Beer blast from the past.

Davy

Bought some double diamond in Morrisons today, can't remember what it tasted like but sure it was OK. I've never seen this for years, but apparently it never ceased being brewed. Shows you the power of supermarkets. What other beers would you like to see back. I'll start with McEwans 90 shillings

Not tried it ye
Did it work wonders...work wonders...work wonders?

Not tried it yet, jll let you know. Wife on night shift so no chance of testing it there.

Norseman lager.
I dont care who you fuckin are, get that fuckin axe oot my fuckin dartboard.
Walking Walk GIF by Vinnie Camilleri

I see you can still get Younger's Sweetheart Stout. Haven't drunk it in aeons. Used to enjoy it in a black and tan. Was years before I realised why you wouldn't order that in Dublin. 😬
That reminds of when I had open chest heart surgery back in 1982 , after the surgery my cardiologist recommended me to drink two or three bottles of Sweetheart Stout a week to help build me back up, I was only 15 years old at the time 😂 , I’ve haven’t tried it in years,
Another one I m not sure if it’s still available was a Fowlers Wee Heavy , that was something else we used to make Black and Tans added to McEwans export was absolute rocket fuel

OK not sure it has worked wonders but it's not a bad beer considering only 3.8%

First drink I thought it tasted a bit like wheat beer. But as I get into it then it has some slight bitter taste but def like lager/beer hybrid. Not sure how it tasted 30 years ago but almost tastes like they are trying to break into the citrus market. I dunno what I'm talking about, but 4 for a fiver and give your own feedback. It's made with malt and wheat so def not shitey lager

Is Indian Pail Ale still a thing ?
Not only still a thing Findlay but very much the thing of the moment. There are hunners of IPAs everywhere now though they are quite unlike the deuchars you may be remembering. That is still around itself though quite a rare tap to find.

Dry boroughs keg heavy is another that would be a welcome return

Not only still a thing Findlay but very much the thing of the moment. There are hunners of IPAs everywhere now though they are quite unlike the deuchars you may be remembering. That is still around itself though quite a rare tap to find.
The Scotsman Lounge at the top of Cockburn Street used have Deuchars on tap, my local shop had it in the big bottles at one time but I presume it didn’t sell well so they stopped carrying it, shame because I enjoyed it

Does any brewing still go on around fountainbridge and Gorgie? I thought I smelled the old Gorgie stench the other day but I couldn't think of who was still working there

QUOTE="egb_hibs, post: 2135093, member: 101"]
Does any brewing still go on around fountainbridge and Gorgie? I thought I smelled the old Gorgie stench the other day but I couldn't think of who was still working there
[/QUOTE]
There is still the fountain brewery I think. Deuchers. Not sure if the whisky bond next to the ground is there.

Had some Guinness West Indies Porter yesterday. Nice to get that more bitter taste from Guinness.

Probably get a couple more today as it's Sunday.

That reminds of when I had open chest heart surgery back in 1982 , after the surgery my cardiologist recommended me to drink two or three bottles of Sweetheart Stout a week to help build me back up, I was only 15 years old at the time 😂 , I’ve haven’t tried it in years,
Another one I m not sure if it’s still available was a Fowlers Wee Heavy , that was something else we used to make Black and Tans added to McEwans export was absolute rocket fuel
I'm late to this, but that has to be one of the best opening lines to a post ever!

Well kick me in the balls and call me Mandy but kestrel lager has made a comeback.

Now everyone if a certain age will mind the 3% piss water that kestrel was.

So I was shocked and lost for words when I got sent this.......

Screenshot_20250611_210132_Telegram.jpg

Kestrel Super was available 35 years ago. Stronger than Special Brew, Skol Super and Tennents Super.
What a line up. I remember that mayhem Wembley fixture in the late 80s, living off bread and butter and Tennents super for a few days in Camden Town.

IMG_0143.jpeg

Don’t know if anyone remembers this from the 80’s but it has also made a comeback… and it’s bloody brilliant! Closest thing I’ve tasted to a German Helles not brewed in Deutschland. If you see it on draught do yourself a favour and order a pint 🤤

McEwans Export. That was my dad's drink of choice so when I first started going to boozers I drank dark beers.

The only place I've seen McEwans on draught (and that was about 4 years ago) was in the old Buckstone (now called Charwoods I think).

Well kick me in the balls and call me Mandy but kestrel lager has made a comeback.

Now everyone if a certain age will mind the 3% piss water that kestrel was.

So I was shocked and lost for words when I got sent this.....

View attachment 18150

I saw this in the supermarket myself and remembered Kestrel being the first beer my dad let me try a sip of as a wee guy (was in a bright green tin, right?)

I asked next time I saw him, "were you drinking 9% super lager back in the day you fucking jakey?", he reassured me it was the budget piss water he was on.

McEwans Export. That was my dad's drink of choice so when I first started going to boozers I drank dark beers.

The only place I've seen McEwans on draught (and that was about 4 years ago) was in the old Buckstone (now called Charwoods I think).
It's not the same though Jimmy.
The export of half a century ago was smooth and tasted good.
The modern stuff is like black lager.

It's not the same though Jimmy.
The export of half a century ago was smooth and tasted good.
The modern stuff is like black lager.
Is it? I've no had any in a long time. All the old dark beers seem to be dying out now.

I tried it in ,iirc ,Dumfries not long ago.
I bought a pint and left 3/4 of it.
Maybe it's my taste which has changed, but it wasn't good whatever the reason.