Full Time: Hibernian 1 v 1 The Puddledrinkers

I ken its not til Sunday but it is the derby. So our neighbours from the west of the city come to Easter Road full of themselves and wanking themselves silly about a fat guy with an eye for a player. They are using their other hand to pray their best player recovers from his hamstring injury. Loved by the MSN, the cardigan wearing, bungalow dwelling, tory voting, union flag waving, bloodied stool coloured shirt wearing, Billy Boys singing, Albert Kidd hating sparrayheeds are back talking about the size of their wee shrunken boabies as they try to bring meaning to their unfortunate lives, playing us is what they live for. Shrink and I discussed it on the way to an away game, neither of us knew who they were playing that day, who there captain was or could name anymore than a few of their players. Outside of the derby, they mean nothing to me, I dinnae give them second thought. I ken we all have Mums/Dads/ Sisters/ Brothers/ Cousins or pals that support them and and my description maybe disnae always apply to the Guntoids, but ye get where I am coming from. Bring it on, its time we put them back in their box, shut their mouths.

On field our team is taking shape, we ken we have a few weak links, a few guys who are no quite fit and ready, one who may return and change our season another who might if he can stay fit. They struggled against Ross County last week, we can make them struggle too. A sell out crowd, the biggest attendance there can be in an Edinburgh Fitba stadium, can cheers us on, a the twelfth man. I am looking forward to it almost as much as that tweet that says Boyler is back.

Team wise, as I said, nae idea about them, but for us it has to be subtle tweaks to last weeks team. We are a little slow in the build up still, the front men still dinnae look like scoring many but the keeper and defence is solid and we have width and Hendo looks better every week.

So, the team.....

Marshall, of course

Cadden right back, assuming his injury is gone

Rocky, who has been a revelation so far

Porto who just needs to keep the heed with the hun refereeing the game

Cabraja (Chabraya) looks a player, but I worry he too might need to ensure he disnae get in trouble for Gunt Scudding

Kenneh, well this is a big test for him

Newell will start

As will Hendo who is capable of a Scottie Allan

I expect Tavares to drop out and the wonderful returnee MARTIN BOYLE to start.

Up top, its Youan and Melkerson for me.

Thoughts?

Huck the Fearts!

Like you I have zero interest in these fuckers. I'm not aware of weak links or threats on the park, it's all down to us performing on the day.
It's good to start to see a recognisable first 11 appearing unlike the quite frankly weird Maloney selections.
Can't argue with your choices 👍🏻

I f***ing hate them.

I'd like to see us go

Marshall
Cadden Rocky Porto Cabraja
Kenneh
Newell Hendo2
Melkerson Doidge Youan
I dont think it'll be too different
The front 3 are the question mark. Think there's still a lot of fiddling around to be done to find the combination and a certain signing that instantly changes the dynamics.

I think we'll be hard to score against, but unsure what threat we carry uo front
Goalless draw
Possibly Hibs win, can't see a wash out, not yet.

The team M has named is hard to argue with.
Tavares looks a development player to me and Mitchell is the most obvious replacement.

Kenneh is poor on the ball but he can't half break up play and he allows the other midfielders to play without worrying about what is going on behind them. I think he is suited to the big games where we have less of the ball. Hopefully all over McKay when he looks to find that pocket of space in front of our back 4.

Cadden I thought had gone off with cramp against St J but I see M suggesting an injury.

Youan looked off it against St J. Hopefully another weeks training has sharpened him up. St Gallen fans describe him as a greedy player who saves his best for the big games. Please be right.

Hope we can avoid yellow cards until well into the 2nd half. Cabraja was very good against St J but that raj tackle has to be avoided. Very good player otherwise.

First real test for Rocky on Sunday. Has been top notch since the poor 1st half against Falkirk. If he comes through this big game with flying colours folk will start to scrutinise everything he does less. Fingers crossed for the big guy.

Strangely I think Tefal is their danger player. A doing fuck all and then scoring type.
I would settle for a draw with the understanding that we will improve as the new guys settle in and the injured return and get back up to speed.
If Hibs are to win we need the front players to shine and put any chances away.

i just can't see where our goals are coming from.
hope to fuck I'm wrong.
this has 0-0 written all over it for me.
hertz are shite.

To win on Sunday, we need our front guys to anticipate cracking balls in from Cadden and Cabraja. Not be on their heels.
Confident as fuck

Hibs score 3 minimum. Fuck thum.

It’ll be the usual scenario. Gunts will be pumped up, Hibs will treat it like ‘just another league match’, Gunts will hoof everything that moves, Hibs will batter them without putting the ball in the net, we’ll get key players injured and out for weeks and finally - the Gunts will hit a worldie with their only shot on target the whole day and win 1-0.
Hope tae fuck I’m wrong (it’s been known to happen) but 50+ years of watching Hibs will do that to you.

