Boxsets

• Thread starter Thread starter Aye
  • Start date Start date

Aye

I always like to have a wee box set on stand by to work my way through.

Any recommendations.

JFTB and I currently trying to get through Breaking Bad and I have just started downloading firest season of Mad Men via Skly's On Demand (well done Skly you have finally followed in the footsteps of Virgin - not before fecking time).

Any feedback on Mad Men or anything else?

Muchos thanks.

NC

The Wire
Dexter
Sons of Anarchy
Spartacus
Underbelly
Arrow
Hell on Wheels
Las Vegas
Homelands
Boardwalk Empire
The Walking Dead
The Sopranos

The list is endless

http://www.imdb.com/list/Cru3nI8P-n8/

The last one I watched was Spartacus and I thought it was shit hot. (2 seasons and a 6 parts) with the new season starting next month.

The Wire
Dexter
Sons of Anarchy
Spartacus
Underbelly
Arrow
Hell on Wheels
Las Vegas
Homelands
Boardwalk Empire
The Walking Dead
The Sopranos

The list is endless

http://www.imdb.com/list/Cru3nI8P-n8/

The last one I watched was Spartacus and I thought it was shit hot. (2 seasons and a 6 parts) with the new season starting next month.

Thanks for this. Sopranos is on my list and have seen most of the other ones.
Just couldnt get into the The Wire and I tried a couple of times.

Game of Thrones is brilliant, season 3 due to start in two or three months time :bbb:

Boardwalk Empire been mentioned but that's excellent too if you're into your gangster movies and such like, takes a couple of episodes to get going though IMO :thumbgrin

For completed box sets you cant look past the sopranos

I love lost aswell but not exactly everyones cup of tea.

The rest mentioned aswell, im looking to start the wire sometime soon.

The Shield is a show, I have never really given a chance. Watched a few half episodes here, and there, but not a series. Will need to try and find season 1.

I always like to have a wee box set on stand by to work my way through.

Any recommendations.

JFTB and I currently trying to get through Breaking Bad and I have just started downloading firest season of Mad Men via Skly's On Demand (well done Skly you have finally followed in the footsteps of Virgin - not before fecking time).

Any feedback on Mad Men or anything else?

Muchos thanks.

NC

Absolutely fantastic TV!

Have watched seasons 1 to 4 on numerous occasions and got season 5 on Blu-ray for my Christmas that i watched in two sittings.

It's the cut throat of advertising in Madison Avenue from the early 60's. Season one starts from 1961 and each season starts a new year. We're now up to 1966...

MAD MEN

Generation Kill well worth a watch.

Currently working my way through 'Life On Mars' and 'Ashes To Ashes'. DCI Gene Hunt - what a guy!

I knew I should have stopped watching that programme when I saw a polar bear wandering about on a tropical island. But I never. I think I managed about 3 series before I gave up.

I'm currently watching "Life" which stars Damian Lewis of Homeland fame. It only ran for 2 series, its a bit quirky but good to watch.

Didnae like Life though I wanted to for some reason

I knew I should have stopped watching that programme when I saw a polar bear wandering about on a tropical island. But I never. I think I managed about 3 series before I gave up.

I'm currently watching "Life" which stars Damian Lewis of Homeland fame. It only ran for 2 series, its a bit quirky but good to watch.

Episode 2!?
Its really good if you persist, I love it, all 95 hours, but because its so far out there I can see why it doesn't appeal to everyone, didn't do anything for me when it first came out, then I just started one day last year.

Another program I liked, which I think is still running is southland, starring Ben McKenzie from the OC which I dont expect many folk to relate to, but he's an excellent actor. Its about 3 areas of the LA police force, street cop, homicide and gang.

The Shield is a show, I have never really given a chance. Watched a few half episodes here, and there, but not a series. Will need to try and find season 1.

The shield is fecking fantastic. In the end better than the wire in my opinion. Certainly where the wire kinda peters out, the shield just ups the ante constantly.

I rely on tips from a couple of USTV enthusiasts and have rattled through the following:

Sopranos
The Wire
Californication
- tremendous humour
Curb your enthusiasm - might irritate some but really enjoyed this

Sons of Anarchy - got to around 3rd series then stopped all downloading when demand for €900+ dropped through the door from a german solicitor for illegal downloading. Will definitely go back to this as it was good if not great.

Dexter - see above

Oz - decent enough but finished with it at the end of a season as was nothing special.

With threat of fines now gone I am currently finishing second "season" of Homeland which is tremendous
Another fine tip was Damages which is a legal thriller and I'm at end of second season also. Glenn Close is excellent as the baddie.

I started Breaking Bad at the same time as the above two but have left that at end of first season. It was OK but prefer to concentrate on Homeland and Damages for now.

There were plenty other suggestions but have no interest in supernatural, vampires, anything outwith the last 50years etc etc

eztv.it is your friend

Everyone over here is loving Love Hate. I've just ordered the boxset so fingers crossed its as good as the hype.

There is a relatively new series called Suits that is making waves across the pond on the 3rd season at the moment and it is class

Anybody seen Roots? I thought it was brilliant

For fast-paced, well written comedy, Modern Family.

And for drama and some good raw jazz and blues, try Treme.

Thanks for all of these recommendations and I am up to date with a lot of what has been mentioned.

Got a wee list now on my phone of "ones to watch".

