Just back and we are through....

Ok I know it wasn't pretty, I know there were a few poor performances, I know United gave us a game, but I also know we are through and that matters most. Lack of signings and average performances cause fans to be unsettled, the fact only 8000 Hibs fans turned up should send that message loud and clear to the board, they have three days to sort things out.

On field our best player was 34 year old Steven Whittaker, first half we looked flat and devoid of ideas until Boyler won us a penalty. The defence looked flat footed, I thought Jackson was as poor tonight as he had been decent recently, James was bang average, as was Lewis, only Paul mastered the over rated and over price Shankland for me. Newell had a poor first half although improved second, he is no holding midfielder that is for sure, Scottie is a mile off it, the odd nice ball and scoring the penalty is not enough. He too improved slightly second half when he sat deeper. Horgan brought almost nothing. Boyler gives his all and is direct and the enigma that is Doidge, well may be we have to accept he simply scores goals, works hard off the ball and can, when he puts his mind to it, score the odd cracker. I cannae mind a Hibs striker like him to be honest.

United are decent enough, but more St Johnstone than Motherwell, as I said, Shankland is simply over rated, good goal but awful Hibs defending. When we did get to him, he offered little, and yet they talk of £2 or 3 million for him. My hole. Like Hibs fans at Tannadice last week, the away support was decent, like the home fans last week, the home support was small and pretty quiet. Apathy, simply too much fitba to pay to watch or frustration at the lack of signings? A mix of all three for me, and its the apathy Hibs should be concerned about.

Tactically I didnae fancy the two holding midfielders, although both done ok, its no pretty. Scottie as second striker didnae work and Horgan never got going yet got over an hour? However we won and in the end won well, we were the better team over two legs.

The Team

Rocky had one very good save and did not look to have any chance at either goal.

James was average, he is an average right back and an average left back, nothing more.

Jackson was pretty awful much of the game, sorry. He looked poor against a decent striker, Well didnae play one Saturday, Hamilton didnae have one last week either. Not a good game from him.

I thought Paul played well enough and it was he who stopped Shankland play.

Lewis was ok without doing anything of particular note I can think of until a solid challenge in the box near the end.

Overall I though Whitts was excellent for an hour before fading badly, could have scored and should have scored two. Pity his concentration and legs go.

I thought Newell was ok first half, but decent second. He does try to play a clever pass and does try his best to win the ball. Was integral in our second goal.

I am at a loss with Scottie, I know you can get tarred and feathered for being a Scottie critic but he gave us very little first half until he scored the penalty, improved for 15 minutes playing deeper second then tired and was hooked.

Horgan should have been off at half time for Kamberi, he eaked out 70 minutes but gave us very, very little. Its not enough to turn up against Hearts, it has to be every week.

Boyler is direct, a baller who always wants to run at players and take them on. We need more Martin Boyles.

Finally, Christian Doidge, what can I say. There are times he disnae look like a fitba player never mind a striker, his first half effort showed that. BUT he does not stop working for his team, he harries, fouls, gets stuck in, wins his fair share and tonight, que milagro, he scored three goals, all of which too great technique. His first wasn't easy although it was a fine pass from Joe Newell, his second was a fantastic, well connected, properly heeded beauty of a goal. His third was probably the hardest of the three which he struck home with aplomb. An enigma, yes, a goal scoring hard working enigma, hell yes!

Subs

Kamberi replaced Allan as we went to two up front, he worked hard but nothing came off.

Fraser Murray replaced Horgan at the same time with about 15 to go, Fraser did well I thought and I hope he is a great success at Dundee.

Hallberg came on for a straight swap with the excellent Whitts with 10 to go and fitted in ok. I felt we left it 10-15 minutes to long?

The Boss

Got the first half wrong, we looked in trouble at one point. I also felt the subs were late and whilst he changed our shape at half time, we sat way too deep too often and for too long. Thank Sauzee for Boyler and Christian, they ken how to go forward and save the day.

