HIBERNIAN APPOINT PAUL HECKINGBOTTOM

Gav1990

HIBERNIAN APPOINT PAUL HECKINGBOTTOM

Hibernian FC are delighted to confirm the appointment of Paul Heckingbottom as Head Coach.

Paul has agreed a three-and-a-half year contract and will be assisted by former Scotland international Robbie Stockdale.

Rod Petrie, Chairman, said: “We are pleased to have secured the services of Paul and Robbie and look forward to seeing what they have to bring to the Hibernian Training Centre and Easter Road Stadium.

Continue reading...

THAT SEEMS TO BE THE CHOICE FOR @HibernianFC

Won't engage in Eurovision scoring stuff about these guy's fitba credentials, as I do not know. Suffice tae say Appleton's tattoos are great and he looks fucking nuts. Splendid. That will do for me. Push the boat out and sign him Leeann/Rod/George/ or whoever does this stuff. You will not regret it.

He certainly doesn't look the cuddly arms around the shoulder type. Looks like he might have a few of our more sensitive players by their throats up against the wall :oops:. For what I can make out, fellow bounces seem to think that type of "motivational skill" is from a bygone era. He certainly looks a bit of a bruiser. Like the tattoos mind.

Could be him.
Cue:
Underwhelmed
Lack of ambition
Cheap option
Yes man
Petrie puppet

Could be him.
Cue:
Underwhelmed
Lack of ambition
Cheap option
Yes man
Petrie puppet

I know nothing about either , I'm astounded so many up here do . I wonder who people are expecting us to be interviewing

Appleton looks like he's built like a rugby player.Lets hope that's not his style of play.

It will be important to get someone where no compensation is due as Hibs can't have budgeted for the £300,000 it would have taken to pay off Parker and Lennon so either fits the bill in that respect.

Neither have particularly impressive CV's not that this matters particularly as its the judgment call of the Hibs board as to whether the personality, ambition and background of the successful applicant meets the aspirations of the club and is a good personality fit with the current crop of players young and old as well as the backroom management team.

No knowledge of Scottish football is taking a big chance as the new man has to hit the ground running and will he be asked to actually live in this country as that's by no means a gimme.

Any manager needs an assistant and there will be a couple of ex "Hibby Huns" champing at the bit.

Think that covers underwhelmed and cheap option and poor guy isnae even through the door yet.

Would it have hurt for Lennon to have stayed on until the summer?

Not ideal but better than this

It would have been far better had Lennon stayed till the end of the season.
I know I keep harping on about this but it really is not a good thing to lose your manager half way through a season. The new boss coming in immediately has to try to bond with a squad of players he doesn't know and start winning matches, whereas if a new manager comes in at around say early June (as Stubbs and Lennon did) he has two months to get his own players in and get his feet under the table without the immediate pressure of having to win the next game.

Exactly. This is why both parties, the board AND the former management team are anything but blameless. No one thought of the fans, or the club in this sh!show.

Appleton in the next few days. Doesn’t set the world on fire and I have my doubts, but will give him the chance.

It would have been far better had Lennon stayed till the end of the season.
I know I keep harping on about this but it really is not a good thing to lose your manager half way through a season. The new boss coming in immediately has to try to bond with a squad of players he doesn't know and start winning matches, whereas if a new manager comes in at around say early June (as Stubbs and Lennon did) he has two moths to get his own players in and get his feet under the table without the immediate pressure of having to win the next game.

Shocking timing - and makes you wonder just how bad things were for the CEO & the Board to agree this course of action.
Pretty ludicrous to think it was anything at all to do with a 'stormy team meeting' and must have been substantial for the club to get into this pickle.
Tough job for anyone coming in and hopefully they aren't immediately tarred with the 'lack of ambition/cheap option' jibes.

One of the favourites is a big guy mind.... I certainly wouldn't like to knock his pint over.

Appleton in the next few days. Doesn’t set the world on fire and I have my doubts, but will give him the chance.

Who were you hoping for ?

The last two appointments have been good by the club so hopefully this one is another inspired appointment, I didn’t really have a preferred candidate, I would of rathered Lennon stayed until the Summer.

I felt that way too - but now I think we may have been better off if Lennon had carried out his threats and walked at the end of last season.

