Corona virus on its own thread.

Quite terrifying day at work today, on the back of hearing about the 2 nurses who have sadly died - nevermind the 4 docs! No new, official guidance on the correct PPE we should be wearing (after the Government updated its advice last night) and docs telling us we're most at risk as we're in continual contact with patients, who are all COVID-19+.

It feels like we're cannon fodder....

Quite terrifying day at work today, on the back of hearing about the 2 nurses who have sadly died - nevermind the 4 docs! No new, official guidance on the correct PPE we should we wearing (after the Government updated its advice last night) and docs telling us we're most at risk as we're in continual contact with patients, who are all COVID-19+.

You're the most valuable people in the country right now, and I for one really appreciate what you're doing.

It's not words you need, it is tangible actions from the people who can have the power to do something about it.

You're the most valuable people in the country right now, and I for one really appreciate what you're doing.

It's not words you need, it is tangible actions from the people who can have the power to do something about it.

Thank you. It really is shameful how frontline staff are being treated but then again, I'm not surprised. Hancock couldn't even say how many nurses have died, just "a number". Vile, vile man.

That makes dreadful and terrifying reading.

Quite terrifying day at work today, on the back of hearing about the 2 nurses who have sadly died - nevermind the 4 docs! No new, official guidance on the correct PPE we should be wearing (after the Government updated its advice last night) and docs telling us we're most at risk as we're in continual contact with patients, who are all COVID-19+.

Must be crazy In some wards. Some nursing and care homes also sound horrendous. I was about to take a shift in one this week then got a call from my boss asking that we dont do anything on our days off Iin case we pick up infection and bring it into peoples homes.
Makes sense especially after reading about the care home in Stepps today, so I turned shifts down, however head has to rule heart but I would rather be in helping where the staff shortages must be crazy.

13 dead in one care home in Glasgow.

Braved Tesco this morning. Go before 10 and you dinnae have ti queue very long. But no too early if ye want a carry oot! Basically folk are sh*te at social distancing whilst shopping, despite instructions over the tannoy. Today it wis a lovely Polish lassie, regular customers of this branch might ken who it is. I found masel listening to her enunciation mair then the instructions!!

To be fair, it's not easy social distancing when you are shopping in a supermarket. It doesn't come naturally to people so there are bound to be instances when you are closer than the rules state. Have to say at Asda this morning it was so much better than a few weeks ago when this started. They are much better organised and have the shelves better stocked. I wonder how long that will continue though if this whole lock-down lasts months ?

if this whole lock-down lasts months ?

It won't. It can't, basically. I don't believe that the population will wear it for longer than, say, eight weeks. After that, they will need to rethink the strategy.

I agree, 2 months max I reckon, apart from what you've said nobody will want a total breakdown in the economy. One way or the other reckon we'll all be drifting back to work after a couple of months. Football,pubs restaurants, general socialising may well take a bit longer but they cant let this situation go on indefinately.

Agreed, but not just that, the economy wont stand it, people are getting poorer and the country will be on its knees. As to supermarkets, we might see less lines available, but I doubt shelves will be cleared in the way they were. For these reasons...people are already stocked up, there are restrictions on some items, the queues are much smaller due to the amount of people allowed in a shop at one time, peoples wallets are shrinking and the suppliers are working together to share delivery slots

Aye the one on Duke Street has arrows as to what way to walk down the aisles, not that any one pays any attention.

Was down kirkgate yesterday...all the beggars I'm Edinburgh seem to have congregated there. Guess most of the town is useless for them now

Was there this afternoon and tbf there was only 1.

The Romanians still seem to be around, the scottish ones you see also live in the hostels around here, they are absolute chancers all for there fix.

In America there is some suggestion that on the current modelling 100k to 250k could die, crazy.
The UK government has come out and said we'll be lucky to hold deaths below 100K. The UK has over 66 million people.

The US as you've said estimate 100-250K for a country of 327 million. That to me doesn't make sense. I fear it'll be far more than that! Perhaps trying not to panic people.

Was there this afternoon and tbf there was only 1.
Maybe they collected enough in the morning...or nothing and left. There was one at every entrance plus another across road on great junction st.

Last few posters. I am going to Tesco/Lidl this morning for essentials. Tell you what whilst in the Kirkgate /Bottom of the Walk, If there are any beggars there I will give each one a good kick on your behalf if it makes you feel better.

Cheers G, anything tae help, that's you all over

If there are any beggars there I will give each one a good kick on your behalf if it makes you feel better.

Disgraceful. I’ve reported this to the relevant authorities.

Can we please at least save the beating of Tramps until this public health crisis is over??

Disgraceful. I’ve reported this to the relevant authorities.