United

Root toot yur out. It will be good to have them back in the top flight next year, decent team, decent support.

Clancy is a hopeless prick, we all know that.

The fans, well Easter Road was quiet and with only 8000 HIbs fans and 2500 United fans, it was a tad weird. As I said before, too many games played in a month of nae money, no big names to entice people out on a cold night and some concerns about the way ahead for Hibs. Over to you Hibs, lets see some new faces, faces that impress, faces that make fans want to attend. Gossip was Aiden McGeady was in the stand tonight, I hope he paid to get in as there is no danger that is what we need at the moment with Horgan, Boyler, and Flo already in the squad.

Man of the Match

You know what, Roger Whittaker was Hibs best outfield player tonight for an hour and I see why the match sponsors gave him it. However it would wrong of me not to give it to Christian Doidge for his excellent hattrick and his all round game tonight. Well played Chris, did Hibs charge you for the match ball?

Next up, St Mirren at Easter Road on Saturday, hopefully with some new faces in the squad, and personally I hope that includes a new defensive midfielder, a new striiker and another defender. The rest we can live without until the summer.

Thanks for the report, glad that one's out the way that's for sure! Scott Allan's recent performances worry me, has he lost interest or something? Confidence maybe?

Anyway, looking forward to a trip to Alloa (said no one ever) to face BSC Glasgow, hope we can score a few

Doidge has 12 goals in 14 games since we sacked Secondbottom.

Great report. Comment about Shankland, great goal but he doesn't half moan, and that's to his teammates!

Cheers for the report. Thought Jackson was rotten tonight 1st goal gave Shankland too much space and at the 2nd gave an easy clearance right too them for them to them switch play and score a lucky goal. James isn’t a footballer, if we are looking at P mcginn then good hopefully keep him out a hibs top. Whits done well tonight but should’ve scored at least 1 of the 2 chances. Big doidge just seems to keep finding the back of the net somehow. Great header for his 2nd

Thanks for the Just Back, @1875. The only difference for me was the performance of Joe Newell, as I thought he had a terrific game. He never hid at any point in the game, and after a good first half, wherein he tried his best to pick out a player, he went on to a much better game. His run and cross for the second goal was classy, and then he set up the next two. Best game by far in a Hibs jersey. I thought Whittaker was good, as you rightly say, but he was running on empty for a good ten minutes until subbed. Have to agree about Clancy as some of his decisions were embarrassing, none more so than the deliberate handball.

Didn’t think we were bad in the first half, better second half. Jackson was poor for the first goal.

Good report.I actually thought Newell had a good game ,but hey ho.

Doidge is pish
Doidge was man of the match.
Both statements are bizarrely true

Thought our problem was the midfield set IP wrong, Scotty was poor and our full backs exposed. We created excellent chances and could have made things easier for ourselves. Whittaker is in great shape and had a good game, would have been excellent if taking his chances. Everything good second half came from Joe Newell. Doidge scored a proper strikers hat trick. Getting through to the next stage is what the cup is all about and we are. Great support from the tangerine greens. GGTTH

Thanks for the report mark..
Spot on as usual..
Freezing tonight,but least we won....
Made the trip back to Falkirk bit happier onwards and upwards....[emoji12]

Cheers for the report. Thought Jackson was rotten tonight 1st goal gave Shankland too much space and at the 2nd gave an easy clearance right too them for them to them switch play and score a lucky goal. James isn’t a footballer, if we are looking at P mcginn then good hopefully keep him out a hibs top. Whits done well tonight but should’ve scored at least 1 of the 2 chances. Big doidge just seems to keep finding the back of the net somehow. Great header for his 2nd

Scott Allan fucking about out wide and losing possession led to the 2nd goal

Aye but if Jackson doesn’t make a *&*^ of a simple clearance it’s not 2-2 but it was a serious of errors and a big deflection, we went on to win that’s the main thing

Think you’re being a wee bit harsh on our first half performance, I thought we dominated the entire game and could’ve scored even more than we did. Our defence is rotten though hence we ship our customary 2 goals. Take Shankland out that United team and they’re going straight back down without some good new signings.

