Harp Mosaic

madhibee

Without wanting to get into the debate regarding the removal of the Harp from the stadium, I hadn’t realised the replica wasn’t going to be a permanent fixture at Easter Road (it’s probably been raised and I missed the thread). Disappointing that something that’s a key part of our history won’t have a long term home in Leith, but a fitting location for it to be rehomed permanently.

Ballingarry-born founder of Scottish side Hibernian FC to be honoured

Without wanting to get into the debate regarding the removal of the Harp from the stadium, I hadn’t realised the replica wasn’t going to be a permanent fixture at Easter Road (it’s probably been raised and I missed the thread). Disappointing that something that’s a key part of our history won’t have a long term home in Leith, but a fitting location for it to be rehomed permanently.

Ballingarry-born founder of Scottish side Hibernian FC to be honoured

Ohh its a long story, I can assure you the St Patrick's branch tried awfy hard.

I will let @GORDONSMITH7 and @MeanwoodHibee pick up the story from here.

Ohh its a long story, I can assure you the St Patrick's branch tried awfy hard.

I will let @GORDONSMITH7 and @MeanwoodHibee pick up the story from here.

Why are the seemingly simple things with our club so bloody hard sometimes…

Firstly I would like to thank fellow Bouncer and St. Patrick's Branch member, MeanwoodHibee in Leeds who patiently, over a period of time made the mosaic and without which this event would not be taking place. I would also like to thank Branch Committee member Brian Duffy for the excellent article above and the efforts of fellow St. Patricks Committee members and Ballingary AFC Committee for making this happen.
Suffice to say that the Hibernian administration have been very supportive exemplified by them working closely with us and being represented by Hibs Director Stephen Dunn, who will be one of the mains speakers at the event in Ballingary.

IMG-20220901-WA0003.jpg

Firstly I would like to thank fellow Bouncer and St. Patrick's Branch member, MeanwoodHibee in Leeds who patiently, over a period of time made the mosaic and without which this event would not be taking place. I would also like to thank Branch Committee member Brian Duffy for the excellent article above and the efforts of fellow St. Patricks Committee members and Ballingary AFC Committee for making this happen.
Suffice to say that the Hibernian administration have been very supportive exemplified by them working closely with us and being represented by Hibs Director Stephen Dunn, who will be one of the mains speakers at the event in Ballingary.

View attachment 9291

Excellent article and a huge well done to all St Patrick’s committee members who are making this happen

Could St Pats, through its members, and once Ballingarry is done and dusted, commission a replica which could be placed permanent;ly in its righful place at Easter Road?.

I cant see it being that much?, considering what we have raised in the past for our Club and its wonderful heritage!

Could St Pats, through its members, and once Ballingarry is done and dusted, commission a replica which could be placed permanent;ly in its righful place at Easter Road?.

I cant see it being that much?, considering what we have raised in the past for our Club and its wonderful heritage!

Just my opinion but always felt the club were not that keen?

St Pats is the biggest out of all the Supporters Clubs (iirc). Really good numbers and proper Hibernians! Surely others in the association would support it too? (i would have thought so).

They certainly don’t give the impression of being keen.

Hibs Supporters no pay for this?

They certainly don’t give the impression of being keen.
We can send The Family round tae have a chat wi BK & IG. That should sort this shit out. ccs.:duel:

It would have been one of the first things sorted off the field if I had been rich enough tae buy Hibs. Definately.

Is this the same harp mosaic that was the subject of much debate on here? Something @beefy I think it was talking about a gypsy curse that until the harp hung above the stadium we’d never win the Scottish cup. Hero was returned just prior to 2016 and lo and behold.
* This may be a load of bollocks*

Is this the same harp mosaic that was the subject of much debate on here? Something @beefy I think it was talking about a gypsy curse that until the harp hung above the stadium we’d never win the Scottish cup. Hero was returned just prior to 2016 and lo and behold.
* This may be a load of bollocks*

The Harp yes, the specific mosaic, no. The original Harp which was on the west stand wall was gifted to Mrs Swan on the death of her husband Harry. To our knowledge, it was never seen again in and around Easter Road.

View attachment 9291

Brilliant effort from all involved to make it happen

Any idea why?

If my memory serves me well 1875 was our first St. Patrick's Branch member to get in touch with the other Mark, that got this particular ball rolling.

Any idea why?
I think they are worried we will be seen as an east coast Celtic if we embrace our Irishness too much

The harp mosaic was first offered to the club in 2002 and enthusiastically accepted by then Chairman Malcolm McPherson. However there was a change of regime and it became obvious that nothing was going to be done with the mosaic so it was taken back around 2004. Years later a chance remark about the mosaic by @1875 led me to contact him and in 2015 it was gifted by the St Patrick's branch to Tom Farmer to mark our 140th anniversary. Once again the club had the opportunity to place the mosaic on permanent public display but once again it didn't do so. It's only my speculation but my worst suspicion is that Hibs want to appease bigots outside the club while ignoring the deeply-felt wishes of some of its own supporters, and not for the first time.

I think they are worried we will be seen as an east coast Celtic if we embrace our Irishness too much
Madness if that's the reason.