A lot of people saying it's Appleton

I know nothing about either , I'm astounded so many up here do . I wonder who people are expecting us to be interviewing

Or me Daz mate, don't know anything about any of them. Just didn't want Magilton as his stats of a manager were brutal. Surprised there has been a lot of this public knowledge, usually Hibs are tight lipped and surprise everyone with their official announcement.

New boy defo in next week

2E4FE0C3-4A18-46EF-8A45-74F54EFB9968.png

I hadn't heard of either tbh but that is irrelevant. I am hoping the Hibs job still attracts quality applicants and this means we appoint quality after a robust recruitment and selection process.
Every manager appointment is important but given recent developments I think this one takes on extra significance.

I felt that way too - but now I think we may have been better off if Lennon had carried out his threats and walked at the end of last season.
My pal agrees .. He would have taken Lennon in after we lost 1-0 to Hearts at the end of last when he started not doing press interviews and made it clear that everything was made clear where we were discussing the job including the way we run the club financially .

Better song choice with appleton?

Or me Daz mate, don't know anything about any of them. Just didn't want Magilton as his stats of a manager were brutal. Surprised there has been a lot of this public knowledge, usually Hibs are tight lipped and surprise everyone with their official announcement.

Lennon done nothing at Bolton mate , I wouldn't go for Magilton as he sounds a bit mental

I haven't mentioned Lennon mate, but Bolton were in a complete mess financially.

Why do their fans hate him so much then ?? I'm told strange selections and publicly slating players .
Sounds familiar

Why do their fans hate him so much then ?? I'm told strange selections and publicly slating players .
Sounds familiar

To be honest I know Bolton fans and they said he had no funds, so he was only playing players he had available, bit harsh judging him on Bolton to be honest mate.

Well the one i know wouldn't have him anywhere near there again

Fair enough mate, just saying what the Bolton fans said to me mate, they are still in a financial mess until recently, players getting no wages etc.

Just as it's a bit weird to pronounce him "a winner" and "the greatest manager for 50 years" on the basis of one good season at Hibs, no?

That's your opinion mate, mine is NL was a real winner.

Fair enough mate, just saying what the Bolton fans said to me mate, they are still in a financial mess until recently, players getting no wages etc.

Oh i know that

At Celtic

Fair enough. In my book though, "winners" dinnae chuck their toys out the pram, threaten to leave, and blame everybody else when the going gets tough.

Oh i know that

At Celtic

Got us promoted, got us back into Europe, Made players better, got the fans back in their thousands, came within a baw hair of finishing second in the SPL on the first year of coming back, as I said and I don't want to keep having the same arguments but for me NL was a winner.

Fair enough. In my book though, "winners" dinnae chuck their toys out the pram, threaten to leave, and blame everybody else when the going gets tough.
The "have to consider my position" threats at the end of last season implied that he believed himself to be bigger than the club.
He was starting to calculate when to leave to suit himself, not Hibs.

Got us promoted, got us back into Europe, Made players better, got the fans back in their thousands, came within a baw hair of finishing second in the SPL on the first year of coming back, as I said and I don't want to keep having the same arguments but for me NL was a winner.

won the championship with no Hearts / Huns , finished 4th which got us into europe because other other teams positions ??

Does it matter that both the Gunts and Scum weren't in it, he could only beat what was in front of him, couldn't care about other team's positions either my focus was on our season. Yes we finished 4th but it could have been so different going so many goals in front of the scum for example, anyway this about the next manager I thought we moved on from NL?

So winning the championship minus Huns & Gunts wasn't easier than with them ?

I don't see your point here mate, sorry. I think NL proved that he could tactically beat them on their day. It's all if's and buts, let's move on eh because all this blaming NL bollocks is tiresome to be honest.

I agree.
And so is the ‘board apologist’ levelled at anyone who looks at facts rather than tired old cliches like ambitions not matched and cheap options.

The "have to consider my position" threats at the end of last season implied that he believed himself to be bigger than the club.
He was starting to calculate when to leave to suit himself, not Hibs.
That’s true .

Astounded you can't see it but not to worry and i'm blaming nobody for anything , just find this Lennon the messiah stuff laughable . Last post on him from me , he's away now , lets see what his next job is and how that goes

This thread has been viewed 47372 times.