Recruitment failure and Success

SuperTortolano

Here is a detailed list of our recruitment and transfers since 2015. From my count, Ive got 19 successful players signed, and 26 failures. Obviously it's not cut and dry that way as some of the successful loan deals we couldn't sign permanently, like McNulty and Omeonga. Again these assessments are purely my opinion, Ive tried to assess the players as fairly as possible. I suspect players like Mallan and Slivka might be split between fans. Thomson was IMO a failure, but marked neutral. Of the 19 successful players, 10 were from the Scottish league or had played and been successful in the league.
So with these rough numbers, we have about a 40% success rate signing players. Over half the players we sign are duds. These numbers could easily be tweaked and debated among fans, but don't see the changes being much. So with that being said, the most important part of any football club is recruitment. The product on the park is the bottom line. That determines a good season or bad season. So with these numbers, its simply not good enough. We should be looking to be signing between 60-65% successful players. Whoever is in charge of recruitment is a failure, the numbers don't lie. Whoever is in charge of overseeing recruitment is a failure too. This should not be allowed to happen on a consistent basis like this.

I'd like to mention @Power and see if he would be willing to bring this list to the attention of Big Ron. Forget Dempster, I think him seeing this with his own eyes might be an eye opener. Also I'd like to leave this here for bouncers to debate and change the list. Lets debate it sensibly and bring a proper list to the attention of the owner. The people in charge of recruitment shouldn't get a single penny to spend going forward.

2015/2016

McGinn- Success
Reguero- Failure
Virtanen- Failure
Dagnell- Failure
Carmichael- Failure
Bartley- Success
Thomson- Neutral
Keatings - Success
Boyle - Success
McGregor- Success
McGeouch- Success
Henderson- Success
Anier- Failure
Insall- Failure
Gunnarsson- Neutral
Eckersley- Failure
Logan - Success

2016/2017

Marciano- Success
Slivka - Failure
Whitaker- Failure
Swanson- Failure
Murray- Failure
Stokes- Success
Ambrose- Success
Matulevicius- Failure
MacLaren- Failure
Barker- Neutral
Kamberi- Success
Rherras- Failure

2018/2019

Mallan- Neutral
Milligan- Success
Omeonga- Success
Horgan- Success
McNulty- Success
Gauld- Failure
Hyndman- Failure
Bodgan- Success
Bigiriama- Failure
Agyepong- Failure
Johnson- Failure
Mavrais- Failure
Spector- Failure
Nelom- Failure

2019/2020

Maxwell- Neutral
Allan- Success
Newell- Failure
Jackson- Failure
Vela- Failure
James- Success
Middleton- Failure
Doidge- Neutral

Here is a detailed list of our recruitment and transfers since 2015. From my count, Ive got 19 successful players signed, and 26 failures. Obviously it's not cut and dry that way as some of the successful loan deals we couldn't sign permanently, like McNulty and Omeonga. Again these assessments are purely my opinion, Ive tried to assess the players as fairly as possible. I suspect players like Mallan and Slivka might be split between fans. Thomson was IMO a failure, but marked neutral. Of the 19 successful players, 10 were from the Scottish league or had played and been successful in the league.
So with these rough numbers, we have about a 40% success rate signing players. Over half the players we sign are duds. These numbers could easily be tweaked and debated among fans, but don't see the changes being much. So with that being said, the most important part of any football club is recruitment. The product on the park is the bottom line. That determines a good season or bad season. So with these numbers, its simply not good enough. We should be looking to be signing between 60-65% successful players. Whoever is in charge of recruitment is a failure, the numbers don't lie. Whoever is in charge of overseeing recruitment is a failure too. This should not be allowed to happen on a consistent basis like this.

I'd like to mention @Power and see if he would be willing to bring this list to the attention of Big Ron. Forget Dempster, I think him seeing this with his own eyes might be an eye opener. Also I'd like to leave this here for bouncers to debate and change the list. Lets debate it sensibly and bring a proper list to the attention of the owner. The people in charge of recruitment shouldn't get a single penny to spend going forward.

