Tight nut loosening

HaarlemShuffler

Coffeeshop Radge
Naw, no how tae get a stingy mate to pay furra round...

...but on the back axle of my bike. It won't budge. Have tried squirting some WD40 on it but probs won't take effect till tomorrow.

Read elsewhere on web that heating works - does that only work with a blowtorch? I only have a lighter!

So anyway best leave that till tomorrow as might ignite the oil!:fire:
So any other useful tips?
Stwuggling big time...:40:

Take it to a bike shop, if WD40 disnae fix it only a pro will.

Take it one of those famous Dutch knocking shops, if WD40 didnae fix it only a pro will.

Penetrating fluid (eg Plusgas) tends to work better than WD. A good dunt with a hammer can help loosen the threads too. But aye, heat tends to be the best option.

Cheers guys, I'll gove it a heat and a dunt or two tomorrow if the oil disnae work.

watch this space.... if u r really bored.

Releasing oil will only help if the nut is rust welded. A breaker bar i.e a socket and long bar with leverage should crack it. Failing that an impact wrench like what tyre fitters use should do it. Every man should have these items in their toolbox. ?

One further point Mr. Shuffler... be careful if you apply heat as some Shimano bearings/cones have rubber components as well as grease!

Thanks Mr MacFie. These are just rusty bolts holding the axle between the back fork. Nowt 'internal' .:)

Yip the outer nuts as I understand it but heat travels. Not a bike mechanic but larger four wheeled vehicles in my youth. One day my apprentice decided to remove the interior mirror from a car windscreen with a hot air gun the type for stripping paint. The mirror was held in place by double sided sticky pad. Bystanders were alerted to a large 'ting'. The windscreen had cracked. Feck.

How about a hair dryer?

These are macho guys with blow torches and spanners and stuff.
They dinnae give a fuck about their hair.

Assuming they still have any.

I’m aware of the possibility of playing with tools jokes here but I’m too classy to bite.

Sounds like he's no' taken his weetabix then.

D'ye rub in the weetabix wi oil and a blowtorch then? You guys sound like ye're on tae sumthin.

I meant tae leave the word 'tae' out of the previous sentence btw :loopy::yellow:

D'ye rub in the weetabix wi oil and a blowtorch then? You guys sound like ye're on tae sumthin.

I meant tae leave the word 'tae' out of the previous sentence btw :loopy::yellow:
Am gonna roll a big blunt in your honour after work if you fix this shit Haarlem...

I've gonr for the surgery option. A tiny hacksaw inserted between nut and washer on the axle, fúkkin airms fallin off after 30 mins... sheesh! halfway there....

Some things are best left to the professionals: he's only gone ad sawed his arm off!

Update: about 60% way thru the $%&# axle which appears to be made of titanium, bit ott for a cheap pushbike.

Did pop into the local bikeshop hopin he would say okbring the thing in but he said he might be able to look at it tomorrow morn if he wasn't too busy.

And - I just relised - if the sjop was open at all. Dutch PM just announced new lockdownish measures tonight...

Ach, a bikeshop is surely 'essential' in Holland??

Habe to do the post the morn with my spare bike. Which I normallt only use for the shopping as it is stuck in 3rd gear.

Will this neber end? :52: :loopy::wallbash:

I've gonr for the surgery option. A tiny hacksaw inserted between nut and washer on the axle, fúkkin airms fallin off after 30 mins... sheesh! halfway there....
Just checking, you do know that axle nuts loosen in the opposite direction from regular nuts aye?

Absolutely... wrong Rocky. One PEDAL does have a left hand thread. You're just causing Mr. Shuffler more anguish to add to his considerable dismay. Rascal! ?

Loads of bike maintenance tips on youtube by the way.

Absolutely... wrong Rocky. One PEDAL does have a left hand thread. You're just causing Mr. Shuffler more anguish to add to his considerable dismay. Rascal! ?

Loads of bike maintenance tips on youtube by the way.
Spoilsport. Reported

?

Just one thing left to finish off before work tomorrow - I would offer a prize if you can guess (maybe even see it?)...

20201215_210615.jpg

...but there ain't half some clever #$%@ here, so I won't!

Either it needs another wheel or it’s a unicycle.

Some air perhaps?

Zeppelin?
Helium, shirley?

That nut looks a bit too tight

This thread has been viewed 2842 times.