Full Time: FC Runavik 4 v 6 Hibernian ( Agg: 5 -12)

I blame the dafties that got on the wrong bus. Created the wrong impression

Desperately need a few more

They will be coming mate if SJM is sold.

What happens if Celtc draw it out until Aug 31 then? They fuckin will, so I’m hoping the whole gig is not based on SJM.

Po

Potentially

Believe me mate Mallan add's quality into our team and will add to our goals also.

What happens if Celtc draw it out until Aug 31 then? They fuckin will, so I’m hoping the whole gig is not based on SJM.

They won't mate, third bid incoming but it has to match our price or they can do one.

Their fans (well majority) want this done sooner rather than later, BR also said he didn't want this to be going on for long, so we will just have to see.

Yeah so we keep hearing , we seem to treat Europe like a friendly instead of getting business done and having a go at making a bit of money from a decent run .
Huntic apart i still dont know why Scottish teams bother with Europe

Yeah so we keep hearing , we seem to treat Europe like a friendly instead of getting business done and having a go at making a bit of money from a decent run .
Huntic apart i still dont know why Scottish teams bother with Europe

To be honest with the messing about by Celtic on the SJM transfer has delayed things Daz, I think will be sorted sooner rather than later mate, although I agree 100% with what you are saying.

So if celtic dont up their bid thats what we're going with after record attendances last season ?

It's about time Scottish clubs dealt with Celtic appropriately.

They meet our valuation at an appropriate time, NOT at the end of the window, or the player won't be sold irrespective of the offer. We simply can't plan our own business when this gets dragged out to a date where we've no time to replace key players that we lose.

Believe me mate Mallan add's quality into our team and will add to our goals also.
Yes he looks a good player but I won’t judge him on two games against a part time side.
Lots of potential though, I hope he fulfils it in a Hibs jersey

Wrong!
We will be signing players regardless of what goes on with John McGinn.

So if celtic dont up their bid thats what we're going with after record attendances last season ?

I just mean with the funds we get for SJM will get us better quality players mate.

I am not saying the other list wouldn't add quality either.

Scored 6 and STILL managed to fuck my bet!
I was on the handicap with us starting -2 raging likesay.

Wrong!
We will be signing players regardless of what goes on with John McGinn.

Where have I said we wouldn't be signing players if SJM isn't sold mate.

I just mean with the funds we get for SJM will get us better quality players mate.

I am not saying the other list wouldn't add quality either.
So the usual signings two days before the window shuts ? I really hoped we were passed all that

Being 6.1 up from the first leg I reckon NL&Co treated this game as a pre season warm up we wanted to win, coefficient and all that. Objective achieved.

I hardly recognised the starting line up. It didn't help that Lewis, scorer of a fine goal that will go in his **** bank, was our goalkeeper and out goalie was at centre half!

The bubbles, if they're not on strike or shot each other, will be an entirely different game. We'll have our best first 11 out and they'll have to be at their best if our European sojourn is to go any further. No holding back at at home.

Edit. I actually thought they played reasonably well at times. If they had stuck to that instead of the cheating and time wasting it might have been a closer tie.

Scored 6 and STILL managed to fuck my bet!
I was on the handicap with us starting -2 raging likesay.
I had hibs half time/full time on my treble. Arseholes !haha

Well done Hibs tennis team. GGTTH

Where have I said we wouldn't be signing players if SJM isn't sold mate.

You basically said we're only getting quality of he leaves.
Your post before this one says the most obvious statement ever, of course if we get millions, we'll have more to spend.

But you're promoting the idea that we need to sell John to improve the team. I'm no having it. It is a negative idea that we don't need people jumping on.

Wasn't a game for the ages. On zitelli seemed like the whole thing was at walking pace - wonder if the combo of the pitch, weather, result and opposition meant nobody was concentrating on the game? Not a great omen if so but can't imagine that felt like a worthwhile 90 mins for anyone on or off the pitch

Just back to our digs after a bizarre day spent doing planes, taxis and buses, under-sea tunnels, Irish bars, chippie vans and school camp tuck shops all in aid of the most bizarre game of football we are likely to witness following Hibs. Well, maybe.
Didn't see at least 2 of the goals due to the pea soup that engulfed the ground for periods of the game. Probably just as well.
£10 for a fish supper at half time for oor tea, a dear half time delicacy but worth every Krone for those of us who have flown back to February 1955 for this evening's game. Still drying out.
Really don't know what to make of what we witnessed tonight. Too many changes. Too many not switched on. Bizarre atmosphere. Rotten pitch. Stadium like someone moved Central Park, Cowdenbeath, a few hundred miles north.

Interesting to see the Mallan comments. The goals apart, we thought the midfield balance was wrong. We miss Dylan so much.

