Another pub bites the dust

Sad. Hospitality is being hammered with rippling costs and overheads.

Used to love a friday night in the pub
Cant remember the last time i did it
Meet an old retired workmate about once a month but we go to Weatherspoons because its cheaper

There was 2 pubs in the village i grew up in now both long gone

Also Legends on the Cowgate closed for the final time this week. It was previously Opium and Legends (again) before that. A great rock bar back in the day with a great jukebox. Are there any rock pubs left in Edinburgh now? Not sure if the Black Rose on Rose St is still on the go? Suppose Bannerman's counts as one.

I think Whistlebinkies at the start of south bridge is still on the go, and does live music ,Don't know if it's still the case but the same folk used to own Bar Salsa , The Globe, and I believe they now own the Subway in the Cowgate.

I remember choosing to spend the week of my 18th birthday staying with my grandparents in Pilton and my Grandad (a Jambo) saying “right son, we’ll do the Rose Street Run for your birthday.” He was 72 at the time and, resplendent in blazer bedecked in bowling cub badges, collar and tie and white flat cap (bunnet), led me “up the toon”. Apparently the norm was a nip and a half pint in every pub in Rose Street and he told me there were 21 pubs there at the time (that’s more than twice as many in my home town). I vaguely remember him tackling a “young ned” at a bus stop prior to our return to Pilton loaded with pudding suppers. As for the number of pubs in Rose Street, I probably lost count after half a dozen. There was also a Flintstones episode (“Wilma!!!”) when we got home (without a key), three sheets to the wind, my Grandad’s tie long gone and his bunnet at a jaunty angle. The protestations from within were silenced by “shut up and pit the kettle on - we’ve got chips.”
Finally the point: are there not more than enough pubs already? - and - were there really 21 pubs in Rose Street in 1975 as I can only remember 3?

I remember choosing to spend the week of my 18th birthday staying with my grandparents in Pilton and my Grandad (a Jambo) saying “right son, we’ll do the Rose Street Run for your birthday.” He was 72 at the time and, resplendent in blazer bedecked in bowling cub badges, collar and tie and white flat cap (bunnet), led me “up the toon”. Apparently the norm was a nip and a half pint in every pub in Rose Street and he told me there were 21 pubs there at the time (that’s more than twice as many in my home town). I vaguely remember him tackling a “young ned” at a bus stop prior to our return to Pilton loaded with pudding suppers. As for the number of pubs in Rose Street, I probably lost count after half a dozen. There was also a Flintstones episode (“Wilma!!!”) when we got home (without a key), three sheets to the wind, my Grandad’s tie long gone and his bunnet at a jaunty angle. The protestations from within were silenced by “shut up and pit the kettle on - we’ve got chips.”
Finally the point: are there not more than enough pubs already? - and - were there really 21 pubs in Rose Street in 1975 as I can only remember 3?
I did the Rose St run wi Birkett!
We were heading out to see Be Bop Deluxe after spending the afternoon watching a tedious 0-0 draw wi eberdeen at ER.
Needless to say half pint Harry slept through most o the gig , then had the temerity to say 'it wiz shite'!
Slept on Derek Drummonds mothers fleer in Canning St Lane as Birkett had 'forgotten' to get a B&B!

I did the Rose St run wi Birkett!
We were heading out to see Be Bop Deluxe after spending the afternoon watching a tedious 0-0 draw wi eberdeen at ER.
Needless to say half pint Harry slept through most o the gig , then had the temerity to say 'it wiz shite'!
Slept on Derek Drummonds mothers fleer in Canning St Lane as Birkett had 'forgotten' to get a B&B!
I tried it wi Birkett before a Rory Gallagher gig. Got as far as a gay bar (The Kenilworth?) before Harry went all rubber legs. His photos from the Usher Hall were something else - the floor, the ceiling and the back o’ a lassie’s heid.

New pub in Livingston opened last yr 6Buds an old workmate is one of the guys invloved only open thurs to sun live music on every day place is rammed
Hopefully its a success

New pub in Livingston opened last yr 6Buds an old workmate is one of the guys invloved only open thurs to sun live music on every day place is rammed
Hopefully its a success
My son's mates went in.......... toilets were busier than the bar; they left without bothering waiting for a beer, or a line.

Hearing the Port O' Leith is closing anaw. Apparently Heineken bleeding them dry with the contract, a familiar tale it seems. Will these brewers no be happy till their industry dies?

