What Choons Yi Listening To?

Great choice, Moaty. I tune in often in the car when I'm on my tod.
We always had the radio on in my last office in Edinburgh. It was usually on Radio 1, but every afternoon I used to turn over to Radio Scotland for Mr Anderson's fine tunes, where the excellent Iain Anderson would play a mixture of traditional/folkie & orchestral music for a couple of hours, with good chat/background on the stuff being played and plenty decent guests too. My workmates used to moan about it but I was bigger than them so tough shit.

Anyway, after a few weeks they started turning over to Mr Anderson whether I was in the office or not.

I'm still quite proud of that.

Quite a lot of today I've been turning over to channel 8 on the telly.It's got sounds of the 60's I've been treated to Dusty,the Zombies, the Kinks, the Stones,and Deep Purple,then came the sound of the 70's and it was 10cc,Chic and Earth Wind and Fire, then the last time I was watching it was sound of Scotland and it was the Associates,Amy Macdonald and I know stretching it a bit AC/DC.

Acdc the greatest Scottish band ever

heidphones on
Sonne is a banger

Was listening to Levitation by Hawkwind. The sound of science fiction. And of my youth.

Raintown, piano version...Soo fucking perb.

Found a Spotify app that turns your most played artists into a festival line up poster - the joys of sharing an account with the wife and kids...

1669739697849.png

Got another two charity shop finds the other day there.Sons and Fascination from Simple Minds and the Message from Grandmaster Flash.I've a feeling I've got the Message already,but having another one where I know where it is is handy.

Don't mind the odd tribute band. Some are excellent.
Only for real Floyd fans as it's over 2 hours long. I've seen Aussie floyd..pretty good
Macfloyd...shit
Britfloyd...absolutely superb.

Bob

jesus something decent

Listening to Billy Joel on BBC2 at the moment.Very good it is too.

As Shane MacGowan is in the news it reminded me of this, Bill Sharp and Neil Perry, two good mates of a friend of mine...

This

My 5 year auld grandlassie is going to a rave uptoon this afternoon.

Big Fish Little Fish Hog-Mini Family Rave

Sat, 31 Dec, 14:00–16:00

In 1 Hour

La Belle Angele
11 Hastie's Cl, Edinburgh

Family fun for the post-rave generation of parents. Helping parents be responsibly irresponsible since 2013. * Licensed bar * Club lighting * Craft area with themed crafts * Play area with tents.

She's oot clubbing more than i have been for the last 29 years

Niteworks in concert with The SSO at Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

Jools Holland Hootenany

The film music to Cleopatra.

Can't stop playing shinedown since I went to their gig in Glasgow. Always gets me motivated. Haven't had that affect since my punk days. Love disturbed and ghost too. Ironically my boys favourite bands. They loved all the new wave stuff especially elvis costello so lovely I'm loving some of their stuff.

Well I was watching the Moody Blues playing with an orchestra on Sky Arts.But 3 tunes in I thought 'this is soporiphic! Nice tunes but deary me it wouldnae scare the horses.So I'm now watching the Hairy Bikers.

Never took to the Moody Blues. Not going to bad mouth them. Just found their stuff bland.

The toys go up and down and 5 little monkeys...from baby tv....plus baby shark...every day between 7 and 7.30......yes every fucking day!! over and over again🙄

Well I was listening to the Match of the Day theme tune but that was about half an hour ago.

Nice hearin that again and seein it was Toots Thielemans, a Belgian musician whose sound inspired even to this day the big money ads on Dutch telly for the biggest-selling pea soup manufacturer (search 'unox erwtensoep reklame' on YT) in the Low Countries.

They sell most of their stuff in the cold winter months and the Thielemans sound seems to invoke that coming in from the cold feeling that the Dutch romanticise ('cosiness' or gezelligheid).

The Dutch equivalent of Oxo cubes, I guess.

You heard it here first thx to @hibbybilly 's choice, don't blame me for useless trivia!

Both the film and soundtrack are excellent D. Excellent trivia from you too after watching Jim Goodwin making a laughing stock of himself. 😊
Toots was the best and have listened tae his version many times.

The wonderful Frankie.

Escape to the Country background music.Somebody tinkling away on a piano,whilst somebody else scrapes away at violin.

Picked this up in a second hand shop

• 20230202_155925.jpg
    20230202_155925.jpg
    185.3 KB · Views: 14

Love the Sleaford Mods, that's quite the mash up

Hahah that's one way of putting. Honestly felt like my mum at points when I was like omg is that what the ones are listening to nowadays 🤣🤣

This thread has been viewed 281525 times.