Just back and that was woeful

Yesterday was pish, it was torture.
But, I find the criticism of JR embarrassing.He doesn’t coach Porto to pass to opponents on the edge of our box. He doesn’t I’m sure, suggest to Irvine and Newell that they should disappear in parts. Let’s not forget, Lennon left us with a poorer team than he inherited. Our team is made up of journeymen and youngsters.
What makes a good player a great player is usually consistency. Great players produce every week. The SPL is full of good players, if they were great, they quite simply wouldn’t be here for longer than a season. I agree, Hibs should comfortably have 3rd place tied up, and our cup draws have been favourable, but we were a Nisbet penalty , and Murphy tap in , away from being in two finals. JR basically picks the team most people would most match days. He gives youth a shot, and appears to have a happy squad.
The mentality around ER has been beyond poor for my whole 50 years, with relegations and numerous bottom half of the table finishes. For Hibs fans to react , like this is all at JR door is baffling. Where the fuck have they been?
Our current talisman was signed from Forest Green fucking Rovers ffs.
I am not some happy clapper. I want the best for Hibs, I regularly criticise all aspects of our club, and I am driven mad by our lack of belief and achievements.
Sadly, great managers or players are not banging on our door wanting in , and any inside who flourish, just bang on the door wanting out.
I think Hibs fans should back JR, there are signs IMO we are heading in the right direction.
I agree with everything you say but the one question I have is , why has the mentality been so bad for 50 years ?? Why are we a club based on sentiment ?? It is a disgrace that the club is run like that.. Most recently we have handed out 4 year contracts to David Gray and Darren McGregor , both who are finished. Lewis Stevenson got a new deal because he is a nice guy and does shit loads for charity.. Paul Hanlon will get a extension because he loves the club..

We have a midfield where Jackson Irvine was training on a public park for 6 months so that's all you need to know regarding what the footballing world thinks of his ablilty.. Joe Newell has been guff for 2 seasons , decides he wants to play for the first half of this season when his deal expires in a year , he then gets a new deal and then goes back to being guff again...... Both of these guys go AWOL in every game where the going gets tough and offer very little in creativity and goals..

Back Jack Ross I agree as we are moving in the right direction but the sentimental wee souls that run our club need to be moved on and sentiment needs to be taken out of the equation when offering players new deals...

I agree with everything you say but the one question I have is , why has the mentality been so bad for 50 years ?? Why are we a club based on sentiment ?? It is a disgrace that the club is run like that.. Most recently we have handed out 4 year contracts to David Gray and Darren McGregor , both who are finished. Lewis Stevenson got a new deal because he is a nice guy and does shit loads for charity.. Paul Hanlon will get a extension because he loves the club..

We have a midfield where Jackson Irvine was training on a public park for 6 months so that's all you need to know regarding what the footballing world thinks of his ablilty.. Joe Newell has been guff for 2 seasons , decides he wants to play for the first half of this season when his deal expires in a year , he then gets a new deal and then goes back to being guff again.... Both of these guys go AWOL in every game where the going gets tough and offer very little in creativity and goals..

Back Jack Ross I agree as we are moving in the right direction but the sentimental wee souls that run our club need to be moved on and sentiment needs to be taken out of the equation when offering players new deals...
Without going into all yer pish. Lewis Stevenson is s great squad player. If you think we dont need players like that in the squad, you mustn’t realise its fuckin Hibs you follow, we are not overloaded with cash. Who would you have as a back up to JD? And if it’s a big player, then whats the point of bringing through young laddies ffs

I agree with everything you say but the one question I have is , why has the mentality been so bad for 50 years ?? Why are we a club based on sentiment ?? It is a disgrace that the club is run like that..
If the mentality has been bad for 50 years there can only be one answer and it ain't managers, owners, board members or players because they change regularly. The only constant is the fan base. Maybe we have too many torn faces who are passing down negativity from generation to generation? Who don't understand what "supporter" means and are never happier than when booing and moaning about their team?

Without going into all yer pish. Lewis Stevenson is s great squad player. If you think we dont need players like that in the squad, you mustn’t realise its fuckin Hibs you follow, we are not overloaded with cash. Who would you have as a back up to JD? And if it’s a big player, then whats the point of bringing through young laddies ffs
Have you forgotten about Sean Mackie ???