2015/2016

McGinn- Success
Reguero- Failure
Virtanen- Failure
Dagnell- Failure
Carmichael- Failure
Bartley- Success
Thomson- Neutral
Keatings - Success
Boyle - Success
McGregor- Success
McGeouch- Success
Henderson- Success
Anier- Failure
Insall- Failure
Gunnarsson- Neutral
Eckersley- Failure
Logan - Success

2016/2017

Marciano- Success
Slivka - Failure
Whitaker- Failure
Swanson- Failure
Murray- Failure
Stokes- Success
Ambrose- Success
Matulevicius- Failure
MacLaren- Failure
Barker- Neutral
Kamberi- Success
Rherras- Failure

2018/2019

Mallan- Neutral
Milligan- Success
Omeonga- Success
Horgan- Success
McNulty- Success
Gauld- Failure
Hyndman- Failure
Bodgan- Success
Bigiriama- Failure
Agyepong- Failure
Johnson- Failure
Mavrais- Failure
Spector- Failure
Nelom- Failure

2019/2020

Maxwell- Neutral
Allan- Success
Newell- Failure
Jackson- Failure
Vela- Failure
James- Success
Middleton- Failure
Doidge- Neutral
Great assessment, but also disturbing that our recruitment team have failed so many times. In the real world that percentage of success or lack off would bring instant dismal but it’s not in our DNA , we just keep rolling along, come on Big Ron show us you want success both on and of the park or get used to a half empty Easter Road, not a threat a fact. As the saying goes “ You cannot make chicken soup out of chicken shit “

Interesting list. It would be great to know how many were identified by Mathie et al and how many by the managers.
I wouldn’t argue with your list and labelling other than to say one or two are ‘insurance signings’ picked up cheap just for cover and in the hope they would never really be needed. Not sure they are fails as they fulfilled that role perfectly!

Interesting list, would say Gunnarsson was a success

Did Fyvie not sign in 2015?

I'm not sure our % success/failure is all that bad TBH? You could compile similar list for all the other PL teams and it would be interesting to see how we compared, certainly better than the gunts with their massive squad and scattergun approach to signings in recent years. I concede the last window looks to have been mostly failures for us though!

Interesting list. It would be great to know how many were identified by Mathie et al and how many by the managers.
I wouldn’t argue with your list and labelling other than to say one or two are ‘insurance signings’ picked up cheap just for cover and in the hope they would never really be needed. Not sure they are fails as they fulfilled that role perfectly!

I did think about that and it’s a bit of a head scratcher. Why don’t we just use the youngsters for that role. We had the full backs like Nelom and the other guy sitting getting paid for nowt, all the while young Mackie was on par or better.

Aye, you could debate some of the detail but overall fair.

Before I'd criticise our recruitment process though I'd want to see how well our rivals faired. However I don't think anyone on here would be expert enough to make a judgement on the likes of the sheep or gunts.

Aye, you could debate some of the detail but overall fair.

Before I'd criticise our recruitment process though I'd want to see how well our rivals faired. However I don't think anyone on here would be expert enough to make a judgement on the likes of the sheep or gunts.

I think the Gunts have been a failure too, should have emptied Levien way before now. Aberdeen I think will be above 50% Killie possibly Motherwell too. I don’t think we should focus too much on other teams. I think when it comes to recruitment, at the bare minimum we should be getting a 50% success rate. Anything less than that has to be a failure.

Interesting list, would say Gunnarsson was a success

And Whittaker.

I think the Gunts have been a failure too, should have emptied Levien way before now. Aberdeen I think will be above 50% Killie possibly Motherwell too. I don’t think we should focus too much on other teams. I think when it comes to recruitment, at the bare minimum we should be getting a 50% success rate. Anything less than that has to be a failure.
If recruitment was a science then I'd maybe agree with you.

Whose to say 40% isn't a football industry standard and Hibs are as good as most others?

If we had figures for other clubs we'd be in a position to say our recruitment team is better or worse than others. We don't so we can't.

2015/2016

McGinn- Success
Reguero- Failure
Virtanen- Failure
Dagnell- Failure

Carmichael- Failure
Bartley- Success
Thomson- Neutral
Keatings - Success
Boyle - Success
McGregor- Success
McGeouch- Success
Henderson- Success
Anier- Failure
Insall- Failure
Gunnarsson- Neutral
Eckersley- Failure

Logan - Success

2016/2017

Marciano- Success
Slivka - Failure
Whitaker- Failure
Swanson- Failure
Murray- Failure
Stokes- Success
Ambrose- Success
Matulevicius- Failure
MacLaren- Failure
Barker- Neutral
Kamberi- Success
Rherras- Failure

2018/2019

Mallan- Neutral
Milligan- Success
Omeonga- Success
Horgan- Success
McNulty- Success
Gauld- Failure
Hyndman- Failure
Bodgan- Success
Bigiriama- Failure
Agyepong- Failure
Johnson- Failure
Mavrais- Failure
Spector- Failure
Nelom- Failure

2019/2020

Maxwell- Neutral
Allan- Success
Newell- Failure
Jackson- Failure
Vela- Failure
James- Success
Middleton- Failure
Doidge- Neutral

All the ones marked in red were signed as cover. If they didn't play it was in some respects a good thing.

