The Election Poll

Election Vote

• Greens

Votes: 1 1.1%
  • SNP

Votes: 62 68.9%
  • Labour

Votes: 14 15.6%
  • Lib Dems

Votes: 3 3.3%
  • Tory

Votes: 3 3.3%
  • Independent

Votes: 1 1.1%
  • No One

Votes: 2 2.2%
  • The Brexit Party

Votes: 4 4.4%
  • Other Nationalist

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other Unionist

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
I hope I’m wrong! Ultimate aim is Scottish independence, the uk staying in the eu will make that unlikely, a hard brexit and a big snp victory in this election might be the only way of getting it.
I don't want Johnson and the Tories back in power. I hope the SNP do well because I also would like to see scottish independence. Ultimately whether we get another indyref vote or don't is going to be decided by Westminster whether we like it or not. IMO Corbyn is more likely to grant this than Johnson. If the Tories get back in with a decent majority I just can't see another indyref vote being granted within the next parliamentary timescale.

I think that would be better as another thread topic.
Probably, it cropped up here as a reason why I wasn't voting for Cherry,because I've got a Trans friend who pleaded with me not to.

The battle between the radical feminist wing and the trans agenda really is not a political priority, imo.

I don't want Johnson and the Tories back in power. I hope the SNP do well because I also would like to see scottish independence. Ultimately whether we get another indyref vote or don't is going to be decided by Westminster whether we like it or not. IMO Corbyn is more likely to grant this than Johnson. If the Tories get back in with a decent majority I just can't see another indyref vote being granted within the next parliamentary timescale.
For all that they say the same, I pretty sure The SNP want The Tories to skoosh the election in England and The SNP to to do the same in Scotland ( obviously) It gives them the grievance that helps big time with a new referendum.
A precedence has been set with the courts getting involved in politics recently, so if the above does happen, expect The SNP to go to the courts to gain control over section 30.

When I do get out - which isn't often these days - it's Staggs. Best pub in Scotland. (according to Camra)

And I’m a wee but further round the corner. Staggs is mines tae but technically fir aw three of us it’s Levenhall arms. Went in on Saturday past after the Celtic game (first in a few years ?).

Not been in in ages. Always put off by the Caledonian Best sign outside. Yeeugh.

The battle between the radical feminist wing and the trans agenda really is not a political priority, imo.

It is if you want to change sex and your getting physical and mental abuse for it.

Scotland is effectively holding a separate election from the rest of the UK - the result will merely reinforce what we as a nation think of the ‘big two’.

At some point a wee Bounce get together....

Can any of those voting for the labour party explain why it is fine to have a 2nd referendum on continued EU membership, but not fine to have a 2nd Scottish referendum on continued United Kingdom Membership?

I vote Labour. DNA 'nall that. It is not fine to have another Referendum on continued EU membership. I voted to remain. I lost. Simple. Didn't know what we were voting for doesn't come in to it. It is not fine to have a second Scottish Referendum on continued UK membership because the SNP have not made a case for Independence based on our not being in the EU. If that is their principal criterion, then I would hazard a guess that the result may not be to their liking.

No.

I'm voting Labour, because they say they will tax the rich and big business.They say they will nationalise water, they say they will nationalise the railways.They say they will increase the minimal wage.They say they will build housing.They say they will spend billions on the NHS, they say they will do away with academys. They say they will give every adult the right to six years higher education free.They will have a fair and just immigration policy,they will support our trade unions, they will introduce free prescriptions throughout the UK and they will end Tory austerity.It's not Socialism, but it's a hell of a lot better than anyone else is offering.I think they should back the brexit vote, say no to trident and grant Scotland a second ref.I think If Corbyn gets in that will be far more likely than 5 more years of Boris, and so they get my vote.

Vast majority are good enough reasons for me too Moaty.

Better than anyone else is offering?
Free higher education. It is already . In Scotland.
Free prescriptions. I dont pay for mine and havent done for a long time. In Scotland.
Tax the rich. I think the Scottish Govt. has been castigated for doing this ? As an aside, I now pay LESS tax.
Build housing. Doing so . In Scotland.
End Tory austerity. Trying hard to do so. In Scotland.
No Trident. I think its removal is a certainty in an Independent Scotland.
No mention of pensions , Moaty? Maybe the £355 is a bridge too far for Labour, Tories or Lib Dems.

All admirable. But no way is any government doing all of that ( probably not even half) in one term. Which is the problem I've got with them all. Over promise when asking for our vote, then do nothing like that in office.

The UK Government elected 1945 did a hell of a lot in one term!