Yeh and Lewis Stevenson is such a good player that he is still at Hibs,. If he was as good as everyone in the Hibs support make him out to be then he would've been off and onto better things many years ago....

Lewis Stevenson got a new deal because he is a nice guy and does shit loads for charity.. Paul Hanlon will get a xtension because he loves the club..

You can repeat this as many times as you like.
Everyone knows it’s nonsense and it makes you look a bit silly.

We have a midfield where Jackson Irvine was training on a public park for 6 months so that's all you need to know regarding what the footballing world thinks of his ablilty.. Joe Newell has been guff for 2 seasons , decides he wants to play for the first half of this season when his deal expires in a year , he then gets a new deal and then goes back to being guff again.... Both of these guys go AWOL in every game where the going gets tough and offer very little in creativity and goals..

I also see truth in what you say.
Let’s start with Lewis and Paul H . Have we had better players in their positions who could remove them? I think not. As it happens , I have always thought we have played PH in the wrong position his whole career. He is not , an aggressive SPL centre half, he is an intelligent defensive midfielder,
SDG and Darren Mc deserved to be rewarded for their part in bringing us the holy grail , and for pulling us from biggest depression we have encountered in my 50 years. They can still remind players who join the club, just exactly what they are joining. I would give them a wage for life , unless they could no longer be of an benefit to us. I can’t think of two better people to be about the club to encourage youngsters and remind them how lucky they are to be part of it.

Let’s start with Lewis and Paul H . Have we had better players in their positions who could remove them? I think not. As it happens , I have always thought we have played PH in the wrong position his whole career. He is not , an aggressive SPL centre half, he is an intelligent defensive midfielder,
SDG and Darren Mc deserved to be rewarded for their part in bringing us the holy grail , and for pulling us from biggest depression we have encountered in my 50 years. They can still remind players who join the club, just exactly what they are joining. I would give them a wage for life , unless they could no longer be of an benefit to us. I can’t think of two better people to be about the club to encourage youngsters and remind them how lucky they are to be part of it.
Mibbes could have tried him there on Saturday tae see if he wid be a good replacement for Gogic against DU. ?

That is the problem though regarding Hanlon and Stevenson , nobody has been given the chance to replace them and when I mean a chance , I mean the amount of opportunities like Josh Doig has. Callum crane was given one start against Forres and that was it.. Mackie was discarded after a disasterous collective team performance at Ibrox..

Why should any player be rewarded for anything ?? That is the sentiment problem I stated in my first post.. David Gray's injury record is brutal and Darren McGregor is at the end of his career, yet we hand them out four year contracts which will ship thousands out of the club.. utter madnessin my book..,, These guys are taking up a wage and stopping the club pushing forward and investing in other areas..

Yeh and Lewis Stevenson is such a good player that he is still at Hibs,. If he was as good as everyone in the Hibs support make him out to be then he would've been off and onto better things many years ago....
Oh ffs are you for real? Cant be arsed with your pish.

That is the problem though regarding Hanlon and Stevenson , nobody has been given the chance to replace them and when I mean a chance , I mean the amount of opportunities like Josh Doig has. Callum crane was given one start against Forres and that was it.. Mackie was discarded after a disasterous collective team performance at Ibrox..

Why should any player be rewarded for anything ?? That is the sentiment problem I stated in my first post.. David Gray's injury record is brutal and Darren McGregor is at the end of his career, yet we hand them out four year contracts which will ship thousands out of the club.. utter madnessin my book..,, These guys are taking up a wage and stopping the club pushing forward and investing in other areas..

Sir David and Darren have been given contracts beyond their playing days.
It's not a 4 year full term contract.

And there have been umpteen central defenders and left backs come through the club and try to displace the pair of them, where are they now?
Nowhere.

Sir David and Darren have been given contracts beyond their playing days.
It's not a 4 year full term contract.

And there have been umpteen central defenders and left backs come through the club and try to displace the pair of them, where are they now?
Nowhere.
Nonsense .,, Lewis Stevenson has only been playing LB full time since Alan Stubbs arrived at the ckub. In that time, the only players who competed for the position was Callum Crane and the boy Miquel Nelom who was here for a long period..

