Are you happy with our transfer window?

Are you satisfied with the dealings of the January transfer window.

• Yes

• No

• Maybe so

Results are only viewable after voting.
Malky Mackay for me has given a dreadful interview just put out by the club.

- Don't want to add to the first team and disrupt how well we are doing.
- Completely at odds with Sir David saying he wanted quality added.
- Black Knights never mentioned once.
- Mentioned a few times the financial commitment of the Gordon family and for me implied it can't continue.
- Reset in the summer means we need to live within our means.

- Mentioned a few times the financial commitment of the Gordon family and for me implied it can't continue.
It's funny how intervews look different to different people! I thought he came across pretty well... I quite agreed with the idea of making sure that the players focussed and aren't distracted and about not jumping the gun with contracts just yet or unbalancing the squad. I'm also not sure that he's at odds with SDG, but could well be wrong, never know about these things really. He did mention how well SDG is doing and how they sit down together and discuss what he wants in the squad.

What I completely agree with you about and find a bit worrying, and this isn't Mackay's fault, is he definitely implied we were a bit tight for cash and needed to balance the books a bit with managing the squad. I'm sure that's true and it's because we had a lot of players that were getting paid well but never going to break into the team, but as you said, what about the Black Knights, where's the support? Where's the money?

To me he looks like he knows how to build a squad, and I think he did well last summer with the changes, but I completely agree with you that it looks a bit worrying about the budget and that sort of thing...

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

I agree a shite interview. He is full of bullshit and bluster.Once again the people at the top treat us fans as embycyles. Happy with team and Gray but underwhelmed by Mackay, Marshall and the board.No support to the manager whatsoever.

Not one for media interviews, but I thought Mackay's one was fine.

I have mentioned before the cost implications for having a bloated squad, and he referred to this several times.
In recent years we have seen far too many managers at the club in a short space of time, and way too many players brought in, a number of whom have contributed very little if anything. At long last we are getting to grips with this, getting the balance right in the squad, and the stability at the club which has been badly lacking in the last few years.
It's clear we are not well off, but the squad will evolve and be very different next season, with an emphasis on quality rather than quantity.

Our finances are a different matter, but as I said very much related to squad size and what we can afford to do going forward.
I suspect when the accounts for financial year 2023/24 are released, it should help focus minds and put things into perspective.

Like I said previously, all smoke and mirrors Kenny . Don’t think block seven will be taking their banner down anytime soon
SDG has worked a small miracle in 10 weeks with absolutely no support from the top or in between . And I’m no getting any razorblades oot . It is what it is 😜

When does the accounts come out GM?
This place will be fun.:coffee1:
Its not too long ago that the top table at Hibernian were full of the fact that there will be a massive drop in wages to turnover and all the sponsorship deals struck and the capital infrastructure upgrades that have happened, were going to return a healthy set of accounts this year compared to last year.

It would seem that folks think the accounts will be shoite again this year. What gives?

Like I said previously, all smoke and mirrors Kenny . Don’t think block seven will be taking their banner down anytime soon
SDG has worked a small miracle in 10 weeks with absolutely no support from the top or in between . And I’m no getting any razorblades oot . It is what it is 😜
Mrs Joe took my advice and hid them thankfully :) she's obviously not wanting her good carpet messed up . As for smoke and mirrors , to me its just the usual football person type interview , lots on here don't like the guy and won't like him regardless of what he says or does

Its not too long ago that the top table at Hibernian were full of the fact that there will be a massive drop in wages to turnover and all the sponsorship deals struck and the capital infrastructure upgrades that have happened, were going to return a healthy set of accounts this year compared to last year.

It would seem that folks think the accounts will be shoite again this year. What gives?
It'll be all guesswork as usual C. Ben K fucking off is a worry mind you.

I am. A decent amount of deadwood was shifted away from the club and we're in a spot where we're no longer looking at a relegation battle. The talent offered is typically not great in the mid season transfer window so the priority was getting players off the wage bill which we did. I feel good about where the squad is right now and with the way things started if we finish top five I'd be thrilled.

Mrs Joe took my advice and hid them thankfully :) she's obviously not wanting her good carpet messed up . As for smoke and mirrors , to me its just the usual football person type interview , lots on here don't like the guy and won't like him regardless of what he says or does
I was meaning the heirarchy for the smoke and mirrors, Manky just says what he’s told to say probably .
Roll on friday though, got a hunch KB and MB will start, give Dwight a wee rest, then bring on Harry, oh wait canny .

I was meaning the heirarchy for the smoke and mirrors, Manky just says what he’s told to say probably .
Roll on friday though, got a hunch KB and MB will start, give Dwight a wee rest, then bring on Harry, oh wait canny .
Who's going to be telling him what to say though ?

