The Election poll.........pt 2.

greencol

To the eighty plus folk who voted in the original thread.....
Anyone changed their mind on which party/ candidate gets your 'X' on December 12?
For any reason whatsoever.

To the eighty plus folk who voted in the original thread....
Anyone changed their mind on which party/ candidate gets your 'X' on December 12?
For any reason whatsoever.

Yes. I'm torn between Labour and the SNP.

I find the formers manifesto much more appealing and radical. The latter I worry about their impotence in the event of a Tory majority.

My preference is a UK Labour government with an independence referendum ASAP.

I find the formers manifesto much more appealing and radical. The latter I worry about their impotence in the event of a Tory majority.

I wouldn't worry about impotence. In that event we're all going to get fucked anyway.

I never have and never will change my vote because the SNP for me are the only means to the end I want.

After that my vote will most defo be up for grabs, next target for me the removal of the monarchy and any sort of class system designed tae keep some people at the top and others firmly planted at the bottom.

I actually switched from SNP to Labour,for much the same reason as everyone else,I want Indy but I'm much more concerned at getting the Tories.If 50 odd seats is the difference between Labour getting in and Bojo being next leader I'll be devastated.

Is the Labour Candidate likely to wn in your area?

assuming the tories don't have a chance in your constituency I think that's fair enough Smurf, in fact I have a similar dilemma and for me the choice becomes who is the better candidate (as opposed to party). The priority has to be to defeat the tories though and voting tactically if required.

I like Labours manifesto too and I'd love to back them, and in a proportional rep system I likely would, but there is literally no point in my area. It's Tory or SNP so my vote remains the with the Nats.

If Scotland can drive out the Tories completely it would go a long way to helping a Labour/SNP coalition in Westminster. In most constituencies I don't see any other way to achieve this than by backing the SNP, which is kind of shite but needs must.

I believe the impending Conservative government will be even crueler and more ruthless than the one in the 1980s, stopping them is far more important than political differences.

I will be voting SNP because I have came to the conclusion (at long last !) that Scotland needs to govern itself completely and take full responsibility for our future. There is no future for Scotland under Westminster rule...they don't care about Scotland.
However i'm afraid to say I think the Tories are going to win this election by a big majority and therefore we will not get another scottish independence referendum for a long time to come if we ever do at all. Most people in England want the UK out the EU fast and they will vote for Johnson because they see him as the only one who will achieve this. This is a Brexit election no matter how much opposition parties and many people don't want it to be. We are having an election in the middle of December because of Brexit, and that will be what most people (particularly in England and Wales) will be voting on.

Wonder what the outcome would be if the people of England were allowed to vote to separate from Scotland ? Anyone answer why they shouldn't?

I will be maintaining my vote for the SNP. Last election out my way saw a large swing back to Lab. They took 36.4% of the vote SNP took 34.3% with the scum tory party distant 3rd.
Its not a total disaster if Lab retain, but I really do not wish for another union party, who imo care very marginally more for Scotland that the tories, but at least there is no chance of tories or (ahem) Liberal Democrats getting in here. (the austerity voting Jo Swinson is just a jarhead :gigglle:, shes such a slaver!)
(The right wing tories running a nasty campaign using personalty politics - but the way johnson and corbyn discussed Scotland at their head to head still irks like fuck! They really dont give a monkeys.)

The SNP have also protected free prescriptions. We have the best performing A & E in the UK (ok, not hard to better Englandshire on that one), and also I really like the idea they have brought forward to protect the NHS : the proposal is to explicitly protect our NHS in all 4 UK countires in the UK. It will stipulate that, before any trade deal could come into force, the Scottish Parliament and the devolved legislatures would need to give their explicit consent.

Well played i say...but to maintain a balance, well done to labour to pledge to reduce rail travel costs. (hopefully that could swing some voters their way in the overheated economy of the south east of England

Seems to be some leaning toward Labour and their sooper dooper manifesto!
Of course , it could be a bit like the vow( forgotten already?).
I'm struggling to come to terms with how well Labour has treated this nation over the years.
Maybe someone can remind me.
100billion over 10 years?
Knock off one third of that as the cost of PFI runs and runs.
They're unionists ,too.
And that one word is enough for me to say no thanks.

It's important to draw a distinction between Labour and Scottish Labour. Scottish Labour seem to be totally useless, repeating mistakes and appointing folk I find impossible to vote for. Labour in The UK on the other hand appeal greatly to me just now. The paradox being I want to be unable to vote for them.

