Boris and Brexit

Down here we had an excellent MP in Callum Kerr (SNP) for too short a time before the Tories blustered back in with their Brexit bluffing. Callum is getting ready for an election and I’m confident he will be returned as MP for Roxburghshire soon enough.

Poll tomorrow suggesting snp +17 seats
Not particularly surprising.
I can't see the Labour/Tory collusion working a second time.

Poll tomorrow suggesting snp +17 seats

What’s that take them to? 52 maybe?

Yes I think so.

Target seats are:F80B2D8E-E25E-44BD-9B25-5E353B146E39.png

Better get out the cutlery.

Why?

Can I get this right ?...the last UK wide opinion poll put Labour at 25% and they are the third party in Scotland now.
How can they possibly win a GE with that sort of rating ? I also think Johnson will form an electoral pact with Farage's mob to try to enable them to win a majority and get their no-deal Brexit through. I really hope I am wrong and Labour can win a national poll but they are going to have to go some judging by these poll ratings.

Not particularly surprising.
I can't see the Labour/Tory collusion working a second time.
It is a different Labour Party mate. You never heard in that period people in high office in the Party say as Corbyn and McDonnell said about not standing in the way, while not supporting Independence. I was disgusted that Labour were involved with Tories and Tory Lite. Just before the Ref. I was on Leith Links at Leith Festival and met Mark Lazarowicz my MP at the time who attended a 'No' tent thang. He knew me, however you are backing a Deuce I told him, Labour will suffer because of this Blairite shit. He disagreed. He lost his seat to the SNP.

I watched the whole PMQ today. Corbyn utterly battered Boris the Buffoon. He never answered once Corbyn 's requesting for publishing documentation regarding shortages in food, medicine etc with a hard brexit on three ocassions. He went mental whilst loosing the arguments. Following this Ian Blackford got the same blistering guff from the boy Boris. Asked about him ensuring the government would support the result tonight. Asked twice. No answer, just rubbish attacks on the Scottish Government. What an arse.

If Labour are nailed on to win the next election why do they suddenly seem so unsure about having one?

Because you'll be eating your words.

If Labour are nailed on to win the next election why do they suddenly seem so unsure about having one?
It's called being smart.

Given how totally shit the conservatives are just now, why aren’t labour 20/25 % ahead in any polls?

20+% behind according to rubbish pollsters in 2017. Oh really, O'Reilly. Watch this space.

Don’t think that’s accurate. 10% maybe.

Timing.

Boris, the lying Tory bastard, gets his GE with a date of 14 October through Parliament. Then he amends the date to November and allows a no deal Brexit to go through by default.

He then wins the election on the back of a 'successful' Brexit.

No deal vote goes through, Brexit doesn't go through on Halloween, Boris forced to seek an extension to Brexit. Boris fails in his "do or die" Brexit, Tory revolution while at the same time as a GE.

Best chance of a non Tory government in the face of an ever increasing England for the Little Englander gammons in Englandshire.

Couple of bits of different polling info floating about on Twitter the night.....

afeff40ff8e3c80f78ef3b940e6ae827.jpg
cbde874867502c39dbaca73d581921b9.jpg

Couple of bits of different polling info floating about on Twitter the night....

afeff40ff8e3c80f78ef3b940e6ae827.jpg

This just highlights the lunacy of our system. A drop in the % of voters for the bastards, but an increase in the number of seats. Labour drop less in % terms and drop 81 seats.

Wish I hadn't read this thread.

:43:

Poor Boris.
His brother has quit as an MP.
Torn between Family ,and the National interest.

They're all arseholes, boris the buffoon sailing far too close tae trump, although he's the only leader supporting Brexit, Corbyn for 2 years now just disagreeing wi' everything and shouting for an election, got his chance now and shiteing it. Lib dems totally ignoring the referendum result and trying tae stop Brexit completely. And I just dinnae get the SNP stance, not wanting to be part of a 60 million union where scotlands 5 million voices dinnae count but happy tae be part of an even more populous union where scotlands voice will count even less. I support the SNP but cannae support their stance on the EU

I get the sentiment but its not quite how I see it. Johnson is a buffoon but is also very very dangerous, in the sense of clearly having some fascistic tendencies. He has made the Tories an English nationalist party with some worrying bedfellows. Much as I have criticisms of Corbyn, this one is a little off. It would make no sense to expend all this political energy stopping no deal and then agree to an election that might mean no deal happens prior to that election. That’d just be daft. Lib dems have always been tory lite, refused deals with all labour leaders, Brown, Miliband and Corbyn but never rule out deals and coalitions with the Tories. They are one of the midwives of Brexit with their austerity coalition government. But being solidly remain it seems reasonable for them to be remain now. If the ref had gone the other way farage et al would still be advocating leave, as he said before the vote. I tend to agree re the SNP view on the EU. What they should say in my view is what they said about many other things, this will be up to the Scottish people to decide after independence. Same as nato and the monarchy. But what they want is both change and the visage of no change simultaneously.

Can any actually answer how it is that for decades Corbyn was a complete anti EU politician.....and suddenly he is Pro EU!