Is it a case they make more money from someone drinking a 10 pack in the hoose 🤷

Well you will be using your leccy, cooking your own scran, serving yourself so I would think it's a win for the brewers.

They have no overheads then apart from shifting beers to supermarkets.

Well you will be using your leccy, cooking your own scran, serving yourself so I would think it's a win for the brewers.

They have no overheads then apart from shifting beers to supermarkets.

Aye, I guess so? Depressing isn't it. Folk don't leave their hooses enough as it is.

Years ago a geezer I knew owned a boozer and I was talking to him about why drink was so cheap in supermarkets.

He reckoned that part of it was so folk would stay in the schemes and not come up the town and annoy the tourists.

Probably no right but it seems to be making more sense.

He also said the polis loved it as if folk were kicking shite out of each other in the schemes they couldn't give a toss and they could patrol the town.

Two pubs were closed after the firm moved to be wound up voluntarily.

The Aberdeen-based Doric Pub Company Limited operated the Kittybrewster Bar and the Brig O’Dee Bar in the city.

The company agreed to a resolution “that the company cannot by reason of its liabilities, continue its business, and that it is appropriate to wind up the company and accordingly, that the company be wound up voluntarily”, according to papers newly lodged at Companies House.

It also agreed that a liquidator should be appointed.

The operators posted earlier: “It is with very heavy hearts that we announce the Closure of the Brig O' Dee Bar.

“The Brig is home for many, with lots of cherished memories in the bar and lounge.

“Thank you all so much from the bottom of our hearts for the amazing times we have all shared over the years, your support has never gone unnoticed.”

I used to be a skip for one of their rinks many years ago.
My grandad was apparently a member of 27 bowling clubs in Edinburgh and East Lothian back in the 70s. He was also at one point on the selection committee for the Scotland team. I can only remember Milton Street (indoor), Tanfield, Bainfield, Goldenacre and Gifford of these and would love to remember more. Is there anywhere I could look up to refresh my memory of these clubs? I appreciate that many of them may be long gone. I enjoyed many a pint in a lot of them with him and his cronies.

I'm sure an Edinburgh taxi driver could rattle them all off.
I remember going to a do in Tramways bowling club. I must've drove down Pilrig St hundreds of times and never knew it was tucked in behind the houses in Rosslyn Crescent.

Gorgie Mills
Ardmillan
Fountain
Colinton
Sight hill
Slateford
Edinburgh West End
Gilmerton
Parkside
Currie
Balerno
Blackhall
Carrick owe
Braid
Brunstane
Dean
Craigentinny
Corstorphine
Dudley
Golden acre
Dean
Jess Field
Leith
Hillside
London Road Foundry
Liberton
Leith
Maitland
Lutton Place
Merchiston
Mayfield
Northern
Parkside
Pilrig
Portobello
Queensbery
Sea field
Postal
Wardie
Trinity
Tanfield
Summer side
Trinity
Whitehouse & Grange
Willowbrae
Coltbridge

How many was he barred from 😉.
In today's money his membership IF a member of all at the same time which he clearly wasn't would be roughly £4K.

There also used to be one in the grounds of The Andrew Duncan clinic in Morningside.

There is plenty greens in Edinburgh you wouldn't know they were there.

How many was he barred from 😉.
In today's money his membership IF a member of all at the same time which he clearly wasn't would be roughly £4K.
Wouldn’t surprise me if he was barred from a few - he spoke his mind freely and didn’t suffer fools.

Gorgie Mills
Ardmillan
Fountain
Colinton
Sight hill
Slateford
Edinburgh West End
Gilmerton
Parkside
Currie
Balerno
Blackhall
Carrick owe
Braid
Brunstane
Dean
Craigentinny
Corstorphine
Dudley
Golden acre
Dean
Jess Field
Leith
Hillside
London Road Foundry
Liberton
Leith
Maitland
Lutton Place
Merchiston
Mayfield
Northern
Parkside
Pilrig
Portobello
Queensbery
Sea field
Postal
Wardie
Trinity
Tanfield
Summer side
Trinity
Whitehouse & Grange
Willowbrae
Coltbridge
Thanks very much for that - it has brought a few more to mind and reminded me that my uncle played at Willowbrae and Postal. My dad used to take a car boot load of bowls from Peterhead down to George McKay & Sons(?) in the days when they all had to be stamped etc.

Constituent Clubs – Edinburgh Bowling Association <- linky thing