Put it this way, if I was in a pub or cafe and Sheila Gilmore was at one table and Tommy Shepherd at another, be more inclined to listen to Sheila. I'd be more inclined to ignore them both and grump away in the corner, but that doesn't fit into this scenario as well.
Still voting SNP with a heavy pen.

I get that libs won in East Edinburgh last time...but do they really need to post/deliver about 8 different leaflets in the post could of weeks in Corstorphine area? Would they not be better concentrating on seats they didn't win! More likely to put people off voting for the sheer number of recyclibles coming in post

No ye dinnae amigo. The SNP won it in 2015. Tommy Shepphard who was once a Labour Councillor in Hackney, London and depute Council Leader. Probably more 'left', which is relative than Gilmore. I will vote for Gilmore.

Sorry my bad..meant west Edinburgh...seen leaflets delivered almost every day I clermiston area...seemed a bit over hyped

Any thoughts on the Labour candidate in Edinburgh West?

... and @GORDONSMITH7

Any thoughts on the Labour candidate in Edinburgh West?

... and @GORDONSMITH7
Jack nae idea who the lad is or what he stands for. I do know that Ian Murray is a Blairite anti Corbyn person . If I lived in Edinburgh South I would vote for him and encourage others to do so. I guess some of you are scratching yer nappers at a Labour Party, Marxist member saying this. Over the years we and I have discussed my position on opposing Independence. I am definately not a Unionist, as amigos who know me know . Thousands of Rank and File Labour Party members are not Unionists. If your agenda against Labour is guided by right wing Blairites, Darling, and the hopeless Scottish Labour Party duds at the time and their mentalist collaboration with the Tories and Tory Lites which the left including myself opposed vehemently. Fair enough. So when folk spit out 'Unionist' as the ultimate insult on this Plant, get on with it. I will duck these spits with ease.

I’m bombarded by leaflets in inverclyde - it really pisses me off - it’s such a lazy pointless waste of time.

It’s clearly cheap and easy though.

Jack nae idea who the lad is or what he stands for. I do know that Ian Murray is a Blairite anti Corbyn person . If I lived in Edinburgh South I would vote for him and encourage others to do so. I guess some of you are scratching yer nappers at a Labour Party, Marxist member saying this. Over the years we and I have discussed my position on opposing Independence. I am definately not a Unionist, as amigos who know me know . Thousands of Rank and File Labour Party members are not Unionists. If your agenda against Labour is guided by right wing Blairites, Darling, and the hopeless Scottish Labour Party duds at the time and their mentalist collaboration with the Tories and Tory Lites which the left including myself opposed vehemently. Fair enough. So when folk spit out 'Unionist' as the ultimate insult on this Plant, get on with it. I will duck these spits with ease.

I don't have an agenda against Labour. Indeed I think and hope they would do well in an independent Scotland.

I don't like a number of individuals among the elected Labour politicians, like the Scottish Labour leader, I think he's a twat! Same goes for a few others I worked with. However there's probably a greater number I have great respect for, like Chisholm.

Nope, SNP for me, cant vote for lying branch office parties.

@BB4ALL you've just not looked in the right places for your answers. It's all out there.

Most of us no longer scratch our nappers, we despair. Independence first, then we can sort ourselves out on our terms. I fully expect a strong Scottish Socialist movement to be at the forefront of that, am no the only one.

Frankie Boyle has written an excellent piece in the Grauniad (I think it's on Twatter too) ehich I heartily recommend.

Too lengthy to post here, but......
as a wee sampler........

"Many people wish David Cameron had never called the referendum in the first place. It says a lot about how badly the last couple of years have gone, that there’s a guy who destroyed Libya, presided over needless austerity and fucked a pig, and we wish that he’d just used his own judgment."

Another Boyle who can finish with aplomb.

Frankie Boyle has written an excellent piece in the Grauniad (I think it's on Twatter too) ehich I heartily recommend.

Too lengthy to post here, but....
as a wee sampler.....

"Many people wish David Cameron had never called the referendum in the first place. It says a lot about how badly the last couple of years have gone, that there’s a guy who destroyed Libya, presided over needless austerity and fucked a pig, and we wish that he’d just used his own judgment."

