2025/26 Kits

I'm guessing the times when we would need a change strip would be few and far between? When we played Celtic up to the (?) mid-70s neither team changed its strip and there was never a problem. Green shorts v all-white Real Madrid 1964, for a greater contrast under the floodlights. Likewise green sleeves v Hearts and some European ties 1972-73 when the opponents had a lot of white in their strip. We played Arsenal away in a televised friendly in the early 50s, no colour tv then, I wonder how they coped.

True, but there have been the odd team that plays in green over the first 100 years.

The interesting bit that is known is that the annual trial in the 30s and 40s was green v whites and green v reds

Red would be an interesting away kit!

True, but there have been the odd team that plays in green over the first 100 years.

The interesting bit that is known is that the annual trial in the 30s and 40s was green v whites and green v reds

Luckily, one we will never see. RAWS!

Why Arsenal was my English team back in the day.View attachment 18402
Nice classic strip there. Their away was stunning too - Yellow body with blue arms. Maybe we could try a yellow body and purple arms for an away one year. The new yellow away with green shorts is very smart this year along with the excellent home strip. Well done Hibs design team. Looking forward to the anniversary version now.

I always thought we were emerald green. I preser the lighter shades and this year prefer the yellow top, though their a bit basic. Would like to see the hooped top as a one off but stick to what we are used to.
The shade I was brought up with was the strip worn around the early 70s Tornado time. That is the Hibernian colour to me. Various other permutations are acceptable but whenever I see a collection of shades of green, there is one that stands out as Hibs Green

I was brought up with the emerald, Calor gas and Carlsberg strips. The yellow and green Le Coq strip is maybe my favourite away kit. So I'm happy with this year's away.

I keep trying to research this from time to time but it’s really hard to find any evidence of change colours pre 1970
I mean we obviously wore change colours on occasion but nae idea what they were

Is the Leith Athletic strip story true?

View attachment 18388
Have this saved in my phone. Not sure where I got it from though…
I’ve got the full set somewhere let me find it

Take it these happened after the Gordon's bought in? Brandings important to the Americans, tying down the colours seems like something they'd do.

Least I've got my paint colours now 😁 cheers guys!

Not a chance, remember the meltdown when Marathon Bet used red on their sponsor logo?
Red was not acceptable, at all!

I get the difference is that it was on our green kit, but red was a huge no no 😅

Is there a pantone colour that's recognised as our actual green?

Bit of a split in preferences to bottle or lighter greens.

When did yellow, purple, black get introduced?
Sure I read once we used to wear Leith Athletic kits as an away kit when required, so black and white stripes would be a random throwback one day.
Away kits were never considered a necessity before the late 70s or 80s. When I was growing up we regularly played the lessers with both of us wearing our home kits including in Cup finals.

I was told that we borrowed Leith Athletics strips to play Dundee Hibernian in their very first game so that they could be seen as the team wearing the green, but would suggest that was one off.

Away kits were never considered a necessity before the late 70s or 80s. When I was growing up we regularly played the lessers with both of us wearing our home kits including in Cup finals.

I was told that we borrowed Leith Athletics strips to play Dundee Hibernian in their very first game so that they could be seen as the team wearing the green, but would suggest that was one off.

My recollection from reading is that was the norm for a while, there were other teams that wore green around then I think.

A Hibby I used to knock about with in London in the 1980s, when we were involved in Non-League football down there, just sent me this😳.
I'm fairly sure Hendon normally play in solid green, but I'm equally sure there's YouTube footage of them winning "Amateur Era" stuff at Wem-ber-lee in Hibs kits.
It's different.
Screenshot_2025-06-28-20-10-53-162_com.miui.gallery.jpg

I’m not averse to hoops, there’s some cracking takes on hoops and stripes, much better than the bland insipid versions Celtc use.

If it was a bog standard Celtc top then its a no from me.
IMG_5288.png

That would look pretty special in green and white and turned round 90 degrees.

But here’s the thing, your away strip shouldn’t clash with your home strips - which anything green and white is going to do.

Quite like the away kit. Does anyone else wonder if it’s designed to appeal to potential Australian fans though?

I don't think so? If it was a first then maybe, but yellow comes in cycles. We've got 4 strips this season, one may as well be yellow.

**You'd hold off and have an Aussie market it too, not Rocky?

Convenient coincidence I think. We’ve had yellow strips with green shorts in the past and will again in the future no doubt.

Someone on .net has supposedly posted the leaked third kit, i can't log in to open the image so would someone be able to save it and post it here?

Suppose we'll no be seeing it with a new player now.
Expect a release shortly.

Quality partner Fanatics 🖕

Are we still anticipating an Anniversary kit too? Would be good to have that out before the start of August.

I expect so. Would be disappointed with the home kit as the 150th kit.

Nae hooped kit for me thanks , too associated with the great unwashed
Only reporting what I have heard. Which has a plausible (alleged) source but which has come via the young team network and thus may well be plausible but also entirely fictional

I hope it isnae, it wisnae our first shirt, just like the excellent RWE wurnae our first opponents. I also hope that abortion of a ThistleHarp thing isnae a key part of any white shirt we release.

Seen Big G wi one on on Wednesday, wisnae close enough tae get a good look at it but the green hoops looked smaller that the unwashed tops.

Its ours, we started this whole thing, but for our 150th year, lets get the history right.

I hope it's all white too green trim, green socks. I don't actually mind the thistle harp, but it has to be with the original crest on this strip.

I hope they release a cap too, just to have with the kit.
Have them all walk out wearing it, I think it'd be cool.