Just back and that was the Hibs I love to watch

Great report 1875.
Thought it was going to be one of those days when the wee winger lost the two defenders for their goal, but this appears to be a different Hibs team yet the same players bizzare. Motherwell are a nice team to watch and I liked their two wide players 14 and 44 nae idea of their names. ??
Thought Stevenson toiled with the big winger in the first half and noticed at the start of the second half Hanlon doubled up to nullify that threat. Speaking of Hanlon he's done in my opinion. No pace and Motherwell knew it, as he was caught a few times yesterday. Maybe put a wee bid in for the St Johnstone captain in January (good hibby I believe ?)
Slivka I like, but yesterday I thought he was poor. Distribution poor at times but got stuck in at vital times. Hallberg was excellent and all over the park and had a superb game. How he wasn't man of the match is beyond me. I love Scott Allan but we don't need every pass to be a worldy.
I'm still no convinced with doidge. He actually stopped at one point in the first half running beside a Motherwell player, and shouted at Slivka to tackle him? He was good in the air but when he did win the header the gap between him and Kamberi was too big so the header went to nobody. Kamberi? Anyone on here seen him winning a header or even trying a header? He's a big bloke but never jumps for a ball. He always trys to get in front of the defender which he does well when it comes off, but try jumping for a heider now and again. ?
Great subs to bring on and I think they were brought on at just the right time.
Great first game under the new manager and we played some lovely football.
And lovely new hat 1875 ??

Get in ??

Hibs supporters are resilient and backed the team massively.
Me and my family met Pat Stanton today before the game (in good health and top form) and Rob Jones (My laddie recognised him fae YouTube videos but will regret no getting his picture taken despite the 6ft difference).
Hibs won at hame (gies it all please. Barry feeling).

View attachment 1652

Comon Hibernian. Hibernian, Hibernian ra ra ra ??
Was big rob J in a pesky blinders type hat in west stand

Great report 1875.
Thought it was going to be one of those days when the wee winger lost the two defenders for their goal, but this appears to be a different Hibs team yet the same players bizzare. Motherwell are a nice team to watch and I liked their two wide players 14 and 44 nae idea of their names. ??
Thought Stevenson toiled with the big winger in the first half and noticed at the start of the second half Hanlon doubled up to nullify that threat. Speaking of Hanlon he's done in my opinion. No pace and Motherwell knew it, as he was caught a few times yesterday. Maybe put a wee bid in for the St Johnstone captain in January (good hibby I believe ?)
Slivka I like, but yesterday I thought he was poor. Distribution poor at times but got stuck in at vital times. Hallberg was excellent and all over the park and had a superb game. How he wasn't man of the match is beyond me. I love Scott Allan but we don't need every pass to be a worldy.
I'm still no convinced with doidge. He actually stopped at one point in the first half running beside a Motherwell player, and shouted at Slivka to tackle him? He was good in the air but when he did win the header the gap between him and Kamberi was too big so the header went to nobody. Kamberi? Anyone on here seen him winning a header or even trying a header? He's a big bloke but never jumps for a ball. He always trys to get in front of the defender which he does well when it comes off, but try jumping for a heider now and again. ?
Kamberi scored with a fine header at Hampden.

Great report 1875.
44 was Andy Coles laddie I believe. 14 (Hylton, I only ken because I looked at my grandsons program) could move himself tae eh?

They both looked very good indeed
Good team m
Well and at 2-1 I honestly thought they were getting the 4 th goal
I think that is a superb result y day on so many levels not just the 3 points
First formnew manager
Win number two since paul left
Gives crowd a lift
We now win v St M
Yes
kill y yes
Ross C yes
Then buzz buzz buzz

They both looked very good indeed
Good team m
Well and at 2-1 I honestly thought they were getting the 4 th goal
I think that is a superb result y day on so many levels not just the 3 points
First formnew manager
Win number two since paul left
Gives crowd a lift
We now win v St M
Yes
kill y yes
Ross C yes
Then buzz buzz buzz

Still lashed? Jealous I am.

Watched it over and over again but wells 44 was offside and looked tae be impeding Maxell when it came off the post

And thanks for the just back. They're becoming a joy tae read again

Great report,still think the ref's a wee jobby though.

He is large ?

Kamberi scored with a fine header at Hampden.
Cheers

There’s something different aboot Rob in this picture, just Cannae put my finger on it K.

I was thinking @Power has aged since I saw him a few short weeks ago.

Slivka seems to have picked up the grunt work, I think he done a great job at what his role looked like.
But crazy wee lapses in concentration leading to him missing easy passes or having a shocking first touch.
Not really match fit so there might be more to come from him, still. Been saying that a couple seasons now though.
Good player to have in the squad for sure.

Hallberg is such a good footballer, wants the ball at every opportunity and plays that deeper playmaker role perfect. Seen that he had 100% pass accuracy in Perth, wouldn't have been far off yesterday either.

Unfortunately having to agree about Paul after yesterday too, beaten on the turn on most occasions and struggled physically. Maybe just a confidence thing, I want him to be a player who saw his whole career here though. Hes earned that, but games are more important than sentiment.

