New owners

https://investbydand.com/meet-the-team hoping this is nothing to be concerned about and I'm just being paranoid due to change ?
Is that 'our' company?

I'd have thought ours would have been UK based.

Edit. Did he bring in Ron?

Noticed in the press conference STF was very shaky, kinda like Parkinsons. I hope not. Loved his sense of humour though about the cheerleaders and hot dogs
Let's throw the man some slack. He will be 79 in a weeks time. And hes always been a private person. Speaking in public, especially to news hawks is not his thing.
I dare say Shrink is a bit wobbly....

Let's throw the man some slack. He will be 79 in a weeks time. And hes always been a private person. Speaking in public, especially to news hawks is not his thing.
No one is criticising..was more about concern for his health

You'll get a clout round the ear with my zimmer if there's any more of your cheek son.
:verymad:

Very well put, as always. This article (https://t.co/qkPH5t0G5r) is a good one that answers some or your minor questions but not the biggies - how long (?) and investment return (a sensible person could probably guess them without a sound bite - let’s see if this is covered off soon, otherwise I’ll find an opportunity to find out).

The article above echoes what I was told. Hibs weren’t the first destination choice but as soon as we were ‘found’ there was a complete connection and common focus, only one outcome.
Would it be possible to get some clarity over this info K? Suggestions that parent company has loaned money to the club via mortgaging the ground.
If accurate, it's a direct contradiction to what we were told yesterday.

Would it be possible to get some clarity over this info K? Suggestions that parent company has loaned money to the club via mortgaging the ground.

I think the boy has worded it wrong and jumped in that we’ve borrowed already but hopefully just a facility for any future loans.

New accounting year started on monday so be atleast 15 months before we see the actual detail in the accounts.

A hugely significant day in the club's history. Still trying to come to terms with it all.
I had heard several months ago from a good source that there were American businessmen in talks with Hibs about takng over and providing big investment. I wasn't so sure myself so didn't say anything to anyone else. Today shows the story was correct.

First thing to say is that it is very much the end of an era for our club. Sir Tom Farmer has become a massive and hugely important figure in the history of our club. Today my mind went back 29 years and the day of the Mercer takeover bid. I genuinely thought we were finished. We needed someone to come in and save us and Tom Farmer did just that. The fans and great Hibbies like the late Kenny McLean were also massively important in that historic stand-off, however Sir Tom had the respect and the business acumen to keep our club safe. We would have been down the swanny if he hadn't come in..believe me. I wish Sir Tom all the best and I wish to thank him from the bottom of my heart for what he done for our club. The club is unrecognisable now from the shambles it was when he took over all these years ago. Totally transformed from top to bottom.

Rod Petrie has also done a great job at Hibs for 22 years. I've had my differences with him over the years as have many other fans, but he has been a great servant to the club and stuck by it. Yes, he has made mistakes, who hasn't ? But I think he has been overall a very good chairman of Hibs. Hope he does well in his new role as SFA President.

So to the new man of mystery Ronald Gordon. He came over very well at the press conference. I am excited about the future and I wish him all the very best of success in the years to come. I do however have a few questions regarding him.

1) Why has he spent £6 Million on a scottish football club he has absolutely no connection with whatsoever ?

2) Where has he come from ? Did the people in charge of Hibs (Petrie and Farmer) go looking for him and persuade him to become the new Hibs owner ?

3) How long does he intend to stay as owner ?

4) What is he getting back for his investment ?

I am not trying to be negative, I am just somewhat wary of a foreigner coming in from absolutely nowhere who all of a sudden wants to take Hibs forward and is willing to splash out a huge amount of his money to do so.