For info going forward, I love any glossy drama, gritty / police / crime drama / period dramas. :smug:

Just in case you come acorss anything else I might fancy.

A few new things are starting on the telly this week which look good too.
That will keep me occupied when I'm not working out, cooking, cleaning, washing, ironing, working full time and running a business.

Thanks again

NC

If you try the shield - please don't be put off by the first episode . The shield does gritty to the max and the first episode is so brutal my Missus couldn't watch it. It stays dark as hell but there is nothing as disturbing as the first episode after that initial blast to set the stall out so to speak - its not violence it's tehe interrogation of a pedo that was too much for mrs egb

How about Blue bloods or the equally impresive Chicago code,bones is also quite good.

I watch Blue Bloods, it's ok but nothing to write home about.I actually thought you had written Chicago Fire for a minute, was gonna give you ticking off for that. I watch it, but boy is it gash!! Would never recommend it to anyone.
I know what you mean it's good but I wouldnae have a wee greet if I missed i,normally catch up with 2 or 3 episodes on a saturday night when there is faf all on the box. Chicago fire lol I almost wrote that as I couldnt remember the name of the chicago code.

Blue Bloods is a fave of mine.
Also enjoyed Chigaco Fire and Chicago Code. Was disappointed they only did one season.

I watch most of the new, much talked about dramas but tend to let a few gems slip through the net.

If you try the shield - please don't be put off by the first episode . The shield does gritty to the max and the first episode is so brutal my Missus couldn't watch it. It stays dark as hell but there is nothing as disturbing as the first episode after that initial blast to set the stall out so to speak - its not violence it's tehe interrogation of a pedo that was too much for mrs egb

How do you think it compares with The Wire?

Better? Worse? On a par?

Battlestar Galactica (2004) is the best TV ever made. Do not , under any circumstances, confuse this with it's original 1970's namesake.

It contains one of the best musical scores ever written.

Is really really profound (I found my dormant Christianity after watching the entire box set).

And has Tricia Helfer...(Who will blether to you on twitter, honest!).

View attachment 3918

Thanks for this. Sopranos is on my list and have seen most of the other ones.
Just couldnt get into the The Wire and I tried a couple of times.

Elementary my dear NC. Second series coming in Feb and the first series was excellent.

Homeland if you ain't already seen it Leigh :thumbgrin:

I watched a coule of these and thought it was crap. Opinions eh big fellah :thumbgrin

Utopia which debuted last night looks promising. It'll be on 4od.

Ah at last, someone to confirm it was the first episode. It began as if it was half way through something and I havent quite got to grips with what the fook it is all about. If you like wanton mayhem and gore then this deffo looks like the show to be sitting in front of. I agree it does have a lot of promise.

How do you think it compares with The Wire?

Better? Worse? On a par?

It's a different animal - more espisodic though within an overarching story that eventually comes to dominate. It doesn't have the epic sweep of the wire.

However I think that in the end its better. The wire tails off where the shield just gets more and more intense. It doesn't have the multiple threads of the wire, but is tighter and becomes like a Greek tragedy.

Essentially it's about corruption and how one little lie leads to a bigger one and then another... It's about the road to hell.

Fucks its brilliant.

It's a different animal - more espisodic though within an overarching story that eventually comes to dominate. It doesn't have the epic sweep of the wire.

However I think that in the end its better. The wire tails off where the shield just gets more and more intense. It doesn't have the multiple threads of the wire, but is tighter and becomes like a Greek tragedy.

Essentially it's about corruption and how one little lie leads to a bigger one and then another... It's about the road to hell.

Fucks its brilliant.

That's a ringing endorsement. I'm going to give it a go.

I agree that The Wire tailed off, and it did so probably for the reason you outline that the story didn't have a clear narrative end-point to aim for. It's almost like the writers didn't know what to do with it in the last series. Although, in fairness the theme of eternality, in the hell-hole that humans have created repeating itself again and again in an endless cycle, is laid out and maintained throughout the series. Some of kind of 'happy ending' conclusion would have made no sense either thematically or artistically.

Totally agree Eeg. I loved the shield. Vic Mackie is a great character. The Sopranos,Oz and The Shield are my favourite box sets.

Watched the Shield yesterday cos of this thread. Top stuff. Ended up watching 7 episodes back to back from series 1.

The whole shaboogle is on Lovefilm. I'm hooked. Cheers. :raisehat:

[MENTION=4263]Dub[/MENTION] be a boring old place if we all liked the same shit buddy, but your wrong obviously :giggle:
Utopia is good, watched the 1st yin then decided the best way would be to do them in a oner lol so they're Tivo'd :bbb:

That's a ringing endorsement. I'm going to give it a go.

I agree that The Wire tailed off, and it did so probably for the reason you outline that the story didn't have a clear narrative end-point to aim for. It's almost like the writers didn't know what to do with it in the last series. Although, in fairness the theme of eternality, in the hell-hole that humans have created repeating itself again and again in an endless cycle, is laid out and maintained throughout the series. Some of kind of 'happy ending' conclusion would have made no sense either thematically or artistically.
the shields ending is perfect. Although it takes a day or twos reflection to become so - which is even more perfect.

I'll say no more!

Another great cop show is homicide. It was made in the 90s by the folks that went on to make the wire - one season actually features a story line that is a mini version of the wires first season