Just Back......deary me

I am just in and cannae be arsed writing a just back, see the other thread for opinions on the players and losing to that pile of shite.

don't blame you, my word is woeful, more losing to that lot rather than how bad we were. Just listening to Lenny's post match interview, I agree we weren't great, but unlucky to lose. We need do need more players. On the bright side. I got a selfie with Irvine Welsh and shook hands with Tony Higgins.

• 20181229_183746 (2).jpg
    20181229_183746 (2).jpg
    20.2 KB · Views: 38
Just back and going to my bed after a bottle or two are finished.

We were shite. We allowed Berra to rip the pish at FT. I'm disgusted by that performance. Been saying it for weeks. No midfield whatsoever. I thought the tactics were baffling. The substitutions left me bewildered and Neil Lennon trying to prove a point subbing Kamberi embarrassing.

90th minute substitution is usually a time wasting tactic for a winning team.What was Lennon thinking about.

don't blame you, my word is woeful, more losing to that lot rather than how bad we were. Just listening to Lenny's post match interview, I agree we weren't great, but unlucky to lose. We need do need more players. On the bright side. I got a selfie with Irvine Welsh and shook hands with Tony Higgins.

More bad news Jock.
Firstly, that’s not a selfie. It’s just a photo of Irvine.
Secondly...... and this is worse..... the reason Tony was smiling is it wasn’t his hand.

We had to win the midfield tactical battle and get the first goal...instead they won the midfield tactical battle from the start and they got the first goal...a superb one it has to be said. There wasn't much between the teams but they got the all important first goal and that sometimes is just the difference in these games. Hibs looked what we are at the moment...a depleted team bereft of anything like the quality we have had not only last season but the previous three or four seasons. Tonight's game showed up crystal clear yet again that we have practically no creativity from midfield, no pace on the flanks (without Boyle) and are powder puff in attack. All Hearts had to do was mark Kamberi out of the game and that meant that Hibs had no goal threat whatsoever. Whittaker was desperately unlucky with his great shot which came off the inside of the post, but apart from that and Oli Shaw's shot which hit the top of the bar Hearts looked comfortable defensively all night against an impotent Hibs attack. When you have two fairly evenly matched teams the first goal is so important. Only a great save from Bogdan at the start of the second half prevented another goal conceded. Once Haring (who along with Djoum had bossed the midfield in the first half) went off Hearts just got everyone back behind the ball and invited Hibs onto them asking questions of the Hibs attack. Unfortunately Hibs had neither the guile, pace or sharpness required to answer those questions positively.

The banner in the FF talked about Hibs class...unfortunately too many of Lennon's signings are just not Hibs class...nowhere near good enough to play for this great club. We were hammered by injuries and call-offs but tonight we just looked like a bang average mid-table team...and we deserve to be where we are in the league just now. I am sure Lennon will bring in new players and move some out, but January is a hell of a difficult month to try to make major squad additions. I just think it's all too late to be honest...this should all have been done last summer. Hope I am wrong but the best we can achieve this season IMO is a top six finish.

Didn't see the value in taking off Horgan for Hyndman. I'm not much of a fan of Daryl Horgan but at least he tries to get on the ball and tries to make things happen. Can only assume he had taken a knock because it didn't make any sense to me.

My bright side is the bottom of a Disaronno glass and Match of the Day.

Both teams were shite. They're wonder strike goes in, ours hits the post and stays out.

We lacked composure all night. We can't have players missing at a Derby, Hydman, Mallan and Shaw didn't contribute. One good strike won it for them. They are rank, tonight we were rank.
We need more steel and more importantly we need a link player. We are playing football by numbers with no one able to see past the predicted pass.
Just a wee note to say that Efe was a class above everybody on the pitch.

Gay boy.

Rather than say what I'd like to about some of our players all I'll say is I've nearly finished the left over turkey! I like turkey and in a way I'm already looking forward to next Christmas.

That was a shit game to lose, we've played worse and been beaten by worse. But that was worse.

Whoever got the first goal was going to win it. Really shows how painfully short on physicality & creativity our central midfield is- neither Mallan nor Slivka want to be the main man in there & Horgan isn't the answer. Sean Mackie was class though, Efe tried to make things happen too.

I'd also love to know what Lennon's issue is with Kamberi- he always has good work rate & looks dangerous to me but he can't be expected to carry the team. He needs support up there & frankly gets very little.

All the Hibees are apparently...

Whoever got the first goal was going to win it. Really shows how painfully short on physicality & creativity our central midfield is- neither Mallan nor Slivka want to be the main man in there & Horgan isn't the answer. Sean Mackie was class though, Efe tried to make things happen too.

I'd also love to know what Lennon's issue is with Kamberi- he always has good work rate & looks dangerous to me but he can't be expected to carry the team. He needs support up there & frankly gets very little.

