bono

Could we no just send Bono? He can explain it to them while they're dousing him in petrol.

After the edge declaring u2 were leading the fight back against Islamist terrorism in Europe, Bono has sagely recommend that we can defeat ISIL with luvvie
Comedians.

It's tempting just to laugh but given how many westerners seem to think hashtags can fix the worlds problems I sometimes think these showbiz bubbles actually influence people

http://www.theguardian.com/music/20...y-schumer-chris-rock-fight-islamic-state-isis

you bemoan the influence this tiny little newspaper spouts in the UK....

but linky to them oft!

How long does it take the likes of Bono or The Edge to move from normal musician to total welt? What kind of environment do they create around themselves to allow that transition? Is it something they actively seek or does it happen organically?

At what age do they think, I cannae be going about being called 'The Edge' for much longer? They must be mid 50s now?

you bemoan the influence this tiny little newspaper spouts in the UK....

but linky to them oft!

Don't see a contradiction there me old egg - in fact I think one follows from the other.

How long does it take the likes of Bono or The Edge to move from normal musician to total welt? What kind of environment do they create around themselves to allow that transition? Is it something they actively seek or does it happen organically?

At what age do they think, I cannae be going about being called 'The Edge' for much longer? They must be mid 50s now?
It's always the 'the' that has got me. I can just about imagine saying, 'oi edge, get the beers in'. But does he really get addressed as in 'howsitgaun the edge' ffs

Could we no just send Bono? He can explain it to them while they're dousing him in petrol.
That would be an Unforgettable Fire.

Have tae change his name tae Bony though :fire:

Boo!

He's about as edgy as a fuckin tub of Golden Churn, having a wee buttery holiday in the Sahara, without the tub.

He has a brother Richard, who co-founded U2.

Apparently he is known as "Dik".

Not 'Dick', as some Richard's are known, but 'Dik'.

"Hoi THe Edge and Dik with a K, are one of you dicks getting the drinks in?"

Kinda hoping in a "we'll never have to listen to this prick spout his pish again" sort of way that this thread was that he'd carked it!

Pity.

That would be an Unforgettable Fire.

Have tae change his name tae Bony though :fire:

Boo!

What's the difference between God and Bono?

God doesnae walk down the street thinking he's Bono.

Boo!

Don't see a contradiction there me old egg - in fact I think one follows from the other.

It's always the 'the' that has got me. I can just about imagine saying, 'oi edge, get the beers in'. But does he really get addressed as in 'howsitgaun the edge' ffs

I think he was liquidated years ago

He may actually be onto something.

Or on something. It's the utter detachment from and disinterest in what is actually going on that grates. The staggering conceit that it will only take a shit comedian for an ancient and flourishing (as we do the opposite) culture to decide they want to be just like us - and the nauseating fat self satisfied hubris that the world will be saved by 'guys with guitars' and other bubbles, despite the failure by lesser sorts for thousands of years, countless numbers of whole have been killed. Their comments were little short of disgusting after Paris.

An utter whopper; someone should have asked him how amy schumer will overturn a 1500 year old culture, and a worldwide movement motivated in part by its disgust for what she represents, when u2 couldn't even stop the war in Norn iron.

U2 were a great band...one of the best ever IMO.
I've been fortunate enough to see them many times over the years and even sneaked in to the Playhouse through the fire exit in 1984 to see them on the Unforgettable Fire Tour.
I don't care much for them now, and Bono is indeed an irritating character. I wish musicians would stick to what they do best and stop preaching to everyone about what they should think and how they should live their lives.

Or on something. It's the utter detachment from and disinterest in what is actually going on that grates. The staggering conceit that it will only take a shit comedian for an ancient and flourishing (as we do the opposite) culture to decide they want to be just like us - and the nauseating fat self satisfied hubris that the world will be saved by 'guys with guitars' and other bubbles, despite the failure by lesser sorts for thousands of years, countless numbers of whole have been killed. Their comments were little short of disgusting after Paris.

An utter whopper; someone should have asked him how amy schumer will overturn a 1500 year old culture, and a worldwide movement motivated in part by its disgust for what she represents, when u2 couldn't even stop the war in Norn iron.

Firstly, he is an erse.