All the very best Ron. The Hibernian supporters will be with you all the way as you strive to bring more success to the greatest football club in the world
On holiday just now this news has come too thick and fast for me to digest.
Already bought my season ticket and was excited about new players and new season. Hibs always seemed in a good place financially and we have a good board and set up.
Firstly thank you sir Tom for everything you have done for the club even though I believe your decision to step in and save the club was more to do with your father/grandfather's passion for Hibs.
Rod Petrie guilty of selling off our best players but helped balance the books which I suppose kept us on an even keel maybe unpopular but there ye go, so thanks Rod.
So to the successor know nothing about him except what I've read here.
Well looks like he's not a Hibs supporter (Not the be all and end all if you're an investor)
He's American so obviously not from Edinburgh so history and rivalry???
If he's going to invest he wants to make the club even greater.
I just hope Hibs don't end up a soul less club with no home grown talent because the top man want results quick and wants to splash the cash on so called quality players.
Or and I don't know what money this guys got but hope he doesn't look across the city after a while and think Edinburgh United that would be a good idea ,one big happy team with a new uniform of maroon and green hoops. What a money maker.
Naww I'm writing a load of pish now but just thought I'd put it out there .
It's looking good for Hibs, wish the new man all the best and like the other American who commented earlier, hope he comes to love Hibs too.

Is that guy his son? Specialises in short sales and distressed companies by the look of it, don't think either are applicable to us hopefully ?

Is that 'our' company?

I'd have thought ours would have been UK based.

Edit. Did he bring in Ron?

No idea had just seen it mentioned in a conversation about the land being valuable to him.

His terminology, company spelling and intention is way off.

From what I’ve crammed intae my heid - Bydand Sports LLC oan zero assets at Hibs, just a high percentage of shares in the club.

The floating charge gives them, Ron & Co, security over their investment. Potential future lending is secured too - thinking HTC indoor facility build loan.

Thought I’d take in an American game to see what our new owners might do.

Firstly, they will fix the branding of the stadium inside and out.

Secondly, there’s no reason not to have safe standing.

Thirdly, they will fix the food queues.

Don’t know about the football ?

Fourthly, I expect it to be good news for the singing section. They willl get moved to the area behind the goals. And be given a bigger drum. And pyros.

Fifthly, I might be the oldest person here - I think they’ll work harder to attract the younger crowd. I’d guess average age of a fan here is 10-20 years younger.

As an aside football standard isn’t that much different to Scotland, and they have the strangest looking grass I’ve ever seen

Seventhly, I think football wise there’s a lot the Americans can learn from us - they might be technically proficient but they are tactically poor and their decision making is spectacularly dismal. This leads me to think there’s more to this deal than meets the eye.

What game did yi watch? New York?

Atethly, what about the hotdogs?

Nice numbering, B.

I do try ?

What game did yi watch? New York?

Orlando v Philadelphia - although might go to Orlando v New York next week to boo Gary Mckay Steven. Love the sea of purple at Orlando

Atethly, what about the hotdogs?

$5 dollars (£4) for a hot dog and pint of soda. $20 for a safe standing ticket (£16) queueing time less than a minute.

Lastly, they have VAR - raised an interesting point in terms of an incident in the lead up to a goal scoring chance - which has me concerned about how you reasonably implement fairly. I’m not convinced everything will get picked up as it should.

Got ma bet up last night wi the USA games, didnae back that game though. There must be nae players in that league that play for the national side, they played Jamaica at the same time as the league games.

Hey @Power, good work keeping schtum for so long?

Some questions when you're ready:

How much did Ron G buy Petrie and Farmers shares for?
How has that been funded? Eg. Personal wealth, other investors (who?)
Does Ron honour STF's commitment towards eventual fan ownership of the club?

Apologies if any of this is already in the public domain ??

I'll go for 'commercial in confidence'.

The commercial equivalent of undisclosed fee in fibaw!

✅ Barry being busy.

Give a few weeks and ye can fire these questions to Ron on his Hibs official email address ?

I don’t think this private sale will be communicated in detail but I could guess it will be the right/fair market value for the HFC Holdings Ltd shares and then an additional payment to clearing the outstanding loan. Figures in the press won’t be too far away.

Bydand Sports LLC has been set up by Ron (Personal Wealth) to complete the share transfer and ownership. It’s a nod to all his other Bydand Limited Liability companies and his Scottish roots.

Unknown at the moment, this is still to be communicated.
HSL did confirm earlier in the week -
“I was introduced to Ron Gordon last night and I am delighted to confirm what you will no doubt hear from many others over the coming weeks and months. I was hugely impressed by his passion and above all is ambition for our Club. He was fully aware of the work that we are doing and he impressed upon me his desire that we continue to work together going forward. To this end we have agreed to meet later in the week to develop things further. While we are not in a position to answer any questions at the moment it is clear that Ron sees Hibernian Supporters as an important element in his plans for exciting and hopefully successful times ahead.”

