Corona virus on its own thread.

Was expecting to see Hibs signing Devi Sridhar, I like her. Keep well all, decent updates all the way through this thread and top notch charts.

So all the folk who have been relying on food banks to feed their family will get a tenner off when they are eating out.

Excellent.

Nothing more than a Cummings thought up stunt. I will put up with your moaning. Keep exposing these gangsters.

18 new confirmed cases in Scotland since yesterday....highest in 3 weeks.
No deaths registered in the last 24 hours..

View media item 446
The virus isnae on its holibobs.?

Been in a couple of shops today...hardly anyone wearing face coverings.

I can never see the point in introducing a law which can't be enforced.

It's like the one about letting your dog shite outside without picking it up and disposing of it.

I've only been to Aldi today but every single customer was wearing a mask. I reckon there were half a dozen at most this time last week

I think most people will comply in stores and supermarkets..in fact i'm fairly sure there will be security folk reminding everybody what the new law now is. It's the small shops I am meaning. Folk were still coming in and out today without any face covering. No way is some shop worker going to risk potential bother by confronting folk who have came in without a face covering.

Aye true, it's a shame if folk act like that. Incidentally Aldi at my place now has the traffic light thing above the door instead of a person outside. And I had to put a quid in the trolley and clean it myself! Outrageous

My local Aldi hasn't got the traffic light system but has screens and all customers were wearing a mask as far as I could make out. I popped into a local convenience store afterwards to buy a few things Aldi don't have. No screens, no arrows or one way system, one line half a metre from the counter that nobody stood on the right side of and I counted 7 people including staff not wearing masks. It was a busy shop selling a lot of booze. Maybe covid avoids people smelling of drink and seeks out tee-totalers.

When the wearing of seat belts became law everybody said it couldn't be enforced but now I would say everybody complies without moaning about it. The same with the no smoking ban in pubs. There are also many dog owners who are responsible but quite a few who let them shite anywhere and off the lead in a public place which in itself is a breach of the law.

My local Aldi hasn't got the traffic light system but has screens and all customers were wearing a mask as far as I could make out. I popped into a local convenience store afterwards to buy a few things Aldi don't have. No screens, no arrows or one way system, one line half a metre from the counter that nobody stood on the right side of and I counted 7 people including staff not wearing masks. It was a busy shop selling a lot of booze. Maybe covid avoids people smelling of drink and seeks out tee-totalers.
Actually, should have mentioned, there were two people who weren't wearing face masks, both of them checkout assistants. The third checkout assistant was wearing a mask.

I can sort of understand that, there's a big difference between wearing a mask for twenty minutes in a shop compared to wearing it for a ten hour shift or whatever.

I was in three supermarkets Tonight, Did not see person without a mask.

Actually, should have mentioned, there were two people who weren't wearing face masks, both of them checkout assistants. The third checkout assistant was wearing a mask.

I can sort of understand that, there's a big difference between wearing a mask for twenty minutes in a shop compared to wearing it for a ten hour shift or whatever.

you don’t have to wear a mask if you are behind a screen.

I was in a couple of big supermarkets in Edinburgh today. Masks handed out at the door to dafties who didn’t see the need to comply.
Both stores properly kitted out with arrows on the floor and no entry signs where appropriate. In both cases arseholes completely ignored them and once again I was confronted with a family of morons who took up the entire aisle and were walking against the direction arrows. Whether they are too stupid to understand or too fuckin selfish to comply with simple rules I have no idea.
There’s an awful lot of them.

Yep, there's a lot of truth in that. After all, if the figures are correct that 120,000 people died due to austerity, and I've no reason to doubt them, then it's clear that a poor economy (or more precisely a lack of wealth for the most vulnerable) can kill people.

However, I don't think that means that we should just throw all caution to the wind and let the virus sweep through (I know that's not what you're saying). I'd expect the exit from this to involve some combination of wearing masks / test and trace / better treatment of the virus (all the focus seems to be on vaccinating against, but actually if there was a powerful anti-viral that could treat the disease then many fewer people would die or get seriously ill). I'd also like to see a fundamental rebalancing of the global economy - there's enough wealth and resources to go around, even after this pandemic wreaks its damage. The trouble is it's held in too few hands.

So I can actually envisage football being back by August, but the chances are that it will be compulsory for the crowd to wear masks, and for the players to have been tested. I do worry that pubs and restaurants will come a lot later though, it's hard to see how those are conducive to wearing masks...
Don't think I was miles off the mark three months ago. Clearly the economy rebalancing part was wishful thinking, the rich are still getting richer. Plus ca change

View media item 450
View media item 451
The Financial Times have emerged from behind their pay wall to give free access to their gold standard "excess deaths" statistics, beautifully presented and researched as always though lacking in empathy that these were people's lives worldwide.?

Anyone fancy a covid party? They're the latest thing in the USA!

Assholes. Sometimes its difficult to feel sympathy.

Anyone fancy a covid party? They're the latest thing in the USA!

Assholes. Sometimes its difficult to feel sympathy.

There's something wrong with a lot of people in that country and Trump(et) has stirred up the worst of them. This is the place the Tory's want tae dae deals with, I'd be shutting the door on them, at least while that maniac is running the show

View media item 452
These are the new Covid19 infections for the last 7 days per 1m head of population to make it more comparable.

