Ryan Porteous to sign new deal?

ECC83E31-60BB-4999-A751-7480A41DC8E4.png

ECC83E31-60BB-4999-A751-7480A41DC8E4.png3488B44C-E13A-49E3-8588-69C940CEFC24.png

Last edited by a moderator:

Another Turkish club!

Least he'll still be in Europe lol

Another Turkish club!
He’ll be Delighted

Reading on Twitter he's away to Besitkas.

Good luck Ryan.
Hope we can replace you with similar quality.

How much?

How much?
€750,000 quoted. Seems low.

Terrible money if true. Expect bigger sell on fee in that case.

That surely can't be right. And contradicts all that the club have been saying.

Maybe that's his wage?

That surely can't be right. And contradicts all that the club have been saying.
Maybe release clause,all speculation at this point.

I cannae see us having a release clause thats so low but your right we dinnae ken.

Not overly fussed if this is the case. He has promise but he is also very prone to giving away possession and cheap goals. Would have played big Daz over him more often this season. Might sound harsh, who knows. Good luck regardless Ryan

That's horrific if true.

Were Besiktas once joint managed by ex Scottish internationalist Willie Donachie and ex Liverpool player Phil Babb?:giggley:

Maybe that's his wage?
That seems more likely than it being the transfer fee.

I would be very surprised if Ron let him go for that price.

Very quiet regarding players coming in do we need to sell first ?

"meh :) Fanatik is like daily star"

Very quiet regarding players coming in do we need to sell first ?
Probably.

Ross will have a budget agreed ages ago, and he will likely have been told to keep the squad size down to the same as last year I would imagine, although I would hope it would increase a bit given our European participation.

Our biggest problem this summer will be replacing the key players who will be leaving....Porteous, Nisbet, Doig, Irvine and possibly Boyle...with similar quality if not better.

Did @vinthehib write the above?
Source is Fanatik (daily Star) lol

Just similar vin lingo it would seem 🤣

Very low.

Very low.

Half of the minimum I think we should be accepting.
Also seems low for a contract offer tbh..
If its over say... 4 years, that's around 3600 a week.
3 years, is just under 5000.

And that's euros, how do they exchange nowadays?

That's not enough money for a footballer to pack up to Turkey imo, he could get those numbers in pounds, in England.
He could even get them right here with a good agent earning his cut.

Half of the minimum I think we should be accepting.
Also seems low for a contract offer tbh..
If its over say... 4 years, that's around 3600 a week.
3 years, is just under 5000.

And that's euros, how do they exchange nowadays?

That's not enough money for a footballer to pack up to Turkey imo, he could get those numbers in pounds, in England.
He could even get them right here with a good agent earning his cut.

He could but the missing ingredient there is that a club in Scotland or England would have to be interested enough in him to offer that, and pay Hibs a fee. Perhaps this Turkish club is the only one wiling?

I’m no sure where the €750,000 figure came from but I’m don’t think it can be the transfer fee, surely Hibs would be looking for closer to £1,000,000. Then again if there’s only one club interesting in buying him, I’d be taking the money and reinvesting it in a couple of new centre halves.

He could but the missing ingredient there is that a club in Scotland or England would have to be interested enough in him to offer that, and pay Hibs a fee. Perhaps this Turkish club is the only one wiling?

I’m no sure where the €750,000 figure came from but I’m don’t think it can be the transfer fee, surely Hibs would be looking for closer to £1,000,000. Then again if there’s only one club interesting in buying him, I’d be taking the money and reinvesting it in a couple of new centre halves.

If I was being offered to leave Hibs, to go to Turkey I'd want more money than that.
And that's not even Hibs fan hat talking, that's just realistic. Pack up everything to go play in a country offering little more than you're probably already on.

Tbf, all of that is just trying to explain away the 750k number. So it could all be irrelevant.
I'd be keeping him here if that was the fee though.

I would be very surprised if Ron let him go for that price.
I'd be surprised, disappointed and concerned in equal measure

If its his salary, surely that would be €750.000 per year?

Possibly the same thought processes utilised by JR.
Maybe he doesnt see Porteus improving much.

If that's the fee I'd not be letting him go. He's hugely underrated.

Aye that’s what I’m thinking, about €14,000 a week.

If I was being offered to leave Hibs, to go to Turkey I'd want more money than that.
And that's not even Hibs fan hat talking, that's just realistic. Pack up everything to go play in a country offering little more than you're probably already on.

Tbf, all of that is just trying to explain away the 750k number. So it could all be irrelevant.
I'd be keeping him here if that was the fee though.

If that’s his annual salary it’s 14K a week, if that’s his salary over 3 years it’s just under 5K a week (250K a year). He’ll no be earning anything like that at Hibs.

As someone who’s moved around for work, including abroad, I’ve packed up and done it for less! Sometimes you’ve got to go where the opportunities are, that’s true of footballers too.

Usually when they announce these figures it's for the term of the contract.
5 year deal worth 16m etc.
at least in examples I'm thinking of.

The thing that confuses me most is why so many Hibs fans want rid of a young, developing, Hibs supporting, Scotland international to leave the club?

Yeah, he’s made a couple of mistakes, who hasnt?? He will learn without a doubt..

I don't want rid, but if an acceptable offer comes in I think we should take it.
There's nobody at the club just now that I wouldn't accept reasonable offers for at the moment.

This. Makes the odd wee error. He's improved so many aspects of his game. Passing last year came on big time.

Wouldn’t mind if we sold him for the right price. Wasn’t too long ago a lot of people wanted DMac to play in the cup final ahead of him.

This thread has been viewed 6984 times.