In general terms, in a 23 man squad, 12 players aren't playing all the time. It might be that they are injured, they are poor, or the simply aren't as good as the other player for their position in the squad. Every club out there is looking for assistance to make sure every player is a success but its not realistic or logical. Do the same exercise for Man City and they probably have a hit rate similar to ours - and they can buy any player on the planet, and despite their success they have some spectacular failures.

I did think about that and it’s a bit of a head scratcher. Why don’t we just use the youngsters for that role. We had the full backs like Nelom and the other guy sitting getting paid for nowt, all the while young Mackie was on par or better.

Because the youngsters aren't good enough, or are too fragile at a point when they might be required. Nelom and Mackie is a great example - had to bring Nelom in as cover for Lewis, but Mackie progressed beyond expectations in the first three months of last season. I really doubt Nelom was on good money at Hibs, if I was to guess I'd suspect he was on 1/3 of the top earners.

My take is the club do understand the value of the academy because the more players coming through at 19/20/21 the better for the Hibs squad and despite the chatter from the noxious neighbours we give our academy graduates more playing time than them - and probably than most Scottish clubs. The difficulty as always is you don't get to choose the quality coming through and when.

We would have signed Niklas, but we couldn't afford.

Interestingly, he's a free agent just now - not played for a while - but if fit and at the same standard as before would be a great addition. Let the football department know @Power

I remember criticising our recruitment team I think it was last summer

Its caught up with us now

These past few windows and with this manager has set us back 2-3 years in my opinion

We are relying on guys like Slivka. Slivka should be coming off the bench with ten to go.

Brutal season ahead

I notice that Rherras scored for Qarabag during the week.

Never really got a look in when at us.

And Whittaker.
Nah ?

If recruitment was a science then I'd maybe agree with you.

Whose to say 40% isn't a football industry standard and Hibs are as good as most others?

If we had figures for other clubs we'd be in a position to say our recruitment team is better or worse than others. We don't so we can't.
Disregarding SA , the last window is 0% , not having seen Hallberg to decide ?

2015/2016

McGinn- Success
Reguero- Failure
Virtanen- Failure
Dagnell- Failure
Carmichael- Failure
Bartley- Success
Thomson- Neutral
Keatings - Success
Boyle - Success
McGregor- Success
McGeouch- Success
Henderson- Success
Anier- Failure
Insall- Failure
Gunnarsson- Neutral
Eckersley- Failure
Logan - Success

2016/2017

Marciano- Success
Slivka - Failure
Whitaker- Failure
Swanson- Failure
Murray- Failure
Stokes- Success
Ambrose- Success
Matulevicius- Failure
MacLaren- Failure
Barker- Neutral
Kamberi- Success
Rherras- Failure

2018/2019

Mallan- Neutral
Milligan- Success
Omeonga- Success
Horgan- Success
McNulty- Success
Gauld- Failure
Hyndman- Failure
Bodgan- Success
Bigiriama- Failure
Agyepong- Failure
Johnson- Failure
Mavrais- Failure
Spector- Failure
Nelom- Failure

2019/2020

Maxwell- Neutral
Allan- Success
Newell- Failure
Jackson- Failure
Vela- Failure
James- Success
Middleton- Failure
Doidge- Neutral

To have our 2019-2020 down as either failures or successes at this point is beyond ridiculous

Disregarding SA , the last window is 0% , not having seen Hallberg to decide ?

How many times have you seen James play Joe? I think he is decent, I also think Doidge will do a job, but wont score many.

Ok regards james , Doidge-strikers have to contribute goals , quite a few misses that Ollie would have put away . Would rather give Ollie more game time , but that’s just my opinion ?

Fair enough, indeed Ollie was decent when he came on on Saturday in my opinion.

