2018 World Cup

I was in the ABE camp for 40 years until the Tunisia game, I found myself jumping up when Kane scored in the last minute, maybe this is due to having a English wife and Welsh son but the penny dropped for me regardless, I can honestly say I feel better not having the “hatred” I’ve harboured over the years. Each to their own though, FWIW I’ll be happy for my family and mates down south if they somehow manage to pull it off. England is buzzing and I’m sort of glad I’m getting on the bandwagon, I’m no gonna lie, feels weird but I’m embracing it for now

Apparently the daft lassie who was jumping up and down on an ambulance roof 'celebrating' Ingerlund's victory the other day is in fact from the West of Scotland.
Imagine that - a Scot from that neck of the woods going tonto over an Ingerlund win.
I wonder which Scottish team she supports?

I'm following the semi final on the Guardian;

Guardian said:
Trippier, who crosses low. Kane attempts a Keith Houchen diving header, but can’t connect. That would have been some goal!

Hibs legend ! :)

Poor England it always ends in tears.

Croatia are the country we coulda been. They actually fought for it. We had it on a plate and shat it.

I despise us sometimes. And that's just not fitba.

Thank fuck!

England have achieved much more than anyone expected and can be satisfied with reaching the semi-final. They will be gutted at getting so near but Croatia were the better team tonight. I would love to see them win the World Cup on Sunday but France must be very strong favourites

I hadn't been so nervous about a semi since Broke Back Mountain.

Came good in the end though.

England have achieved much more than anyone expected and can be satisfied with reaching the semi-final. They will be gutted at getting so near but Croatia were the better team tonight. I would love to see them win the World Cup on Sunday but France must be very strong favourites
I was watching it on Dutch telly and, honestly, I'm surprised that my Scottish 'tinterwebz sphere is suggesting that Croatia bossed it.

From my perspective, they did next to nothing until they equalised; and England could (should?) have been two up by that point. But for 68 minutes, I thought England had them well scouted and were happy to witness Ivan Rakitic playing the worst game for his country he's ever played.

Weird how different folk see the game differently, eh? :)

Delighted for Croatia. It was mental there on Saturday night when they got to the semi. Gutted to be home and missing their reactions tonight. Modric for the Ballon d'Or. CL winner and hopefully WC winner. Tall order but I'm hoping that this wonderful wee nation of 4 million people get the joy they deserve.

Football won tonight.

I was watching it on Dutch telly and, honestly, I'm surprised that my Scottish 'tinterwebz sphere is suggesting that Croatia bossed it.

From my perspective, they did next to nothing until they equalised; and England could (should?) have been two up by that point. But for 68 minutes, I thought England had them well scouted and were happy to witness Ivan Rakitic playing the worst game for his country he's ever played.

Weird how different folk see the game differently, eh? :)
England had the better of the early stages but missed some good chances. Second half I thought Croatia took control of the game and their equaliser was coming. From then on they looked more likely to win than a wilting England and they got the goal they deserved IMO. England can be proud of what they have achieved. Yes, the draw favoured them but they gave it their all and came mighty close. They are a young team and will only get better but I doubt they will ever have a better chance of winning a World Cup.

Roy Keane, eh?

Brutally honest.

He'll no be getting asked back :icon-lol:

From a driving Facebook page I follow.

Still through to the 3rd or 4th stages folks! Seeing reports in Leeds of cars being set on fire! Please stop, it’s only a game of football! Yes, we all wanted our teams to win but is it really worth a criminal record? Cctv will catch you!

Roy Keane, eh?

Brutally honest.

He'll no be getting asked back :icon-lol:
What did he say?

Perhaps it was this bit and he's bang on, they had themselves in the final before they'd played the semi, usual arrogance. They got tae the semi by beating a bunch of ham and eggers, got beat by the only decent team (Belgium) they played before the semi and took it forgranted they were beating Croatia.

England had the better of the early stages but missed some good chances. Second half I thought Croatia took control of the game and their equaliser was coming. From then on they looked more likely to win than a wilting England and they got the goal they deserved IMO. England can be proud of what they have achieved. Yes, the draw favoured them but they gave it their all and came mighty close. They are a young team and will only get better but I doubt they will ever have a better chance of winning a World Cup.
Good summary, my man.

That's largely how I saw it.

England’s only game plan revolved - like others in the tournament - around scoring the first goal, and the first time they came up against a mentally tough team they didn’t have enough to see it through.

The stats were fairly hefty in favour of Croatia and once they equalised I thought there was only one winner.

B0EC2C3D-A7CE-480A-84BD-81E5BB7BDB55.jpeg
Stats according to bbc

What did he say?
Just telling it like it was. See clip above and others online.

Ian Wright mimicking his accent...wow. Can you imagine if it had been the other way round and Keane had made a dodgy reference to Wright in similar manner?

ITV football pundits and coverage is awful. McCoist by far the best summariser. Neville will be glad to get back to Sky.
I'm no Keane fan but last night they deserved both salvos from him.