Hard to judge but feels positively low.✅

We never get any details on what computer models the Scottish government use but it would be interesting to know how they factor in probable infection rates in the future from non community spread.?

You can track and trace the locals but not so easy when its overseas visitors going through airport hubs or Mr and Mrs Smithers from Godolming taking their campervan across Scotland for 14 days.

How are the police going to be able to enforce this ?

Well done England.???????✅.

Masks is the easiest way imaginable along with washing your mits that can protect yourself and others.

Maybe just maybe English exceptionalism that has cost them so many lives is beginning to break down.✅

That must have been hard fought as it goes against everything the right wing of the Conservative Party stand for but as with so many other decisions such as the initial lockdown or travel restrictions or track and trace and now masks they do seem to get there in the end.✅

Dinnae understand why all they Loyalist pricks dinnae want tae wear them. Surely better than catching the virus?

View media item 454
Canada has shut its borders to USA?? to buy time to give USA a chance to get the virus under control.

Borders now shut within Australia states due to the outbreak in Victoria and New York state requiring 14 day quarantine from other parts of USA.

Border control is a crude method but a good short term defence.✅

Well at least that should please Trump n Johnson :;)::farku:

View media item 456
All very positive news on the race to find a vaccine.✅

Hogmanay street party cancelled.

View media item 462
England's ??????? numbers still seem very poor? and their overall strategy seems to involve being content with a maneagable number of deaths as long as the economy reopens and personal freedom aren't resticted to much.

At least mask ? wearing is now belatedy mandatory.✅ but you still get the impression that English exceptionalism still lies below the surface as there was an anti mask demo and many cases of deliberate non compliance today.?

View media item 462
England's ??????? numbers still seem very poor? and their overall strategy seems to involve being content with a maneagable number of deaths as long as the economy reopens and personal freedom aren't resticted to much.

At least mask ? wearing is now belatedy mandatory.✅ but you still get the impression that English exceptionalism still lies below the surface as their was an anti mask demo and many cases of deliberate non compliance today.?
I really don't understand their strategy, nor do I get how it benefits their economy. I know the FM said our phase 3 will last a while, I think she's just waiting till schools go back, make sure there's no surge in infections, then get back on a path to more or less normality quite quickly after that. Pubs back to normal with a bit of extra hygiene measures, fitba grounds open etc. That's entirely doable if cases are low enough to be manage through Test and Protect. The English strategy seems to be to walk a knife edge with the risk the infections accelerate at any time. How's that better for the economy? It means running in second gear for a year or more while we're potentially motoring along normally.

People returning to England from Spain. 14 hours quarantine from 12am. Scotland will toddle behind soon I guess.

Of course the quarentine process is hopelessly flawed. We know it, they know it.

People returning to England from Spain. 14 hours quarantine from 12am. Scotland will toddle behind soon I guess.

Of course the quarentine process is hopelessly flawed. We know it, they know it.

In what way is it hopelessly flawed?

14 hours, 14 days amigo. Scotland immediatey done the same. Indeed we held back in opening the borders with Spain.

I would imagine, now that both governments have an agreed list (I think) we'll see this happening on a regular basis. Let's hope it's not too often and we start seeing a bit of stability.

In what way is it hopelessly flawed?

Let's compare and contrast.
New Zealand. From day one, back in March air borders closed. Only returning Nationals able to enter. 14 days quarantine in Government controlled hotels.

UK governments allowed hundreds of thousands of travellers to enter the UK with zero testing carried out. 4 months after NZ. Quarantining for 14 days intoduced on 8th July. Quarantine rules, give us an address where you will be isolating for 14 days. Of you go. We trust you to do the right thing.

It’s quite shite because where me and my daughter are meant to be going there has been 4 cases in a month and now I’ve got a serious bit of thinking to do,at this point flights and hotel are going ahead...

If its Spain?? you are traveling to then check every line of your travel insurance.

As soon as governments advise against non-esential travel then this may invalidate your travel insurance.

Spain is warning of a possible 2nd wave in one breath and in the next is saying outbreaks are all localised and being contained so very mixed message.

The last time around Spain extended all its internal restrictions throughout the whole country at 24 hours notice stranding thousands.?

Tough choices.??

If its Spain?? you are traveling to then check every line of your travel insurance.

As soon as governments advise against non-esential travel then this may invalidate your travel insurance.

Spain is warning of a possible 2nd wave in one breath and in the next is saying outbreaks are all localised and being contained so very mixed message.

The last time around Spain extended all its internal restrictions throughout the whole country at 24 hours notice stranding thousands.?

Tough choices.??
Yip,luckily I took the insurance out pre covid so should ok if my hotel decides to be nippy.
Im due to fly in 10 days so assuming the Gov won’t change guidance again in that time :lookaround:

Yip,luckily I took the insurance out pre covid so should ok if my hotel decides to be nippy.
Im due to fly in 10 days so assuming the Gov won’t change guidance again in that time :lookaround:

What part of Spain are you heading to M? Seems the recent increases are in Catalunya and Aragon? My mate who lives in Madrid was due to arrive here with his family this week, now looking at moving his flights. Last time he was heading back was the weekend of the St Johnstone game that was cancelled. His heed is birling!

Alicante,I’m happy to switch flights to next year tbh.
Always in the back of my mind this might happen and at least it wasn’t this week I was meant to be going...

This thread has been viewed 319739 times.