Hibs Club Generel Secretary

ggtth0762

Just a Radge
Did I hear rights that the Hibs Clubs secretary got into a fight earlu in year and assualted a man and woman but only got a 1 month ban from the other folk in charge, that is terrible behavious, I was thinking about becming a member but may nit bother now.

No idea who the secretary is or heard any such story.
Maybe one of the St Pats guys will know something about it.

Did I hear rights that the Hibs Clubs secretary got into a fight earlu in year and assualted a man and woman but only got a 1 month ban from the other folk in charge, that is terrible behavious, I was thinking about becming a member but may nit bother now.
Not a member but I’ve heard that too,I know others have had longer bans for less.

Letting my membership lapse as out of towners cant use the club on matchdays , when exactly are we likely to use it if not match days ??

Letting my membership lapse as out of towners $%#@ use the club on matchdays , when exactly are we likely to use it if not match days ??
I think if you're already a member as an out of towner you can still renew at regular price though (£15 or whatever it is) and that makes you a full member.

Now in the public Hibernian family domain,the person in question is the General Secretary of the Hibernian Supporters Association. St. Patrick's Branch have condemned this outcome unreservedly and have raised the appropriate signatures as per the Rules of the Association to request an Extraordinary General Meeting regarding this. EGM's have rarely ever been called and only in cases like the Mercer attempted coup and Straitongate in the past. This is the first time ever, it is understood, that a Branch has done so.

BIG G (personal capacity)

Letting my membership lapse as out of towners $%#@ use the club on matchdays , when exactly are we likely to use it if not match days ??

I opposed this change. St. Pat's has the largest Out of Town membership in the Supporters Association with , apart from members outside Edinburgh boundary in Scotland, we have them in England, Wales, North and South Ireland, USA, Canada,the Netherlands, Norway and South Africa.
Associate Membership (old Out of Town) is £13.50 per year. Full Membership which ensures entry and voting rights at the HSA AGM and guarenteed entry to the Hibs Club on match days, is £18.50 per year. The difference is 0.9 pence per week to upgrade.
So far all of our Associates (O.O.T 'ers) have upgraded for next year. Your Branch will continue to honour our long held decision the pay the Membership fees for all under 18 year old Members.

BIG G (personal capacity )

I opposed this change. St. Pat's has the largest Out of Town membership in the Supporters Association with , apart from members outside Edinburgh boundary in Scotland, we have them in England, Wales, North and South Ireland, USA, Canada,the Netherlands, Norway and South Africa.
Associate Membership (old Out of Town) is £13.50 per year. Full Membership which ensures entry and voting rights at the HSA AGM and guarenteed entry to the Hibs Club on match days, is £18.50 per year. The difference is 0.9 pence per week to upgrade.
So far all Associates (O.O.T 'ers) have upgraded for next year. Your Branch will continue to honour our long held decision the pay the Membership fees for all under 18 year old Members.

Didn't know that Gordon , sounds good to me

First I’ve heard of this ffs!

I mind when my local cafe did away with a medium sized coffee then charged the medium price for a small one,must be quite a money spinner.

So I’ve got a membership card wi aboot £25 on it which I now canny use ? ?

Nobody ever said that, however, the oot category has been withdrawn. Current oot members are being asked to choose either full membership with unrestricted access and full voting rights or associate membership with restricted access and no voting rights.

If you stay out the country you can become an international member for a one of payment which would allow access on a match day.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

So I’ve got a membership card wi aboot £25 on it which I now canny use ? [emoji3061]
Renewals are now with your branch secretary who will explain the situation. You can renew as a full member for a few pounds more per year.

Yes correct, an old OOT does not need to Re Affiliate as an Associate but can Re Affiliate as a Full Member for £5 more.

It was all explained in the recent St.Pats letter/email communication.

As regards the OP, its not hearsay nor non fact, it was witnessed by other hsa committee members from what I am led to believe and CCTV and the GS admitted the assault of a man and women and was very remorseful, St Pats have rightfully asked for an EGM, not to ask for the resignation of the GS, which personally I think he should have, but the whole process of the disciplinary committee.

What happens at the next incident? You cannot get any worse, apart from attempted murder than assaulting a man and a woman, precedent's need to be set or the next person will argue that the GS only got 1-month ban so that is all they would expect so too speak!