I think all pundits are a waste of space to be honest whether they are English, Scottish, Irish or whatever. I can see with my own eyes what is happening in a game of football without some former player spouting off in a TV studio at great expense just to state the patently obvious.

Gary Lineker £1,700,000 from the BBC, so not including crisps and other incomes.

Or worse just to state the patently feckin ridiculous.
As I've said before, it's quite astonishing how many ex-players and commentators are so ignorant of the laws of the game - the 'last man rule' still overheats my rage glands, and that prick Andy Wa*ker giving the bollocks 'there's contact so it's a pen/he's entitled to go to ground' makes me tremble with fury.

Or worse just to state the patently feckin ridiculous.
As I've said before, it's quite astonishing how many ex-players and commentators are so ignorant of the laws of the game - the 'last man rule' still overheats my rage glands, and that prick Andy Wa*ker giving the bollocks 'there's contact so it's a pen/he's entitled to go to ground' makes me tremble with fury.
Andy fuckin Walker does hsi best tae spoil the winning goal by SDG, copying what already been said, but I managed tae delete his shite fae ma ring tone:flipa:. He's a fuckin prick.

I don't understand the point of having pundits on TV. It's the most boring thing on TV, a bunch of to$$ers dissecting a game and arguing over some inane point for an hour. How is that a job ? Why is it on TV ? And does anyone actually watch it ? Why do TV companies think this is something worth watching and paying the to$$ers huge amounts of money to do it ? When a sporting event has finished, I almost immediately switch the TV channel. At half time, I watch something else or fast forward to the start of the second half.

In Croatia the tv coverage starts bang on kick off. No build up nonsense. At half time they show music videos- they have 3 world cup songs - and at the end highlights of the key moments are minimal. I couldn't help but think that they have that right.

Croatia are the country we coulda been. They actually fought for it. We had it on a plate and shat it.

I despise us sometimes. And that's just not fitba.

Found myself thinking the exact same thing, Beefster.

Was interesting reading vox pop quotes from random Croatians, and how much it seems the winning of their independence feeds into the general mentality.

We, however, showed ourselves to be cowards whose first concern is “aye, but what’s in it for me?” and default position is “nah, we could never dae it”.

Even now when the UK is the biggest farcical clusterfuck in the western world, they’d still sit in front of the telly and say “aye, that SNP but” and think about new carpets. I’m ashamed to be associated with such poverty of ambition.

Croatian attitudes to sport generally are different. Lots of outdoor spaces and fine weather mean folk get outside to do things. Our youngsters have different priorities at the key ages athletes need to kick on their development. They're not healthy ones and they're culturally ingrained. Our world class athletes have been middle class in the last couple of decades. Hoy, Murray, Grainger and so on. That tells a story in itself...

Indeed so. I’ve also heard it said that in general, younger folk play a wider range of sports as standard, and don’t “specialise” until much later. Can’t help but think that must have some sort of impact too, ie different appreciation of space, movement, etc.

Farce.

Free kick that wasn't.
Penalty shambles

I thought the first French goal was offside too.

Big team favoured shock horror

Farce.

Free kick that wasn't.
Penalty shambles

agreed - ruined what was shaping up to be a good game. how that penalty was awarded i have no idea. Shame to have that sour note at the end of what has been a decent tournament for football. feel sorry for the Croats, I dont suppose the French will feel their victory as hollow but it should.

Var can get te fook

France are worthy world champions and it was a fantastic world cup and a great final. However I feel very sorry for Croatia who done brilliantly to get to the final and were unlucky enough to fall victim to one of the worst refereeing decisions I have seen in a long time. A decision which came at a crucial time in the game and gave France the lift they needed to go on and win. VAR for me is a joke. Once a referee has made a decision and he is sure he is right that should be it. I am biased in a way because I think handball in the penalty box should scrapped as rule completely, but the decision today was beyond belief especially after the length of time the referee took to finally decide he was giving France a penalty.

Luca Modric deserved player of the tournament. He has been outstanding as have his Croat team. France were just too strong all round and deserved to win the World Cup.

VAR has been used more effectively in this World Cup than it was in, say, the English FA Cup last season, but overall I am still against it. It should NOT be used for subjective decisions like that hand ball today. Also it creates 2 tiers of match officiating as it’ll never be rolled out across all pro leagues due to cost.

Farce.

Free kick that wasn't.
Penalty shambles
shocking decisions IMO, should have just gave them the trophy without bothering about the game, dive for the free kick, never a penalty IMO. Big team favoured again, even without those awful decisions the ref favoured one side. spoiled what could have and should have been a decent final. A final won by cheating and terrible refereeing.

Well done Russia you put on a great tournament. Peeps were scared. Real scared. South Americans wurnae. Aw this shite aside...hats off...fitba wins. [emoji106]

This thread has been viewed 12469 times.