Your article mentions East Fife getting in to the top flight in 1971, and I remember about a dozen of my mates and me going over to Methil about 2nd or 3rd January, probably 1972, on a freezing cold day. The only thing I remember about the game was Alex Edwards making a very naughty tackle on an East Fife player, a guy that Alex had a wee bit of history with, and it certainly emphasized the "corner boy" image that he had acquired. Cannae remember Dewar, though, but sad to hear of his passing.
Think that would be the infamous John Brownlie broken leg game in 1973. Hibs had just beaten some duffers 7-0 a few days before so East Fife played a very physical game that basically cost Hibs the league as Brownlie got a broken leg and Edwards got banned for 2 months.Your article mentions East Fife getting in to the top flight in 1971, and I remember about a dozen of my mates and me going over to Methil about 2nd or 3rd January, probably 1972, on a freezing cold day. The only thing I remember about the game was Alex Edwards making a very naughty tackle on an East Fife player, a guy that Alex had a wee bit of history with, and it certainly emphasized the "corner boy" image that he had acquired. Cannae remember Dewar, though, but sad to hear of his passing.
I accept what you say about Ingin's broken leg, as I was playing amateur fitbaw that day, but I will always remember the Bayview New Year's game simply because of the numbing cauld, and the fact we had been drinking in the back o' the van that we had all travelled to the game in, but mine wasn't the game that Brownlie was injured. Come to think of it, Bayview was a helluva cauld place, and I can imagine their new ground being just the same, as we've only played start-of-the-season friendlies there, I think. However, with the receding of the auld grey matter, I am happy to be corrected on one or two points.Think that would be the infamous John Brownlie broken leg game in 1973. Hibs had just beaten some duffers 7-0 a few days before so East Fife played a very physical game that basically cost Hibs the league as Brownlie got a broken leg and Edwards got banned for 2 months.
Never been in their new ground but it looks more exposed than Bayview.
A lot of people say it was Johnny Love that broke Ingins leg, it was a guy called Printy. I might be wrong but I think Love was marking wee Mickey.Think that would be the infamous John Brownlie broken leg game in 1973. Hibs had just beaten some duffers 7-0 a few days before so East Fife played a very physical game that basically cost Hibs the league as Brownlie got a broken leg and Edwards got banned for 2 months.
When did they move intae the new ground D?Definitely is , its right next to the water
Correct. Ian Printy was the guy's name.A lot of people say it was Johnny Love that broke Ingins leg, it was a guy called Printy. I might be wrong but I think Love was marking wee Mickey.
When did they move intae the new ground D?
Was there watching my laddie about then, must have been just before they moved. He was wi Cowdenbeath. Guess who their manager was? Gi yi a clue... he’s no got any trophies1998

Was there watching my laddie about then, must have been just before they moved. He was wi Cowdenbeath. Guess who their manager was? Gi yi a clue... he’s no got any trophies![]()

I worked with John Love for a few years around the year 2000 and he said the same thing.A lot of people say it was Johnny Love that broke Ingins leg, it was a guy called Printy. I might be wrong but I think Love was marking wee Mickey.
The Brownlie leg-break game was at Easter Road, not Bayview. Hibs won 1-0, last minute goal from Alan Gordon.Think that would be the infamous John Brownlie broken leg game in 1973. Hibs had just beaten some duffers 7-0 a few days before so East Fife played a very physical game that basically cost Hibs the league as Brownlie got a broken leg and Edwards got banned for 2 months.
A lot of people say it was Johnny Love that broke Ingins leg, it was a guy called Printy. I might be wrong but I think Love was marking wee Mickey.
Was indeed the Onion legbreak game, next game after 0-7 too. I looked it up. I know Johnny Love, he still runs a local amateur team up my way. Hibby tae apparently.Love and Mickey carried on a feud as I recall. I think Mickey got red carded for booting him off the ball in one game, and theywere always having fly wee kicks at each other.
Pretty sure it was Mickey chucking the ball at Love that was the 'last straw' that ended up with him getting a ban that effectively ended his season - it was 8 or 10 games!
Might actually have been in the Onion leg break game.
The two factors meant we missed winning the league, when i definitely looked possible.
Was indeed the Onion legbreak game, next game after 0-7 too. I looked it up. I know Johnny Love, he still runs a local amateur team up my way. Hibby tae apparently.
Johnny keeps his football affinities close to his chest Billy, my money is on him being a Gunt.Was indeed the Onion legbreak game, next game after 0-7 too. I looked it up. I know Johnny Love, he still runs a local amateur team up my way. Hibby tae apparently.