It did indeed, K.
Probably the most done on any manifesto.
His biggest problem ....which saw him ousted .....was lack of cash.
The war roasted Britain. Germany and other axis countries had the yankee dollar to help them rebuild.
We had nowt.
How the fuck they thought Churchill was going to do any better in 1951 is anybody's guess.

Better than anyone else is offering?
Free higher education. It is already . In Scotland.
Free prescriptions. I dont pay for mine and havent done for a long time. In Scotland.
Tax the rich. I think the Scottish Govt. has been castigated for doing this ? As an aside, I now pay LESS tax.
Build housing. Doing so . In Scotland.
End Tory austerity. Trying hard to do so. In Scotland.
No Trident. I think its removal is a certainty in an Independent Scotland.
No mention of pensions , Moaty? Maybe the £355 is a bridge too far for Labour, Tories or Lib Dems.
The SNP trying hard to end austerity?I'll remember that the next time I pass an ex squaddie in Prince's St telling me they are hunrgry and homeless.That's if they are still alive.I'll tell it to the NHS workers who waited about 5 years to get a pay rise only to be told it'll be 3% over 3 years,and I'll tell it to the billionaires living in Scotland who pay little or no tax.

You do know that the plural of anecdote is not data?

The SNP are essentially a Scottish version of New Labour. Timid and managerial.

Tae be fair homeless ex military isnae the fault of the SNP, as for tax everybody should pay their whack. I honestly dont know if the solution to tax avoidance/ creative accountancy is in the hands of the Scottish or UK govt. The M.O.D. and the government should be doing a lot more to help homeless squaddies many of whom have got mental health problems and the SNP are the only major party to address the piss poor pension , unfortunately I wouldnt benefit. I'm always a bit wary of politicians that promise tae throw money at everything just before an election, renationalisation, NHS,house building, minimum wage,6 years free education for adults which I would assume includes supporting them while they're getting their free education. It all costs money and instead of a scatter gun approach which means nothing will get done properly they should concentrate on getting fewer things done well. As for the minimum wage , certainly the days of cheap labour and zero hours contracts should be behind us but how can politicians shout that 18000 a year is the minimum workers need to live on and say nothing about pensioners surviving on 8000 a year.I really wish the leader of the labour party was someone between Blair and Corbyn politically but if I've got a brexit supporting independent candidate I'll probably vote for them.

Why was the squaddie hungry and homeless?

I do know that the Scottish Government, under all the parties I worked under, work in partnership to reduce the likelihood of that happening. The Scottish Government also contribute handsomely towards an English military hospital, or at least a NHS hospital that specialises in ex armed forces. I also know that the Scottish Prison Service run recruitment sessions with the Army, or at least used to.

The NHS workers in Scotland are better paid than their counterparts in other parts of the UK. Has Labour vowed (lol) to match Scottish wages in Wales, no, or England if they form a government, no. Tell your pals to stay where the are in the best performing UK healthcare system!

If the billionaires in Scotland pay their taxes honestly they'll pay a bit more than they would do elsewhere in the UK. If they are evading tax, not paying what they should, that's the responsibility of a UK government department over which the Scottish Government, of any colour, has no control.

I can understand you wouldn't know about the Forces stuff but you should at least be aware of the rest.

You do know that the plural of anecdote is not data?
You do know that my 'anecdotes'are based on fact?

Ok here's one for you,the CWU after a 97% turnout for strike action have been told by the High Court brought by Royal Mail that their strike is unlawful.This sets a precedent for striking right throughout the UK.Now I know what Jeremy Corbyn and Labour think of this action.They are behind the workers.They are also behind the UCU union who are planning to strike later in the month.Now where do the SNP stand on these strikes?Nobody knows because the SNP would like to distance themselves from strike action.They had little to say on the recent EIS strike,but then again that's not new from the SNP.They had little to say on OilC.They had little to do with Timex and very little to say on the miners strike.

Folk casting up Clement Atlee from 1945 and Timex from 26 years ago. Retro!

Ok here's one for you,the CWU after a 97% turnout for strike action have been told by the High Court brought by Royal Mail that their strike is unlawful.This sets a precedent for striking right throughout the UK.Now I know what Jeremy Corbyn and Labour think of this action.They are behind the workers.They are also behind the UCU union who are planning to strike later in the month.Now where do the SNP stand on these strikes?Nobody knows because the SNP would like to distance themselves from strike action.They had little to say on the recent EIS strike,but then again that's not new from the SNP.They had little to say on OilC.They had little to do with Timex and very little to say on the miners strike.
The only way your political dreams have a chance of coming to fruition is if you vote SNP and gain independence and then vote Scottish labour or whatever . The sad reality is Scottish voters have little or no impact on the eventual outcome of a UK election, since the war , in way over 50% of elections Scotland has been governed by a party that the majority of Scots didn't vote for. By the way I agree with you on the Royal Mail, disgusting.

