Baby names

Twins born tae George Cowley and his missus, a Professional couple who live just off the M15 are named Bodhi and Doyle.:lookaround:
I ken a few Jax and Jaxons/Jacksons and a Brodie. Never heard Bohdi before though.

There's a change of policy here:

"The ONS considers each spelling as a separate name, with different variations of Muhammad proving popular in previous years."

In the past, not sure how long ago, they would lump all the variations together and it says in the article other spellings of the name Mohammed and Mohammad also made the top 100 list for England and Wales.

I'm sure it's a totally innocent change and there's no conspiracy here at all but it seems to me to be reasonably certain the combined variations of Muhammad will have been the lead boys name for quite a few years.

I wonder who the Minister was when the ONS chaps went to him/her and said Muhammad and variations is the top boys name? I can imagine Yes Minister moment as Jim Hacker blows his top, Sir Humphrey Appleby puts the separate names idea into his head and Jim Hacker comes up with the solution 😉

There's a change of policy here:

"The ONS considers each spelling as a separate name, with different variations of Muhammad proving popular in previous years."

In the past, not sure how long ago, they would lump all the variations together and it says in the article other spellings of the name Mohammed and Mohammad also made the top 100 list for England and Wales.

I'm sure it's a totally innocent change and there's no conspiracy here at all but it seems to me to be reasonably certain the combined variations of Muhammad will have been the lead boys name for quite a few years.

I wonder who the Minister was when the ONS chaps went to him/her and said Muhammad and variations is the top boys name? I can imagine Yes Minister moment as Jim Hacker blows his top, Sir Humphrey Appleby puts the separate names idea into his head and Jim Hacker comes up with the solution 😉
Setting the politics aside its an illogical change in some ways.

It is the name rendered into English in different ways.

Suspect they're all spelled the same in Arabic.

but what about the likes of Mehmet in Turkish...

Back to the politics- they maybe split it to delay this outcome. But its here anyway

Many years ago a question on Family Fortunes was about British surnames. Nobody got the last answer "Patel"

Setting the politics aside its an illogical change in some ways.

It is the name rendered into English in different ways.

Suspect they're all spelled the same in Arabic.

but what about the likes of Mehmet in Turkish...

Back to the politics- they maybe split it to delay this outcome. But its here anyway
Thing is, most Westerners esp nowadays with American influence have more and varied crazy sometimes unique names for their kids.

Whereas yer average muslim parents only choose from about 5 names (afaics) and of these, Mohammed or its spelling variants (ps note sp. of "its" there eegie!) is top of the pops and that ain't changing much over time and trends.

Amazed it hasn't happened earlier, really.

Did a Billy Connolly parody at a recent girls game;

“Hunter, have you soon Taylor? I think she might be over there with McKenzie”

Thing is, most Westerners esp nowadays with American influence have more and varied crazy sometimes unique names for their kids.

Whereas yer average muslim parents only choose from about 5 names (afaics) and of these, Mohammed or its spelling variants (ps note sp. of "its" there eegie!) is top of the pops and that ain't changing much over time and trends.

Amazed it hasn't happened earlier, really.
Lol there's more than 5 Arabic names H :lauff:

Did a Billy Connolly parody at a recent girls game;

“Hunter, have you soon Taylor? I think she might be over there with McKenzie”
There was a long running and often hilarious thread called 'hun names' on the celtic board.

As well as many specific examples it was the identification of archetypes that had me in kittens. Such as the 'surname surname' format, e.g. Baxter Ferguson, Drummond Campbell etc :giggle

Lol there's more than 5 Arabic names H :lauff:
Yes, but a lot less diversity if compared to English, f.e. If you look at the lineups for Pakistani or Bangladeshi cricket sides, it will make my point admirably and clearly. Mohammad, Achmed, Faisal, Youssef and a few others dominate. No non-muslim names practically.

They only have a small subset of acceptable Muslim names, no doubt some tedious religious reason for it, but the point remains.

Also explains the big regional count differences in England.

There was a long running and often hilarious thread called 'hun names' on the celtic board.

As well as many specific examples it was the identification of archetypes that had me in kittens. Such as the 'surname surname' format, e.g. Baxter Ferguson, Drummond Campbell etc :giggle

I worked with a William Campbell, as hun a hun as a hun can be.

Yes, but a lot less diversity if compared to English, f.e. If you look at the lineups for Pakistani or Bangladeshi cricket sides, it will make my point admirably and clearly. Mohammad, Achmed, Faisal, Youssef and a few others dominate. No non-muslim names practically.

They only have a small subset of acceptable Muslim names, no doubt some tedious religious reason for it, but the point remains.

Also explains the big regional count differences in England.
Come off it H.

This site lists a 100 popular choices for starters. Have i travelled back to the 1970s here!

Come off it H.

This site lists a 100 popular choices for starters. Have i travelled back to the 1970s here!

I'm going on folk I know here (some from playing cricket with, some from work) and Muslim names here in NL. There is little variety and from names I see on GB tv credits, the ones I mentioned plus a few others are astonishingly well represented. Essentially quite a conservative thing, esp mongst those from rural backgrounds, which goes for a lot of folk here with Turkish and Moroccan roots.

Just walking past a major hospital in London.
A Tasha Slapper / Waynetta Slob "White Trash" type has just addressed a squealing bairn in an old-fashioned pram as "Luna"😂... Maybe "Lunar" with an "R".
An unlikely Frank Zappa fan🤔?

Just walking past a major hospital in London.
A Tasha Slapper / Waynetta Slob "White Trash" type has just addressed a squealing bairn in an old-fashioned pram as "Luna"😂... Maybe "Lunar" with an "R".
An unlikely Frank Zappa fan🤔?
That Mrs Tick again eh?