New tellies

No had a new telly in the livingroom for 8 years, looking at 49 to 55 inch Full HD.

I have had a 43inch Panasonic Viera all this time, works first time every time, would go Panasonic again. Decently priced one in Argos at the moment.

Any recommendations?

No had a new telly in the livingroom for 8 years, looking at 49 to 55 inch Full HD.

I have had a 43inch Panasonic Viera all this time, works first time every time, would go Panasonic again. Decently priced one in Argos at the moment.

Any recommendations?
I've got a 55" Panasonic Viera plasma. About 2 years old. Good telly but the more modern Samsungs have a better range of apps that are more in line with what you'd use on a smartphone. The 4K ones are getting more affordable too

Got a new toshiba a couple of months ago, decent tv, shite remote.

Bought a Panasonic 49 inch smart telly in March.
Probably the same thing you're looking at ,Mark.
It's fine.

Costco got some deals on the now. Worth a look

Not a member there?

Down to a 49 inch panasonic or LG both at Argos, the LGis £80 dearer?

You asking me which one?
A guy who lives near Eberdeen.
No brainer.

You asking me which one?
A guy who lives near Eberdeen.
No brainer.

:27: :3:

Samsung 55 4k

Broadband not good enough to support 4k

Not a member there?

Missing out on big tellys and big pizzas!

I have an LG and it is an excellent tv picture wise, but struggles for volume. Paired with an LG sound bar it’s superb.

I've always gone LG for TVs, plus if you use netflix, Netflix's 4k looks best on LG through some partnership.

Havent looked at a tv for a while though, so not sure what would be worth a recommendation... if I look, I'll want something :53:

Glens, Hutchison’s, Robertson’s, and Stepek ?

Seriously though, one tip is to watch out for with LED TVs is the “vertical banding” effect you get with some TVs, which is particularly noticeable when watching Sport as the camera pans across the pitch/fairway or whatever.

From what I can tell this is a bit of a luck of the draw thing that isn’t particular to one brand (something to do with the rolling process?) If you’re buying from a shop get them to prove to you this isn’t an issue before buying, if buying online test for it straight away and send back if it’s noticeable.

Samsung 55 4k

Broadband not good enough to support 4k
I wouldnae pay 4k for any telly.

Have you checked John Lewis’s prices? They still offer a 5 year warranty on all TV’s.

I've had a 50" Samsung telly for a few years now. It was an early smart telly, way too smart for me at the time! I've caught up with it, there doesn't seem to be any great need to change :))

I was a Samsung slag at the time. I'm not sure, if I had to replace the telly now I'd be so fussy about the brand.

I'd do some research around the stuff I'd want the telly to be capable of then buy the cheapest* that ticked most boxes.

Things just don't break down they way they used to. There's probably little difference in the picture quality that wouldn't be fixed by a trip to the optician!

* If there wasn't much in it I'd probably still go for a Samsung!I

Edit: when I'm in a telly shop I still drool over the huge sized ones. I don't see any difference in quality.

Try richer sounds I’m sure there is one in Edinburgh chambers street it’s on I had a few TVs and hi from there they are very well priced New 2019 TVs at Richer Sounds

Thanks, I looked there, they were the same price as Argos, which is closer to where I live.

Thanks, I looked there, they were the same price as Argos, which i scloser to where I live.

I've got a Costco card if you want to buy there?

Will have a look at that at lunchtime, thanks!

Agree, Richer sounds is a good shop, its online as well.

Just remember that the most important part of the telly is the subject material of the progs you watch. Yhe rest is tweaking.

Agree, Richer sounds is a good shop, its online as well.

Just remember that the most important part of the telly is the subject material of the progs you watch. Yhe rest is tweaking.

Had a look online, got a cracking deal on an LG (as recommended by Hammy and a few others), free delivery too, thanks everyone!

If you are a private member here Lugless, you will know the TV system I have. ?

Panasonic every time. Last one I bought was a 65". It's barry. Last 3 tellys I've had have all been panasonic. Best picture out of all the tellys. Which can be subjective to a certain extent. And certainly is the case for my eyes.

And, aye, Richersounds is the place to get it.

Ooops, bit late to this!

I bought and LG from Richer Sounds, I was planning to get a Panasonic from Argos. :happy-1:

The LGs are amazing, and I'd go for that after a Panasonic. You get the most for your money with an LG.

Thanks, I looked there, they were the same price as Argos, which is closer to where I live.
I just loved and now went on that ao.com
Not a great make technip or something got a 65” for £499 got all the amazon Netflix blah blah great picture though and next day delivery

I just loved and now went on that ao.com
Not a great make technip or something got a 65” for £499 got all the amazon Netflix blah blah great picture though and next day delivery
Moved not loved ha ha

Telly arrived, set it all up to watch Scotland. Stupid stand design means I have to buy a new tv unit. Fucking LG ma hole.

Back with my auld Panasonic.

Lucky Richer Sounds accept returns.

Bummer!

Telly arrived, set it all up to watch Scotland. Stupid stand design means I have to buy a new tv unit. Fucking LG ma hole.

Sounds like LG BT probs Nark?

So close to brilliance.

Ach ah dunno what chanel it was on, no.9 mebbe in Scozia

That's what you get for trying to be a show off!
Throwing 80 splonders away for nowt!
Nearly gave me another arrest at the fucking thought!

That's what you get for trying to be a show off!
Throwing 80 splonders away for nowt!
Nearly gave me another arrest at the fucking thought!

Ended up they were the same price, with "pay day discount", swapping them over today all going well.

Ah ,well. I'm sure you'll manage to whack the 80 quid tonight.
Stretch will be all over you like a bad suit .

Ah ,well. I'm sure you'll manage to whack the 80 quid tonight.
Stretch will be all over you like a bad suit .

New clean living me, I very much doubt it!

So what is oled and qled , bit jump in price for them . Whats most important spec to look for .
My 48 viera packed in 3 months before warrenty ran out , so voucher to be picked up . Who knows what value will be ?
Paid 899 4 three qtr years ago

So what is oled and qled , bit jump in price for them . Whats most important spec to look for .
My 48 viera packed in 3 months before warrenty ran out , so voucher to be picked up . Who knows what value will be ?
Paid 899 4 three qtr years ago
Both OLED and qled tell you they're the best thing since sliced loaf.
Bring back black and white(grey)valve TV, and 405 lines.

This thread has been viewed 5343 times.