Oh ffs are you for real? Cant be arsed with your pish.
Yes.. Ok then if I am talking pish then why has he been overlooked constantly for an international call up.. He's been around a lot longer than Andy Robertson and Kieran Tierney have been and who I might add all played in the same division as Lewis.. .

i will now ask you again for a second time , Why has there been no interest for him from bigger and better clubs if he is as good as people say he is ???

Yes.. Ok then if I am talking pish then why has he been overlooked constantly for an international call up.. He's been around a lot longer than Andy Robertson and Kieran Tierney have been and who I might add all played in the same division as Lewis.. .

i will now ask you again for a second time , Why has there been no interest for him from bigger and better clubs if he is as good as people say he is ???
Um, do you know that Lewis isn't the first choice left back at Hibs now?

I would say he isn't the first choice anymore yes.......

I would say he isn't the first choice anymore yes.....
Well I can only hope our manager is more focused on the future than on dwelling on the past like some.

Show us all where i said he was international class? Your argument is all over the place, adding things that is completely irrelevant.

I heard recently that the huns were keen on Stevenson when Stubbs was manager.

No doubt he would have had a few caps if he'd signed for the The Huns.
:grinning-smiley-045:

So if a player isn't given regular international games they're pish?

Well I can only hope our manager is more focused on the future than on dwelling on the past like some.

The fact that Doig has more game time than Lewia suggests he is.
Sir David and Daz, less game time or replaced in SDG's case.
Mallan shipped out for Irvine

All suggests moving forward instead of looking back? 🤷‍♂️

For a second time?I don't know about anyone else but it's boring the shit out of me.

Nonsense .,, Lewis Stevenson has only been playing LB full time since Alan Stubbs arrived at the ckub. In that time, the only players who competed for the position was Callum Crane and the boy Miquel Nelom who was here for a long period..

Nelom was here for one season and was absolute shite.

Just win the cup and all is good with the world

What about the great Pa Kujabi was he not a left back

Who funnily enough had 2 full international caps for Holland.
Baller

Baller
Oddly enough at a time when thre Dutch international team was struggling big time... I remember it fondly well :)

For a second time?I don't know about anyone else but it's boring the shit out of me.
Exactly so no answer to my question.. Says it all then.........

yeh shite. Over 100 games for Feyenoord I think , played in the champions league as well..

Baller

And now plays for Willem II, who we played and beat in Andalucia January 2020, Ollie Shaw scored two, his last game for Hibs and my last trip with Hibs in europe.

yeh shite. Over 100 games for Feyenoord I think , played in the champions league as well..

What's yur point caller, he was shite?

Splendid article by Ian Colquhoun in The Irish Voice. The day after, the day after the night before I now feel pretty upbeat about next Saturday and the next two games after that. Angst and self flagellation (some call it analysis and opinion) for the actions of others that you can do fuck all about is pretty self consuming. Come on Hibernian, show us what we expect you to be made of.

Got a lot of time for Ian Colquhoun, always good to read his articles.

Reading his latest book.Good read it is too.

Thanks for the forthright just back mark...we are screaming out for an old fashioned no nonsense leader in the middle of the park,need someone to kick ass and motivate.
If I can see it,why can't the recruitment team..this has been needing addressed now for a while..
Anyhow let's hope we turn up on Saturday , if a cup final doesn't motivate them what does.GGTTH.

he
And now plays for Willem II, who we played and beat in Andalucia January 2020, Ollie Shaw scored two, his last game for Hibs and my last trip with Hibs in europe.

What's yur point caller, he was shite?
He only started 1 game and made 2 appearances from the bench.. If you are judging a player on that basis then thank fuck you are nowhere near any level of coaching or scouting..

he

He only started 1 game and made 2 appearances from the bench.. If you are judging a player on that basis then thank fuck you are nowhere near any level of coaching or scouting..

He was in training every day and wasn't good enough to get on the park.
Says enough on its own surely?

he

And why did he only start 1 game and 2 appearances from the bench?
Because he was shite.

He only started 1 game and made 2 appearances from the bench..

Earlier in the thread you said Nelom competed for the position, but he only made 3 appearances... what on earth are you going on about?!

Hes all over the place with his argument

That was the managers choice whether he played or not.. Do you think he was brought in to make up the numbers. ???

This thread has been viewed 10669 times.