If you stay out the country you can become an international member for a one of payment which would allow access on a match day.

Is that Scotland or the UK

Yes correct, an old OOT does not need to Re Affiliate as an Associate but can Re Affiliate as a Full Member for £5 more.

It was all explained in the recent St.Pats letter/email communication.

As regards the OP, its not hearsay nor non fact, it was witnessed by other hsa committee members from what I am led to believe and CCTV and the GS admitted the assault of a man and women and was very remorseful, St Pats have rightfully asked for an EGM, not to ask for the resignation of the GS, which personally I think he should have, but the whole process of the disciplinary committee.

What happens at the next incident? You cannot get any worse, apart from attempted murder than assaulting a man and a woman, precedent's need to be set or the next person will argue that the GS only got 1-month ban so that is all they would expect so too speak!
Thit is unexcusable will definetly not be joining i am stunned at that

Thinking about this its pretty petty having seperate mimberships? Should it not be one membership for all? I read on the hibs co website there is an EGM? Saturday, why is that?

You love a sh1t stir and hardly discreet!!
Thanks for highlighting this again.

You love a sh1t stir and hardly discreet!!
Thanks for highlighting this again.
Your welcome, if you think hitting womem should be done discreet then moreful you.

if you think hitting womem should be done discreet then moreful you.

That's a bizarre assumption to make Einstein!!
I was planning to go down Saturday and join fellow St Pats members in registering discontent.
More fool you.

You'll get a bit more attention now thanks to my replies at least.

Thinking about this its pretty petty having seperate mimberships? Should it not be one membership for all? I read on the hibs co website there is an EGM? Saturday, why is that?
St. Patrick's Branch have called for an EGM. Our Branch membership identified what is seen as highly concerning irregularities on the Hibernian Supporters Association, (HSA), procedural outcome from a serious incident in the Hibs club. The circumstances on the incident and outcome was mentioned in our postal letter communication to all members in December last year.
As a Branch who believes in transparency and fairness we raised this item at 3 separate HSA Delegates meetings over a three month period and finally reported back to our Full Branch quarterly meeting in November. The debate at that meeting raised continued concerns and a motion to demand an HSA Emergency General Meeting was voted overwhelmingly in favour. Within 7 days following we had received 50 signatures to secure an EGM and we therefore now intend to take our members concerns to this full Association meeting on the 11th January at 12 noon.

We would ask all members to attend this important and very relevant meeting.

The outcome from the EGM will be down to the discussion by all HSA members on the day, we would simply ask that our members listen and make your own conclusions, again emphasising the importance of attendance.

Reckon if you assaulted one of the boys in the Green jackets you’d be on a lifetime time ban like what happens in pubs....

4F90DCFE-9F84-4E6B-BEA6-A8E30E84516E.jpeg

EGM lasted 20 mins with the HSA insisting they did nothing wrong with the disciplinary process. Swept under the carpet in other words.

Maybe the process is flawed then, if the outcome is unjust.

In the eyes of the HSA the process was fair and just.

St. Patricks challenged that process but it seems its fair and just to allow members to assault other members, including women and only get a 1 month ban that was not even served properly. The whole disciplinary process is a joke and the members that signed for getting an EGM have not been given a reasonable outcome.

As a member, if I carried out that assault, I’d be banned for life (which I would expect).

Disciplinary policy needs an overhaul.

As a member, if I carried out that assault, I’d be banned for life (which I would expect).

Disciplinary policy needs an overhaul.
Tell us what happened?

I got 4 year ban for threatening(ALLEGEDLY)

When? And threatening who with what?

As a member of st Giles many years ago, we used tae fight wi' every *&*^. Fuck thum.

Tell us what happened?

would like to no to

The invisible man was not invisible enough for the large numbers of members in the hall seeing him instructing the unconvincing Chairman what to say. Then when the Chairman closed the meeting, denying the members of any Branch to have there say, there was what I can only say was a bizarre, choreographed march out of the hall by all the Green jackets in a line which Kim Jong-un would have been proud of. The Association may think this utter farce was a victory for their clique however on the contrary it demonstrated their utter incompetence and shabby tactics. The matter will not go away as they hope.

G. What utter nonsense. I was sitting 2 along fom the Chairman.

There is quite a simple solution to rectify the incompetence of the committee. Take over!

I offered one of your branch the keys to the club. I now make the same offer to you!