I thought I’d wait a few days after, once the dust had settled to post on here in regards to what’s happened. After the news of the takeover broke and eventually confirmed I had to head to a quiet room in the workplace and calm myself down, genuinely.

First of all, respect due to to both STF and Rodders. I and many, will be forever grateful as to what you’ve done for our great club over the years. STF, special mention though - well, we know, you know...legend. You saved us, along with our fans, would not let this great club die. You provided the platform for us all to march this club on from oblivion, to eventually where it’s at today. There’s been highs and lows, but I’m sure we can truly say the highs piss all over the forgettable lows. 21/5/16 ensured that, and gave us all what we deserved and will forever remember. Unforgettable!

Fast forward to the day - “you got off the bus”...

Up steps Ronald Gordon. For me, the last few days have been a blur, still reading various articles, watching interviews and obviously reading the thoughts of several radges on here, it’s still taking a bit time to digest if I’m being honest. We know what was entailed in his purchase, but I’m intrigued and excited to see where we can head over the next couple of seasons, more so focusing on the season ahead.

As the weeks progress, all will be alot clearer.

Canny wait! - GGTTH!

My thoughts over the last few days have been along the lines of tempered excitement. And the thought of having to wait months/years to see if that's a good thing or a bad thing is doing my heid in!

I'll wait.

But take your average Hibs fan buying the club and the first thing you'd do is buy McNulty! Or some other major statement of intent that would impact directly on the pitch at 3 o'clock on a Saturday.

The indoor pitch at EM would be there, but I wouldn't be headlining it. Things we could do to ER, although he's not sure what, would be there but I wouldn't be headlining it.

He's said himself Hibs are a competitive sporting club, or words to that effect, we live and prosper on positive results! He has targets, to be honest no more than they should be for the stature of our club in this league, but isn't sure how we might achieve them! He said something like that a few times.

We were at least the 4th biggest club in the country selling half the season tickets we are now!

It's all too fecking sensible but at the same time fluffy, selling us what we should have already. Down south daft fly by night new owners buy players. They stake their reputations on it. Don't even think about new club Presidents in Spain!!!

I think we've got Sheldon!

And to think some clubs go through this shit every couple of years!!!

✅ Barry being busy.

Give a few weeks and ye can fire these questions to Ron on his Hibs official email address ?

I don’t think this private sale will be communicated in detail but I could guess it will be the right/fair market value for the HFC Holdings Ltd shares and then an additional payment to clearing the outstanding loan. Figures in the press won’t be too far away.

Bydand Sports LLC has been set up by Ron (Personal Wealth) to complete the share transfer and ownership. It’s a nod to all his other Bydand Limited Liability companies and his Scottish roots.

Unknown at the moment, this is still to be communicated.
HSL did confirm earlier in the week -
“I was introduced to Ron Gordon last night and I am delighted to confirm what you will no doubt hear from many others over the coming weeks and months. I was hugely impressed by his passion and above all is ambition for our Club. He was fully aware of the work that we are doing and he impressed upon me his desire that we continue to work together going forward. To this end we have agreed to meet later in the week to develop things further. While we are not in a position to answer any questions at the moment it is clear that Ron sees Hibernian Supporters as an important element in his plans for exciting and hopefully successful times ahead.”
I think the commitment to 51% fan ownership will turn out to be a thorny issue. I don't think we can expect him to pump big bucks into the club and also push up fan ownership in the way it's been building to date.

Suppose the club is worth £10m now and he (hypothetically) wants to put £10m more into it. At the moment small shareholders own c.40% of the club, he owns c.60%. So the small shareholders (including HSL) own £4m worth of Hibs. If he puts £10m in and the club becomes worth £20m then is he really going to be happy that small shareholders now have shares worth £8m while his are worth £12m after spending £16m (still hypothetical numbers)? That's like handing £4m straight to the small shareholders.

I know Scottish football clubs are a totally different investment prospect (I.e. they're essentially a money pit) but I still think the point stands and we can either wish for majority fan ownership or for the new owner to throw money at it. I don't think we can hope for both.

As I said elsewhere he's already benefited small shareholders to the tune of over a million by clearing the mortgage.

