Senior Moment,help me find that club.

I'm on a site on Facebook about Edinburgh past and present,and I said there was a club in King's Stables Road which I cannot remember the name of mainly because I never went there.Now I had a look at Google View and cannot find it.Maybe it's been demolished?It was set back off the road near to where the steps went up to the old DHSS office at the bottom of Johnstone Terrace.If anyone knows where I mean and could name it I'd be grateful.

I ken the yin yer talking aboot had a few names all of which I cannae remember probably because I was in it quite a lot :grinning-smiley-045: Jaffa cake was one of the names, Stereo was another

Silk?

Maybe?I had a look on Google View and I was like where the feck is it?The whole place was like a building site.The cleansing heid office was down there too,do you think I could see it?Nup.

Aye Silk was down there, used to go there when I was at uni. It shut down in 2018 to facilitate yet more student halls

I ken the yin yer talking aboot had a few names all of which I cannae remember probably because I was in it quite a lot :grinning-smiley-045: Jaffa cake was one of the names, Stereo was another
Electric circus.

Also Jaffacake, Gaia and Stereo and I think a couple of other names although they might have been local names if you know what I mean!!!

Radio Forth did under 18 discos there a few times in the late noughties??? I went there a few times

... to pick up my kids in Dads Taxi.

Electric circus.
Are you sure? Only electric circus I can mind of was at waverley station in the place that was buster browns

Electric circus.

Electric Circus was in Market St.Where Buster Browns was.

I'm sure it was in Kings Stable Road about 30 years ago.
I seem to remember it was 80p a drink on a Sunday night and one night the bouncers and the polis got done in by the Hibs Boys.

Quick google search suggests you’re right. Also called Dillingers and Jaffa Cake

I had a look at that and it seems you are correct with that as was the poster above, I just dinnae remember it as that.

It was electric circus in late 80s. Then changed to dillingers.anyone remember the hootchie cootchie club?

Probably Dillingers when they all got leathered.

In a similar vein, did anyone (probably refers only to a few Bouncers) frequent the Gamp Club? The Place was opposite in Victoria Street, but I preferred the Gamp.

My Dad worked there.

Quick google search suggests you’re right. Also called Dillingers and Jaffa Cake
Now Dillingers I recognise.I was never there.

Yes the Hooch was my regular haunt once I got past Clouds then the Nite Club then the Danceteria in Valentinos for Punks who were moving into Post Punk and New Romantic,Rockabilly,Sillybilly and early Hip Hop.If you read the Face and I-D mag,you went to the Hooch.

Those were the days.

We must have been rubbing shoulders - technically, I was too young to get in to most of the clubs but usually found a way.

Anyone remember The Underground at The Tron?

At one point it had a short lifespan as some sort of American style diner and its USP was scalectrix tracks at the tables.....or did I dream it?

Yes I did. Also the Nash, Bungies and Magoos.

You too young for Fairley's and the El Dorado?

The El Dorado at the end of Great Junction st?
Was that no the venue for professional wrestling back in the early 70s?
Heard of Fairley’s but can’t remember where it was.

It was and I was the DJ at the El Dorado!

Me and my pal arrived early doors put a few records on, again at the interval and 2 or 3 records at the end. We got 8/6d to buy a new record each week from Ards, a fish supper each and 2/6d each!

Are you sure? Only electric circus I can mind of was at waverley station in the place that was buster browns

Electric Circus was in Kingstable Road many years ago. Busters was still on the go then as well.

We must have been rubbing shoulders - technically, I was too young to get in to most of the clubs but usually found a way.

Anyone remember The Underground at The Tron?

The Yellow Carvel in my day.

It was and I was the DJ at the El Dorado!

Me and my pal arrived early doors put a few records on, again at the interval and 2 or 3 records at the end. We got 8/6d to buy a new record each week from Ards, a fish supper each and 2/6d each!
Ha ha 8/6d and2/6d rewind a couple of decades and you’d be getting paid in jam jars!
Ards record store used to go there a lot. Any singles that didn’t sell they used to put in a cardboard box and sell for 10p (we’re talking new money here) and 25p.
iI used to buy singles by artists I hadn’t heard of if I fancied the cover. Some were utter shite but there were some good tunes. ?

The Yellow Carvel in my day.
Me too.

Reactions: Dub

Dancing before there was wrestling Happy Howden on the door.
Fairley's was Leith St.

Dancing before there was wrestling Happy Howden on the door.
Fairley's was Leith St.
Leith st. That’s the place.

No!! The Place was in Victoria Street!! (I'll get my coat.)

I was at the Eldorado a few times, after a wee pub crawl in Cousin's, The Coburg, Dirty Windaes and even the Jungle . Saw Heinz the night he was there. In fact, I got locked in the place (Naw, no' that one!) but that's another story.

No!! The Place was in Victoria Street!! (I'll get my coat.)
See!!!!
This is exactly why the GPO introduced post codes. ?

Yes, but there was a Fairley's in Commercial Street, right across the Water o' Leith from the Jungle. At one time, they had a real puma on the premises, which should have obviously been delivered by Hermes to the latter over the water!

This thread has been viewed 2843 times.