If you think you can do a better job, take up this offer and put in the hours and hours of virtually unpaid work we do instead of constantly criticising us.

I'll be in the club from noon tomorrow, giving up more of my own time, if you wish to take up this offer but doubt very much if i'll see you.

Wee C (personal capacity)

G. What utter nonsense. I was sitting 2 along fom the Chairman.

There is quite a simple solution to rectify the incompetence of the committee. Take over!

I offered one of your branch the keys to the club. I now make the same offer to you!

If you think you can do a better job, take up this offer and put in the hours and hours of virtually unpaid work we do instead of constantly criticising us.

I'll be in the club from noon tomorrow, giving up more of my own time, if you wish to take up this offer but doubt very much if i'll see you.

What does ‘ virtually unpaid work mean? ‘

"Virtually unpaid" is an interesting term, I don't know the financial arrangements of the Hibs Club but a lot of social clubs pay their officials an honorarium so maybe that's what's meant.

From my time as a Green Jacket at the club @Brizo is right.

I can't recall the exact amount but even for the likes of me if it was wages it would worked out at less than a £1 an hour, it might have been less than 50p. There was also a meal in a local restaurant once a year. Others got more depending on their office and the amount of time they spent doing club business but to be honest it was joke amounts.

A lot of us thought it was a bit mean (being generous there lol) but I don't suppose any of us were there to make a living! We were there for the benefit of fellow Hibs supporters.

Criticise these guys for whatever you like but making/taking/whatever money out of the club is a non starter.

From my time as a Green Jacket at the club @Brizo is right.

I can't recall the exact amount but even for the likes of me if it was wages it would worked out at less than a £1 an hour, it might have been less than 50p. There was also a meal in a local restaurant once a year. Others got more depending on their office and the amount of time they spent doing club business but to be honest it was joke amounts.

A lot of us thought it was a bit mean (being generous there lol) but I don't suppose any of us were there to make a living! We were there for the benefit of fellow Hibs supporters.

Criticise these guys for whatever you like but making/taking/whatever money out of the club is a non starter.
You're right Jack, we recieve an honoraria once a year. It has improved slightly since your day but still isn't a lot of money.

You're also right that none of us do the work for the money, we do it for the Club.

What a lot of people also don't realise is the amount of time it takes to run a business like ours which has a turnover of approx £600k.

We have to deal with all sorts of legislation from employment law to risk assesments to health and safety etc. etc.

None of us are experts in any of these fields but we have to try and learn as best we can, which takes more time.

It's a thankless task made even more difficult by the constant crticism from St Pat's, a branch who have not offered 1 ordinary council member since their inception and who offer no support to the social club.

This constant battling with St Pat's has finally worn me down and i've made the difficult decision to stand down at the next AGM after working for the club for almost 30years.

Watch the queue from St Pat's executive council offering to take on the role.

You're right Jack, we recieve an honoraria once a year. It has improved slightly since your day but still isn't a lot of money.

You're also right that none of us do the work for the money, we do it for the Club.

What a lot of people also don't realise is the amount of time it takes to run a business like ours which has a turnover of approx £600k.

We have to deal with all sorts of legislation from employment law to risk assesments to health and safety etc. etc.

None of us are experts in any of these fields but we have to try and learn as best we can, which takes more time.

It's a thankless task made even more difficult by the constant crticism from St Pat's, a branch who have not offered 1 ordinary council member since their inception and who offer no support to the social club.

This constant battling with St Pat's has finally worn me down and i've made the difficult decision to stand down at the next AGM after working for the club for almost 30years.

The specific issue in hand is the way in which an assault by a club and committee member has been dealt with. A precedent has been set that an assault is only worth a very short ban from the club. I am certain non-committee members would face more severe punishment - and rightly so. You’d equally face greater punishment by the law. That’s my understanding of the EGM being called to enable a review of the club’s disciplinary policy. The outcome from the EGM appears to be that the committee are happy with said policy - is that correct (I couldn’t make EGM, so genuine question)?

You seem to have a personal vandetta and are looking for sypathy, I thought it was a assocation not a business, in my 73 years I have never read sucj garbage

my reading of the situation you’ve presented, is what’s really worn you down is having to defend a decision which has effectively defended an assault by a fellow committee member. He might be a friend so it’s possibly been a difficult time for you.

This thread has been viewed 7075 times.