Im pretty sure his financial records would give a clue.

If UK left EU with no deal,it would supposedly have the same effect as the poorest 19 countries leaving the EU at the same time......COLLAPSE!

EU are obviously bribing alot of these self serving pricks in the Government.

I get the sentiment but its not quite how I see it. Johnson is a buffoon but is also very very dangerous, in the sense of clearly having some fascistic tendencies. He has made the Tories an English nationalist party with some worrying bedfellows. Much as I have criticisms of Corbyn, this one is a little off. It would make no sense to expend all this political energy stopping no deal and then agree to an election that might mean no deal happens prior to that election. That’d just be daft. Lib dems have always been tory lite, refused deals with all labour leaders, Brown, Miliband and Corbyn but never rule out deals and coalitions with the Tories. They are one of the midwives of Brexit with their austerity coalition government. But being solidly remain it seems reasonable for them to be remain now. If the ref had gone the other way farage et al would still be advocating leave, as he said before the vote. I tend to agree re the SNP view on the EU. What they should say in my view is what they said about many other things, this will be up to the Scottish people to decide after independence. Same as nato and the monarchy. But what they want is both change and the visage of no change simultaneously.
that’s my worry - that Boris is the beginning of a fascist rule in uk/ England

I just dinnae get the SNP stance, not wanting to be part of a 60 million union where scotlands 5 million voices dinnae count but happy tae be part of an even more populous union where scotlands voice will count even less. I support the SNP but cannae support their stance on the EU

I would say the fact that 62% of voters in Scotland backed staying in the EU is a fairly solid starting point for why the SNP stance is pro-EU.
As for Scotland's voice counting less than in the UK, save for the rare occasion where English MPs are totally tied on something Scotland has no voice in Westminster. In the EU, certainly on anything important, every single member has to agree in addition to the simple fact that an Independent Scotland within the EU would have control over the majority of powers, compared to the handful it has within the UK.

One key thing for me has always been that if the government/people of Scotland want to leave the UK we have to ask permission from the UK to even let us have a vote on the matter. If an Independent Scotland in the EU wished to leave we could, and more importantly it would be us discussing the details of that leaving rather than Westminster.

Which leads to something I am curious about, what you feel is acceptable relations with the EU? Are you full on "no-deal" or would you be of a mind to have Scotland try to be in one of the existing economic relationship groups such as Norway and Sweden, Switzerland, Canada, etc.?

News reporting that if a law is passed so we cannot exit without a deal then Boris could be jailed if he tries...only thing left surely is him to resign then? Would that force an election?

Can any actually answer how it is that for decades Corbyn was a complete anti EU politician.....and suddenly he is Pro EU!

Im pretty sure his financial records would give a clue.

If UK left EU with no deal,it would supposedly have the same effect as the poorest 19 countries leaving the EU at the same time.....COLLAPSE!

EU are obviously bribing alot of these self serving pricks in the Government.

Because the leader of the Labour Party like the leader of the SNP in Parliament do not make policy, the respective annual Conferences do. I cannot comment about the Tories or the Tory lites.

Its nice that nobody could answer the question inregard to Corbyns switch from remain to leave!

Just really shows how the left really is!

There is no explanation for it!

Boris will be getting paranoid.
Rudd throws in the towel.

Its nice that nobody could answer the question inregard to Corbyns switch from remain to leave!

Tbh I’m not sure anyone gives a fuck what you think.

You Corbyns spin doctor?
In post 102 you had him remaining, and in post 107 you have him leaving?
Whichever it is, he still wont beat Boris at lying.
Mans a superstar in the lying stakes.
And a fuckwit, to boot.

I did grow up kid.

Boris will be getting paranoid.
Rudd throws in the towel.
Call me cynical, which I am L, but she has a wafer thin 346 majority in Hastings over Labour.

Nothing cynical for me, G.
Unless shes a God in her constituency, shes buggered.
If she hitches on to the Lib Dems, they'll have to find another seat for her to contest.

Nothing cynical for me, G.
Unless shes a God in her constituency, shes buggered.
If she hitches on to the Lib Dems, they'll have to find another seat for her to contest.
Like they have for Chuka and the other scab imposter Berger. Her Merseyside Constituency Labour Party was getting rid before she started the triple jump...Labour, Change UK, Tory lite. She was parachuted into Wallasey several years ago, which she had never heard of and will do the same at the behest of the Tory lites, is this a freefall parachuting record?

Because you'll be eating your words.

I am not filled with confidence in the winning chances of a party that is scared of having an election. But as I say, I’m wrong a lot. Let’s see.

Tbh I’m not sure anyone gives a fuck what you think.

Facts dont sit well with lefties.

Judging by your response....your one of these braindead idiots

The man answered your question. What more do you need?

Yeah, I’m a huge Marxist. ?

Incidentally. 1 billion pm to the EU. Side of THAT bus, 350m pw. Math don’t add up.

Sodjur up sonny boy.

Anyway, Amber Rudd, the woman that gave you the Windrush debacle and the Universal Credit Mess.No great loss.

This thread has been viewed 32203 times.