Deadline Day - 31 January 2022

Maloney said 4 million will get them to the table but we won’t accept anything under 5 million, can see them offering cash plus a player like Sorro, I say Sorro because he is the type of player we need if Gogic leaves.

Why would 4 million get you to a table just to be rejected below 5 anyway?
When did shaun say this?

Why would 4 million get you to a table just to be rejected below 5 anyway?
When did shaun say this?

Sorry my mistake it was Tam McManus quoting this in this god awful Daily Hun rag

https://www.https://www.dictionary....ws/shaun-maloney-knows-hibs-transfer-25853619

Maloney said 4 million will get them to the table but we won’t accept anything under 5 million, can see them offering cash plus a player like Sorro, I say Sorro because he is the type of player we need if Gogic leaves.
I'd take Soro, decent player that would fit in here, cash plus player deal may suit us.

Their rag is running it already

It's mug clickbait and you clicked along with loads of Celtic supporters and a few Hibs supporters.
Job done by the Glasgow Times to keep the click reliant advertising revenues up.
Over-ought football supporters are a great and easily triggered source.

So we now have another confirmed arrival in Clarke, while Jamie Gullan has departed. Good to see the business getting done early.

It's mug clickbait and you clicked along with loads of Celtic supporters and a few Hibs supporters.
Job done by the Glasgow Times to keep the click reliant advertising revenues up.
Over-ought football supporters are a great and easily triggered source.

We will just have to see

He’s been the one threat up front on numerous occasions.
There’s some dafties slate just about everyone at Hibs so I don’t pay them much heed.
Boyle is ‘proven’ on the field and a top player in teamwork.
Anyone you buy might not be either far less both.
I’d keep him.

I agree.

We will just have to see
Neither Celtic nor Hibs are influenced newspaper slavers.
Our opinions are as relevant as a newspaper guys i.e. both irrelevant.
My opinion is that Celtic are not interested in buying Boyle.
They can get far better value in Japan.
I could be right and I could be a meringue
P.S. IMO If they did offer Ron £3 million for Martin he would have him gift wrapped and delivered to Darkheid.
We could buy a half dozen good prospects for that sort of cash.

P.S. IMO If they did offer Ron £3 million for Martin he would have him gift wrapped and delivered to Darkheid.

Their Manager has come out and spoke Highly of Boyler, not from a rag the actual Manager

Doesn't mean they're signing him though?
He'd speak highly of Messi if asked.

Doesn't mean they're signing him though?
He'd speak highly of Messi if asked.

How do you know what the Celtic Managers targets or any other managers targets are, me and others have pointed out with their Aussie team connection maybe a factor that there is something in this, we will have just to wait and see.

I never said he categorically wasn't, I said it doesn't mean he is.

I am not so sure, hopefully they don’t.

I’ll be amazed if Celtic sign Martin Boyle. That would involve them playing a substantial fee to another Scottish club for a winger, when they already have a glut of wide players.

We turned down £3 Million for Nisbet yet you think for that he'd deliver Boyle gift wrapped??!!

Another defender to come

He’s been the one threat up front on numerous occasions.
There’s some dafties slate just about everyone at Hibs so I don’t pay them much heed.
Boyle is ‘proven’ on the field and a top player in teamwork.
Anyone you buy might not be either far less both.
I’d keep him.
True, I remember folk thinking Colin Nish wasn't very good. Come to think of it that might have been me :53:

Wouldnae have been Rie 😅

We turned down £3 Million for Nisbet yet you think for that he'd deliver Boyle gift wrapped??!!
Okay lets examine this.
If Birmingham had offered £3 million upfront for 23 year old Nisbet Ron would have driven the laddie to Birmingham himself.
What Birmingham probably offered was something like £1.5 million, to be paid in two installments with a ton of added extra's based on unlikely scenario's e.g. another £1 million if they were promoted to the EPL and another £500k if they survived their 1st EPL season and Kevin scored 20 goals.
In essence you would only see £1.5 million from a headline figure of £3 million.
We had a 23 year old international striker on a long contract and the offer wasn't high enough to make RG sell.
The other aspect is neither Hibs nor Birmingham would have told the press how much had been offered for the player. They would say something like a substantial fee and the newspaper would then make up a number and print it.

Lets look at the Boyle scenario now.
Martin will be 29 in 3 months time. If Celtic or anyone else buy him for £3 million in this window they do so in the knowledge that in April 2025 he will be 32 and in all likelihood will be worth brussel sprout. Hence Ron would currently bite the hand of anyone offering £3 million for Martin because like Porteous the sell is getting harder. In Martin's case it's his age and in Porteous case it is the time remaining on his contract.

Celtic are unlikely to spend big on a player that is nearly 29 as mentioned above. At a push they on occasion do so for a younger player they can tie down longterm that has resale value*. Boyle does not fit into either category. Hibs are not in a position where they have to sell either as they may have been in the past. I'd be amazed if Celtic came in for Boyle and with a decent bid. Funny all this popping up when Hibs are due to play at Parkhead on the 17th. Everytime Hibs have a big game this happens usually against one of the erse cheeks. Perhaps the Evening News can start spinning ridiculous stories about the smellies?

