Corona virus on its own thread.

I'm not that keen on foreign travel till everything totally back to normal so I can fill my face with gay abandon at the all inclusive buffet.

Short term I'm fixated on getting Premier Inn all you can eat breakfasts back.

Maybe I should jog on over to the diet thread tbh.
Would it not illegal for Gay Abandon to fill your face at the buffet?
Probs best do that in your room

Useless.

Useless.

Totally fuckin hopeless.

Glowing endorsement of Hancocks ability from England NHS boss Simon Stevens.

What a stupid question to ask a current civil servant about his boss. Never have they been able to answer stuff like that and journalists were bright enough to respect and acknowledge that. Even ex civil servants, not on a gagging order, are unlikely to answer.

A cheap shot.

What a stupid question to ask a current civil servant about his boss. Never have they been able to answer stuff like that and journalists were bright enough to respect and acknowledge that. Even ex civil servants, not on a gagging order, are unlikely to answer.

A cheap shot.
I dunno, I think the reaction said it all. Effectively he answered the question, albeit non-verbally.

A cheap shot.
Stupid question.Journalist not bright, respect, cheap shot? With the wee PR parrot in the background squauking 'we didn't agree to, blah blah blah '.
Rocky is right, his body language tells all.

Stupid question.Journalist not bright, respect, cheap shot? With the wee PR parrot in the background squauking 'we didn't agree to, blah blah blah '.
Rocky is right, his body language tells all.

Maybe the uneasiness was at the question rather than what he thinks of his boss, maybe not, it was the reaction she wanted and we draw our own conclusion. To be fair everyone thinks he's a cock anyway apart from the landlord at his local.

Civil servants are bound by rules, unlike politicians who invariably lie themselves out of a tricky situation. Stevens was being interviewed to relay facts and that's what he had done up to then. If civil servants begin to routinely turn down interviews all we'll be left with are the liars.

Maybe the uneasiness was at the question rather than what he thinks of his boss, maybe not, it was the reaction she wanted and we draw our own conclusion. To be fair everyone thinks he's a cock anyway apart from the landlord at his local.

Civil servants are bound by rules, unlike politicians who invariably lie themselves out of a tricky situation. Stevens was being interviewed to relay facts and that's what he had done up to then. If civil servants begin to routinely turn down interviews all we'll be left with are the liars.
I absolutely agree with your broad point but the clip was funny as fuck and Stevens got to tell the country that Hancock is a useless c**t whilst maintaining plausible deniability so it's a win win all round imo.

Since 2013, Managers and the Chief Executive have not been civil servants, Shirley.

What are they then?

Genuine question as we were all civil servants when I left in 2013 and there was no chat to change it.

What are they then?

Genuine question as we were all civil servants when I left in 2013 and there was no chat to change it.
Probably because you worked in Scotland and no need for chat.

Since April 2013 NHS England has been an independent statutory body. It has been argued that NHS England's independence gives the Chief Executive 'the potential to be a prominent national figure able to speak on behalf of the NHS'.

Its Clinicians, Managers and Health experts are employed as public officials not as civil servants.

Where do folk stand on the spat between Sturgeon and Burnhum . She says it is a genuine Covid avoidance measure. He says it is over the top,Dundee has a higher rate. She says it's a political stunt by Burnham. He says it was announced to the Scottish public without any consultation.

He seems to be accusing her of hypocrisy in that she didn't have any discussions with him as elected Mayor of Greater Manchester before imposing the travel ban to his area to see if they could come to some mutual arrangement before she imposed the ban, exactly what she usually accuses Westminster of doing. I think he has a point to be honest.

Not sure I'd expect our national parliament to engage directly with toon cooncils tbh.

Apparently.....
The job of the Mayor ranges from setting budgets and priorities for Greater Manchester's, 2.8 million populations, public services to acting as an ambassador for the region. ... The Mayor is the public's voice on policing matters, taking on the responsibilities of the Police and Crime Commissioner.