Another Boyle who can finish with aplomb.
Cameron is the real architect of this coming disaster for the UK....a dreadful PM much worse than May or Johnson. Showed pathetic weakness by granting the EU referendum when it wasn't needed. Shit scared of Farage, UKIP and the right wing little Englanders in his party he gave in to them instead of seeing them off. We are about to pay a heavy price for this calamitous ill-judgement IMO.

I'm asking you all a question that you all need to think seriously about. Has anyone asked Sturgeon with her constant Independence wish what will happen the day should the SNP get Independence, where is the money coming from to finance the NHS, DWP and all it's off shoots like old age pensions, dole benefits, disability benefits etc because I think of this all the time. Where will she produce that money from should she get her wish or has she borrowed the money tree from Corbyn. The other thing to think of is even though we don't want to be run from Westminster which we are now, where has the money the SNP have receieved gone to. We have city that's roads are a fuckin disgrace, local council who think they have enough money to carry on with a tram service that serves how many and who pays for it.? You do people of Edinburgh. She lets foreigners take over our city during a festival where the majority of us say the true words of fuckin tourists and a city where you hardly hear a Scots voice in the streets or on a bus and she says the NHS in Scotland performs better than elsewhere in the UK, FUCKIN IDIOCY, plus she's given us a deficit of £12bn which we will have to pay back, oops sorry where you guys who work will have to pay back for her fuck ups in income tax. She wants to give Eastern Europeans the vote in a country they weren't born in and have a say in how it's run, fine I hear some of you say, but would you be allowed to vote in their country in an election, no you wouldn't. Of course they want them to vote and keep us in the EU. Yeah stick the SNP as far up your jacksie as it can go and whistle fuckin dixie through your nose cause that's what the SNP will give us, it'll be like the asylum being run by the inmates.

May I ask you a very important question regards the SNP please. Ok I'm going to anyway. If your leader carries on with her constant Independence motion, let's say that the people vote for Independence, next day when we are Independant Scotland who is going to pay for the NHS.? We won't have anything coming from Westminster anymore so must we all get private medical. Who will pay the benefits that many rely on including the disabled, pensioners, and the people on the dole because Westminster have stopped the payments for that. So how are people going to live.? Who is going to pay for the £12bn deficit we owe and don't be taken in by Blackfords answer that the UK govt accrued it, in the last ten years the SNP accrued it. It's a real serious set of questions that nobody has asked in these stupid fucking debates but believe me they have to be answered.
My opposition to Independence is class based, nuanced and a million miles away from your reactionary, crude and dare I suggest racist contribution.

I'm asking you all a question that you all need to think seriously about. Has anyone asked Sturgeon with her constant Independence wish what will happen the day should the SNP get Independence, where is the money coming from to finance the NHS, DWP and all it's off shoots like old age pensions, dole benefits, disability benefits etc because I think of this all the time. Where will she produce that money from should she get her wish or has she borrowed the money tree from Corbyn. The other thing to think of is even though we don't want to be run from Westminster which we are now, where has the money the SNP have receieved gone to. We have city that's roads are a fuckin disgrace, local council who think they have enough money to carry on with a tram service that serves how many and who pays for it.? You do people of Edinburgh. She lets foreigners take over our city during a festival where the majority of us say the true words of fuckin tourists and a city where you hardly hear a Scots voice in the streets or on a bus and she says the NHS in Scotland performs better than elsewhere in the UK, FUCKIN IDIOCY, plus she's given us a deficit of £12bn which we will have to pay back, oops sorry where you guys who work will have to pay back for her fuck ups in income tax. She wants to give Eastern Europeans the vote in a country they weren't born in and have a say in how it's run, fine I hear some of you say, but would you be allowed to vote in their country in an election, no you wouldn't. Of course they want them to vote and keep us in the EU. Yeah stick the SNP as far up your jacksie as it can go and whistle fuckin dixie through your nose cause that's what the SNP will give us, it'll be like the asylum being run by the inmates.