I'm no sure I'd quite discount all this years signings yet although they havenae looked up tae much so far, the latest we've no even seen yet. I'm far from impressed by Newell though, he just seemed a bit lazy. Heckingbottom though has managed tae make most of the players he didnae sign look quite bad as well, I think he's by far the biggest problem we have. I think a decent manager might dae something with this squad but then we have tae get that decent manager and stop persisting with this dumplin'.

I think the bits in bold say it all for me. My personal take has been a constant "give him/them more time to settle formations/tactics" but enough is indeed enough for me. If there had been even a glimpse of improvement over the last month or so I would still be banging his drum but it just isn't happening. Time to pull the trigger Hibs.

2015/2016

McGinn- Success
Reguero- Failure
Virtanen- Failure
Dagnell- Failure
Carmichael- Failure
Bartley- Success
Thomson- Neutral
Keatings - Success
Boyle - Success
McGregor- Success
McGeouch- Success
Henderson- Success
Anier- Failure
Insall- Failure
Gunnarsson- Neutral
Eckersley- Failure
Logan - Success

2016/2017

Marciano- Success
Slivka - Failure
Whitaker- Failure
Swanson- Failure
Murray- Failure
Stokes- Success
Ambrose- Success
Matulevicius- Failure
MacLaren- Failure
Barker- Neutral
Kamberi- Success
Rherras- Failure

2018/2019

Mallan- Neutral
Milligan- Success
Omeonga- Success
Horgan- Success
McNulty- Success
Gauld- Failure
Hyndman- Failure
Bodgan- Success
Bigiriama- Failure
Agyepong- Failure
Johnson- Failure
Mavrais- Failure
Spector- Failure
Nelom- Failure

2019/2020

Maxwell- Neutral
Allan- Success
Newell- Failure
Jackson- Failure
Vela- Failure
James- Success
Middleton- Failure
Doidge- Neutral
Wouldn’t class Begbie jr as a failure
Anyone who scores against “them” is no failure in my eyes ?

Fair enough, indeed Ollie was decent when he came on on Saturday in my opinion.
Look energetic and lively. In an odd position. We were getting beat , you’d think hecky would have suck him up top with Flo . Even put Doidge up there also

A good manager would have. Two wingers regardless Paul just disnae.

Without quibbling to much over Whittaker, Gunnarson and Barker all of whom made quite a decent contribution its still a very interesting list.

A team can only consist of 11 players but a squad is 22/24 players therefore if you don't make it into the first team then it's a bit unfair to say you were a failure as there were many players on the list who were obviously brought to the club as back up or to fill a very short term problem.

Overall Hibs recruitment team seem to have done a pretty decent job over the time frame with SJM the obvious stand out but Rocky, Daz, Dylan, Kamberi, Stoksey, Ambrose, Boyler and in the loan department Hendo and Omenonga huge successes.

Its all a question of timing though and management structure and especially trust in your recruitment team.

A new manager arrives and he is the proverbial big bluff Yorkshireman who like many from that part of the world tells it how it is and of course they know best and want to make their mark as they are the now the big chief.

They know nothing of Scottish football except that its complete shite.

Picture the meeting between PHB and the Hibs recruitment team when the Newell transfer is being discussed and then a few weeks later Vela or a few weeks prior and the debate over paying £300,000 for a Forest Green striker.

Or even look back to the meeting to dump both Millie and Marvin at the same time.

Forget the same agent conspiracy theory but instead look at the personality of the new manager, how he thinks and how he acts and also his cultural background as he comes from a very specific part of England.

PHB has overuled the recruitment team in certain of these transfers of that I have no doubt.

Thats fair enough as he ultimately will take the rap but he tried to do to much, to quickly and put far to much faith in his own judgment.

I feel like I am writing PHB's epitapth.....I probably am.

Without quibbling to much over Whittaker, Gunnarson and Barker all of whom made quite a decent contribution its still a very interesting list.

A team can only consist of 11 players but a squad is 22/24 players therefore if you don't make it into the first team then it's a bit unfair to say you were a failure as there were many players on the list who were obviously brought to the club as back up or to fill a very short term problem.

Overall Hibs recruitment team seem to have done a pretty decent job over the time frame with SJM the obvious stand out but Rocky, Daz, Dylan, Kamberi, Stoksey, Ambrose, Boyler and in the loan department Hendo and Omenonga huge successes.

