Anyone recommend someone for mac repairs

I've a mac mini that needs a new hard drive.

Shop at Forest Road , think they have another at Bruntsfield. Simply Fix It. No sure if they would be cheaper than Apple shop on Princes Street though.

I had an issue with my laddies mac so made an appointment with a 'guru' at the apple shop, fully expecting to be charged a fair bit for new battery and other wee bits. By happy coincidence the person dealing with me found a part that had been recalled the year before so they fixed all the issues, put a new battery, keyboard and touch pad in for free.

I'd maybe let them have a look at it first, their aftercare stuff is pretty good.

What age/model of Mac Mini? The older kit is user-serviceable to a greater or lesser extent but newer kit tends to be glued/soldered to the motherboard

Shop at Forest Road , think they have another at Bruntsfield. Simply Fix It. No sure if they would be cheaper than Apple shop on Princes Street though.

I took a laptop in to the one in Stockbridge as it was slowing up and I thought it might have a virus. The boy quoted me £95 just to look at it and any repairs would be extra. I declined and took it to my mates house where he did whatever was required to make it work properly.

A mutual acquaintance of ours managed to get a virus on his laptop that suggested the polis had him bang to rights for accessing highly dubious porn (naturally he believed the warning) and he should send a couple of hundred quid to unlock it.
After several hours (he had no anti-virus installed!) and much cleaning - I wasn't touching anything without rubber gloves - I managed to get it back in working order.
For my trouble I was rewarded with a bottle of Polish Beer which was currently on special in Asda.

Never been in it Dub, just seen them as I drove past. Last time I had a prob I took it into Apple shop in Princes St, they guarantee the work.

A mutual acquaintance of ours managed to get a virus on his laptop that suggested the polis had him bang to rights for accessing highly dubious porn (naturally he believed the warning) and he should send a couple of hundred quid to unlock it.
After several hours (he had no anti-virus installed!) and much cleaning - I wasn't touching anything without rubber gloves - I managed to get it back in working order.
For my trouble I was rewarded with a bottle of Polish Beer which was currently on special in Asda.

Good old Osmo :grinning-smiley-045:

Thanks for all the suggestions as an interim fix I’ve attached a 250 gig ssd through the usb 3 and boot through that. 10 x as fast as before

Am I the only one on here that has no feckin idea what yer all talking about. Re read several times. Pigeon Post by Arthur Ransome is more my idea of splendid reading. Get off yer , Facebook, Twitter et al. I personally have every single Hibernian book ever published , if you want to start there give me a shout. However would suggest the magnificent Trotsky's History of the Russian Revolution is the best I have ever read.
Just purchased Laurie Lees Cider with Rosie and the 1969 and 1991 follow ups.

Read books it is the way forward.

Am I the only one on here that has no feckin idea what yer all talking about. Re read several times. Pigeon Post by Arthur Ransome is more my idea of splendid reading. Get off yer , Facebook, Twitter et al. I personally have every single Hibernian book ever published , if you want to start there give me a shout. However would suggest the magnificent Trotsky's History of the Russian Revolution is the best I have ever read.

Many, many years ago I had a first (English) edition of Trotsky's History of the Russian Revolution. Sold it. Bought drink.
Couldn't have done that with a Kindle.

Cider with Rosie is a brilliant book - the actual 'cider with Rosie' bit I remember finding quite entertaining when I was just a lad.
:54:

Did you know cider is the best thing if you accidentally stab your self?
I remember overhearing two lassies talkin on the bus and one said to the other that when she gets a prick in her hand she likes to put it in cider.

:red:

Is it a long Mac?Have you thought about Jackson's the tailor at the top of Leith St?

There is a shop in Dalkeith near the park that specialises in apple products.
Also one in Bonnyrigg what I have heard good reviews from folk who have handed in phones iPads so ever

Not to be confused wi the one opposite TSB bank. They couldnae change a plug.

You mean they sell cider?

This thread has been viewed 2215 times.