May I ask you a very important question regards the SNP please. Ok I'm going to anyway. If your leader carries on with her constant Independence motion, let's say that the people vote for Independence, next day when we are Independant Scotland who is going to pay for the NHS.? We won't have anything coming from Westminster anymore so must we all get private medical. Who will pay the benefits that many rely on including the disabled, pensioners, and the people on the dole because Westminster have stopped the payments for that. So how are people going to live.? Who is going to pay for the £12bn deficit we owe and don't be taken in by Blackfords answer that the UK govt accrued it, in the last ten years the SNP accrued it. It's a real serious set of questions that nobody has asked in these stupid fucking debates but believe me they have to be answered.
Where do you think the money is coming from? taxes and revenues raised in Scotland stay in Scotland and if you care to look rather than rant there is plenty details out there. Also you want better services it’s the ‘foreigners’ we rely on to fill the jobs in the NHS etc. and leaving the EU will affect that. Look at Ireland and other small countries that thrive on their own why can’t we? You’ve been brainwashed into believing we can’t survive on our own. Why’s that because Westminster needs us more than we need them. For Christ sake open your eyes and have some belief in Scotland and it’s people.

I wouldn't worry about impotence. In that event we're all going to get fucked anyway.
Sorry I'm getting confused her initially I put my x for what I thought was snp but I didn't have my reading glasses on.
I think I misread the title of the thread with all this talk of impotence and getting fucked is the thread actually entitled Erection pole and not infact Election poll?:g:

I am a democratic socialist and will be voting Labour. I am a committed Labour Party member and happen to be the election agent for Paul Sweeney in Glasgow North East who is defending the seat from the SNP with a majority of 242. Labour's manifesto, if we are the largest Party or win a majority and get the opportunity to implement it will be transformative for Scotland and the rest of the UK. A few policies; a Green Industrial Revolution, taking the bus and train network back into public ownership, compensating the WASPI women for pension injustice, scrapping of Universal Credit, reinstatement of Trade Union rights removed by the Tories, private sector rent control and a large increase in social and affordable housing and a £10 minimum wage. This will be paid for by higher taxes on the top 5% who earn over £80,000 per annum, the end of tax evasion by individuals corporation and trust and higher taxes on corporations.

And still no living pension, and folk on a lot less than £80000 will be paying higher taxes.Pie in the sky promises just like the rest of the UK politicians

The same Paul Sweeney who expressed his desire to hit Sturgeon with a bat? I think I'm going to vote for Sheila Gilmore on Thursday, but even though they're the same party, I doubt I'd vote for your man.

Great.
This means we'll still be in this fucking awful union.
And Scotland will have its arse up to the wind as per.
You've a bloody brass neck even mentioning the WASPI women.
Not to mention housing.

What is a WASPI woman? I honestly have no idea

Women Against State Pension Inequality.

Peter Kellner a respected pollster and Labour supporter just completely ruled out any possibility of a Labour win. Seems a Tory landslide is as likely as a hung parliament.

Got to say surely even his biggest supporters would acknowledge that Jeremy Corbyn has been dreadful in this campaign? Completely lacklustre. In that head to head with that charlatan Johnson on Friday he was given plenty opportunities to attack and he didn't. I've never been convinced he wants to be PM. The left of Labour have done some great work but FFS put in place a credible leader that can articulate your policies.

I think Corbyn has been fine, he's not the most charismatic person ever, but he's at least put himself in the firing line. Johnson on the other hand has been utterly anonymous, like Rees Mogg, because the tories know the more they speak the less they're liked.

Corbyn has done enough in the last couple of weeks to make me consider voting Labour, something I thought there was no chance of ever happening again.

I'm not sure Corbyn and his team much care about Scotland, unionist tendencies aside, they've accepted Scotland is a lost cause and are concentrating on winnable seats elsewhere.

As I said elsewhere recently, fight the battles you're likely to win.

Women Against State Pension Inequality.
Thanks for that, didnae see many Women Against State Pension Inequality oot on the streets when they could retire 5 years before men could

I think Corbyn has been fine, he's not the most charismatic person ever, but he's at least put himself in the firing line. Johnson on the other hand has been utterly anonymous, like Rees Mogg, because the tories know the more they speak the less they're liked.

Corbyn has done enough in the last couple of weeks to make me consider voting Labour, something I thought there was no chance of ever happening again.

Johnson has had a deceitful strategy to win. Corbyn hasn't.

Would you have admired Corbyn more if he had been more deceitful?

Absolutely not. However, I'd have admired him more if he had properly challenged that charlatan in the debate rather than being passive. An example being Johnson's outrageous IRA slur against Corbyn in Friday's debate on the BBC. Corbyn said nothing.... Dignified? Yes. Electorally good? Unfortunately not.

This thread has been viewed 11197 times.