The only team the Evening News would do that for isnae on the East side of Edinburgh.

Aye bunch of sh%#=^_#÷#:s

Another defender to come

Hope it's a big bruising left sided centre back.

Here's hoping SM is building a team that doesnt need muck throwing/ ridiculous stories about other clubs, or favours from shitty papers.
Let's hope the football we've seen a glimpse of is the norm week in, week out.
Make the news on the pitch. Make them write about how Hibs are playing.

GGTTH.

Okay lets examine this.
If Birmingham had offered £3 million upfront for 23 year old Nisbet Ron would have driven the laddie to Birmingham himself.
What Birmingham probably offered was something like £1.5 million, to be paid in two installments with a ton of added extra's based on unlikely scenario's e.g. another £1 million if they were promoted to the EPL and another £500k if they survived their 1st EPL season and Kevin scored 20 goals.
In essence you would only see £1.5 million from a headline figure of £3 million.
We had a 23 year old international striker on a long contract and the offer wasn't high enough to make RG sell.
The other aspect is neither Hibs nor Birmingham would have told the press how much had been offered for the player. They would say something like a substantial fee and the newspaper would then make up a number and print it.

Lets look at the Boyle scenario now.
Martin will be 29 in 3 months time. If Celtic or anyone else buy him for £3 million in this window they do so in the knowledge that in April 2025 he will be 32 and in all likelihood will be worth brussel sprout. Hence Ron would currently bite the hand of anyone offering £3 million for Martin because like Porteous the sell is getting harder. In Martin's case it's his age and in Porteous case it is the time remaining on his contract.
And you think Celtic will offer up front cash??!!

Rocky Bushiri?
Belgian CB, loan til end of the season when his contract expires at Norwich.

Apparently 🤷‍♂️

Rocky Bushiri?
Belgian CB, loan til end of the season when his contract expires at Norwich.

Apparently 🤷‍♂️
My son came up with the same name. No doubt from some bollocks source.
He told me the guy is 22 year old, the deal will be loan with option to buy and the kicker, he was recently out for 9 months with a knee injury.
Has apparently been spending the last few seasons out on.

Had a look at Rocky Bushiri.
Based on his numbers I don't think he is good enough for Hibs.
Think the connection has been made because he played 7 games for Belgium U21's and he is a centre half.

My son came up with the same name. No doubt from some bollocks source.
He told me the guy is 22 year old, the deal will be loan with option to buy and the kicker, he was recently out for 9 months with a knee injury.
Has apparently been spending the last few seasons out on.

Dunno, just got shown a bullet point with his name and loan attached.

Shaun might know him though.

Not enough info on him to draw any conclusions.
But we've done well so far, so if he's on the radar I'll trust it

Had a look at Rocky Bushiri.
Based on his numbers I don't think he is good enough for Hibs.
Think the connection has been made because he played 7 games for Belgium U21's and he is a centre half.
You could say that about Henderson as well. Seems to have good attributes on paper certainly.

keeper please Shaun?

Wonder if he's tempted to try Dabrowski

You could say that about Henderson as well. Seems to have good attributes on paper certainly.
I agree with that.

Bushiri is apparently very fast and strong but raw and rash.
My concern is his injuries more than his ability.
Norwich fans saying he is about 8th choice centre half and he is always injured.
He went on trial to Coventry before the season started but was kb'd with their manager speaking about his lack of fitness.

I agree with that.

Bushiri is apparently very fast and strong but raw and rash.
My concern is his injuries more than his ability.
Norwich fans saying he is about 8th choice centre half and he is always injured.
He went on trial to Coventry before the season started but was kb'd with their manager speaking about his lack of fitness.

Then he'd likely be 4th, 5th or 6th choice here.
I can only see one injury for him, the big one you mentioned, blew his knee out.
Recovery on those types suck.

If its just a loan, then there's no real harm done.

I'd imagine if he is being looked at, Maloney will know all about him, he'll be well clued up on the Belgian youth teams and anyone within their pool of players.

Then he'd likely be 4th, 5th or 6th choice here.
I can only see one injury for him, the big one you mentioned, blew his knee out.
Recovery on those types suck.

If its just a loan, then there's no real harm done.

I'd imagine if he is being looked at, Maloney will know all about him, he'll be well clued up on the Belgian youth teams and anyone within their pool of players.
Likewise I only found that one bad injury for him. Probably Norwich fans exaggerating.
I'm always cynical about players being connected with us like this one which is just too convenient a connection with the manager..
As we have seen this week with Melkerson and Henderson, they were contacted by Hibs a while back before Maloney became our manager suggesting that the recruitment team are the ones that are scouting players.

No more players recovering from bad injuries please...

I'd take that Mugabi at Motherwell.

Aye me too, looks a good player.

James Scott will not be cutting short his season long loan deal and returning to Hull City this month according to the EEN.
He will see out the season on loan to Hibs.

James Scott will not be cutting short his season long loan deal and returning to Hull City this month according to the EEN.
He will see out the season on loan to Hibs.
Probably at Hull's insistence 😏

Yeah, it's all about the loan contract terms and Scott's lack of form means we are stuck with paying for his sorry ass until summer.

This thread has been viewed 48718 times.