Ultimately if Hibs continue to operate on a break even basis every year then the club will only ever be worth the value of its fixed assets so it may be irrelevant and he'll just be happy to lob a few quid in every year and write it off as a hobby expense. If the longer term plan is to end up like Celtic and turn a profit every year (which would take significant investment) then I don't see that he'll be happy to throw lots of cash at a project in which his share of ownership is decreasing.

My thoughts over the last few days have been along the lines of tempered excitement. And the thought of having to wait months/years to see if that's a good thing or a bad thing is doing my heid in!

I'll wait.

But take your average Hibs fan buying the club and the first thing you'd do is buy McNulty! Or some other major statement of intent that would impact directly on the pitch at 3 o'clock on a Saturday.

The indoor pitch at EM would be there, but I wouldn't be headlining it. Things we could do to ER, although he's not sure what, would be there but I wouldn't be headlining it.

He's said himself Hibs are a competitive sporting club, or words to that effect, we live and prosper on positive results! He has targets, to be honest no more than they should be for the stature of our club in this league, but isn't sure how we might achieve them! He said something like that a few times.

We were at least the 4th biggest club in the country selling half the season tickets we are now!

It's all too fecking sensible but at the same time fluffy, selling us what we should have already. Down south daft fly by night new owners buy players. They stake their reputations on it. Don't even think about new club Presidents in Spain!!!

I think we've got Sheldon!

And to think some clubs go through this shit every couple of years!!!

Is anything like this likely now ? Surely other clubs have heard of this "mega bucks new owner" and would pump the price up accordingly ?
Sadly i dont see any marquee signings happening this window

Is anything like this likely now ? Surely other clubs have heard of this "mega bucks new owner" and would pump the price up accordingly ?
Neither do I. However, when it comes to recruitment I think Hibs will be in a much stronger financial position in the future (ie January and next summer), but the budget for this summer will have been agreed months ago and Hecky will have had players targeted and in several cases deals agreed. Not having to pay back Farmer half a million a year should give us significantly more leeway for players, as will the financial investment.

The new shares doc is now online, does this not suggest he has pumped in £3.5m?

Don’t think we would overpay for anyone .
Mcnulty will have a value in readings eyes , not sure I’d pay over the odds for him anyway 4/500k tops ?

View attachment 1019

The new shares doc is now online, does this not suggest he has pumped in £3.5m?

Yes....

3,512,718.75 to be precise..

18.75 :giggle

Don’t think we would overpay for anyone .
Mcnulty will have a value in readings eyes , not sure I’d pay over the odds for him anyway 4/500k tops ?

I agree re overpaying , McNulty is only worth what someone will pay or Reading keep paying him to sit on the bench or play in the reserves . Its their choice i guess

Dust is starting to settle and the drip feed of good news starts.

Main question for me now is about fans shares and hsl and the future. We’ve got a majority shareholder who will want to see a return on investment and @hsl which was a vehicle for fans to pump money into the club.

So, what now?

Sir Tom Farmer has a long-standing claim that he’s prepared to sell to the right bidder. If that should happen before the 2.5m figure is reached, does it mean the promise to issue shares to HSL and/or individual fans to the value of 51% could be broken by a new majority shareholder?
This is a question we cannot answer, as we cannot speak for the owners or future majority shareholders. We can say we have a legally binding subscription agreement that enables us to buy shares that are available to purchase. Once HSL owns shares, no one else can determine what happens to these shares other than Members of HSL. That’s why the quicker we raise funds, the quicker we can buy shares. And the more funds we raise, the more shares we can buy to safeguard our club.

I think for the sake of HSL that needs clarified ASAP

@Purple & Green

Tom scoffed at a news reporter who suggested he'd want to see a return on investment. Instead he's been saying he wants to see the value of Hibs increase, or words to that effect.

I see these as being a bit different.

Wanting to see a return on his investment suggests to me and maybe others, that he'd be taking, or making, money while he's the current custodian.

By looking to increase the value of our club I'd say he's not looking for anything until it's time for him to sell up. As in he's bought his stake in the club valued at £10m (completely made up number). If because of his investments and improvements the club grows in value to say £20m by the time he sells up that's where he'll get his return.

I'm the meantime his retirement hobby is our club :wondering:

I think our target and his has to be to qualify for the Europa League and make it to the group stages. The money involved in that is very substantial. I don't see us winning the league, but the Europa League group stages is doable.