Can we please at least save the beating of Tramps until this public health crisis is over??
No expensive execise bikes for wise old fox Geronimo, Dazdog, . Keep up with these boys moves twice a day as I do .

She was there last weekend as well

LOL

Sorry she's been caught more like

This press conference is brutal. Car crash tv. Journalist questions no holding back

I reckon she stays in the background going forward. What an idiot.

I found this quite pathetic reasoning from the English PFA.

Cutting players wages means they won't pay so much tax and that will be to the detriment of the NHS!

I think it's ridiculous that footballers have been used in this way by the morally corrupt UK Government. Why isn't the media asking what these multi millionaire politicians such as the chancellor of the exchequer are doing.

I think it's ridiculous that footballers have been used in this way by the morally corrupt UK Government. Why isn't the media asking what these multi millionaire politicians such as the chancellor of the exchequer doing.
At the end of the day we could all use the PFA's ( that is run by somebody on the best part of 3/4 of a mill a year) excuse. The point is IMO, why should my hard earned taxes go to premier league clubs to pay their backroom staff when multi million pound chairmen and players are still raking it in. If the 1st team squads donated probably less than 5% each that would probably cover the backroom employees wages. And yes Shrinky I realise I've used two probablys in the same sentence

Please explain why hundreds of thousands of pounds less tax paid in will not effect the economy.

I think it's ridiculous that footballers have been used in this way by the morally corrupt UK Government. Why isn't the media asking what these multi millionaire politicians such as the chancellor of the exchequer are doing.
It's classic Tory "look, a squirrel" tactics, same as they used with immigrants and "benefit scroungers". Anything to focus the public attention anywhere but the real culprits.

At the end of the day we could all use the PFA's ( that is run by somebody on the best part of 3/4 of a mill a year) excuse. The point is IMO, why should my hard earned taxes go to premier league clubs to pay their backroom staff when multi million pound chairmen and players are still raking it in. If the 1st team squads donated probably less than 5% each that would probably cover the backroom employees wages. And yes Shrinky I realise I've used two probablys in the same sentence
I would probably never have noticed.
Possibly.

Please explain why hundreds of thousands of pounds less tax paid in will not effect the economy.

It will effect the economy. It's the cynical name dropping of the NHS at a time when they have a particularly affection with the nation to justify their obscene salaries.

Hold on as someone who had worked for many years in the NHS, does it not give you the dry boak that as you have explained the Tories over the past 12 years, battering to death the NHS, give every action they do to help OUR NHS. Fuck me the Old Bat will be doing it soon on the BBC. All pulling together, Vera Lynn, etc,etc. Will she say anything about the NHS being raped by the Conservatives. I fucking think not. Platitudes upon platitudes I guess. Mention yer daft lad, ignoring the stay at home rules. Fucking anachronism. Abolish the rotten parasitic system we pay for through our taxes for centuries.

That was a great pep talk! Waste of time.
I was hoping to hear they've all got it and the monarchy would be abolished once she is gone.

Hold on as someone who had worked for many years in the NHS, does it not give you the dry boak that as you have explained the Tories over the past 12 years, battering to death the NHS, give every action they do to help OUR NHS. Fuck me the Old Bat will be doing it soon on the BBC. All pulling together, Vera Lynn, etc,etc. Will she say anything about the NHS being raped by the Conservatives. I fucking think not. Platitudes upon platitudes I guess. Mention yer daft lad, ignoring the stay at home rules. Fucking anachronism. Abolish the rotten parasitic system we pay for through our taxes for centuries.

It does.

But the article I quoted was about the comments made by the Professional Footballers Association.

Bojo in hospital after 10 days,next 5 days are the iffy ones....

I wouldn't wish this on anybody so hope he like anyone else who suffers from this makes a speedy recovery.

The cynic in me says this is just to keep him away from making a further fool of himself, and showing him up for what he is, for another week.
As @Smurf says, I wish him no harm and hope he recovers.

No big deal, just a bug and we'll all soon have immunity. Bet he's regretting listening to whoever whispered that shite in his ear

Perhaps it was.....Don,Don, .....In arguing for returning the country to some kind of normal sooner rather than later, President Trump noted that 36,000 people, on average, die from the flu each year.

"But we've never closed down the country for the flu," the President said during an appearance on Fox News on Tuesday. "So you say to yourself, 'What is this all about?' "

Indeed Don, Don no doubt you do.

The 30th? Yi wid think it wid come intae effect immediately. My DIL is a midwife there and they should let staff park free all the time, IMO
my sister LDRP hibby is a midwife there.Perhaps they know each other?

This thread has been viewed 320728 times.