Derek Mackay scandal

GORDONSMITH7

Should I be surprised that there has not been a peep on the Cowshed regarding this scandal, while it has been the main topic on every news channel, TV radio, newspaper since I first heard about it at 7.00 this morning? Not really. Two things are certain to me that if this had been Sajid Javid who had been exposed the day before the Budget to have groomed a schoolboy/schoolgirl, it would have been, with understandable outrage from all including the large number of Nationalists on the Bounce. Dirty Tory Paedo, sick Tory bastard etc,etc.
Secondly the timing by the Sun was clearly managed for maximum impact. Get used to it. I have been banging on about the continuous attacks on a daily basis on Corbyn and the left over the past few years. I warned on here that their attention would turn to the Scottish Government.

I dont know that there is much to debate. Looks like he's been guilty of being a dirty old git and he's had to step down because of it.

A pretty icky state of affairs but fairly open and shut. He's done something inexcusable so he's finished.

The most amazing thing about it is that he thought he could get away with it.

A beast is a beast regardless of politics,front page of the paper would be least of his worries if it was my kid.
Least he resigned i suppose,others have stayed on for worse.

Risking your career bizarre.
He never met the boy? I don’t know I haven’t read the transcripts
Not classy taking the info to the papers. I don’t really get that.

glad he’s gone

why is Ian Blackford never quoted in bookies to be next leader, I don’t get that.

Thought he was caught grooming a 16 year old.Forgive me if I'm wrong but is the age of consent not 16?

In Scotland, a child legally becomes an adult when they turn 16, but statutory guidance which supports the Children and Young People (Scotland) Act 2014, includes all children and young people up to the age of 18.

Sounds bizarrely like you are defending him!

Its sometimes difficult to believe someone who is supposedly so intelligent and in the public eye can make such an utter arse of themselves.

The SNP chucked him out.

If other parties took a similar position they would have been pretty thin on the ground in the past and our current PM would have been toast!

That's not intended as whatabootery. Different parties have different starting points and different ways of achieving their ambitions.

Am I defending him?Seems to me the guy was grooming the 16 year old,which makes him a creep.But a beast?By that I take it it means a paedophile,as far as I can see it went no further than text messages,I'm glad it went no further and he has resigned.

How can a man is such high office behave like this and think he can get away with it ? To get to be Finance Minister in your country you have to be a fairly clever intelligent person you would have thought, but then to do something as vile as this ? He is finished in politics totally and I wouldn't be surprised if there were criminal investigations to follow.

How can a man is such high office behave like this and think he can get away with it ? To get to be Finance Minister in your country you have to be a fairly clever intelligent person you would have thought, but then do do something as vile as this ? He is finished in politics totally and I wouldn't be surprised if there were criminal investigations to follow.
He's finished, unemployable. I suspect if he wasn't able to fall back on his overly generous politicians pension he'd be on the streets before long.

I'd be surprised if there was a criminal investigation. There's no suggestion anything happened before the boy was 16, the age of consent in Scotland as far as I'm aware, so while creepy, not illegal.

Am I defending him?Seems to me the guy was grooming the 16 year old,which makes him a creep.But a beast?By that I take it it means a paedophile,as far as I can see it went no further than text messages,I'm glad it went no further and he has resigned.
True,maybe sexual predator is a better description.
Lets call him that.

The age of consent varies from country to country. Would it be ok to chat up a 12 year old in one of those countries? He's a supposedly mature adult who whilst maybe thinking 'he's cute' should know better.

Its sometimes difficult to believe someone who is supposedly so intelligent and in the public eye can make such an utter arse of themselves.

The SNP chucked him out.

If other parties took a similar position they would have been pretty thin on the ground in the past and our current PM would have been toast!

That's not intended as whatabootery. Different parties have different starting points and different ways of achieving their ambitions.

He has not been chucked out as you put it, he has had the Whip withdrawn and membership of the SNP suspended pending the Party disciplinary procedure and due process. As it should be.

True,maybe sexual predator is a better description.
Lets call him that.

I think beast is fine. But will vary it between beast, deviant, sexual predator and nonce.

Assume he's a jambo...

I can't think of anything much sleazier than asking folk he hardly knows if they have 'any naughty pics'.
Reprehensible behaviour.

I can't think of anything much sleazier than asking folk he hardly knows if they have 'any naughty pics'.
Reprehensible behaviour.

Aye but he allegedly only asked one person. That's the difference.

SNP littered with scandal again

What a surprise

Is that the first thing that struck you? SNP?
For me it was
What an arsehole.
Had it been another MSP, MP, MEP, Councillor, regardless of party, my reaction would have been the same.
Whether you're a politician, royalty, or ordinary working stiff.
Wrong is wrong.

Is that the first thing that struck you? SNP?
For me it was
What an arsehole.
Had it been another MSP, MP, MEP, Councillor, regardless of party, my reaction would have been the same.
Whether you're a politician, royalty, or ordinary working stiff.
Wrong is wrong.

Would it aye?