Its all a question of timing though and management structure and especially trust in your recruitment team.

A new manager arrives and he is the proverbial big bluff Yorkshireman who like many from that part of the world tells it how it is and of course they know best and want to make their mark as they are the now the big chief.

They know nothing of Scottish football except that its complete shite.

Picture the meeting between PHB and the Hibs recruitment team when the Newell transfer is being discussed and then a few weeks later Vela or a few weeks prior and the debate over paying £300,000 for a Forest Green striker.

Or even look back to the meeting to dump both Millie and Marvin at the same time.

Forget the same agent conspiracy theory but instead look at the personality of the new manager, how he thinks and how he acts and also his cultural background as he comes from a very specific part of England.

PHB has overuled the recruitment team in certain of these transfers of that I have no doubt.

Thats fair enough as he ultimately will take the rap but he tried to do to much, to quickly and put far to much faith in his own judgment.

I feel like I am writing PHB's epitapth.....I probably am.
?

Debatable on who was a success or failure..what I do know is that even if Heckingbottom ultimately goes, the players he signed this summer won't as they were almost all signed on long term deals and will be here for years.

Debatable on who was a success or failure..what I do know is that even if Heckingbottom ultimately goes, the players he signed this summer won't as they were almost all signed on long termx deals and will be here for years.

I really don't think that will happen as Hibs have a long term proven strategy of "mutually consenting" players out the door.

All you do is drop them to the bench, then they get dropped to squad players then if their agents still havent found them a club they get dropped off as extra back up to the development team.

If you are poor at your job then football remains one of the few industries whereby you get paid to GTF. Banking is another.?.

They might have to drop a division in England but the GTF payment cushions the blow.

Its a mystery though how players like James Collins and Clayton Donaldson (and his airheid bird Pippa) failed at Hibs yet went on to be relatively successful back home in England or Victor Parlson another duffer but not a bad career considering.

I really don't think that will happen as Hibs have a long term proven strategy of "mutually consenting" players out the door.

All you do is drop them to the bench, then they get dropped to squad players then if their agents still havent found them a club they get dropped off as extra back up to the development team.

If you are poor at your job then football remains one of the few industries whereby you get paid to GTF. Banking is another.?.

They might have to drop a division in England but the GTF payment cushions the blow.

Its a mystery though how players like James Collins and Clayton Donaldson (and his airheid bird Pippa) failed at Hibs yet went on to be relatively successful back home in England or Victor Parlson another duffer but not a bad career considering.

The tempo of the game here is relentless, many players come here and wilt.

I've said a few times now, but George Craig was considered to have left Falkirk in an absolutly disasterous mess. Tax letters left in a drawer and ignored, accepting 80k or some low offer like that for one of their better assets. He is effectively in charge of our football department.

Him and Mathie deserve as much scrutiny as Heckingbottom at the moment. Let's not forget the last window was pretty poor too, such that Lennon had a melt down. Admittedly it wasn't as bad as this one.

When you look at the success list, over half are from the Scottish leagues or have had experience playing here. That should be our priority, finding the talent from here.

I’ve said that many times. The best team we’ve built in over a decade was by picking up young, hungry Scottish players - most of whom had a point to prove having not made it elsewhere. That, combined with having big characters like McGregor, Boyle & Cummings, was a massive part in our success.

Agreed 100%.

I've said a few times now, but George Craig was considered to have left Falkirk in an absolutly disasterous mess. Tax letters left in a drawer and ignored, accepting 80k or some low offer like that for one of their better assets. He is effectively in charge of our football department.

Him and Mathie deserve as much scrutiny as Heckingbottom at the moment. Let's not forget the last window was pretty poor too, such that Lennon had a melt down. Admittedly it wasn't as bad as this one.

100% agreement on the final paragraph.

The recruitment's final decision is down to the manager, he passes his targets onto the scouts who ensure these players are available and then it's down to LD & George to get these deals done.

I think it is incredible that people on here still think Shaw can come good.If Hibs want to be a success players like Shaw are simply not good enough.

The recruitment's final decision is down to the manager, he passes his targets onto the scouts who ensure these players are available and then it's down to LD & George to get these deals done.

Eh ? Never heard of that before , infact i'd go as far to say its rubbish . The clue is in the name ;)

This thread has been viewed 5332 times.

£57.50