Big day for Kenneh. I think we'll see that we have a star on our hands.

I hope you are right.

I wonder when our next cricket score against them will be - will probably happen when it's least expected. Therefore i predict a Porteous hat trick, David Marshall to score twice from inside our own half and Cabraja to two foot the ball into the net and stud Craig Gordon in the baws in the follow through. 6-0 to the hibees, easy peasy

Whilst Hearts will be favourites, IMO Hibs have to make the most of what advantages we have going into this game. The first of these is home advantage. We will be playing in front of a big Hibs support in our own stadium and we have to perform above a level that we would normally do at Easter Road. The second advantage we have is surprise. Several of the new Hibs players are unknowns and therefore Neilson and co won't really have much of a clue as to their strengths and weaknesses.

On the flip side they are a more experienced team with much more derby know-how. Without Hanlon and Stevenson we are going to be going into a very early derby match with two of our stalwarts unavailable. We also have a number of players who will never have played in such an intense atmosphere and with that weight of expectation placed upon them. I can't help feeling this game has maybe come just that bit too early for us, but I really hope we can compete properly and for once take the game to them. We must keep 11 players on the park for the duration and that means playing the actual game and not allowing the occasion to get the better of us.

Edinburgh derbies are first and foremost battles. Have we got the players with the battling qualities and big game experience in our team to cope with what will be required ? We will find out soon enough. I just want to see a Hibs team go out there and compete hard from the first whistle to the final whistle. Fight and battle for all it's worth particularly in midfield, stay solid defensively and for once take the chances we do get. From a personal point of view this is the first time I will have seen Hibs in a proper competitive game since the 4-0 win against St Johnstone at the end of last season. I can't really give a view on our new players since I have not seen them play in a competitive environment yet. Really hope all our players can come to the fore on Sunday and give us some hope for the season ahead with a win.

This will tell us a lot about this group of players individually, both temperament and ability wise.

Give it their all (as they did in the 0-0 in the latter derby at ER under Maloney) and I'll have no complaints.

A win would be a massive boost and help to get some momentum rolling. Confidence will be massive for this team with so many new signings and our sprinkling of youngsters.

Play with no fear and we win. Pressure is all on them, their fans expect to scud us.

I ken its not til Sunday but it is the derby. So our neighbours from the west of the city come to Easter Road full of themselves and wanking themselves silly about a fat guy with an eye for a player. They are using their other hand to pray their best player recovers from his hamstring injury. Loved by the MSN, the cardigan wearing, bungalow dwelling, tory voting, union flag waving, bloodied stool coloured shirt wearing, Billy Boys singing, Albert Kidd hating sparrayheeds are back talking about the size of their wee shrunken boabies as they try to bring meaning to their unfortunate lives, playing us is what they live for. Shrink and I discussed it on the way to an away game, neither of us knew who they were playing that day, who there captain was or could name anymore than a few of their players. Outside of the derby, they mean nothing to me, I dinnae give them second thought. I ken we all have Mums/Dads/ Sisters/ Brothers/ Cousins or pals that support them and and my description maybe disnae always apply to the Guntoids, but ye get where I am coming from. Bring it on, its time we put them back in their box, shut their mouths.

On field our team is taking shape, we ken we have a few weak links, a few guys who are no quite fit and ready, one who may return and change our season another who might if he can stay fit. They struggled against Ross County last week, we can make them struggle too. A sell out crowd, the biggest attendance there can be in an Edinburgh Fitba stadium, can cheers us on, a the twelfth man. I am looking forward to it almost as much as that tweet that says Boyler is back.

Team wise, as I said, nae idea about them, but for us it has to be subtle tweaks to last weeks team. We are a little slow in the build up still, the front men still dinnae look like scoring many but the keeper and defence is solid and we have width and Hendo looks better every week.

So, the team.....

Marshall, of course

Cabraja (Chabraya) looks a player, but I worry he too might need to ensure he disnae get in trouble for Gunt Scudding

Newell will start

I expect Tavares to drop out and Mitchell to come in a go at his old employers

Thoughts?

Huck the Fearts!

That’s the team for me as well.

Fuck the Hearts, they’re due a pumping.

So, the team.....

Marshall, of course

Newell will start

I expect Tavares to drop out and Mitchell to come in a go at his old employers

Thoughts?

Huck the Fearts!

Can't see him changing the team from last week so your team is spot on.

I fear for him in this game. Think he'll be caught on the ball alot. Hope I'm wrong.

Aye, I'd be tempted to start Stevenson ahead of him. Lewis knows what this is all about and performed well in the midfield when we were toiling otherwise. I have high hopes for Kenneh, but I don't know if this is the game for a newbie in that position.

