Child’s first game age?

Central_Hibee

Was wondering what age people thought was acceptable to take a child to their first game?

Considering taking my boy tomorrow, he’s 3.5 but closer to his 4.5 yo cousin in terms of maturity. And he managed to sit through 3 hours of monster trucks at the hydro with no problem, and all the pauses and breakdowns, so I’m thinking surely he can sit through 90 mins of hibs break downs 😂

Just wondered what age others took their kids to their first game?

It would save a lot of favours for childcare on a sat if I could start taking him sometimes.

Took my oldest laddie tae the first league cup game against Cowdenbeath in 1985. He was 4. He took his laddie tae his first game against Birmingham in a pre-season friendly at the same age. The bairns had a season ticket since then.

All three of mines were 2.

You have to accept that if you’re involving them it might not go exactly how you would like it.

Glad I did though, my daughter isn’t fussed now but both the boys are Hibs daft

Smuggled my daughter in a mates car for a lift to Perth 18th September 1993 aged two and another good pal took us back to Glasgow after the game.
I kept it quiet and my wife thought I was kidding when I pointed out the two of us celebrating right behind the goals but the yellow t-shirt confirmed her disbelief.
Crunchie, Wright and O'Neill secured a magnificent 3-1 win and we went top of the Premier League for the first time ever.

I think mine was 5 when I first took her along. She was bored shitless and told me the best part of her day was the Twix she got at half time.

Despite that, she seems to like going to games now, so early indoctrination might work.

My daughters been a season ticket holder since 1 and 1/2 she's now 4 .

Her first game was at fir park

My other daughter has a season ticket now aswell she's 2

I remember years ago seeing couple with a tiny bairn in a carry cot thing in the old east stand (covered) the kid looked weeks old

Good to hear of all the young Hibees being indoctrinated from an early age.

In the 1970s when I was a nipper I can't mind many of us being taken to games til we were 7 or 8. My Dad was a jambo (he never tried to discourage my love of Hibs)..but he took me to Stanton"s testimonial with my best pal..think it was 1978 ..got the bug but wasn't allowed to go with mates til I was 11 or 12. Had to rely on my Mum's side of the family, Uncles and radge Grandad from Lochend which was an education for a quiet, shy laddie from Porty. Still appreciate them doing it tho, proper Hibs men who loved the game and their Saturday fix.

Both my son and daughter's first game was Motherwell away August 2021. First game of the season I think under Jack Ross, we won 3-2! Think the wee man had only just turned 2, and my daughter was 5.

Actually just checked the exact date and he was still only 1yo! Too early probably to be taking a bairn to a game, but I hadn't seen Hibs for ages due to living down south and then Covid, so I was desperate to go. The Missus was working so bairns got taken along too 😂

Top tip is be prepared to ply them with sweets and/or give them a device to keep them occupied as no way are they sitting through the whole 90 minutes!

My old man took me to ER when I was 4, right at the front of the East.

It was us against Dunfermline.

That was when I became hooked on the Hibees, that Christmas my godmother was a dress maker and seamstress, she made me a Hibs top with the old white v neck, her best friend was a secretary at Hibs so she was able to get the same material as players strips.

I felt the bees knees every time I wore it.

My oldest was around 3, at East Fife away in a friendly. Him and a young Joe Dudgeon decided to was a good idea to run on the pitch during the game.

Later seen doing the same post match against the huns, Irish tricolour in hand on that great day in May 2016.

My younger laddie was around 7, didnae seem to enjoy it, turns out he was blind as a bat and couldnae see. New Gregory's, he is sitting beside me at ER tomorrow.

Take sweets, games, and a keen eye as the wee yin runs about.

My oldest was around 3, at East Fife away in a friendly. Him and a young Joe Dudgeon decided to was a good idea to run on the pitch during the game.

Later seen doing the same post match against the huns, Irish tricolour in hand on that great day in May 2016.

My younger laddie was around 7, didnae seem to enjoy it, turns out he was blind as a bat and couldnae see. New Gregory's, he is sitting beside me at ER tomorrow.

Take sweets, games, and a keen eye as the wee yin runs about.
Kevin Harpers debut ?

Was wondering what age people thought was acceptable to take a child to their first game?

Considering taking my boy tomorrow, he’s 3.5 but closer to his 4.5 yo cousin in terms of maturity. And he managed to sit through 3 hours of monster trucks at the hydro with no problem, and all the pauses and breakdowns, so I’m thinking surely he can sit through 90 mins of hibs break downs 😂

Just wondered what age others took their kids to their first game?

It would save a lot of favours for childcare on a sat if I could start taking him sometimes.
No problem that , wouldn’t take him to games v the three uglies though 😩

I took my son when he was one, and then at least one game a season until he was old enough to go ‘properly’.

I think in retrospect I’d agree with @Hibee Kev that was a bit too early - it was mostly a daft dad idea so in later life he could claim to have been going for his whole life basically.

My advice would be to ensure the wee felly is able to properly understand what the plan is. The crowd noise might be scarey for him unless he kens what it is, and what’s what. By your description I suspect he will be fine, and I’m shite at remembering how they are at different stages, ie where they’re at at 3.5 in terms of development.

I took my twin boys to the Aberdeen game at the tail end of last season courtesy of a real good bouncer @tricky ! They were 4 which complimented the number of goals we conceded. They were quite excited and briefly entertained by Percy and Sunshine. Zero interest in the football and then spent the rest of the time watching a phone.

I am taking one of them along again today. The other one isn’t feeling well so staying at home with his mum. They are normally more interested/focussed on things when they are on their own so I am hoping he gets on better today.

I think I was 7 when my old man lifted me over the turnstile for the first time and I was hooked. Took my daughter to her first game at 4 years old. I had to go for a slash on the way out so told her to wait at the railings. When I came out she was busy giving the “V” sign to the passing Livi fans. She came to a few games including a couple of Hampden jaunts but never really caught the bug.

Memories of my youth. Uttered many a time 'Can yi gimme a liftover mister?'
Or at the Dunbar end, when my old man was working, we would be piling up juice crates to climb over the wall………………bonus the occasional bottle of cola.