Record players and vinyl

This is also why adverts on TV always sound so loud even if you don’t touch the volume!
I thought it was because they are the important bits. The programmes are just there to fill in the gaps

Thought it was to wake you up with some of the shite on telly these days

That’s why I only watch the BBC it’s remarkably good cure for insomnia.

Stay clear off HMV prices are a joke

i can spend all day walking round Edinburgh second hand record shops and never go past a charity shop 99% is rubbish but have picked up the odd gem

I went for this Sony Bluetooth approach, so I can get it on my wireless speakers and headphones - it works great, had to replace the stylus once - that was my fault though - and a spare OEM part was dead easy to come by and not expensive.

For records I go to Amazon first (I know...) but then as G said discogs.com is awesome for those hard to find records!

Finally getting round to doing this, this fits my rough budget, any viable alternatives before I buy? My son now has a couple of hundred lp's and singles, mostly from what was left of my collection and my penchant for picking up bargains in charity shops. Weirdly, I picked up a Boney M LP last weekend for a quid and as I type this and Daddy Cool came on the radio!

I've got my turntable equipment all sorted but if I was looking, I'd likely go for this: Dum Audio - Beautiful, Soulful Hi-Fi Stereo System

Pricey but comes with everything needed, seems a good system and love the look.

I have had a record player for a while and my setup isn't posh but sounds good.

Do you really need all the shite you had to buy in the 70s/80s?

I got a turntable with a decent pre amp and hooked it up via aux with my Soundsystem I use for my teller/videogames and it sounds great.

My rule for collecting is only buy albums you'll listen to the whole way through. As a result there are very few bands I have a complete vinyl catalog for.

Huh...I have that same rule. I preview new albums on Spotify and if I like the whole thing I buy it on vinyl.

Don't know about anybody else but my amp is one I got from Richer Sounds about twenty years ago from Cambridge Audio,my turntable is by Numark sounds fine to me but then maybe I've got cloth ears?

If you have a rough idea of what you want second hand is a decent way to get decent bang for your buck. I’ve got two setups in the house, one in the home office and one downstairs both of which have been cobbled together through either Gumtree, eBay and ex display.

Decent budget turntables you’d be looking at those already mentioned - ProJect and Rega.
If you take the ProJect Essential, I picked it up for £30 on Gumtree and it comes with a built in pre amp. My Rega was Ex display from Lintoneaudio on eBay, cracking price and they appear to always have some exdisplay or slight seconds, which you tend to be able to use additional eBay discount codes on.

If you don’t want to go down the full turntable, amp, speakers route, I set my mate up with an Audio Technica ATLP60 and some Edifier active speakers and he’s well chuffed with it.

As Moaty mentioned Richer Sounds well worth a visit and Cambridge Audio do some cracking amps. Sevenoaks online tend to also have some good deals on ex display - especially speakers like the Q Acoustics which for their size are brilliant speakers.

It's like everything else.Take cars,a Lambourgini is a very nice car but most of us have got Ford or Peugot.Likewise I'd like Bang and Olufsson but most of us have got Aiwa.

Couple of good second hand record shops on Leith Walk
Elvis Shakespeare and Vinyl Villians

I was lucky enough to find a cheap Second hand Systemdek iix (made in Scotland). I upgraded the wiring in the arm and motor (from a company called OriginLive). I also managed to get a nearly new cartridge on eBay. Total cost was about £350. It sounds ace.

My biggest regret is when I built the extension on my house i ran speaker wires before plastering - I wish I’d used better quality wires as apparently it makes a difference.

There's still one or two record shops in Edinburgh as well as the one's mentioned there's HMV in Ocean Terminal and Princes St,.Fopp in Rose St, Avalanche,in the Waverley, and there's a shop up South Clerk St between the old Odeon and the Queen's Hall.There's another place down the bottom of Cockburn St,also you'd be amazed what you can pick up in the Charity shops.

Vinyl Villains in Elm Row and one in West Cross Causeway .I don't know if the latter is still trading but a guy in Bo'ness has open a second hand shop called 33 1/3 recently.

Voxbox I think it's called in Stockbridge is another good shop

I went into HMV in livi today and the prices they are charging for vinyl are disgusting

I very rarely went into HMV even first time round.I might have done in the 30's,back when they sold 78's.They got too corporate.

As a wee punk in the 70s I got the bus from Pumpherston into Edinburgh and spent all day going round record shops
Bruce's Records The other Record Shop Virgin Records chatting to other punks finding out about gigs that were coming up

Snap,only from Lochend.

I very rarely went into HMV even first time round.I might have done in the 30's,back when they sold 78's.They got too corporate.
You’re older than you look Moaty.

Can tell you liked sayin that considrin all the ageism shít you get fae @1875

Us coffin dodgers gotta stick together.

And I've got to try and sneak a version of that expression into Dutch if I can. They love a good compound noun...

So, doodskist (lit death-chest) is coffin and dodger is vermijden... nah gotta rethink this, oblivion beckons.

Dunfermaline Record and CD Fair is on at the Kingsgate Shopping Centre between 25th and 27th of November.

Guy from my work has a stall there mention my name for a discount lol

Hi. You sell records? Old style like?
“Aye”
Any discount for a pal of Alec Edward’s Shinpad?
“You alright pal?”
Yes, just looking for a bit of help, know what a mean?
“Sit there mate. I’ve phoned for an ambulance”.