Not a single post on it as the OP said

Always harder when its one of your own

SNP oot

What a surprise

I can think of four senior SNP men who have caused problems for the party recently. Angus MacNeil and Stewart Hosie having an affair with the same female reporter whilst both married was fairly juicy stuff. Alex Salmond could be seeing the inside of Saughton soon enough and now Mackay.

All weirdos and all prominent SNP folk. Maybe the party should just let the woman run the show....although the salacious stuff about Sturgeon and her own Super Injunction and French connection might disprove that.

Not that any of that matters a bit. I'll vote SNP until we're independent and bin them after.

I can think of four senior SNP men who have caused problems for the party recently. Angus MacNeil and Stewart Hosie having an affair with the same female reporter whilst both married was fairly juicy stuff. Alex Salmond could be seeing the inside of Saughton soon enough and now Mackay.

All weirdos and all prominent SNP folk. Maybe the party should just let the woman run the show....although the salacious stuff about Sturgeon and her own Super Injunction and French connection might disprove that.

Not that any of that matters a bit. I'll vote SNP until we're independent and bin them after.

Me too, although all four mentioned are dirty bastards for varying reasons.

........the salacious stuff about Sturgeon and her own Super Injunction and French connection might disprove that.

Hadn't heard about this.
Sounds very newsworthy.

Any naughty pics?
:razz:

Hadn't heard about this.
Sounds very newsworthy.

Any naughty pics?
:razz:
No' again, man!!! I refer my honourable friend to his 9.34 am post!

:wondering:

Would it aye?

Not a single post on it as the OP said

Always harder when its one of your own

SNP oot
Aye. It would.
Whether you believe me or not , I dont really give a toss.

If it had been a women texting him everyone would be giving him high 5s.

Being a beast,predator, paedophile or alleged rapist isn't constrained by political party allegiances. Every party has its black sheep,liberal tory and labour politicians arnae exempt so IMO trying to make a political point out of this is wrong. Although morally reprehensible and incredibley stupid as far as I can see he hasnae broken the law. Certainly not the sort of guy you'd want in govt.

That's kinda what I wrote earlier.
Wonder how Baron Boothby of Buchan and Rattray Head would have reacted to McKays faux pas?

Swinney saying that the party found out on Wednesday night and took swift action, I read they've known for far longer and took no action.

The age of consent varies from country to country. Would it be ok to chat up a 12 year old in one of those countries? He's a supposedly mature adult who whilst maybe thinking 'he's cute' should know better.
i was actually talking about this country,your argument is like saying'what if apples were oranges'.

Stoat the ba yesterday but because she/he's now 16 and i'm 60 it's ok? Legal maybe but morally still a dirty auld bastard.

What a surprise

Yet the Westminster scandal has been swept under the carpet where and who where on the missing files.

Risking your career bizarre.
He never met the boy? I don’t know I haven’t read the transcripts
Not classy taking the info to the papers. I don’t really get that.

If it was my laddie subjected to that dirty lowlife nonce you better believe I'd take it to the media. If you didn't it would be brushed under the carpet. Indeed even though that scum 'newspaper' got the story the Scottish Government attempted to stop it being published. It's shameful he was allowed to resign. He should have been fired. And not only suspended from the SNP but his resignation as a MSP should have been demanded. He was grooming a young boy. Reading the transcripts is creepy as fuck.

Finally, it fuckin laughable that a, we have pro UK folks attempting to use this to suggest the pro independence movement is full of sexual deviants. And to imply the pro independence case has been hit hard. Utter bollocks. And b, Those pro independence who have been slow to condemn. Pathetic and shameful.

Have a fuckin word.

What a surprise

No difference from any other political party then?

put your son through the media circus?

sorry, that’s not for me.

If it was my laddie subjected to that dirty lowlife nonce you better believe I'd take it to the media. If you didn't it would be brushed under the carpet. Indeed even though that scum 'newspaper' got the story the Scottish Government attempted to stop it being published. It's shameful he was allowed to resign. He should have been fired. And not only suspended from the SNP but his resignation as a MSP should have been demanded. He was grooming a young boy. Reading the transcripts is creepy as fuck.

Finally, it fuckin laughable that a, we have pro UK folks attempting to use this to suggest the pro independence movement is full of sexual deviants. And to imply the pro independence case has been hit hard. Utter bollocks. And b, Those pro independence who have been slow to condemn. Pathetic and shameful.

put your son through the media circus?

sorry, that’s not for me.

He's not been named? He's the victim.

Mark McDonald
Alex Salmond(allegedly) and now Derek Mackay

A party of deviants

If this was the Tories you'd have a 1000 page thread

No shame

Mark McDonald
Alex Salmond(allegedly) and now Derek Mackay

A party of deviants

If this was the Tories you'd have a 1000 page thread

No shame
Maybe on other forums but despite the Torys countless misdemeanors over the years, many where it's been brushed under the carpet or brassed out I doubt the total number of bounce pages would near 100 never mind 1,000 but I'll leave you to add them up.

The daily mirror has Boris Johnson running at 43 events considered bad enough that he shouldn't be PM ranging from dishonesty to threats of violence and probably tax evasion. You'll find pretty much nothing on here about him never mind the rest of the lying, sleazy Tory scum.

This thread has been viewed 3611 times.