Thanks for the Just Back, @1875. The only difference for me was the performance of Joe Newell, as I thought he had a terrific game. He never hid at any point in the game, and after a good first half, wherein he tried his best to pick out a player, he went on to a much better game. His run and cross for the second goal was classy, and then he set up the next two. Best game by far in a Hibs jersey. I thought Whittaker was good, as you rightly say, but he was running on empty for a good ten minutes until subbed. Have to agree about Clancy as some of his decisions were embarrassing, none more so than the deliberate handball.
2 minutes later he gives a foul against Boylers accidental handball. A prick of the highest order

Disagree about United’s second goal - the clearance wasn’t bad (wasn’t great either but job one was to get the ball out the box), the fact our two midfielders were nowhere to be seen allow United to pick up the second ball and keep the pressure on our defence.

That is a common theme this season, the defence simply don’t get enough protection.

Thought James was even worse than Jackson. Learn to tackle properly just sticking out a leg doesn't make a tackle.
Scotty was disappointing lightweight and a lot of wayward passes.
Thought Horgan did well in getting past players in a direct way but he was a bit off the mark.
Whittaker played really well albeit he should've scored apart from that I also loved the way he was very vocal and commanding we need more of that on the pitch.
Doidge, well hatrick and worked really hard but Christian get rid of those pink boots you played much better when you changed them to the green ones.
Clancy is an officious little prick who makes the rules up as he goes along, he'd be better suited to dishing out parking tickets in George St.
Crowd numbers were disappointing but no surprises there. Maybe should have had SIGNIFICANT price reductions for kids or family tickets to boost the numbers.
United played well and brought a great support who got behind their team from start to finish.
Don't think I'll make Alloa but who knows.
GGTTH.

Some good goals there, but both defences looked very shaky. We failed completely to close down Shankland for his goal (which was a cracker TBH). Build up to the Hibs goals was excellent. Hibs have done really well to get through a tie many neutrals predicted would produce a shock. United are used to winning every week so are full of confidence. Hibs scored six against them over the two games which is good to see. Still nowhere near good enough when we don' have the ball though.

It's the Hibs without the ball that scares people. Too many waiting for someone else to do the work.
Cant leave it to the defence. Everyone in the side has to work harder when we dont have the ball.
I know were not Liverpool, Man City ,Barca etc, but boy do those teams graft when they dont have the ball.
They're all over the opposition like a bad suit.
Get that instilled Mr Ross.

It's the Hibs without the ball that scares people. Too many waiting for someone else to do the work.
**** leave it to the defence. Everyone in the side has to work harder when we dont have the ball.
I know were not Liverpool, Man City ,Barca etc, but boy do those teams graft when they dont have the ball.
They're all over the opposition like a bad suit.
Get that instilled Mr Ross.

Totally agree. For me there’s no leader in the midfield, we desperate need someone to set the tone and start that press/graft as you say.

I think the players are still in the Hecky mindset of holding positions rather than breaking forward to close the opposition down.

Agree with all that but thought Horgan did reasonably well first half and burnt out as usual.

Ok I know it wasn't pretty, I know there were a few poor performances, I know United gave us a game, but I also know we are through and that matters most.

Performance is important, but not as important as being in the next round - I think you're spot on.

I watched BSC at home to Bonnyrigg on the 3rd January, and it would be a spectacular failure without parallel in Scottish football if we don't win that one.

Performance is important, but not as important as being in the next round - I think you're spot on.

I watched BSC at home to Bonnyrigg on the 3rd January, and it would be a spectacular failure without parallel in Scottish football if we don't win that one.

Get your money on another hat-track for the Artful Doidger. And put a wee saver on The Man to get four. We might even get a goal from Kamberi.

Doidge has 12 goals in 14 games since we sacked Secondbottom.
I am delighted for him
He comes across as a decent guy and he was slated under PH ?

This thread has been viewed 2636 times.