40 years ago today

barney

Atlanta Hibs Radge
I was in the Feyenoord Stadium in Rotterdam to witness my favorite Hibs player of the time lift the European Cup with Villa.
What a glorious day.
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

When he first went to villa
I wrote him a letter (yip a letter) and he ended up calling me and gave me tickets for Villa v Liverpool. My first trip to villa park.
I ended up going every other week for a couple of years, culminating in attending the European cup final.
All because my favourite Hibs player signed for them

Got his signature somewhere.1st and 2nd year Leithy was at the old Norton Park,so we were always waiting on players going in and out.

Going to the Final must have been fantastic.
I attended the home leg of the 1st round tie against Valur to watch Des Bremner.
2 assists from Des in a 5-0 victory on a memorable Autumn night.
Only had to win 4 ties to reach the European Cup Final in them days but I never imagined I was watching the first step in a historic journey.
Had to sleep in the car, not good.
Still have my programme and ticket.

Going to the Final must have been fantastic.
I attended the home leg of the 1st round tie against Valur to watch Des Bremner.
2 assists from Des in a 5-0 victory on a memorable Autumn night.
Only had to win 4 ties to reach the European Cup Final in them days but I never imagined I was watching the first step in a historic journey.
Had to sleep in the car, not good.
Still have my programme and ticket.

My villa fan club membership for travel to the game and program

• E2DF54D8-7AF6-4961-87EA-6D5BC71E9AC4.jpeg
    E2DF54D8-7AF6-4961-87EA-6D5BC71E9AC4.jpeg
    921.7 KB · Views: 12
I think Des Bremner was very unrated by the support while he was with us.

Really?
I thought he was really appreciated.
Perhaps he had a hard act to follow because I think his initial role was to replace the crocked Tornado that was John Brownlie.

Pretty dodgy ‘tache if I remember correctly though.

Not by me.

My favourite Tornado was Onion.
Des came in and made the position his almost immediately.
Seamless transition.
I'm not saying he wasn't liked. I thought he was a very effective player but didn't get nearly the same adulation as lesser Tornados before him. I can't remember any weeping and wailing when he left for Aston Villa to become an integral part of a team and win the most sought after trophies in the game.

Who kept him out the Scotland teams of the time?

I'm not saying he wasn't liked. I thought he was a very effective player but didn't get nearly the same adulation as lesser Tornados before him. I can't remember any weeping and wailing when he left for Aston Villa to become an integral part of a team and win the most sought after trophies in the game.

Who kept him out the Scotland teams of the time?
I’m guessing Danny McGrain/David Hay.

Great player. Scored equaliser one night at Rugby Park. I was sitting in main stand wae my late Dad. And surrounded by Killlie fans.
I jumped in the air with great joy as the baw nestled perfectly in bottom left corner of the net. I was caught mid air by my dad and forcibly returned tae my erse. As the stand of old grumpy men turned and looked at me . My first near death experience.

Got his signature somewhere.1st and 2nd year Leithy was at the old Norton Park,so we were always waiting on players going in and out.
Me too. I had lots of Hibs players autographs on my jotters. Geography teacher Mr. Robertson (nickname penguin) gave me a hard time about it for some reason.

Hey Burb!
Have you been missing from the Bounce for several years or have I just accidentally taken you off my “ignore list”?

Maybe he was a Jambo.What I remember most was he'd try and make a mark with a new class by either chucking the duster or his keys in their direction.