Harp in the crest rightly so and the clubs name more irishness than celtic 😂

The 2 crests on the west stand include the harp there is no reason the mosaic shouldn't be there

The club should do more to celebrate our founders I'm sure they didn't even mention Hannan's birthday recently but have for royals etc

My opinion of course

The harp mosaic was first offered to the club in 2002 and enthusiastically accepted by then Chairman Malcolm McPherson. However there was a change of regime and it became obvious that nothing was going to be done with the mosaic so it was taken back around 2004. Years later a chance remark about the mosaic by @1875 led me to contact him and in 2015 it was gifted by the St Patrick's branch to Tom Farmer to mark our 140th anniversary. Once again the club had the opportunity to place the mosaic on permanent public display but once again it didn't do so. It's only my speculation but my worst suspicion is that Hibs want to appease bigots outside the club while ignoring the deeply-felt wishes of some of its own supporters, and not for the first time.

Its always been my own suspicion too M. Big G, myself and other delegates from St Pats even met representatives of the club to agree a location in the West Stand. From memory I am sure we even offered to pay to have it installed.

Tae be fair the majority of our supporters dinnae want tae be seen as east coast Celtic, personally I,d rather see the club badge in prominent display as IMO it represents who we are better. It shows the Irish legacy and where we are now ,an all inclusive non sectarian Scottish club

I think the difficulty is that we seem too keen to brush away the history of our club, hide it and pretend it never happened.

I don’t think anyone bar the odd crackpot wants to see us as a purer version of Celtic, but once you start wiping away why the club was formed and key parts of its rich history you lose its essence and it’s fabric. Imho.

I don't know any Hibs fan who sees us as East Coast Celtic. Bigots amongst the Hundogs and Merricks may see that. Who cares what they think? Hibs have pandered to the Hundogs too much in the.past for my liking.
I think that if the Ballingarry event had not been at such an advanced stage , this administration would have accomodated the Harp Mosaic at Easter Road. I don't think for a moment they have any truck with or given a thought to that particular theory, exemplified by the Clubs presence and speaking at the Harp ceremony, in the shape of well respected Hibernian Director, Stephen Dunn, which will no doubt be reported in both Scottish and Irish media.

I think the difficulty is that we seem too keen to brush away the history of our club, hide it and pretend it never happened.

I don’t think anyone bar the odd crackpot wants to see us as a purer version of Celtic, but once you start wiping away why the club was formed and key parts of its rich history you lose its essence and it’s fabric. Imho.
I don’t think anybody’s trying to brush away the history or why the club was formed I just think the club badge represents us more, the harp for the Irish legacy, Edinburgh and Leith

Great thread as is the one on .net about the upcoming event in Ballingarry and the debate over the harp and whatever happened to the original mosaic.
The issue is raised again and i understand there has been deputations in the past to the club to have a mosaic harp prominently displayed at the Holy Ground.
I trust Ron Gordon would embrace the desire of thousands of Hibernians to allow this.
To Big G and all involved
Have a memorable time in Ballingarry and well done on your efforts

Mick

I don't know any Hibs fan who sees us as East Coast Celtic. Bigots amongst the Hundogs and Merricks may see that. Who cares what they think? Hibs have pandered to the Hundogs too much in the.past for my liking.
I think that if the Ballingarry event had not been at such an advanced stage , this administration would have accomodated the Harp Mosaic at Easter Road. I don't think for a moment they have any truck with or given a thought to that particular theory, exemplified by the Clubs presence and speaking at the Harp ceremony, in the shape of well respected Hibernian Director, Stephen Dunn, which will no doubt be reported in both Scottish and Irish media.

They not west coast hibs 👀

Director Stephen Dunn speaking on behalf of Hibernian.

Just up the road
Up the Dubs

Are we there yet?

Expecting a full Just Back....from Ballingarry tomorrow @1875

Will try spot them from the top o the Forth Rail Bridge 😆

Expecting a full Just Back....from Ballingarry tomorrow @1875
Like you, I had reasons for not going.

It's something Hibs should be shouting from the rooftops.
Ignore the bigots and reclaim our roots without the nonsense celtc pander too

Will try spot them from the top o the Forth Rail Bridge 😆
FFS….. what is it now?
Abseiling?
Paragliding?
High dive?
Or suicide after Pishtol Pete harassment?

Or less drama…… just on a train?

Like you, I had reasons for not going.
Ok, sorry, I just kind of assumed you would be there.

Looks good Screenshot_20220925-002540_Instagram.jpg

The Pride of Ballingarry.
Great day for the St Patrick's Hibees and our Irish brothers and sisters for their hard work in making this all happen.

I hope our club custodians recognise that something similar at the Holy Ground would be welcomed by most supporters of the club .
Something that many have called on/desired for many years.
Its time to name the West Stand after our founder .

HGSP

The Pride of Ballingarry.
Great day for the St Patrick's Hibees and our Irish brothers and sisters for their hard work in making this all happen.

I hope our club custodians recognise that something similar at the Holy Ground would be welcomed by most supporters of the club .
Something that many have called on/desired for many years.

HGSP

That was what we tried to do, someone somewhere within the club was against it, of that I have no doubt.

This thread has been viewed 5220 times.