I'm not sure if the players or officials realised the money and effort put in by the fans to get to the game tonight. They seemed more worried about rushing off to catch their charter flight than anything else at the end.
Our fans reps seemed to be enjoying themselves being wined and dined though. On that note, can we thank Alan Downie for stepping up to the plate big style by organising the coach many of us used to get to Toftir from Torshavn and back tonight. Totally invaluable and a credit to the young un. Shame it needed a laddie the same age as Shaw to take the initiative to help fellow fans. Much appreciated Aldo. Genuinely much appreciated sir.

You basically said we're only getting quality of he leaves.
Your post before this one says the most obvious statement ever, of course if we get millions, we'll have more to spend.

But you're promoting the idea that we need to sell John to improve the team. I'm no having it. It is a negative idea that we don't need people jumping on.

All i am saying is we have two lists of targets one if SJM is sold and the other list will be if he isn't sold.
There was no mention that the players of both lists wouldn't add anything to the team.
To be honest i would rather sign players of better quality on a permanent contract rather than a loan.

So the usual signings two days before the window shuts ? I really hoped we were passed all that

I can genuinely see us doing our business before then mate.

As I hinted a bit earlier, the game in Scotland is rigged to make this unusually difficult to avoid for most clubs. Celtic know that they can effectively throw in token bids for players, and cash-strapped clubs will always have their heads turned. It’s classic haggling. Start from about a third of what the product you want is worth, and look to “negotiate” to about half of it. Abetted by a compliant Glasgow-centric media, Celtic can then continue to keep a player unsettled so that the club can either sell him cheaply or keep an unhappy player who wants to move.

The clubs can’t win, and the majority will sell their asset cheaply. Celtic also know that waiting until the end of the window makes a club more desperate, and more likely to take a cut-price fee.

What frustrates me is that Hibs are not one of those clubs.

We had a successful first season back, record season book sales (with another top effort this year), and European football adding more money into the coffers. We’re in a position to have one list, not two, and enact it whether John McGinn is sold or not. If every club would just realise that they don’t have to rob Peter to pay Paul, and structure their recruitment policy in that manner, then Celtic would no longer have the ability to coerce top talent with minimal fees.

Of course, don’t forget:

Celtic loaning players benefits them, too – and almost exclusively.

They get a share of the loaned players wages paid, that player gets first team playing experience that will help their resale value, and those players can’t be deployed against them. It’s all win as far as Celtic are concerned, and it allows them to operate in an almost no-risk environment while driving down prices that clubs would otherwise be looking at for their players. We all, as clubs, need to stop accepting their loan offers because it's simply compounding the problem.

And since Rangers were liquidated, Celtic have been able to do this to the Scottish game unilaterally. We’d never have gotten £4.4m for Scott Brown, for example, were Rangers not competing for his signature.

The Scottish domestic game practically needs scrapped and started again. With Rangers going down the pan because of financial mismanagement (and looking likely to do so again), and Celtic exploiting domestic clubs unchallenged, the entire national game is poisoned.

All i am saying is we have two lists of targets one if SJM is sold and the other list will be if he isn't sold.
There was no mention that the players of both lists wouldn't add anything to the team.
To be honest i would rather sign players of better quality on a permanent contract rather than a loan.

So what you're saying is...
If we don't sell John we're getting loans.
Sell him and we get permanent deals?

That's no right and we're going about it all wrong if you are.

Our fans reps seemed to be enjoying themselves being wined and dined though.

Did you get a programme okay?

Celtic loaning players benefits them, too – and almost exclusively.

They get a share of the loaned players wages paid, that player gets first team playing experience that will help their resale value, and those players can’t be deployed against them. It’s all win as far as Celtic are concerned, and it allows them to operate in an almost no-risk environment while driving down prices that clubs would otherwise be looking at for their players. We all, as clubs, need to stop accepting their loan offers because it's simply compounding the problem.

And for every celtic loan player playing for another club, it's one less place for that clubs own signed players. Presumably the club loaning doesnt get a fee for development when the big transfer comes along?

I think the loan system needs a strategic review from the sfa from the angle that it can benefit scottish football, not individual clubs.

I blame the dafties that got on the wrong bus. Created the wrong impression

To be fair, it was the right bus, just the wrong direction.

That could be the story of my life.

And for every celtic loan player playing for another club, it's one less place for that clubs own signed players. Presumably the club loaning doesnt get a fee for development when the big transfer comes along?

I think the loan system needs a strategic review from the sfa from the angle that it can benefit scottish football, not individual clubs.
Aye, but I think they need to go further than that.

The entire club to club approach in Scotland needs reviewed, in order to stop the type of predation that's killing the domestic game.

Aye, but I think they need to go further than that.

The entire club to club approach in Scotland needs reviewed, in order to stop the type of predation that's killing the domestic game.