Tell the ex soldiers about this...
www.thetimes.co.uk
Web results
Armed forces charities sit on reserves of £275 million.
And defence is Westminsters baby.
The NHS payrise is 3% this year, 2.85% next ,and 2.9% the following year.
Remember , Moaty. This is done on the pocket money Scotland is given.
They're all fucking heart. Labour , Tories, lib dems. Brexit party, monster loonies too most likely.

The SNP are essentially a Scottish version of New Labour. Timid and managerial.
Maybe in an Independent Scotland Labour will grow some balls and be what they're supposed to be.
The party of the working man. Instead of the insipid Tory version they've become.

The only way your political dreams have a chance of coming to fruition is if you vote SNP and gain independence and then vote Scottish labour or whatever . The sad reality is Scottish voters have little or no impact on the eventual outcome of a UK election, since the war , in way over 50% of elections Scotland has been governed by a party that the majority of Scots didn't vote for. By the way I agree with you on the Royal Mail, disgusting.

100% agree

More social housing built in Scotland last year than England.

Let that sink in.

Keep going Moaty.
You're bound to find SNP bad somewhere .
Why did the courts give that verdict?
Possibly because someone fucked up the voting process?
I'm a member of a TU. I've been a Shop Steward in my time. I'm not against standing up for workers and their rights.
First thing the Full time union official told me when I took on the job of Shop Steward was;
'Make sure you have dotted every 'I', and crossed every fucking 'T' ,because if you havent, you'll get found out PDQ'.
Good advice.

Tell the ex soldiers about this...
www.thetimes.co.uk
Web results
Armed forces charities sit on reserves of £275 million.
And defence is Westminsters baby.
The NHS payrise is 3% this year, 2.85% next ,and 2.9% the following year.
Remember , Moaty. This is done on the pocket money Scotland is given.
They're all fucking heart. Labour , Tories, lib dems. Brexit party, monster loonies too most likely.
3% of eff all is eff all.Labour say they will spend billions more on the NHS,voting SNP won't guarentee Corbyn winning but I can guarentee if the tories get back in the whole NHS will be up for grabs.I can also guarentee if Corbyn gets in but it's a hung parliement Labour will almost certainly do a deal with SNP for a second Ref.

O.K.
Labour will spend billions.
Across the UK.
We'll still get a block grant.
Maybe you'll have to explain to a thicko like me as to how Scotland will be better off.
Please dont quote the Vow.....

O.K.
Labour will spend billions.
Across the UK.
We'll still get a block grant.
Maybe you'll have to explain to a thicko like me as to how Scotland will be better off.
Please dont quote the Vow....
To be fair if Labour were to spend billions Westminster would have to increase the Scottish Governments pocket money by millions.

First reasonable thing he's said in an odd the SNP/Green Government alliance will get more money sort of way.

To be fair if Labour were to spend billions Westminster would have to increase the Scottish Governments pocket money by millions.

First reasonable thing he's said in an odd the SNP/Green Government alliance will get more money sort of way.
Their generosity is stunning ,Jack.
So much so ,Corbyn has said there will be no Independence referendum for at least 2 years after the election.
Should he by some freak chance get to be PM.
Ah well. Theres one up for Moaty.
Never mind the others that have been debunked on here.

Their generosity is stunning ,Jack.
So much so ,Corbyn has said there will be no Independence referendum for at least 2 years after the election.
Should he by some freak chance get to be PM.
Ah well. Theres one up for Moaty.
Never mind the others that have been debunked on here.

As I saw it he said no, then it was it's up to the Scottish people to decide, then it was to be some confidence and supply deal, then not in the first term, then something to do with the next Holyrood elections which may or may not match with what you said.

And all the while the English spokesperson for the Scottish branch has always said no! Although he probably wasn't able to keep up with all the memos from London. Or maybe London just forgot he existed!

Free broadband for everyone?Where do I put the cross?

Alot of folk deeply suspicious of all the offers Labour are making, including me. All sounds too good to be true. Maybe it is, or maybe we've been programmed by too many years of getting fuck all from a bunch of toerags that a genuine alternative seems to be too far fetched.

We'll never know, because England won't vote him in.

More social housing built in Scotland last year than England.

Let that sink in.

Would be interesting to see how many of these homes went to Scottish people however.

This thread has been viewed 29754 times.