Ok I'll say it.

In almost every incident Flo was too busy mixing it to play football. There's always pushing and shoving, that's part of the game, but he always seems to want the last 'word' by which time the balls elsewhere or he's conceded a foul. He is fouled a lot but he's so keen to get his own back he's not leaving that decision to the referee.

All the Hibees are apparently...

I'm far from happy.

Pretty much knew at the start of the season how things would end up. You get what you pay for.

Pains me to say it but Kamberi is brutal after a good last season

Pretty much knew at the start of the season how things would end up. You get what you pay for.

Bin Lennon now or wait till end of the season? Personally would be happy with a change I think. Terrible season so far.

I'm far from happy.
I get that. The other six dwarves aren't that big on personal hygiene either...

Afa Hibs go, I was really pished off just after the game but when I think back on it now after a few beers, we had chances, we were a bit unlucky with their wonder shot at goal, but we did look by far the team doing most to create.

We also won more one-on-ones with them than usual?

So NL can stay for now. Whether I can stay in NL after Brexit is another affair, however!

I get that. The other six dwarves aren't that big on personal hygiene either...

Afa Hibs go, I was really pished off just after the game but when I think back on it now after a few beers, we had chances, we were a bit unlucky with their wonder shot at goal, but we did look by far the team doing most to create.

We also won more one-on-ones with them than usual?

So NL can stay for now. Whether I can stay in NL after Brexit is another affair, however!

Fuckin hilarious.

Bin Lennon now or wait till end of the season? Personally would be happy with a change I think. Terrible season so far.

Agree. Seems out of ideas, and the whole footballing setup looks frankly shambolic, unfocused, and aimless.

I'm still in the camp of keeping Lennon until the end of the season. I'm a broken record, but we won't see any forward progress under all the clowns behind the scenes. I'm baffled by our recruitment. I don't believe for a second Lennon is the one scouting half these imposters. George Craig and his laptop would be the first one to go.

The board especially needs emptied. They have conned the fans for decades. All the smokescreens, undisclosed fees, we really don't have a fucking clue. I was shouted down about saying we did things on the cheap and barely invested. We made a fortune from McGinn, Europe and season ticket sales. Lennon wasn't backed, not even close. Again with buying the dregs and selling us on the fact we have a team full of international players. The last two Johnny foreigners, ones all ready been emptied. Seriously what the fuck are we investing in? Surely the onus is to improve the current squad, not buy players that are worse and keep them around for cover. This shit should have all been sorted out before the season. We started with two forward and no direct replacement for McGinn. This is the result, 8th in the table. Fucking clear out upstairs and behind the scenes before binning Lennon.

We had to win the midfield tactical battle and get the first goal...instead they won the midfield tactical battle from the start and they got the first goal...a superb one it has to be said. There wasn't much between the teams but they got the all important first goal and that sometimes is just the difference in these games. Hibs looked what we are at the moment...a depleted team bereft of anything like the quality we have had not only last season but the previous three or four seasons. Tonight's game showed up crystal clear yet again that we have practically no creativity from midfield, no pace on the flanks (without Boyle) and are powder puff in attack. All Hearts had to do was mark Kamberi out of the game and that meant that Hibs had no goal threat whatsoever. Whittaker was desperately unlucky with his great shot which came off the inside of the post, but apart from that and Oli Shaw's shot which hit the top of the bar Hearts looked comfortable defensively all night against an impotent Hibs attack. When you have two fairly evenly matched teams the first goal is so important. Only a great save from Bogdan at the start of the second half prevented another goal conceded. Once Haring (who along with Djoum had bossed the midfield in the first half) went off Hearts just got everyone back behind the ball and invited Hibs onto them asking questions of the Hibs attack. Unfortunately Hibs had neither the guile, pace or sharpness required to answer those questions positively.

The banner in the FF talked about Hibs class...unfortunately too many of Lennon's signings are just not Hibs class...nowhere near good enough to play for this great club. We were hammered by injuries and call-offs but tonight we just looked like a bang average mid-table team...and we deserve to be where we are in the league just now. I am sure Lennon will bring in new players and move some out, but January is a hell of a difficult month to try to make major squad additions. I just think it's all too late to be honest...this should all have been done last summer. Hope I am wrong but the best we can achieve this season IMO is a top six finish.
Unlike the rangers game where they fully deserved their win against Celtic no way were hearts the better team.

No midfield whatsoever.
This is pretty much where I sit.

The midfield we had last year was exceptional, because it had that bit of everything. It had fight, it had technical ability, it had coordination, it had incision. Sadly, the loss of McGinn, McGeouch and Allan dropped the standard by an amount that we haven't come close to sorting, and I can't see that solution appearing during the January window. I don't blame the manager for this, nor the club really, because it was a huge ask given what we had.