What we maybe need is the sfa to have player specific pathways for every player to reach their potential. I don’t think it can be trusted to the clubs - most have 9/10 signings out of 11 playing most weeks. But those signings all started somewhere

Just back to our digs after a bizarre day spent doing planes, taxis and buses, under-sea tunnels, Irish bars, chippie vans and school camp tuck shops all in aid of the most bizarre game of football we are likely to witness following Hibs. Well, maybe.
Didn't see at least 2 of the goals due to the pea soup that engulfed the ground for periods of the game. Probably just as well.
£10 for a fish supper at half time for oor tea, a dear half time delicacy but worth every Krone for those of us who have flown back to February 1955 for this evening's game. Still drying out.
Really don't know what to make of what we witnessed tonight. Too many changes. Too many not switched on. Bizarre atmosphere. Rotten pitch. Stadium like someone moved Central Park, Cowdenbeath, a few hundred miles north.

Interesting to see the Mallan comments. The goals apart, we thought the midfield balance was wrong. We miss Dylan so much.

I'm not sure if the players or officials realised the money and effort put in by the fans to get to the game tonight. They seemed more worried about rushing off to catch their charter flight than anything else at the end.

Our fans reps seemed to be enjoying themselves being wined and dined though. On that note, can we thank Alan Downie for stepping up to the plate big style by organising the coach many of us used to get to Toftir from Torshavn and back tonight. Totally invaluable and a credit to the young un. Shame it needed a laddie the same age as Shaw to take the initiative to help fellow fans. Much appreciated Aldo. Genuinely much appreciated sir.

I have just woken up after flying straight back from the game, it was surreal, indeed the whole trip was slightly surreal. Beautiful, cold, very very wet, expensive country, friendly people with a language you cant decipher.

The game itself was everything SKll said, strange, from the CCS flag flying beside the UEFA flags to the £10 fish suppers on a cliff face. Hibs tried something, due to no Paul, a reluctance to use Daz on the poor surface and no out ball with Boyler hurt. I called my laddie after the game to get his opinion after he watched it on the TV, he suggested Hibs tried something and it didnt work. I put that to Gary Parker in the airport and he agreed.

As SKII says, a massive shout out to young Aldo for running the bus from Torshavn to Toftir. He became a Hibs legend, and by christ that laddie can talk!

All in all, I am glad I went up, Hibs in Europe is a brilliant, brilliant thing, we really are a band of brothers and sisters.

Get to Greece, we will be better by then.

I have just woken up after flying straight back from the game, it was surreal, indeed the whole trip was slightly surreal. Beautiful, cold, very very wet, expensive country, friendly people with a language you cant decipher.

The game itself was everything SKll said, strange, from the CCS flag flying beside the UEFA flags to the £10 fish suppers on a cliff face. His tried something, due to no Paul, a reluctance to use Daz on the poor surface and no out ball with Boyler hurt. I called my laddie after the game to get his opinion after he watched it on the TV, he suggested Hibs tried something and it didnt work. I put that to Gary Parker on the airport and he agreed.

As SKII says, a massive shout out to young Aldo for running the bus from Torshavn to Toftir. He became a Hibs legend, and by christ that laddie can talk!

All in all, I am glad I went up, Hibs in Europe is a brilliant, brilliant thing, we really are a band of brothers and sisters.

Sitting having lunch in the main shopping mall. £15 for a ham and chicken piece and a coffee. Big piece though. Slept well last night and we've had a leisurely day so far. It's dry too. Looks like an outdoor music festival is on in Torshavn this weekend and the streets are full of music stages being put up.
Might have struck it lucky there.

Athens will be busier, drier, cheaper. Overheard chat about the price of the proposed charter seats. Get booked up yourself if you can, it sounds like you can have a week in Zante for less than the figures being banded about last night.

Sitting having lunch in the main shopping mall. £15 for a ham and chicken piece and a coffee. Big piece though. Slept well last night and we've had a leisurely day so far. It's dry too. Looks like an outdoor music festival is on in Torshavn this weekend and the streets are full of music stages being put up.

Athens will be busier, drier, cheaper. Overheard chat about the price of the proposed charter seats. Get booked up yourself if you can, it sounds like you can have a week in Zante for less than the figures being banded about last night.
What was being quoted for Athens? £750 or so

In the words of Bruce Forsyth...higher

As long as it’s a “good game good game”

Wee hint pay for the free refills of coffee in the first cafe before BK, I had six why sitting out of the rain, at a fiver a coffee its worth it.

The game itself was everything SKll said, strange, from the CCS flag flying beside the UEFA flags to the £10 fish suppers on a cliff face. Hibs tried something, due to no Paul, a reluctance to use Daz on the poor surface and no out ball with Boyler hurt. I called my laddie after the game to get his opinion after he watched it on the TV, he suggested Hibs tried something and it didnt work. I put that to Gary Parker in the airport and he agreed.

Good to see you again M, and and thanks to you and everyone else we met for making my biggest (spewy) brat most welcome.

Yes John, great to see you and the spewy vet again. As I have often said, dinnae drink red wine on a balcony in the drizzle wearing a mirkin or on a flight to see Hibs in Europe with your Dad.

Cheers both @1875 and @SKII. Apologies for chewing your, and the rest of the bus', ear off for the duration. Definitely not talking as much today...! Glad it all went smooth!

This thread has been viewed 24139 times.