all over every major city in the UK..in GP surgeries, health centres, clinics etc
My understanding in Edinburgh at the moment is that when you book a test if you show symptoms you have to go out to the airport to get the test done ? Not exactly convenient especially for over 70's.
While I agree there should be mass testing I still think that should be targeted. I'd start with front line services being regularly tested, those scooped up by the track and trace then anyone engaging with the NHS but I'm not sure how that would work. I'm not sure what the capacity is beyond that.

There was a testing centre early doors at the Western (hospital not pub!). Has that closed? Not expecting you to know @Greenmachine anyone can answer :)) . However I'd remind you and anyone else that mind need it that testing kits are available through the post.

While I agree there should be mass testing I still think that should be targeted. I'd start with front line services being regularly tested, those scooped up by the track and trace then anyone engaging with the NHS but I'm not sure how that would work. I'm not sure what the capacity is beyond that.

There was a testing centre early doors at the Western (hospital not pub!). Has that closed? Not expecting you to know @Greenmachine anyone can answer :)) . However I'd remind you and anyone else that mind need it that testing kits are available through the post.
This is closed, NHS staff go to Chalmers now according to the missus

England.....

Watched the splendid Anderson Cooper 360 on CNN as I do most days at 1.00 am.

I thought I would share his comments on the lunatic that is the most powerful individual on the planet, regarding Covid 19. Jesus wept.

Watched the splendid Anderson Cooper 360 on CNN as I do most days at 1.00 am.

I thought I would share his comments on the lunatic that is the most powerful individual on the planet, regarding Covid 19. Jesus wept.

Johnson/Cummings couldnae be getting the idea of no longer having daily briefings, as announced yesterday from their big pal by any chance?

Screenshot_20200624-151638_Chrome.jpgNothing about this in the MSM as far as I can see.

*The Centre for the Mathematical Modelling of Infectious Diseases (CMMID) at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine is a multidisciplinary grouping of epidemiologists, mathematicians, economists, statisticians and clinicians from across all three faculties of LSHTM.

BIG

*The Centre for the Mathematical Modelling of Infectious Diseases (CMMID) at the London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine is a multidisciplinary grouping of epidemiologists, mathematicians, economists, statisticians and clinicians from across all three faculties of LSHTM.

BIG
So now you're just BIG? :gigglle:

View attachment 2831Nothing about this in the MSM as far as I can see.

BIG
NGAFC ?

So now you're just BIG? :gigglle:

Lost a considerable amount of weight over the past 3 months. Was going to change to WEE G, however knew some of the East of Scotland zenophobes on here would have gone tonto and started singing about housing conditions in Glasgow.

G

Lost a considerable amount of weight over the past 3 months. Was going to change to WEE G, however knew some of the East of Scotland zenophobes on here would have gone tonto and started singing about housing conditions in Glasgow.

G
Did you mean to lose weight?

I've lost just over half a stone during lockdown with not drinking. Just because I've not been able to go to the pubs!

G
Must be some weight loss Wee G

View media item 422
High praise from the Professor to the people of Scotland ??????? though she understates her own advice and guidance in her role as part of the advisory committee to the Scottish government.???????✅

View media item 423
View media item 424

USA has?? around 30,000 new cases per day

England ??????? has 3,000 to 4,000 new cases per day.

Scotland ??????? has 5 new cases per day yet can't protect its borders and the airlines are chapping at the bit to get cracking.?

View media item 423
View media item 424

USA has?? around 30,000 new cases per day

England ??????? has 3,000 to 4,000 new cases per day.

Scotland ??????? has 5 new cases per day yet can't protect its borders and the airlines are chapping at the bit to get cracking.?
If only Scotland COULD close it's border with England that would probably eradicate Covid in this country. The situation would be similar to New Zealand's. Unfortunately not as we all know. Total devastation to the economy but people come first which is the opposite of what's happening south of the border.

Another dose of the virus for them doon there, something wrong with those people like, WTF are they thinking? Never seen the attraction of a rammed beach masel with thousands of people i dinnae ken. I'd rather have a beer and a barbecue at mine or a mates

Countless holidays abroad and never been on a beach at any of them.

I've been wondering about these air corridors for a while, not least because I've potentially got 3 holidays to fret about within 100 days!

The news reports almost sneering at countries where these corridors are unlikely to be included in first batch of countries while at the same time the UK currently has a death rate that dwarfs the rest of Europe combined! With the UK being included in the air corridor system it doesn't inspire much confidence in them.

Having said that it's not the UK that's got an incredibly high death rate its England and it's been disproportionately England since early doors.

I hope I am wrong, but I have a bad feeling we are going to see carnage in the holiday resorts of Spain, Greece and France once the travel and quarantine restrictions in England are lifted on July 6th. Loads of youngsters piling over to Magaluf and Faliraki. I'm sure they will all be practising social distancing there right enough...
The Spanish and Greek governments/police will not be standing back and throwing their hands in the air watching all those crowded beaches over there in the way the police down south did with the crowded beaches of Bournemouth and the like.

I hope I am wrong, but I have a bad feeling we are going to see carnage in the holiday resorts of Spain, Greece and France once the travel and quarantine restrictions in the UK are lifted on July 6th. Loads of youngsters piling over to Magaluf and Faliraki. I'm sure they will all be practising social distancing there right enough...
The Spanish and Greek governments/police will not be standing back and throwing their hands in the air watching all those crowded beaches over there in the way the police down south did with the crowded beaches of Bournemouth and the like.

Knowing the Guardia Civil in Spain, they wont throw their hands in the air, they will act if instructed. Their N332 website has been a good read during Covid.

Would feel safer in a Spanish resort than I would here tbh. Booked for early sept ☀️ . Well away from Brits abroad.

Will be doing little socialising prior to then either and will let the arseholes have first crack ? at making a James Hunt of it post lockdown then let the dust settle...

I feel much safer staying put actually and won't be leaving Scotland perhaps even Argyll. England, Spain or the rest of Europe no way Jose. Those covidiots in the south i.e the Govt. and the general public are going to blow the excellent work we have all done in Scotland. SHUT the border now.

Prof. Devi Sridhar stated today that if Scotland was an island zero cases by July would be feasible. She also added the open border with England is problematic with the possibility of the virus being imported to Scotland. Stay at home in Scotland. Who the hell wants to go anywhere else anyway?

This thread has been viewed 320832 times.