This is interesting; I get the difference between profits and capital appreciation and investment; the logistics of this are worth a deeper look - do you need to generate profits as this is one common method of valuing a business - even if those profits are re invested?

I’m trying to get my head around the hsl share of the business as there will never be a return on this element for hsl - but does their £500k investment become worth an effective £600k in the future. Does this make any difference?

This calls for a spreadsheet - hurrah!

My head tells me this could be good, but my heart tells me to be wary.

@Purple & Green

Tom scoffed at a news reporter who suggested he'd want to see a return on investment. Instead he's been saying he wants to see the value of Hibs increase, or words to that effect.

I see these as being a bit different.

Wanting to see a return on his investment suggests to me and maybe others, that he'd be taking, or making, money while he's the current custodian.

By looking to increase the value of our club I'd say he's not looking for anything until it's time for him to sell up. As in he's bought his stake in the club valued at £10m (completely made up number). If because of his investments and improvements the club grows in value to say £20m by the time he sells up that's where he'll get his return.

I'm the meantime his retirement hobby is our club :wondering:

This is interesting; I get the difference between profits and capital appreciation and investment; the logistics of this are worth a deeper look - do you need to generate profits as this is one common method of valuing a business - even if those profits are re invested?

I’m trying to get my head around the hsl share of the business as there will never be a return on this element for hsl - but does their £500k investment become worth an effective £600k in the future. Does this make any difference?

This calls for a spreadsheet - hurrah!

My head tells me this could be good, but my heart tells me to be wary.
In the past, as we all know, Hibs have made small profits and losses. I can't see that changing.

We've continually added to the infrastructure and that looks like being continued under the new regime.

Most of us have seen a steady increase in what we've spent on players as the amount available has increased. With no debt that's increased by around £5/600k pa so we'll hopefully see a small step change there.

There's also the 7 figure sum to get this all moving a bit more quickly!

We all get to watch a team that has better home grown players and bought in players. Better results and Europe??? I think that will be the theory!

I suppose with all this the added value to our club the shares will increase in value. I'm thinking though it won't make any difference to me, the other small shareholders or HSL as we won't be selling! Ron's shares will be worth more too of course and that's where he might see his return in the long term.

Ron Gordon was asked if he expected to make any money out of this? His answer was to scoff and politely say this was his plaything. Or words to that effect.

In Scottish terms...Gie's peace and let me enjoy what I've bought.

I liked his answer [emoji106]

All this talk of American money will probably make it more difficult to deal with Reading in negotiations for McNulty

It shouldn’t,they have to sell/loan players before they can buy and their transfer window closes on Aug 8th.....

I agree with a lot of that, but I’m still concerned that we will need to make a profit for the capital value of the business to increase to give Paddington his return when he decides to exit.

I could see a strategy that we would be run at break even if Paddington was using us as a vehicle to move players from North and South America and he was taking a cut of that but there’s nothing to suggest that’s what he’s doing. Likewise, if there was a real estate project but there’s nothing to suggest that’s going to happen either.

In the past, as we all know, Hibs have made small profits and losses. I can't see that changing.

We've continually added to the infrastructure and that looks like being continued under the new regime.

Most of us have seen a steady increase in what we've spent on players as the amount available has increased. With no debt that's increased by around £5/600k pa so we'll hopefully see a small step change there.

There's also the 7 figure sum to get this all moving a bit more quickly!

We all get to watch a team that has better home grown players and bought in players. Better results and Europe??? I think that will be the theory!

I suppose with all this the added value to our club the shares will increase in value. I'm thinking though it won't make any difference to me, the other small shareholders or HSL as we won't be selling! Ron's shares will be worth more too of course and that's where he might see his return in the long term.

I don't believe he's doing this to make money, I think it's a wee hobby business that he expects will retain or increase in value should he/his kids(?) look to sell up in future. Which is fair enough - his share of the fixed assets alone are probably worth as much as he's paid, and if the goal of his spending is to improve infrastructure and the quality (and hence asset value) of our contracted homegrown players, he could easily make that money well spent too.

On this note - HSL could easily be the preferred escape hatch for him down the line, it just wouldn't be reinvested in the club as it was with STF.

This thread has been viewed 19207 times.