As a wee punk in the 70s I got the bus from Pumpherston into Edinburgh and spent all day going round record shops
Bruce's Records The other Record Shop Virgin Records chatting to other punks finding out about gigs that were coming up
Maybe even me. There’s a great bit in Alasdair Mackay’s memoir Alternatives To Valium where he describes his circuit of all the record shops ending up with the grumpy hippies at Ezy Ryder. He missed A4 Alan’s shop by the art college though which was always a good source of bootleg tapes.

Hi. You sell records? Old style like?
“Aye”
Any discount for a pal of Alec Edward’s Shinpad?
“You alright pal?”
Yes, just looking for a bit of help, know what a mean?
“Sit there mate. I’ve phoned for an ambulance”.
Driven by a guy named Ryan........

Maybe even me. There’s a great bit in Alasdair Mackay’s memoir Alternatives To Valium where he describes his circuit of all the record shops ending up with the grumpy hippies at Ezy Ryder. He missed A4 Alan’s shop by the art college though which was always a good source of bootleg tapes.
When I was a teenager my mum would give me money to buy clothes. I would get the bus from Galashiels to Edinburgh and go to Ezy Ryder buy a pair of jeans and a half dozen second hand albums at £1:49 a throw. Sure grumpy Bert Muirhead and his sidekick who went onto own Hot Wax in Dalry Road worked there. You had to be on your game not to get ripped up for arsepaper by them. Part of the fun in Hot Wax was hanging about to hear them rip folk who came in asking for shit chart or other lame records. Brutal they were.

I actually hate guy's like that.Which is probably why I never hung around Hot Wax.Plus it was in Dalry.

Was it Listen records that John Waller from the Exploited used to work in? I went in ne day and him and two punkettes stole my Adam And The Antz t shirt off my back because one of them wanted it. I’d only got it a few nights before at a A&TA gig in Middlesbrough where there was a huge fight. Bastards.

Yes Big John worked in Listen.Did things like delibaretly scratched records in front of you if you took them back.Which is why I preffered to buy out of the original Virgin across the road.

I spent years with a pair of shite Numark jobs I got with a mixer bundled in off a guy in North London via ebay in 2005. Replaced one with an Audio Technica AT-LP120, which is basically their knockoff Technics 1200 for a quarter of the price, and it's been grand and I'll probably buy another if and when I see one on sale - might be waiting a minute because of the covid vinyl boom, but it's not like i'm mixing often so no rush really. Anyway, it's got a preamp and also does USB output so no big HiFi system for this bear.

Record collection is a combination of
a) second-hand miscellany from either Music and Tape on Camden High Street when i was a teenager or various charity shops since,
b) things I was only semi-interested in but which were dead cheap on various online sellers, and
c) full price copies of things I actually wanted to listen to.

All told, I get far more value out of the latter category. Still seem to keep buying shite though. I'll learn eventually. Probably.

I went for this Sony Bluetooth approach, so I can get it on my wireless speakers and headphones - it works great, had to replace the stylus once - that was my fault though - and a spare OEM part was dead easy to come by and not expensive.

For records I go to Amazon first (I know...) but then as G said discogs.com is awesome for those hard to find records!

I went for this, got a decent wedge off on black Friday. Anyone any suggestions on a cheap bluetooth speaker or soundbar to compliment it?

A mate mentioned these.....

I plumped for a Sonos system.
I was thinking of getting something more 'beefy', but early last year I went to help out a friend of mine who played guitar in the band I was in.
Hadnt seen him in a number of years.
He had just upgraded his sound system.
I forget which Amp/ turntable and other hardware he had , but he had Bowers & Wilkins 802 speakers.
Close your eyes and you'd swear the band was in the room. I've never heard anything like it.

Still picking up records in charity shops (2 Tony Bennett Live at the Carnegie Hall, Neil Diamond Greatest Hits and Hipsway all a quid at the weekend), but looking for some specific albums/ bands, anyone recommend any shops in West Lothian or Edinburgh?

Redheadmanrecords in whitburn hes inside the tattooist at the cross is good i buy a lot off my punk stuff there but he has a decent selection of soul music which i know you like

I was looking for the Jam, Ocean Colour Scene, Cast, the Coral type stuff, my 23 year old is a keen collector but has a lot of soul due to my visits to charity shops! Will take a birl along.

Hes got a website but its mostly his punk stuff i bought a couple of northern soul albums last time i was in

its worth a wee look in you will know when u see him why hes called redheadman

Any suggestions on a cheap but decent record player? Also, where do you buy new records online atm?
When you say record player do you mean turntable or the whole kit and kaboodle.You can get a turntable which can play out it's own inbuilt speakers for not much money or you can go second hand look in charity shops and the like.I've got a very usuable Aiwa turntable plus a Numark deck which I picked up in the Bethany shop in Duke St and they work fine through an old amp made by Cambridge which I bought out of Richer Sounds way back in the 90's.However Newhoose and my wee sister just splashed out over a thousand quid on a sound system from Richer Sounds and the sound difference is like Man City v Hibernian.

Probably myself also.One of the Leithy punks.(Lochend really).

When you say record player do you mean turntable or the whole kit and kaboodle.You can get a turntable which can play out it's own inbuilt speakers for not much money or you can go second hand look in charity shops and the like.I've got a very usuable Aiwa turntable plus a Numark deck which I picked up in the Bethany shop in Duke St and they work fine through an old amp made by Cambridge which I bought out of Richer Sounds way back in the 90's.However Newhoose and my wee sister just splashed out over a thousand quid on a sound system from Richer Sounds and the sound difference is like Man City v Hibernian.

Its an old thread, I was looking for current help, AESP helped out, I will head along to Whitburn looking out for the ginger record seller.

This thread has been viewed 7482 times.