Arrogance and hypocracy may not be unique to Sturgeon of course.
On the question of judgement for these strict actions it does seem harsher than the wishful thinking in others like asking 20,000 Scots to observe distancing or asking several thousand fanzone punter to take Covid tests.....if they liked.
Not a big fan of Burnham however if he is right can I still travel to Dundee ?

I really don't see what it has to do with him.

I can see why he did it though. Impress his Labour colleagues with his snipe at NS/SNP, should go down well.

Does Dundee actually have a higher rate?

Apparently.....
The job of the Mayor ranges from setting budgets and priorities for Greater Manchester's, 2.8 million populations, public services to acting as an ambassador for the region. ... The Mayor is the public's voice on policing matters, taking on the responsibilities of the Police and Crime Commissioner.

Arrogance and hypocracy may not be unique to Sturgeon of course.
On the question of judgement for these strict actions it does seem harsher than the wishful thinking in others like asking 20,000 Scots to observe distancing or asking several thousand fanzone punter to take Covid tests.....if they liked.
Not a big fan of Burnham however if he is right can I still travel to Dundee ?

Why so concerned about Manchester when the restrictions on Bolton and Bedford have been in place for some time and you've not mentioned those? Why does Andy Burnham get to set the agenda for what bothers you?

He probably doesn't recognise it as a national parliament, just a regional assembly of lesser importance than his own region.

Seems he's not alone

It makes me laugh when unionists won't call it the Scottish Government or the Scottish Parliament. It's as if by not recognising it in their own heads somehow devalues its existence, shoosh! it will go away and chat of independence will dissappear.

Little Scotlanders out in force today!

No answer on why you're happy to be a mouthpiece for Burnham but not for the people of Bolton or Bedford?

I have said that I am not a big fan, nor fawn over him, however this seems reasonable. You continue playing political ping pong if you wish fella.

Ideas above his station that yin. So he now wants it to be a four nation plus Andy Burnham approach I suppose.

So he doesn't deny its about his own political ambition lol

Here Jack, here's my ping pong bat, play with Rocky till yer wee souls are content.

Why not ?...we are all fighting the same enemy here.
Better to get cordial agreement rather than impose things.

Not sure how to get cordial agreement with a guy who wants the Scottish people to compensate Manchester businesses. He can bolt, it's the financial strength of the UK government that's getting us through this I seem to recall.

Juts think before it gets to a shouting match or a tit for tat which solves nothing and does nobody any good, that a wee bit of discussion and consultation beforehand to find a compromise could have been more productive. I just don't think imposing rules on people from on high works, surely this has been shown beyond all doubt during this pandemic.

Juts think before it gets to shouting match or a tit for tat which solves nothing and does nobody any good, that a wee bit of discussion and consultation beforehand to find a compromise could have been more productive. I just don't think imposing rules on people from on high works, surely this has been shown beyond all doubt during this pandemic.
The voice of reason.

Why is he not having a go at WM? Seeing as thats his government and NS told them. It was their responsibility to tell him 🤷‍♂️

Like WM does with Scotland? Christ we didnt even get to have a say about anything to do with brexit🙈

Sturgeon joined another 1million Brits to say something about Brexit.

Why is he not having a go at WM? Seeing as thats his government and NS told them. It was their responsibility to tell him 🤷‍♂️
You have lost me amigo.

Back to Covid nearer to home.
If a leading Scottish player can contract the virus whilst in a bubble
Is having 6000 people in fanzones with just voluntary testing not folly.

Yes, it is. My two sons went to the fanzone, tested before and after but my question is why the fuck would anyone go to a fanzone to pay £6 for a pint of Heineken?

Seems young Gilmour has been oot on the lash with his Chelsea pals.

Yes, it is. My two sons went to the fanzone, tested before and after but my question is why the fuck would anyone go to a fanzone to pay £6 for a pint of Heineken?

Seems young Gilmour has been oot on the lash with his Chelsea pals.

Wee Gilmour’s bubble is burst in more ways than one.

I agree.

Where do you think they would be if they weren't in an outdoor socially distanced fanzone? Gathering in houses? Indoors in pubs?

This thread has been viewed 319726 times.