Thing is, his kind of reasoning is very similar to the reasoning that the likes of Trump use i.e. the conventional 'leaders' have failed to resolve crisis x so lets go in with a totally unworkable but radical alternative. Folk love that kinda shit approach. Its the same knee-jerk craziness that leads to a club appointing 8 managers in a decade.

Or on something. It's the utter detachment from and disinterest in what is actually going on that grates. The staggering conceit that it will only take a $#@! comedian for an ancient and flourishing (as we do the opposite) culture to decide they want to be just like us - and the nauseating fat self satisfied hubris that the world will be saved by 'guys with guitars' and other bubbles, despite the failure by lesser sorts for thousands of years, countless numbers of whole have been killed. Their comments were little short of disgusting after Paris.

I think his proposal of sending in Schumer etc was a bit tongue in cheek but my take on what he said is that there is some worth in taking the piss to undermine them. The use of satire for example, does have some power to undermine it. These "sorts" we are dealing with really do hate freedom. Particularly freedom of speech. Erdogen has just gone apoplectic at some German comedian/poet that took the piss out if him.

Yes but that's a western cultural response. I think in that part of the world it would just cement support for ISIL, while over here everyone would be guffawing away until someone lost their head...thats if cries of waycism didnt shut it down first.

Yes but that's a western cultural response.

"Western culture" is very popular with the youth to a certain extent. They have a huge appetite for Hollywood movies, hip hop, alcohol, sexual freedom etc. Stop giving the nutters guns and start giving them free WiFi and Netflix.

I think in that part of the world it would just cement support for ISIL,

As much as sending in the drones ?

"Western culture" is very popular with the youth to a certain extent. They have a huge appetite for Hollywood movies, hip hop, alcohol, sexual freedom etc. Stop giving the nutters guns and start giving them free WiFi and Netflix.
do they? This sounds like the neocon optimism that has been let down time and again. The wealthy liberal youth make a lot of noise but it's not clear they are represenative.

Meanwhile, familiarity seems to literally breed contempt. In Europe, surveys suggest that Muslim youth are more conservative than their parents have been brought up surrounded by western culture. It's reasonable to assume that those inclined to Islamism are more religiously conservative than regular Muslims, so I imagine the effect is even stronger among those so disposed.

I do wonder exactly how many are clamouring for their daughters, sisters and prospective wife's to be knocking back jäger bombs while listening to gangsta rap?

You may find this interesting: an article about one of the godfathers of modern jihadism and his revulsion at the meagre debauchery at church dances in a dry town in 1950s America (he was a secularist before going there)

http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/a-lesson-in-hate-109822568/

I'm quite happy for it to be tried though, but I think Bono should lead from the front :wink:

As much as sending in the drones ?
well comedy wouldn't simulataneously wreck al Qaeda - though as they have been far far less successful about ISIL, maybe you're right. Send some showbiz drones.

Pa remember the erdogan you reference is the leader of the Muslims world preeminent secular democracy, and is doing rather well as a leader finally reflective of a people who have had that secularism enforced at the point of a gun. The German poet is now under armed protection.

So, basically, Jihadis are just really angry Luddites?

Don't know if it's that system. I have zero truck with cultural relativists and am happy to pronounce that, warts and all, the west is the best.

However at the same time I can appreciate that a) there's no reason that others would necessarily agree and b) the wests bestness doesn't look terribly sustainable at the moment and I'm not sure why people would rush
to board a train that looks like it's getting to the end of the line.

For all that is wrong with other cultures, embracing family breakdown, rampant materialism and depressed and unhappy young people, is not
necessarily compelling - to say nothing of potential complete collapse.

Don't know if it's that system. I have zero truck with cultural relativists and am happy to pronounce that, warts and all, the west is the best.

However at the same time I can appreciate that a) there's no reason that others would necessarily agree and b) the wests bestness doesn't look terribly sustainable at the moment and I'm not sure why people would rush
to board a train that looks like it's getting to the end of the line.

For all that is wrong with other cultures, embracing family breakdown, rampant materialism and depressed and unhappy young people, is not
necessarily compelling - to say nothing of potential complete collapse.

It was a wee bit tongue in cheek off the back of "...Therefore, Qutb called all true Muslims to jihad, or Holy War, against jahiliyya—which is to say, against modernity, which America so powerfully represents..."