When does the accounts come out GM?
This place will be fun.:coffee1:
Last years AGM was in March and they need to give I think it's 3 weeks notice to shareholders, so accounts should be out in the next week or so I would have thought.

Btw i'm no financial expert, i'm just reading between the lines with the sheer amount of players we had on our books and all the backroom staff. I do think we are going to have to streamline everything in the next year or so. add in some early cup exits ad a bottom 6 finish last season, plus assorted managers and backroom staff being paid off.

Top six but the guntos ahead of us after their start to the season?

We should have been aiming for third and the millions that would make us.

How come it seems like the ambition of a lot of our support just seems to have disintegrated and it's the norm we are middle of the table crap at best?
The start the savilles had - what about our start it was a fucking car crash its a small miracle we are we are now. Confident off a top 4 finish and if the Merricks finish above us then so be it

Yeah, last year the message was “aye, the accounts are shite this year, but wait until you see how barry next year’s will be!” (paraphrasing 😁)

Even at the time I took this as a bit of red flag to get BK and co off the hook for the time being. For one thing there was still a lot of unknowns in play, such as top 6 / bottom 6 finish and we all know what happened there.

Last years AGM was in March and they need to give I think it's 3 weeks notice to shareholders, so accounts should be out in the next week or so I would have thought.

Btw i'm no financial expert, i'm just reading between the lines with the sheer amount of players we had on our books and all the backroom staff. I do think we are going to have to streamline everything in the next year or so. add in some early cup exits ad a bottom 6 finish last season, plus assorted managers and backroom staff being paid off.
did a wheen of cash not get injected by the BK group, and did the Gordons no effectively wipe out a big debt (that they created), and then on top of that the refurbs that have went on. Revenues should be much higher and wages to turnover should be back to acceptable levels.

Really hope is not as bad as many are fearing, but as @hibbybilly stated, the punting of the sunbed kid is an eyebrow raiser. I hope hes not bullshitted everyone.

No.

Missed opportunity that I fear we will soon regret with top six far from anywhere guaranteed. Sir David has performed miracles getting a tune out of this squad. Many of the players that many of us didn't hugeky rate deserve great credit too. However, I feel we are short of firepower to kick on and we've failed to give the manager proper support.

I don't see the point of Malky Mackay and David Marshall in their roles TBH.
What the fuck does marshall actually do? You know in that role no one else got to apply for.

Yeah, last year the message was “aye, the accounts are shite this year, but wait until you see how barry next year’s will be!” (paraphrasing 😁)

Even at the time I took this as a bit of red flag to get BK and co off the hook for the time being. For one thing there was still a lot of unknowns in play, such as top 6 / bottom 6 finish and we all know what happened there.
Get the strathclyde police onto it

The start the savilles had - what about our start it was a fucking car crash its a small miracle we are we are now. Confident off a top 4 finish and if the Merricks finish above us then so be it
If they finish above us, after sitting bottom of the league and sacking their manager then the club has failed. There's no excuses although i'm sure a couple of people will make them.

Begs the question where the £700,000 that we offered to Dundee in the summer went, or was that just some BS offer to appease the fans knowing we had no chance of landing him. It's a pretty valid question.

If they finish above us, after sitting bottom of the league and sacking their manager then the club has failed. There's no excuses although i'm sure a couple of people will make them.
Well, i think that really, the club would have failed if we had stayed bottom. ....and we are all delighted we didnt punt our manager.

The seasonal objective and aim is to finish third. If we finish below the guntos the position we find ourselves in, with just one January signing the club has failed for me. Another season missing the millions will be brutal.

Reactions: mod
The seasonal objective and aim is to finish third. If we finish below the guntos the position we find ourselves in, with just one January signing the club has failed for me. Another season missing the millions will be brutal.
what if we won the scottish cup, but came fourth? failure?

Of course not. Even fourth wouldn't be failure on it's own unless it's behind the guntos. Win the Scottish and it's the next best Ultimate to winning the league.

Do you think the transfer window strengthens our chances of winning the Scottish Cup like?

No.

Missed opportunity that I fear we will soon regret with top six far from anywhere guaranteed. Sir David has performed miracles getting a tune out of this squad. Many of the players that many of us didn't hugeky rate deserve great credit too. However, I feel we are short of firepower to kick on and we've failed to give the manager proper support.

I don't see the point of Malky Mackay and David Marshall in their roles TBH.
I personally don’t get them two in these positions either and would happily see them both emptied.

As for the window, no we have missed an opportunity that has a high risk of undoing the great work both the manager and his team have done recently.

If Smith was to get injured, we are struggling to fill that position.

Hopefully we don’t have to worry about it though.

So if Hibs gain 70 points and finish 4th and the savilles get 71 point's and finish 3rd we've failed?

hibeesbounce

Support The Bounce

Ends in......
0 hours, 0 minutes, 0 seconds
  28.8%