Berlin

Go to Prater Garten for a pint, superb beer garden

Added to the list, thanks!

We booked it through Viator Berlin Mitte walking tour:
You can check it out on their website.They allow up to about 16 people per guide.It was very good and the guide could answer most questions asked of him.

Off later this week, any last minute advice?

Hofbräu is also worth a visit for a Stein and a scran and some oompah music. The pork knuckle is delicious.

Don't forget to take some paper hankies in your hand luggage, you'll be amazed how hamdy they canbe travelling.

Und viel Spass!

Recommend the Stasi Museum in Lichtenberg. Along the far end of Karl Marx Allee heading east from Alexanderplatz.
And get out of the centre - East Kreuzberg, Freidreichshain always interesting for an explore, and go further east to watch Union Berlin if you get the chance

Hofbräu is also worth a visit for a Stein and a scran and some oompah music. The pork knuckle is delicious.

Its next door to my hotel, I plan to do the whole oompah music, thigh slapping, beer drinking, pork knuckle thing one evening.

Don't forget to take some paper hankies in your hand luggage, you'll be amazed how hamdy they canbe travelling.

Und viel Spass!

A Viz top tip, I keep them in a special flap.

Recommend the Stasi Museum in Lichtenberg. Along the far end of Karl Marx Allee heading east from Alexanderplatz.
And get out of the centre - East Kreuzberg, Freidreichshain always interesting for an explore, and go further east to watch Union Berlin if you get the chance

UB are not playing sadly, will maybe do the Stasi thing.

Colin Jock or Frankie? :unsure:

Going for 5 days at the end of this month.

Anyone recommend anything to do apart from visit Berghain obviously...

Cheers
Invade Poland!

As way of an update, we had a fantatstic time everyone thanks for your hints., superb city. Will need to go back didnae have time to do half the things suggestested.

Hotel up past Alexanderplatz was ace, loved the Bundestag Tour, the 5 hour Insider walking tour was excellent, the Topography of Terror harrowing, superb transport infrastructure but enjoyed walking round I have to say. Enjoyed copious beers around Mitte and up at Mauerpark Flea market, loved the Prater Beergarden, sat in 24oC temperatures there! The free Berliner Pilsner in the hotel was tanned daily, I even liked the slightly fucked up currywurst!

I stumbled on Dinamo Berlin's old stadium, although had nae time to see any fitba other than Russia Scotland in the only shite bar I think there is in Berlin, flat, expensive beer in Belushi's (same chain as the one in Market Street it turns out), no something you see in Germany much!

Berlin - go, its highly recommended!

This thread has been viewed 6945 times.