Ennio Morricone

Braehead Cabbage

Baldy radge
A decent innings for a brilliant composor.
Ecstacy of gold a personal favorite

Fantastic film composer.
RIP Ennio

The soundtrack to once upon a time in New York is brilliant

Brilliant composer.Theme from A Fistful of Dynamite my personal favourite.Bit of a lefty too which makes all the difference.

"The Mission "is a favourite of mine , I liked all his spaghetti western music.

Sad news
Love the obvious one ... The Good, The Bad and The Ugly still sounds fantastic now and I've known it for fifty years - one of the few, (half dozen, if that) decent records my dad had.
RIP

The soundtrack to once upon a time in New York is brilliant
Once Upon A Time in America I think you mean, my favourite film, all 3 and some hours of it. Much better the actors going young to old unlike The Irishman which goes the other way. It disnae work, as good a story as it was.

Aye that's the one, one of my favourite films too, not seen it for a while but the DVD is here somewhere.
Haven't watched the Irish man yet, mum couldn't not see De Niro's old body on his young head, distracted her and put her off, havent on those grounds yet ha!

Cheers for the correction, probably always call it new York and not realise.

Aye that's the one, one of my favourite films too, not seen it for a while but the DVD is here somewhere.
Haven't watched the Irish man yet, mum couldn't not see De Niro's old body on his young head, distracted her and put her off, havent on those grounds yet ha!

Cheers for the correction, probably always call it new York and not realise.
There’s been a few Once Upon A Time films over the years. Widnae be surprised of the new Gunt documentary is called Once Upon a Time in The Championship. ??

Fantastic composer.

His soundtrack to The Thing is one I love. Not the flashiest one he ever did, but it is so tense and foreboding. It elevates a fun horror/sci-fi flick to something quite special.

RIP il maestrino.

Iirc from twatter earlier, i saw a post fae some 90s or 00s band guitarist explaining how he had stumbled on how to reproduce that trademark Morricone quick staccato Duane Eddy style vibrato guitar sound. It was all done on the top treble string of a BASS guitar!

Plus a $hitload of reverb obvs :)

Didn't Italy also lose Giorgio Moroder also recently? (Together in Electric Dreams)

Riposi in Pace

Fantastic composer.

His soundtrack to The Thing is one I love. Not the flashiest one he ever did, but it is so tense and foreboding. It elevates a fun horror/sci-fi flick to something quite special.
He did not do the soundtrack it was John carpenter also director he did the music to all his films

Carpenter did a lot of his own films but not that one. It's a Morricone.

The good thing about him is his tunes stand on their own.I've got an album with a fistful of dynamite on the cover.I've only seen that but all the tracks are gems.A track with Joan Baez called Here's to You Nicola and Bart is very powerful and had me looking up Sacco and Vanzetti.

Chi Mai - as I learned today means "Whoever" - was my first introduction to his work. I also learned tonight that particular choon was from 1971.

Wow thanks for the correction. It's one of my favourites and I didn't know that.?

Stole one of Noodles lines from that movie ?

Eh?

RIP. Co-writer on a Pet Shop Boys song It Couldn't Happen Here.

RIP Had "Sixty Seconds To What", as a ringtone for many years.

Had tae google that, never Knew it was called that.

the danish symphony orchestra did all his spaghetti western tracks. barry how they recreated all the sounds. I stumbled across it on youtube.

Id post the link, but ive never learned how to do that, so youll just have tae find it yersel if ye can be arsed

This thread has been viewed 2111 times.