But it means this year is probably about making the top six at best, or winning the bottom six. Other aspects are about building the youngsters who I think are developing quite nicely (particularly Porteous), and reviewing how we rebuild in the summer in order to be contending third next season.

I like Lennon but the treatment of flo is out of order imho at it again last night.
What worries me he doesn't seem to think issue is midfield, the summer was shite regarding recruitment didn't surprise me hardly spent a bean on players when we made millions on Ulrik, Brown etc.

Unlike the rangers game where they fully deserved their win against Celtic no way were hearts the better team.
I didn't say they were. I said it was a game played between two evenly matched teams, but they won the tactical midfield battle (especially in the first half) and got the all important first goal. If we had got the first goal I reckon we would have won. At the end of the day they scored, we didn't...so they deserved to win.

NL has this window to prove he is still a real winner if he is backed to bring in the quality he wants. Remember his last January window worked a treat for us, we have lost the best midfield trio in Scotland and with the budget NL had brought in players within that budget which hasn't worked out plus we have lost important players to injury, I would be sending Hyndman, MacLaren, The city kid back to their clubs, Mallan needs to step up to the plate and others that we have signed but haven't played much should also have their contracts ripped up as we need to have their wages to afford the type of players we need to get us out of this mess and if he fails at that then questions can be asked but until then "We Are All Neil Lennon"

Yes, mine was sharing a plate of mini spring rolls with no. 2 son and slurping a glass of red whist weeping quietly watching both Everton and Liverpool ruin an already crap day.

Still today is a new day.

Hibs were in the Championship for 3 years and the financial hit from that will be felt for years. The losses won't disappear or be written off. The money spent on players also doesn't go as it used to do on fees. It goes in player's pockets. It goes in the inflated wages the modern day player pockets happily thanks to Bosman and the knock on effects of it. So we will always never know the full extent of investment in the squad.

And, whether folk realise this or not, the heftiest investment in the team is likely to be the costs incurred in employing a high ticket manager. And we don't have generous benefactors donating millions each year like the Gunts or Sheep - both of whom had 7 figure donations to their funds that were nothing to do with crowd numbers or player sales.

Replacing Super, Dylan and Scotty was going to be nigh on impossible. However, the choice of player to replace them has been odd to say the least.

I am not sure we've recreated the band of brothers feel in midfield that had been there for years with McGinn, McGeouch, Marv, Scott, Fyvie and the like. If ever there was a Spice Boy footballer (judging by their social media presence) it's Mallan.

Too much alcohol and Sauzee knows what else was consumed yesterday. Absolutely no doubt about that. Whether it contributed to bravado, stupidity, ignorance and frustration coming to the fore, all of those were abundant in spades anyway. However, in the cold light of day, we need to park all of that and hope for some injection of adrenalin and momentum post-split. There's a responsibility on the club, manager, players to make it so. The league is so open that a decent run of games by any team can be significant. First, back in the top 6 and then whatever happens from there.

Lennon is being paid handsomely to oversee this.

I think the headline Biggest budget in history was to get the fans to buy more ST's, as for the budget it would be to cover the extra coaching staff and other in house outlays, the playing budget would have been completely different hence why we brought in the likes of Hyndman, Mallan, Horgan etc.

Leeann clearly said the biggest investment in the playing operations of the club was including sports science, training facilities etc. Not sure many fans really heard it though.

The budget was to cover all of that plus the extras I mentioned, so the full budget wasn't for the playing staff only.

Yes...that's what Leeann said.

I didn't say they were. I said it was a game played between two evenly matched teams, but they won the tactical midfield battle (especially in the first half) and got the all important first goal. If we had got the first goal I reckon we would have won. At the end of the day they scored, we didn't...so they deserved to win.
Green machine "they deserved to win" because they scored.I will agree to disagree with you on this one.We at least deserved a point and were unlucky.

If we’d won yesterday - which we may well have done 9 times out of 10 - I think the reaction would have been different.

We do need a player or two, but, if we had all our players fit and our international players available we are as good as anyone in the league.

academy players are breaking through - I wonder how many hearts had yesterday.

That’s a strange thing to say unless he’s accepting his culpability in recruitment.

Edit: which he is. The injuries are annoying him too - that will be resolved one way or another because the club won’t give out normal contracts to players who miss a chunk of the season due to injuries.

Yes, mine was sharing a plate of mini spring rolls with no. 2 son and slurping a glass of red whist weeping quietly watching both Everton and Liverpool ruin an already crap day.

Still today is a new day.
I think we are fundamentally a better footballing team than Hearts but we needed to be a bit more composed.
I remember a few years ago the Tatoo Man ( think his name is Stevenson ) had almost no idea where the goals were and lashed an unstoppable shot into the top corner on the turn . Brutal luck !

This thread has been viewed 13876 times.