Kinda like when describing a martial art my son (6 at the time) said "...Aye, Dad, Judo's just angry cuddles..."

I do wonder exactly how many are clamouring for their daughters, sisters and prospective wife's to be knocking back jäger bombs while listening to gangsta rap?

Are you are turning into an old fogey ? :giggle:

You may find this interesting: an article about one of the godfathers of modern jihadism and his revulsion at the meagre debauchery at church dances in a dry town in 1950s America (he was a secularist before going there)

http://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/a-lesson-in-hate-109822568/

I've read about this bam before, maybe even this article. He's the worst of the worst but he's still (or at least he was) just a crank that has a decent size following for a cult. That mind set is dangerous and attracts bampots. Check this video out of a German convert to Islam who joined Isis.

HuffPost

The epitome of a fucking loser.

I'm quite happy for it to be tried though, but I think Bono should lead from the front :wink:

well comedy wouldn't simulataneously wreck al Qaeda - though as they have been far far less successful about ISIL, maybe you're right. Send some showbiz drones.

ISIL type cults will always be able to attract these losers and psychopaths to their ranks for a bit rape and beheading but in the wider sphere of the muslim world I say keep chipping away at them with free WiFi and Netflix and crappy western consumerism. They will get hooked on Breaking Bad and forget all about the Caliphate half way through season 2.

Pa remember the erdogan you reference is the leader of the Muslims world preeminent secular democracy, and is doing rather well as a leader finally reflective of a people who have had that secularism enforced at the point of a gun. The German poet is now under armed protection.

I read Erdogan closing down news papers, I doubt he would get away with that if Turkey were a fully paid up EU member ?

Are you are turning into an old fogey ? :giggle:
nope (or maybe aye but nowt to do wi this :giggle: ) I'm just recognising that not only is it culturally alien to them, it's culturally alien to most of the world

I've read about this bam before, maybe even this article. He's the worst of the worst but he's still (or at least he was) just a crank that has a decent size following for a cult. That mind set is dangerous and attracts bampots. Check this video out of a German convert to Islam who joined Isis.
but the point is he was a secularist until he encountered, well, secularism. He's an extreme response to be sure, but the mounting evidence is suggestive that proximity to our society is actually breeding contempt at least as much as distance from it (I believe western countries are producing far more Isil members per head than Muslim ones btw). One contributing factor is our Suicidal policy of importing millions of folk and then huge swathes of our education and arts and media drilling into them that we are the bad guys who have always persecuted them. It doesn't strike me as a winning formula.

The epitome of a $#@!ing loser.
western converts are like previous generations who ran off to join communist movements I suspect, a mixture of losers and utopian a seeking meaning in a revolutionary inferno. There'll be more of them. Oh and as you note, psychos also.

ISIL type cults will always be able to attract these losers and psychopaths to their ranks for a bit rape and beheading but in the wider sphere of the muslim world I say keep chipping away at them with free WiFi and Netflix and crappy western consumerism. They will get hooked on Breaking Bad and forget all about the Caliphate half way through season 2.
its not happening though, as above. I really don't think the problem in the end is isils or even domestic extremists - it's how you reconcile fundamentally different outlooks once the population mix is sufficiently, er, mixed

I read Erdogan closing down news papers, I doubt he would get away with that if Turkey were a fully paid up EU member ?
im sceptical of that, very sceptical - Europe is a paper tiger in matters of the kind.

Saw U2 at the Nite Club once in about 1980 - I was only there to see the support who were from Edinburgh and I'd done my usual of sneaking in early with the bands as I was under-age. I saw U2 sound check and thought they were pretty good so decided to watch their set too. I actually quite enjoyed them but because we were from Edinburgh we all sneered at their rock posturing. I chatted to Bongo afterwards and even then he was a bit of a cock. Larry Mullen was nice and that Adam Clayton though I admit I was a bit non-plussed some years later as to what Naomi Campbell saw in the multi-millionaire... ;)

Sent by telepathy.

Oh no, what happened, no trigger warning ? Did somebody violate Erdogan's safe space ? Oh the humanity ! Our NATO ally looks to be well dodgy.