I can't see it happening, but I'd like to see this side start:

Marshall
Cadden Porto Rocky Cabraja
Newell Stevenson
Melkerson Henderson Mitchell
Youan

2/1 on hibs 😮

I'm the opposite. Think this game suits Kenneh. He is poor on the ball but won't have time in this game so will simply break up play and pass the ball on. He is a tough guy to get past and I see him as a big rock between the back 4 and our midfield play makers. That will stop Hearts from playing through the middle and force them down the wings. That means more defending for Cadden and Cabraja. My concern is whether Caddens defensive abilities are up to it.

The team M has named is hard to argue with.
Tavares looks a development player to me and Mitchell is the most obvious replacement.

Kenneh is poor on the ball but he can't half break up play and he allows the other midfielders to play without worrying about what is going on behind them. I think he is suited to the big games where we have less of the ball. Hopefully all over McKay when he looks to find that pocket of space in front of our back 4.

Cadden I thought had gone off with cramp against St J but I see M suggesting an injury.

Youan looked off it against St J. Hopefully another weeks training has sharpened him up. St Gallen fans describe him as a greedy player who saves his best for the big games. Please be right.

Hope we can avoid yellow cards until well into the 2nd half. Cabraja was very good against St J but that raj tackle has to be avoided. Very good player otherwise.

First real test for Rocky on Sunday. Has been top notch since the poor 1st half against Falkirk. If he comes through this big game with flying colours folk will start to scrutinise everything he does less. Fingers crossed for the big guy.

Strangely I think Tefal is their danger player. A doing fuck all and then scoring type.
I would settle for a draw with the understanding that we will improve as the new guys settle in and the injured return and get back up to speed.
If Hibs are to win we need the front players to shine and put any chances away.
Is Tefal his actual name or do you call him that because nothing sticks to him?

I'm the opposite. Think this game suits Kenneh. He is poor on the ball but won't have time in this game so will simply break up play and pass the ball on. He is a tough guy to get past and I see him as a big rock between the back 4 and our midfield play makers. That will stop Hearts from playing through the middle and force them down the wings. That means more defending for Cadden and Cabraja. My concern is whether Caddens defensive abilities are up to it.

It's the time he likes to take on the ball before passing It's my worry. 100 mile an hour stuff he'll have no time at all. All the other attributes I agree with.

Team seems about right.

Just underlines how bad we are in midfield though. Why hasn’t this been sorted?

1659719350361.jpeg

Mitchell ruled out by Johnson 😕

The new (or other) Magennis.

Mitchell will be the new Magennis.
A good player IMO, but he was injured most of his time at Hearts as well.
Gets injured at Arbroath in February, tells everyone it's not that bad, then doesn't play again for the next five months.
Comes back for one game and lo and behold he is injured again.

Apparently (according to the EEN) Tavares misses the match on Sunday as well. can anyone in the know about these things please explain how a 21 year old from Benficas's youth academy who hasn't even played a first team game before coming to Hibs manages to incur a suspension carried over from another country ? How was he able to play last week and not this week ?

The new (or other) Magennis.
Beat me to it !

Mitchell is never going to be fit. Get rid

It's because he has a big spam as can be seen in Doc Shrink's post

Can’t see Mitchell making it here unfortunately. Don’t think he offers enough when fit for the amount of time he’s out.

I don’t understand how tavares is banned from a 1 match ban in the Portuguese league? Wonder how we will set up with him, mcgeady and Mitchell all out on the left side

Henderson may be put there. Means JDH will probably play.

Aye reckon that’ll be what happens. So team likely to be:
Marshall
Cadden Rocky Porteous Cabraja
JDH Kenneh Newell
Melkersen Youan Henderson

Still good enough to beat those Gorgie perverts.

Marshall
JDH Kenneh Newell

Aye thats what I think. Hope so.

Marshall
JDH Kenneh Newell

Big mistake losing the danger of Hendo through the middle, space for Lewis?

Agree with the moving Hendo part but we don't really have any choice I think. Wouldn't put Stevenson on left personally but can see why you would, he'll get up and doon that wing all day.

You could be right there, reckon Henderson can do more damage through the middle but I’m struggling to think who else could play wide left. No sure playing that far forward would suit Stevenson, think he’s out anyway? Campbell maybe wide left?

Maybe Hibs will complete the deal for a certain Australian international in time for the game… we can dream.

With no left sided player available now for Sunday, I wouldn't be against bringing Lewis Stevenson if he is fit) in to play there, just in front of Cabraja. He has the experience of this match we will require and can provide decent deliveries into the box. Johnson didn't say anything about Stevenson being out injured so here's hoping.

With no left sided player available now for Sunday, I wouldn't be against bringing Lewis Stevenson in to play there, just in front of Cabraja. He has the experience of this match we will require and can provide decent deliveries into the box.
What about them the other way around? Lewis left to concentrate on defending with cabraja whipping balls into the box as put a couple crosses into great areas on Saturday plus keeps him further up pitch and less exposed to the chaos of a derby

This thread has been viewed 15578 times.