Dont think Scott Allen had a great game, didnt get to see enough of the ball, but like you said, involved in the goals when it mattered, his pass to create the assist on the second goal was top drawer and he seems to work harder for the team nowadays (filling in when either Slivka or Newell went forward)

Speaking of Newell, looks like a different player. Quite openly said hes never a player a few times on here, but he helped out defensively and put in 2 brilliant balls from wide free kicks, unlucky not to slide a couple other balls through and wasnt far off scoring. Showed some good footwork and control as well
Looks better playing a little deeper than he did as a winger anyway. Long may it continue and I too will take back everything I've said about him. Well done.

Interesting that we brought Boyle on as a striker to begin with, wholly ineffective and when Horgan joined we went to a formation with actual width.
Horgan and Boyle might struggle for game time if we keep playing a narrower style as both Doidge and Kamberi will start ahead of him up front and Allan and Mallan will start ahead of Horgan at attacking midfield.
It's not worth us switching to a conventional 442 to accommodate them both because it'll upset the centre..

Good 3 points against a hard team to play against. Held on when we needed to and scored when the time was right. Well done and keep it up Jack.

Just watching back on Sportscene and it's a wee bit worrying that Doidge actually missed his goal from a yard out - it should really go down as an og as his touch was pushing it away from goal if it wasn't for the defender being in the way. He also should have done a lot better with his second half effort. After doing so well to make space to get the shot away, hitting it straight at the keeper was poor.

Still plenty room for improvement I reckon but at least he's getting his name on the scoresheet.

After watching the highlights, it didn't show how much of the ball Motherwell had second half. Still, even at the game I did feel.We had another goal in us.
it wasn't a penalty against aRyan, but it looked like it at the game. Maxwell still doesn't sell it for me , The longer the main stream don't pick up on the diamond Hallberg, the better for us.

Reactions: Boo
After watching the highlights, it didn't show how much of the ball Motherwell had second half. Still, even at the game I did feel.We had another goal in us.
it wasn't a penalty against aRyan, but it looked like it at the game. Maxwell still doesn't sell it for me , The longer the main stream don't pick up on the diamond Hallberg, the better for us.
Possession was 51/49 Motherwell, which I was surprised at.

Great read, I made Perth last time out but was away at the weekend there so missed that game. Great tae read we were just as good again. I too will admit I'd started tae right a few of those players off even though I always thought honkinbottom was the biggest problem and so it seems tae have proved so far. Glad he's emptied and efter the last two games I'm happy tae eat my words on the players.

Hopefully mair of the same next week please now I'm back :giggley:

Just watching back on Sportscene and it's a wee bit worrying that Doidge actually missed his goal from a yard out - it should really go down as an og as his touch was pushing it away from goal if it wasn't for the defender being in the way. He also should have done a lot better with his second half effort. After doing so well to make space to get the shot away, hitting it straight at the keeper was poor.

Still plenty room for improvement I reckon but at least he's getting his name on the scoresheet.
It was actually the miss of the season so far, had it not been bundled into the net by the unfortunate well player we would be on here calling for him to be emptied in January.
The Sportscene guys let him of lightly but could not believe he missed, and if you watch the highlights you can see the sheer relief on his face as it crosses the line.

It was actually the miss of the season so far, had it not been bundled into the net by the unfortunate well player we would be on here calling for him to be emptied in January.
The Sportscene guys let him of lightly but could not believe he missed, and if you watch the highlights you can see the sheer relief on his face as it crosses the line.

Just as well he's scored 5 in 3 games then.

He's still the same guy that was getting slated for the misses against the sheep and that goal was worse than all of those misses. The guy is a Hibs player and I'll back him but anyone that thinks that he's a vastly improved player because he's scored 5 in 3 compared to the guy who scored hee haw in umpteen isn't reading the game and is just looking at numbers imo. However, having said that, confidence is huge in a striker so hopefully those numbers will help him kick on.

Eh?

Reactions: Dub
Ok I'll summarise - he's not been any better in last three games than he had been in the rest of the season.

Obviously playing 2 up front suits him and it's allowed him to get in to scoring positions.

I don't think he has upskilled, or 'turned the corner' into a top centre forward, but having Kamberi play alongside has added value to his game.

He's more a 'nuisance player' than a present day Alan Gordon.

Obviously playing 2 up front suits him and it's allowed him to get in to scoring positions.
Agreed but let's face it, if it wasn't for that Motherwell defender getting in the way, Saturday's effort would have been the miss of the decade, never mind the season.

He may not be any better or worse of a player but picture this. Take the best race car driver in the world and give him a car with a horrible setup and it makes him look like a horrible driver. Now take a good football player and give the team he plays in a horrible setup...guess what, same result.

Notice his goal last night was a deflection tae. Think I said the other day if he scores one a game wi his erse that’ll do me.

We need pace in the team at the back although lewis and hanlon have been great servants for the club I would be looking to replace them along with a Rb .
We allowed far too many crosses into the box yesterday.
I though the first half yesterday was the best we have played for along time but I got the feeling with the subs , it was a case of giving players game time as allan or kamberi didn't look tired to me.
We have to look at the bigger picture though we have done well over the last 3 games points wise and I'm confident we can win on weds.

This thread has been viewed 7965 times.