Tv series

A spy among friends on ITVx is decent, about Kim Philby

I've been rewatching old episodes of The Inspector Lynley mysteries on Drama , it's surprising how many actors who are now famous faces turn up , with the added attraction of the gorgeous Sharon Small who really fancied back then

Started watching the new Stallone serie, quite enjoying it surprisingly.

*Tusla King

I started watching Vikings tonight. In it for the long haul I think?

Just watched the 3 seasons of Mr Inbetween, thought it was great.

Jeezo, doc martin surely canny be finished with no series 11 planned, we need to start a petition fgs 😩😢

Bear is the best thing I've seen for a bit

Is that The Bear? Might try it to break up my marathon binge of Vikings.

Yes, it's tremendous

Just finished Jack Ryan Season 3. Every bit as good as the 1st 2.

1923 has some promise apart from the very dodgy Scottish accents.

Quite enjoyed Six as well

Just finished Jack Ryan Season 3. Every bit as good as the 1st 2.
Just started on that.
Good to hear.
:54:

I watched The Gentlemen (film) last night. Don't usually like gangster type movies but thought this was decent.

I watched The Gentlemen (film) last night.
Glad you clarified.

Monitoring the toilets isn't the sort of discussion we like here.

Glad you clarified.

Monitoring the toilets isn't the sort of discussion we like here.
Most discussion about the toilets here is the ability tae reach them before yi pish yersel.

Imagine trying to impersonate old pishy Foulkes.

Anyone watch Mayflies?
Not a series but a two parter with Martin Compston.
I read the book when it was published and the drama is as good ( almost) as the book.
Recommended.

Anyone watch Mayflies?
I read the book when it was published and the drama is as good ( almost) as the book.
Recommended.

Just watching it now.

Anyone watch Mayflies?
Recommended.
Just watched both episodes. I remember my old man getting teary at stuff on tv and thinking "daft old bugger" Well I am now my old man!

Yellowstone latest season and 1923, Yellowstone prequel and 1883 sequel. All cracking shows.

Is that Yogi

Not a TV series and I know I'm a bit late. Did anyone have the misfortune of watching any TV on hogmanay?
IMO it reached new depths of utter fucking garbage.
One programme in particular, used footage from old (actually decent) hogmanay shows and had comedians (I use the word comedians in its very broadest sense) do voiceovers of the original speech. I honestly can't believe any TV executive watched this shite and thought it was funny, let alone worthy of such a prime slot.
As for the shows bringing in the bells, all I can say is, it was a sad fucking outlook for 2023.

Not a TV series and I know I'm a bit late. Did anyone have the misfortune of watching any TV on hogmanay?
IMO it reached new depths of utter fucking garbage.
One programme in particular, used footage from old (actually decent) hogmanay shows and had comedians (I use the word comedians in its very broadest sense) do voiceovers of the original speech. I honestly can't believe any TV executive watched this shite and thought it was funny, let alone worthy of such a prime slot.
As for the shows bringing in the bells, all I can say is, it was a sad fucking outlook for 2023.
Had music on as usual. tv on with the sound down watching the clock as it hit 12 bells. Hogmanay tv has been pish for years.

Aye, agreed its been pish for years but this was on another level. I have music on anaw but always stick the tv on about half an hour from the bells, in the naive hope summit decent will be on.
A solid belief with Scottish tv, anything said I a weedgie accent is funny.

Aye, agreed its been pish for years but this was on another level. I have music on anaw but always stick the tv on about half an hour from the bells, in the naive hope summit decent will be on.
A solid belief with Scottish tv, anything said I a weedgie accent is funny.
Yi should ken better 😉

I do now

1923. Jerome Flynn's Scottish accent 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Watched that thing with Vicky McLure..the four parter.
Dead funny, she's got long hair in it. It looks so fake, clearly a wig. Reminded me of yon dancer from the hitman and her - Clive.

All twists and turns...crafted, probably really well done but deathly dull I thought.

“The Rig” released on Amazon prime today - looks decent. Will start it tonight.

Decit on Netflix is very good

Currently working my thru the awesome 'Band of Brothers'. Missed it 20 years ago for some reason...

Just finished the 3 parter on Woodstock '99. Fuck knows what I was doing then to not know about this utter shambles. Light years away from the peace and love of the '69 original.

Watched that - quite enjoyable! The calibre of artists they had was mainly rubbish, think that event marked a turning pointing for big music events where the primary objective changed from putting on a decent show to fleecing as much dosh from the punters as possible. In recent years it’s gone to another level again.

The problem for organisers now is that, since record sales and royalties have plummeted, the artistes fees for doing festivals has gone through the roof. Many festivals are struggling to break even despite being 90-100% sold out.

I also watched the Woodstock thing in question and it was a monumental fuck-up.

The problem for organisers now is that, since record sales and royalties have plummeted, the artistes fees for doing festivals has gone through the roof. Many festivals are struggling to break even despite being 90-100% sold out.

I also watched the Woodstock thing in question and it was a monumental fuck-up.
Yeah fair point, festivals probably do still represent decent value for money as long as there’s a handful of artists you really like

The first two episodes of the fantastic Early Doors are on BBCFour tonight from 22:55

The first two episodes of the fantastic Early Doors are on BBCFour tonight from 22:50
Loved that series. Wee bit of a campaign on twitter to get a third series made. I suspect it was of its time and place though and they'd have a mountain to climb to make a success of another at this stage.

I saw that the other day and was looking at Phil Mealey's twitter to see if there was any chance. I think James McAvoy has moved on a wee bit since then. I always thought that The Grapes would be Jim Royal's boozer 😂

I don't even remember James McAvoy being in it! Was he the landlord's daughter's fella?

Aye , I guess it was shameless that got him the gig , very similar characters

This thread has been viewed 163487 times.